Christian parents 'to sue school' coz boy in son's class was allowed to wear dress

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

MadDog76 wrote: »
    Don't be ridiculous ......... sex and gender are one and the same.

I despair at this new "I was born a boy but I'm identifying as a girl today!" attitude .......... rubbish at best.
    They're different by their actual definition - one refers to biology, the other to societal and cultural constructs.

gender, noun
    The state of being male or female (typically used with reference to social and cultural differences rather than biological ones).

sex, noun
    Either of the two main categories (male and female) into which humans and most other living things are divided on the basis of their reproductive functions.

The only way your claim is valid is if one of these words doesn't exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Billy86 wrote: »
    They're different by their actual definition - one refers to biology, the other to societal and cultural constructs.

gender, noun
    The state of being male or female (typically used with reference to social and cultural differences rather than biological ones).

sex, noun
    Either of the two main categories (male and female) into which humans and most other living things are divided on the basis of their reproductive functions.

The only way your claim is valid is if one of these words doesn't exist.

Historically speaking, sex and gender have always been interchangeable, ie. an individual's sex/gender have been either male or female.

It's only in recent times that some sections of society have felt the need to distinguish between the two, ie. an individual can be biologically male but chooses to identify (or claims to be psychologically) female.

I refuse to buy into such nonsense (and it is nonsense in most cases) just because certain pressure groups insist upon it .......... every adult has the right to say, think, wear, believe etc. whatever they want because they are aware (or certainly should be aware!) of the consequences of their actions/opinions ........ this does not (getting back to the topic of the thread) apply to children however.

In short, John is a grown man so he has the right to put on a dress, refer to himself as "Mary" and claim he's now female ......... conversely, I have the right to believe he looks ridiculous in a dress, call him John and consider him male.

Afraid you're wrong there:

gender (n.)
    c. 1300, "kind, sort, class, a class or kind of persons or things sharing certain traits," from Old French gendre, genre "kind, species; character; gender" (12c., Modern French genre), from stem of Latin genus (genitive generis) "race, stock, family; kind, rank, order; species," also "(male or female) sex," from PIE root *gene- "give birth, beget," with derivatives referring to procreation and familial and tribal groups.

Afraid you're wrong there:

gender (n.)
    c. 1300, "kind, sort, class, a class or kind of persons or things sharing certain traits," from Old French gendre, genre "kind, species; character; gender" (12c., Modern French genre), from stem of Latin genus (genitive generis) "race, stock, family; kind, rank, order; species," also "(male or female) sex," from PIE root *gene- "give birth, beget," with derivatives referring to procreation and familial and tribal groups.

:D You can be afraid all you'd like! I won't be changing my common sense opinion just because you copied and pasted a definition from the net .......... I'm male by sex and gender, it's as simple as that! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

In short, John is a grown man so he has the right to put on a dress, refer to himself as "Mary" and claim he's now female ......... conversely, I have the right to believe he looks ridiculous in a dress, call him John and consider him male.

And everyone else has the right to consider you disrespectful for doing so.

:D You can be afraid all you'd like! I won't be changing my common sense opinion just because you copied and pasted actual facts
    FYP there :P
    .......... I'm male by sex and gender, it's as simple as that! :)

Good for you. Not everyone is the same.

kylith wrote: »

Everyone else!???!!!! That's some ego you have there!!!

You have the right to consider whatever whatever but I think we'll let everyone else, including me please, have their own opinions ......... cool? :rolleyes:

Good for you. Not everyone is the same as me.

:D You can be afraid all you'd like! I won't be changing my common sense opinion just because you copied and pasted a definition from the net .......... I'm male by sex and gender, it's as simple as that! :)

I'm glad you clarified your opinion is common sense. I was going to disagree but now I hardly can. Since it's common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,372 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Not quite how i would put it but good enough

Oh you're entitled to your opinion, but then again so is the guy who says it's his opinion that dolphins created mankind in a lab back in the 1700s and everything from before then was made up by our aquatic overlords.

