Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Isn't multiculturalism great...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Really Interested

I think she mistyped and probably meant SJW, so I've fixed your post accordingly.
    It now reads as follows:

''I am unaware of anyone who would keep their distance from SJWs in social situations. In fact in Cork, KC's the famous chipper in Cork is owned by an SJW family, most of the employees are SJWs, from what I understand the SJW community is very vibrant in Cork and members are involved in all aspects of business and social life in the City.''

Did you correct Widdershinspost, or for that matter the Irish Times Article?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

A great bunch of lads.

they actually are very sound. My mother's friend in Waterford has two lads calling to get over the last 15 years now to tea and scones. I don't even think they in the religion anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭Benjamin Buttons

Did you correct Widdershinspost, or for that matter the Irish Times Article?

Genuinely don't understand your question.

I responded to another poster who said JW, i respond in kind, and posted a article which did not use the full title, so why did you decided to correct my post and not the other poster? Is there some law i broke in not using the full title.

I find it amusing that the website is jw.org and they use the Jehovahs Witnesses in the website address.

https://www.jw.org/en/jehovahs-witnesses/faq/watchtower-society/

https://www.jw.org/en/

You really should get onto the Society and tell them they use the word Society very little.

Jehovah’s Witnesses—Who Are We?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

...today I brought my daughter to the playground to meet Slovakian friends with their kids. Also met my cousin and his African partner and their little daughter. After that, I went to my Turkish Muslim barber and to her delight he produced a lollipop.

And I thought, she'll grow up experiencing diversity and cultures that I could only dream of when I was a child in white Catholic Ireland in the late '70s and '80s. And it felt good.

Conor now just to fully round out your nice little story for completeness like, would you mind telling us the religion of your Slovak friends and the lady from Africa (I presume it is a lady or keeping in the spirit of your past -should that be someone who right now considers themselves female).

BTW what you experienced was a thing called integration.

Your Slovak friends meet you and your children to play, the African lady (I presume lady) is in a relationship with your cousin (who I presume is Irish) so she integrated into Irish family and culture.
    Oh and you tell us later the Turkish barber is married to an Irish lady and it appears the kids are being raised as normal Irish kids so also integrated very well.

Now what multiculturalism has actually come to mean in modern day Europe is that your Turkish friend just lives and mixes with other fellow muslims, his kids are being raised in the religion and customs of their father and his wife definitely doesn't mix with any other males not closely related.

Multiculturalism is the term now being bandied about to actually describe the fact that certain groups of people are no long integrating into their host country, but actively living apart from it.

And I don't just mean they live in ghettos, hang out together, eat their traditional food, play their traditional sports or music.
    I mean they see themselves and more especially their children see themselves as not being from the state in which they were born and brought up, but being from the old country with all that entails.

I am not allowed discuss …

jmayo wrote: »
    Conor now just to fully round out your nice little story for completeness like, would you mind telling us the religion of your Slovak friends and the lady from Africa (I presume it is a lady or keeping in the spirit of your past -should that be someone who right now considers themselves female).

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=104644996&postcount=377

smurgen wrote: »
    they actually are very sound. My mother's friend in Waterford has two lads calling to get over the last 15 years now to tea and scones. I don't even think they in the religion anymore.

Well that might be so, but personally I think all religions - including Chistianity and Muhammadanism - are a crock of shít.
    As for door to door proselytising....not for me thanks, even if the wide-eyed adherents address you as sir and are smartly dressed in starched white shirts and sensible trousers.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

There are plenty of bigots in this Country who are not Catholic, and plenty of Catholics who are not bigots, though.

Nor is it true that Catholic teaching on women's or LGBT rights are well aligned with Muslim teaching.

It's fair to say that women were shamefully treated in Ireland, but they were equally shamefully treated in non-Catholic Countries for generations, which suggests that was a cultural issue - not a Religious one.

As to LGBT rights - I've yet to see anyone in the Catholic church condoning, much less advocating, stoning people.

Even tongue in cheek, your comment wasn't comparing like for like, and was hitting a bit below the belt, imho.

There are plenty of bigots in the country who aren't Muslim and plenty of Muslims who aren't bigots.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

I responded to another poster who said JW, i respond in kind, and posted a article which did not use the full title, so why did you decided to correct my post and not the other poster? Is there some law i broke in not using the full title.

