If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Warhammer: Total War

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

There's a whole set of maps - Grand Campaign Custom Maps (GCCM) - that are much prettier and varied than the vanilla ones. Particularly the major cities, but also minor settlements, rivers, etc, etc. The AI isn't always the best at pathing on them, but I find them generally excellent. Search for GCCM on the workshop and you'll find them all - it's modular so you can add what you want and leave the others. I use pretty much all of them.

Other than that I use Steel Faith and the ones killanena listed... (Steel Faith has it's own version of More Skill points and Tier 4 minor settlements).

Better Campaign Map - Pretties up the campaign map a good bit.
    All Tabletop Lords - Adds more Lords to the Generals type, as per tabletop.
    Better Camera Mod - makes moving around on the battlefield easier and better.
    Legendary Lords Remastered Currently waiting for a fix between Steel Faith and this, but it changes the mastery points for the various Legendary Lords to be more interesting.
    Valuable Veterans - Leveling up your units now gives them much better bonuses to health leadership etc. Really like this one, your experienced units can be battle changers.

I'm sure there's a few more I've missed but that's most of them (along with the ones in the previous post).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

The Dwarves from up North, the lads with the King being carried around on a big chair.... the langer :mad:
    Great, now I can't stop picturing some Corkonian f***er in the middle of a giant battle finding the time, space and quiet to go off on an endless rant about "look at your man in the big chair over there, thinks he's great so he does, the langer, I'll show him, Mr Big Balls in his chair..." before getting cut off with a spear through the neck. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Sounds like something you'd see in Vikings or GoT :pac:

Ok, so I started a new Campaign as Carcassonne and TBH, I was liking it more. Just don't think my playstyle suits Greenskins.

Kind of annoying how it's hard to support 2 decent armies (upkeep cosy + peasant counting mechanic), kind of running back and forth defending with my 1 decent army now

F**k the lads in the Southern Realms. Myself and all the Bretonians and Empire lads and guys in the top left area are all in a big fu€k pile. All allied up and making joint wars etc and wrecking the gaf.... but these langers won't join the fu€k pile and they keep getting hit by loads of Beastmen who OF COURSE come up through Estalia and are knocking on my Capitals door within a turn or two... ughhhh

I've been going down the tech route of getting all these lads into my big confederacy, which is nice, actually playing a strong diplomacy game. Really liking my girls spells too :)

Me and the Wood Elves butted heads a bit early one, but they we all made peace but this one dude, so this dude now decides he wants to war, but his Army is OP, like all Dryads and Wardances and Eagles and they are just ripping me apart. How can the AI even sustain these big armies with like 1 town each :/

I keep utterly annihilating the Vampire Couts in fights (like some fights they have 4 separate stacks, not full) and I'm killing like 2,000 of them to their 500 of my lads killed... but becasue they rarely ever rout it's hard to actually beat them. Plus their dog things and bat things are hella annoying. And they seem to replenish fast so it's a total war of Attroition now.

They only have 1 province, I want them gone, so that whole place can become Human master-race

I've provided a detailed tactical run-down map below

4GuqxR9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Remouad

Damn hard to follow that cracker of a post but thought you'd all like to know that all the DLC is 50% off in the humble bundle sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,659 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

I really liked the picture 10/10

So just pre-ordered Warhammer 2.
    First preorder ever but got it for around half price so pretty sure I'm going to get my money's worth :D
    Also picked up wood elves and chaos so only missing beastmen which I'm not too fussed about.
    Might get it when I've finished my playthroughs of the other races.
    So in about 10 years or so :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭eeguy

Remouad wrote: »
    So just pre-ordered Warhammer 2.
    First preorder ever but got it for around half price so pretty sure I'm going to get my money's worth :D
    Also picked up wood elves and chaos so only missing beastmen which I'm not too fussed about.
    Might get it when I've finished my playthroughs of the other races.
    So in about 10 years or so :D

Where did you preorder?

eeguy wrote: »
    Where did you preorder?

Bundlestars.
    Work connection is through the UK so was able to order it in sterling.
    Paid £32.79 (~€36)
    Used Revolut so got really good exchange rate.

Remouad wrote: »
    Bundlestars.
    Work connection is through the UK so was able to order it in sterling.
    Paid £32.79 (~€36)
    Used Revolut so got really good exchange rate.

Couldn't get the UK rate. Found it on CDkeys for 35.69. Much of a muchness :D

That's a lot less complicated than how I did it. :)

Latest Humble bundle has a voucher for 50% off all Sega games including warhammer 1, all the DLC and warhammer 2 pre-order. Makes the new game only €30!!

Looks like I bought too soon. :)

Got a link for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Yeah, I'm seeing €59.99?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,536 ✭✭✭✭Varik

427758.png

At the bottom, it's per cart load if you beat the average. Last part is a pick one the rest you just get.

so average is currently $6.22, you pay a tiny bit more and you get the discount for their store where the game is €60, DLC is normal steam priced.

Varik wrote: »
    427758.png

At the bottom, it's per cart load if you beat the average. Last part is a pick one the rest you just get.

so average is currently $6.22, you pay a tiny bit more and you get the discount for their store where the game is €60, DLC is normal steam priced.

What Varik said. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,536 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Hold off on it.

**** it those are games it's list are not applicable.

Have to try for a refund.

What that list actually says is:
    Get 50% off one cart of select Capcom, Sega, or Atlus titles released before July 2017 on the Humble Store!

NOTE: Expires on October 12th, 2017 at 11 AM Pacific. Does not stack with Humble Store sales.