I'm happy for you to be male by sex and gender, you can speak for yourself on that all you'd like. It's when you start speaking for others on that matter that you're clearly wrong. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

bluewolf wrote: »
    I'm glad you clarified your opinion is common sense. I was going to disagree but now I hardly can. Since it's common sense.

Not really common sense denying the reality of gender dysphoria at all :rolleyes:

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Not really common sense denying the reality of gender dysphoria at all :rolleyes:

I like to think I was being subtle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

bluewolf wrote: »
    I like to think I was being subtle

I don't do subtlety :):D

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

You're right, not everyone is the same as you, or me. And that's ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭dresden8

The Pope wears a dress. And so do the prods.

It's bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Nobody is denying the reality of gender dysphoria.

This is an 8 year old child joey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,520 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I disagree with you, I don't share you're opinion ....... and, despite pressure to conform to this new popular opinion, there's nothing wrong with a difference of opinion.

No there is nothing wrong with a difference of opinion as long as people don't force their opinion on someone else or do harm to a person they don't like because they are different or dress different.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

AMKC wrote: »
    No there is nothing wrong with a difference of opinion as long as people don't force their opinion on someone else or do harm to a person they don't like because they are different or dress different.

The school in question said transgender pupils were protected under the Equalities Act of 2010, and that it had policies in place to tackle transphobic behaviour. It defined transphobia as including a failure to use a person’s adopted name or to accept he or she was a “real” boy or girl.

The school is forcing an opinion.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

The school in question said transgender pupils were protected under the Equalities Act of 2010, and that it had policies in place to tackle transphobic behaviour. It defined transphobia as including a failure to use a person’s adopted name or to accept he or she was a “real” boy or girl.

The school is forcing an opinion.

Not exactly. They are not going after pupils who make an honest mistake. Instead, it is part of an overall anti-bullying strategy. No different to any other school.

When you were in school, were pupils given free reign to go around picking on and teasing other students? Of course not. You would not say that your school was forcing an opinion, would you?

mzungu wrote: »
    Not exactly. They are not going after pupils who make an honest mistake. Instead, it is part of an overall anti-bullying strategy. No different to any other school.

Again these are 8 year old children.

Would the school pander to a kid wearing a Thomas the tank engine outfit wanting to be called a train? I think not.

It's fecking insane

Oh you're entitled to your opinion, but then again so is the guy who says it's his opinion that dolphins created mankind in a lab back in the 1700s and everything from before then was made up by our aquatic overlords.

I'm happy for you to be male by sex and gender, you can speak for yourself on that all you'd like. It's when you start speaking for others on that matter that you're clearly wrong. :)

Did I speak for others??? :confused:

Think you've confused me with another poster ...........

AMKC wrote: »

Glad you brought up forcing opinions on others ......... that's something that seems to go hand in hand with the current fluid gender fad.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Again these are 8 year old children.
    No harm having anti-bullying measures for all pupils in place, no matter what the age
    Would the school pander to a kid wearing a Thomas the tank engine outfit wanting to be called a train? I think not.
    Not the same thing at all. People who identify as inanimate objects do so out of choice, or as a statement of some sorts, it is not innate.

Oh it's real alright but it should be treated as opposed to being pandered to which seems to be the new trend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

A six year old child who has just started school has enough to learn without having to remember to call one of their classmates Steve one day and Stephanie the next.

No harm having anti-bullying measures for all pupils in place, no matter what the age

Not the same thing at all. People who identify as inanimate objects do so out of choice as a statement of some sorts, it is not innate.

Maybe for you as an adult it's not the same thing at all.

You're an adult. These are a kids, inanimate objects are just that.

Not choices of statements.

Maybe for you as an adult it's not the same thing at all.

You're an adult. These are a kids, inanimate objects are just that.

Not choices of statements.
    I am quite sure the child in question got medical advice and they proceeded from there. My point was that your use of the Thomas the Tank Engine analogy was disingenuous. You do not know that a statement regarding gender is being made here, that is an assumption on your part.

And an assumption on yours.

If your thinking is right and this child got medical advise and proceeded from there. I hope that doctor is fully investigated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Kayshee123

This is a joke.. The parents are completely reacting over something so miniscule.. How does a student in the class wearing a dress affect the education of their children?