I find it amusing that the website is jw.org and they use the Jehovahs Witnesses in the website address.

https://www.jw.org/en/jehovahs-witnesses/faq/watchtower-society/

https://www.jw.org/en/

You really should get onto the Society and tell them they use the word Society very little.

Jehovah’s Witnesses—Who Are We?

It's a fair cop but society is to blame.

With a Big S or little s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

JW's simply don't hold any allure because they're generally not as obvious in society as adherents of Islam. I'd never condemn either JW or Islam.

I think people will cherry-pick what they will to suit their particular reasons, so I wouldn't see JWs as another weird cult, I'd see it as the guy who used sit beside me in math class annoying the shìt out of me to go to one of their prayer meetings! But that's one individual, same as my sister is one Individual who converted to Islam. She's grand... for the most part :pac:

But again - individuals. I'd be silly were I to tar them a whole group in society as Conor appeared to have alluded to with his "white Catholic Ireland" nonsense.

Yes, people are individuals and I always have and will evaluate them for their own strengths and weaknesses and always treat them with exactly the respect they deserve, but I can't ignore it if they're members of a cult.This was posted by a friend this morning and she welcomed shares...it is a cult and a dangerous one, and those good people within it were brought into it by parents or partners, or indoctrinated at a weak moment by sympathetic members as is usually the case with cults, and given the choice right from the start, I think most of them probably would not have chosen it for themselves:

''In the Jehovah's Witness religion, if you have any kind of sexual contact with someone you are not married to, anything from touching to full sex, you will have to attend a Judicial Committee meeting with three elders (always men) who will decide your fate.
    The accused will not be allowed anyone in with them. The accused could be any age, below or above 16. They could be male or female. The accused will be made to tell the elders in explicit detail what happened. So much detail that you could create an exact movie of the event. The accused will have to describe the underwear the girl/woman was wearing including the colour and fabric of it.
    I have heard people as young as 12 being made to go through this. I have heard that teens went through this and then were told years later by one of the judicial committee elders that they'd 'enjoyed' what they said. In many cases, the elders will hold a briefcase, or a large book on their laps while the young teen girl will explain in graphic detail what her and her boyfriend did together consensually. Some people have said that elders have had to leave the room to go to the bathroom. Girls have even been made to demonstrate how far apart their legs were.
    This even happens to abuse and rape victims. Victims have even been made to attend meetings with the elders and the accused abuser and describe what happened and then be questioned by the abuser himself.
    This all, as you can imagine, is very traumatising. And it can take years of therapy to deal with.
    Sometimes the media will talk about this when it happens to abuse victims. But I think we need more publicity about it, and focus on that it happens to underage people who engaged in consensual activities with a partner of their age. I feel this is a form of sexual abuse. Being forced to tell these graphic sexual details when a person is under age (even when older, it's abuse), should be criminal in my opinion. If they do not tell these details to the elders they risk being disfellowshipped. If they are disfellowshipped, none of their friends will be allowed to talk to them anymore. Their family will not be allowed to talk to them in most cases as well. Most will not have friends outside of the religion, so they will end up completely isolated. And if they do tell the elders, and are found guilty, then this will still happen.
    Do you think people could sue the religion for this kind of abuse?
    I have made this public in case anyone would like to share this.''

Oh and keep buying your chips, you can't catch religion from food. I'm sure the owners are fine. But as religions go there are many bad apples in that barrel.

Well that might be so, but personally I think all religions - including Chistianity and Muhammadanism - are a crock of shít.
    As for door to door proselytising....not for me thanks, even if the wide-eyed adherents address you as sir and are smartly dressed in starched white shirts and and sensible trousers.

I 100% agree.i have a dislike for religions myself and would be annoyed also.the mother's friend is just after developing a bond with the two i mentioned over the years.they must know she has no interest in converting at this stage!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

One of the reasons I enjoy the rural life in the hope to stay away from the multicultural bollocks forced upon the Irish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,784 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Yeah a gay guy would just love to hang out with a few Islamics. He's be made feel very welcome i'd say. When they say "come on up to the roof for a better view" it's time to run.

Last place I worked had muslims and gay people there. They got on grand.

Just because some sects of a religion have particular beliefs doesn't mean everyone in the religion does.

I find it strange that jehovah's witnesses are compared to muslims. I think a better comparison would be Jehovah's witnesses to wahhabists. Since both are a strict subsection of a religion.