Coupon not redeemable on the following titles;

Endless Space 2
    Bayonetta
    Vanquish
    TOTAL WAR: WARHAMMER - Norsca DLC
    TOTAL WAR: WARHAMMER - The Grim and the Grave DLC
    TOTAL WAR: WARHAMMER - The King & The Warlord DLC
    TOTAL WAR: WARHAMMER - Realm Of The Wood Elves DLC
    TOTAL WAR: WARHAMMER - Call of the Beastmen DLC
    TOTAL WAR: WARHAMMER - Blood for the Blood God DLC
    TOTAL WAR: WARHAMMER - Chaos Warrior Race Pack DLC
    Motorsport Manager Challenge Pack DLC
    Sonic Mania
    Football Manager 2018 Pre-Order
    Total War: Warhammer II Pre-Order

Sorry Guys.

Saw "Cart of Select Games" followed by a list of games and made the assumption that was the list you could choose from.

I have absorbed 2 lesser nations into the Fu€k Pile alliance and the Bretonians have absorbed 1.
    I now need to convince them to bend the knee and I'm sorted.
    So I realised the Vampires were EXHAUSTING me basically hitting me with THOUSANDS of troops, failing, and coming back 2 turns later (effing regen mechanics) so I accepted their Peace Treaty as I was having some minor Beastmen and Wood Elves issues down south
    Before the next turn even began it was like "Bretonia is going war with the Vampires, will you join your Allies" and I'm like you "you bet your a$$ I will" :pac: (need them to be my besties.... for now) so back to grinding out some more "Close" Victories it is (sorry for the cr@ppy picture quality)

GOrlg6O.jpgl

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

How the hell do you manage to win that "closely"? Even on minor skirmishes, i always tend to lose a bunch of troops. Obviously, practise make perfect, but damn...not a single loss?

3x Trebuchet Units + 5 Peasant Bowmen (2 of which are Fire Arrows) make short work of their slow moving, bunched up Zombies, Skeletons etc

3e5e931d91ea016a26a9dbf13cad5962.jpg

Kiith wrote: »
    How the hell do you manage to win that "closely"? Even on minor skirmishes, i always tend to lose a bunch of troops. Obviously, practise make perfect, but damn...not a single loss?

545 men died in that skirmish

#PrayForBretonnia

545 men died in that skirmish

#PrayForBretonnia

I'd be more concerned about the 562 "captured" undead....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,769 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

I blame Orcs

Skaven, fo sho

New PC Invasion Article on the combined campaign "Mortal Empires" and image for initial Free DLC

Total War blog post

"An experiment"?

From this I'm expecting first Paid DLC is going to be skaven related so I might play them first before the DLC lands.

Like to get the vanilla campaign experience as I missed out on that last time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭d31b0y

I finally picked this up recently and started playing it... Any good guides at becoming better? I gotta be honest, I suck.
    Skirmishes are generally ok but I could do with some tactic training. I never have any money. I absorbed a nation. Got a tiny army for it and three strongholds / towns and still ended up with even less money.

Should I be concetrating my army into just one early game? I had three generals on the field in my first play but I couldn't sustain them.

What's the best first steps for starting out?

Sorry if any of the terms are wrong... I'm quite new to this :)

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

d31b0y wrote: »
    I finally picked this up recently and started playing it... Any good guides at becoming better? I gotta be honest, I suck.
    Skirmishes are generally ok but I could do with some tactic training. I never have any money. I absorbed a nation. Got a tiny army for it and three strongholds / towns and still ended up with even less money.

Should I be concetrating my army into just one early game? I had three generals on the field in my first play but I couldn't sustain them.

What's the best first steps for starting out?

Sorry if any of the terms are wrong... I'm quite new to this :)

Cheers.

There are some commanalities between factions but a lot of them play very differently.

The Dwarves are quite easy to play because they lean towards turtling, both in the turn-based layer and on the RTS layer of the game.

They've really tough units who tend not to break, really powerful ranged options, tramendous artillery options.

So they're good at defending. Sit like a big rock and let the river of enemies wash around you.
    It's deeply satisfying to see a horde of undead outnumber you 5 to 1 and you just blast them to bits regardless.

They've no cavalry (except their Gyrocopters I suppose, but they fill a different role).

Their bases tend to make a huge amount of money (your capital in the main Dwarven campaign has a big diamond mine that can sustain an army all on it's own.
    Then they've lots of options for trade and aliiances nearby.

So stick to relatively few armies. 1 until you pin down 1 or 2 territories, then maybe keep one at home and march your main one around securing more territory.

It pays to play conservatively with them. Always keep your hinterlands defended.
    Armies can sweep through out of nowhere and make **** of your economy pretty quickly if they're undefended.

Don't Confederate unless you've a strong economy available to support the extra forces you'll need to defend the territory, and spend on upgrading it so it's not just deadweight but actually becomes a net positive.

The biggest trick for me was diplomacy.
    It's tempting to embark off an a crusade to crush all evil, but it becomes unmanageable pretty quick.
    Try to stick to one war at a time.

With that in mind, try to avoid too many alliances that'll draw you into other people's wars.

Bretonnia are kinda the oppositite in the RTS layer, with flexible, cavalry heavy units, but rely on a lot of consolodation as well in the turn-based layer.

The orcs, chaos, the beastmen and to a lesser extent the Norsca all rely instead on being super aggressive to earn money through sacking and raiding to make up for often running at a budget defecit and keep their forces or the gods of choas entertained by frequently fighting.

The Empire seem to me to be the most flexible faction.

The Wood Elves are tricky to juggle early game but as far as I can tell, have the best unit roster. It's hard to know when and how to expand.
    I found the best thing is to try and be nice to everyone who isn't evil and then you can build up a big alliance a little later that'll protect your flanks while you go chasing objectives, killing far away baddies or setting up colonies.

Truthfully, I'm not that great either. I'm more interested in winning than challenging myself so I've stuck to Normal difficulty throughout, but those are my 2 cents.