Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High Noon with George Hook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Something tells me this has been been going on for longer than that. If he's not well liked in there (I've no idea what his colleagues think of him) then this is an ideal opportunity to knife him. The controversy isn't going away and we can all see what way this is going to end.

Closure of the station?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭tsue921i8wljb3

Something tells me this has been been going on for longer than that. If he's not well liked in there (I've no idea what his colleagues think of him) then this is an ideal opportunity to knife him. The controversy isn't going away and we can all see what way this is going to end.

Yeah it would certainly lead you to question the "gentleman off air" description.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,910 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

I think the liberals within newstalk have been waiting for their moment and now is the perfect time to stick the knive into the back. Reminds me a little of the BBC sacking Jeremy Clarkson.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,880 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Closure of the station?

I was just saying in another thread, Denis O'Brien could well be throwing his hands up in despair at this whole mess...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

No, I don't see the station closing. George's P45 is imminent though. His position is untenable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭DeadHand

If 20 of your colleagues are asking for your dismissal I think it's time to look in the mirror and say "maybe it's me, not them". Perhaps Hook's shtick since starting High Noon has been grating on them and this is the end result of their frustration.

If only 20 signed it would suggest a good deal more refused to sign and stuck by their principles and their friend.

As well as old fashioned career opportunism it seems PC groupthink has taken hold among a minority in NT causing them to ignore the facts (he misspoke, he didn't condone rape, he apologised for misspeaking) and take the easy, popular route: join the bullying herd.

20 cowards.

DeadHand wrote: »
    If only 20 signed it would suggest a good deal more refused to sign and stuck by their principles and their friend.

As well as old fashioned career opportunism it seems PC groupthink has taken hold among a minority in NT causing them to ignore the facts (he misspoke, he didn't condone rape, he apologised for misspeaking) and take the easy, popular route: join the bullying herd.

20 cowards.

What is the total number of staff in Newstalk do you know off hand?

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    I think the liberals within newstalk have been waiting for their moment and now is the perfect time to stick the knive into the back. Reminds me a little of the BBC sacking Jeremy Clarkson.

Bollocks, Clarkson assaulted a subordinate. In all industry that's a sacking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,139 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

No, I don't see the station closing. George's P45 is imminent though. His position is untenable.

Who's saying the station will close because of this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

RustyNut wrote: »
    Del.Monte wrote: »
    Twenty gutless little weasels.

For standing up for what they believe in?

For leading a media witch hunt against a 76 year old man who dared to question whether an adult should take personal responsibility! I reckon I could name at least 10 of them quite easily.

It is a disgusting way to treat a colleague who has done more for Newstalk than the majority of them combined.

There have clearly been ill feelings since he went back on his retirement. Other than Pat doing the changeover you rarely hear him interact with any other NT staff who are not reading the news. It was quite common on Right Hook.

He hasn't been in studio with Moncrieff for at least 6 months..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,302 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

What is the total number of staff in Newstalk do you know off hand?

Around 60

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Around 60

Thanks. So a third want him gone. Not an insignificant number. It's a tricky situation for management to resolve.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Who's saying the station will close because of this ?

Well I suggested it could be 'the straw that broke the camel's back' for Denis O'Brien. But only if he was already thinking seriously about pulling the plug...

Thanks. So a third want him gone. Not an insignificant number. It's a tricky situation for management to resolve.

And two thirds who told the rabble to bugger off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

I think the end is nigh for George, newstalk are probably under pressure from the PC crowd. All the pity. I know he brought this trouble on himself. He should have known better with those comments he made.

Having said all that, his opponents are looking for any excuse to get rid of him cause he is not of the snowflake PC era. It appears you can't open your mouth these days without someone taking offence.

Once again, I am not condoning his comments, but at the same time, I DETEST all PC. Will we just be listening to all the lovvy dovvy pc stuff now?

Yeah I know I have mentioned those two letters a number of times.... LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭kevinkilbane

RustyNut wrote: »
    For standing up for what they believe in?

Standing up??? But they wont say anything publicly. Definitely cowards.
    At least Chris ODonoghue went public, and George and the listeners know where he stands.
    Who are these 20 people that went running to the Irish Times to spill the beans about the dealing in newstalk?

Everyone knows a mistake was made, apology is done, but its going way over the top now. I'm guessing folks who dislike working alongside him saw the opportunity and are trying to force him out.

I am not a fan of his show, just not my cup of tea. But he is no Jimmy Saville. What crime has George committed?

Maybe he should just give a 20 second "fudge yous all" Rant tomorrow and walk out. And enjoy his retirement as best as possible.

Not necessarily. All that can be said is that they did not sign the document for whatever reason. I don't think not signing can be seen as tacit support for Hook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,384 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Hook was never a broadcaster anyway or a journalist. He's been getting away with it for years.

The same Hook supporters are usually the ones that bring up Muslim attitudes to women when Muslims are being discussed.

I don't listen to Irish radio much anymore but I've seen George hooks remarks from Friday and his apology from yesterday.

On the Friday comments, whatever point he was trying to make he made a pigs ear of trying to make it. I don't believe he thinks rape is okay in any situation but from reading what he said on Friday he used the word "blame" which wasn't the correct term to use.

On yesterday's apology it read as a very contrite statement. Now maybe the audio is different.

The fact that 20 of his colleagues signed a letter so quickly shows that Marconi house as a whole(including the cramped nature) must make it a sour place to work. The atmosphere must be crap altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Hook was never a broadcaster anyway or a journalist. He's been getting away with it for years.

The same Hook supporters are usually the ones that bring up Muslim attitudes to women when Muslims are being discussed.

He's a better broadcaster than most of the PC feckers at DOB's stations - miles more entertaining than most of the too - especially that insignificant little twerp O'Donoghue.

Just because two thirds didn't sign the letter doesn't mean they don't agree with the sentiments of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,302 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

The management asked for the petition not to be passed around any further as they are in the middle of a "process". Not everyone had a chance to sign it so no one knows how many would or wouldn't have signed.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

As much as I don't agree with Hook's comments, for Chris Donoghue to come out so quickly in the public domain had only one thing on his mind.

I hope Sarah Mc gets the gig over him, because I think Hook's time is slowly coming to an end.

Faugheen wrote: »
    As much as I don't agree with Hook's comments, for Chris Donoghue to come out so quickly in the public domain had only one thing on his mind.

I hope Sarah Mc gets the gig over him, because I think Hook's time is slowly coming to an end.

Would Jonathan Healy not be favourite to get the slot at least in the short term?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭kevinkilbane

Not necessarily. All that can be said is that they did not sign the document for whatever reason. I don't think not signing can be seen as tacit support for Hook.
    Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Just because two thirds didn't sign the letter doesn't mean they don't agree with the sentiments of it.

Well it basically says, sign here if you want george gone from Newstalk???

So if you dont sign it, then more than likely you dont want him sacked. Am I missing something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Thanks. So a third want him gone. Not an insignificant number.

A firm minority.

Would Jonathan Healy not be favourite to get the slot at least in the short term?

Well AFAIK George was due to retire in a year's time anyway. You'd think they would have a long-term successor lined up and would now be looking to fast-track that person in although NT seems a pretty shambolic outfit a lot of the time so who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Faugheen wrote: »

The biggest ratings failure in Newstalk and possibly all of Irish radio? Why on earth would he be favourite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭reg114

For leading a media witch hunt against a 76 year old man who dared to question whether an adult should take personal responsibility! I reckon I could name at least 10 of them quite easily.

It is a disgusting way to treat a colleague who has done more for Newstalk than the majority of them combined.

There have clearly been ill feelings since he went back on his retirement. Other than Pat doing the changeover you rarely hear him interact with any other NT staff who are not reading the news. It was quite common on Right Hook.

He hasn't been in studio with Moncrieff for at least 6 months..

Because if a rape victim took personal responsibility she / he wouldnt be raped??? The crime of rape has nothing to do with taking responsibility ever, the fact you think it does illustrates your total misunderstanding of rape, responsibility and this thread. You probably think the earth is this flat too.

Well it basically says, sign here if you want george gone from Newstalk???

So if you dont sign it, then more than likely you dont want him sacked. Am I missing something

You could want him sacked but not want your name publicly associated with the petition perhaps out of embarrassment, having to face Hook etc. I'm not saying this is the case for all 40 but it is a possibility.