Brian? wrote: »
    There are plenty of bigots in the country who aren't Muslim and plenty of Muslims who aren't bigots.

Of course - but I never made that suggestion.

I believe that was your good self, though aimed at Catholics, not Muslims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

GerryDerpy wrote: »
    Racism and xenophobia are evolutionary selections that reduce the risk of diseases spreading between different populations.

What the? Seriously? You are justifying being racist because disease might spread?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

So far my favourite reactions are (i) I hope your head is crushed under a rock. Dunno who that was, but it was dramatic and (ii) you've made it all up, Slovakia cannot possibly have more liberal abortion laws than us...

I love the one justifies racism because migrants only spread disease

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Yeah a gay guy would just love to hang out with a few Islamics. He's be made feel very welcome i'd say. When they say "come on up to the roof for a better view" it's time to run.

I have some Muslim friends. Guess what they don't want to throw me off a roof!

Terry Pratchet

Of course - but I never made that suggestion.

I believe that was your good self, though aimed at Catholics, not Muslims.

Hah? I never said all Catholics are bigots or all bigots or catholic. No sir. Some of them are though, just like some Muslims. This is my entire point.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Multi-culturalism is about as useful an expression as Celtic Tiger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

You don't appear to appreciate Irish laws yourself there HP, they're too slow to catch up to your views, but they're too liberal for your views in other areas.

I appreciate them completely. I don't approve of people seeking abortions breaking the law in this jurisdiction; I approve of changing the law, and I have no problem with "jurisdictional tourism" if you will, IE travelling to other jurisdictions specifically for the purposes of doing something which is illegal in Ireland.
    Yet you object to people who do not share your views even though they are law abiding citizens of our country?

Again, I am advocating for changing the law; Specifically, to include indoctrination into, and enforcement of, suppressive ideologies in the definition of child abuse.
    Sounds like a severe case of double standards.

Again, not at all. I am advocating for two changes in the law. I am not suggesting that it's ok for anybody to break those laws before they have been changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

That's a matter of individual opinion though. HP's argument consists of anything which doesn't conform to his standards isn't welcome in our country, yet while he laments authoritarianism, he wants to substitute it with authoritarianism which is consistent with his values!

I'm saying that repressive ideologies shouldn't be welcome in our country. I accept that they currently are, I would advocate for changing that. I am not suggesting enforcing anything which does exist, I am suggesting creating a new standard and then subsequently enforcing that. The standard being, that raising your child to believe that they are inferior to other humans because of who they are be considered child abuse.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭FraR

British Red Cross executive: there is a risk that the words "British" and "Cross" might be confusing for diverse communities and they mistake it for a Christian organization.

http://www.thinknpc.org/blog/what-the-red-cross-learned-at-grenfell/

The Western world has gone ****ing insane. The good part is yet to come, some people honestly think this story has a good ending but oh boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭JaCrispy

What the? Seriously? You are justifying being racist because disease might spread?

Although it doesn't "justify" racism the theory that migration of people can be detrimental to indigenous peoples health, has merit.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Native_American_disease_and_epidemics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

I am not making a judgement. I am merely explaining evolutionary psychology.

Evolutionary theory doesn't care much about your feelings,just hopes to explain it like it is.some of the worst features of life our lives have evolutionary function and this is what the theories seek to explain.for example on of the theories on depression is that it was beneficial in prehistoric times so that individuals wouldn't become complacent and would contantly seek out new water and food sources.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

GerryDerpy wrote: »
    I am not making a judgement. I am merely explaining evolutionary psychology.

Nope, your just trying to justify you being ya know, a racist. Failing badly aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Nope, your just trying to justify you being ya know, a racist. Failing badly aswell.

Is it that much of a shock to you that humans are tribal by design?

Why do you think racism exists at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Pac1Man wrote: »

That's grand buddy. The problem arrives when stupidity tries.

Pac1Man wrote: »

There's an evolutionary drive towards racism. Grand, we get it.

Yet the majority of people are not racist. So are us non racists more evolved? No, we're not. So evolutionary instincts are clearly not the determining fact as to whether a person is a bigot or not. That's s product of environment.

Therefore, trying to sell evolution as the reason people are racist is disingenuous at best. It's something to hide behind if you're a bigot and you don't really understand psychology.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky