Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are the channels an hour behind called +1

• 07-09-2017 10:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭

RTE 1 channel, for example, which is an hour behind is actually called RTE 1+1

I'm sure there's a reasonable explanation that will make me look like an eejit (or "asshat") but I've often wondered......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,847 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Honestly why post that question when searching Google would give you the right answer and require you to type less?

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timeshift_channel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

I always thought these channels were for people who couldn't be arsed to adjust the clocks in October.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

Honestly why post that question when searching Google would give you the right answer and require you to type less?

Far too much reading there

In any case I think I'll just start calling it RTE 1 -1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Because something scheduled at 8pm plus 1 is 9pm? :confused:

If it was minus one it'd be an hour ahead.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

myshirt wrote: »
    I always thought these channels were for people who couldn't be arsed to adjust the clocks in October.

Wonder how many unsuspecting teenagers have been caught having a jimmy floyd based on the assumption "ma's never home until after neighbours"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

Because not everyone needs google to do everything for them.

Anyway that link does not explain why it is +1 and not -1.

+1 implies its is RTE etc one hour ahead of the regular RTE and not one hour behind.

For example, a RTE +1 should show the 18.01 news at 17.01 as it is +1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,847 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

prinzeugen wrote: »

+1 implies its is RTE etc one hour ahead of the regular RTE and not one hour behind.

OK then use bing instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

eeguy wrote: »

You hit the nail bang on the head there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,718 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

But it's an hour later, which is 19.01, which is 18.01+1 :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

myshirt wrote: »

no its for people who live in the past

btw - good question OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭GritBiscuit

+1 hour has passed since original show broadcast...

6pm broadcast advertised at -1 to the original but broadcast at 7pm makes no sense at all :confused:

Read that again out loud to yourself good chap. I think its time for your bed

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    But it's an hour later, which is 19.01, which is 18.01+1 :confused:

+1 implies ahead or more.

-1 implies behind or less.

The six one news being shown at 19.01 is behind so it should be RTE-1.

E4 show Hollyoaks one day ahead of CH4 so E4 is in effect a +1day channel.

Nope. Say a program is scheduled for 6pm, but they're going to show it one hour earlier. Would you say plus one hour or minus one hour.

If Hollyoaks is on a Wednesday then would you say that Tuesday is Wednesday plus one?

If the clocks are going forward an hour would you add (plus) an hour or minus an hour?

I repeat

18.01 + 1 = 19.01

Which is when the news (in this example) is shown on the +1 channel.

It's really that simple. You're overthinking it.

I repeat

18.01 + 1 = 19.01

Well maybe I, like the OP like to think about stuff.

Anyway I still say it should be -1 as it is a hour behind.

And I say it should be +1 as the numbers are greater.

Its not.

Its 1am in Germany. Are they an hour ahead or behind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Post #5 with the full explanation .......... why did this thread continue after this post, that's the real question that needs answering!!!

'PLUS you get ONE more chance to watch, is surely what it means?

Its not.

Its +1, ie ahead.

So RTE +1 should be showing stuff a hour earlier than the regular RTE.

00:00 +1 = 01:00. The six one news would be on at 19:01 in Germany.

Thus the six one news being shown in Ireland at 19:01 is -1.

When you go to Germany do you + or - a hour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

It's to show they agree with RTE 1. You'd think a moderator would just tell them to use the thanks button instead of saying +1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,959 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Live , real time, any of those would apply?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,570 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Can't wait for the op to explain channel 5 + 24

• Registered Users Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Because if everybody cracked off on Google instead of posting on forums, forums like this would have about 5 people like you on it at any given time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,479 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I repeat

18.01 + 1 = 19.01

The news at six is an hour later at seven,so -1. If it was +1 it would be at five.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,643 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Jesus Christ

This whole thread is like being inside a stoner's mind.

Think my toddler even knows the answer to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,643 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

It's "plus one" as in it's enabling you to watch it with your missus.

Due to the fact that it'll take her an hour to get ready, and/or stop moaning and giving out about whatever random shite has deemed to be your fault today, they delay the programs for an hour so that you don't miss them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

It's a shame the BBC don't do a BBC1+1 or BBC2 +1, although I'm told the the reason for this is that there are so many BBC regions, which for example would mean making ten or twelve BBC1 + 1 channels.

Would love to get the BBC iPlayer here, but we can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

If you bring a plus one to a wedding, should it be a plus one because there's one extra person there or a minus one because there's minus one meal out of your wallet?

OP might be onto something. Let's blow this thing wide open guys...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

You really couldn't figure this out yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

This is the most stupid thread ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Cool Mo D

Is this going to be boards.ie's version of the all time classic 'how many day's in a week' thread here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Be handy for the euro millions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Jake1 wrote: »
    'PLUS you get ONE more chance to watch, is surely what it means?

This is actually the correct answer.
    I think Channel 4 started it off long before we had smart boxes to record programmes
    The idea behind it was to give people without a recording device of some sort a second chance to watch a particular program.
    It's almost a redundant concept now with so many homes having sky or cable tv boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Bloody hell. ITV1-4, C4, More4, Film4, and even bloody Channel 5 have done this for years before RTE started doing it, and it has worked for them. They even do theirs near 24/7 compared to RTE, who just air their +1 for just 5 hours each day.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Dave's hour behind channel is called Dave Ja Vu, which I thought was funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,902 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

'Should people who can't understand +1 channels be allowed to vote?'

• Administrators Posts: 14,690 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

How can 18.01 + 1 be 17.01?

Write it out, on a maths copy, using the squares so as not to get confused.

+1 _

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Cool Mo D wrote: »
    Is this going to be boards.ie's version of the all time classic 'how many day's in a week' thread here?

Thats hilarious.

Yesterday +1 must be a completely head **** OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,180 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

In the spirit of the moron on that bodybuilding thread, I'm with the -1 idea.

I interpret RTE+1 as "RTE as it would be broadcast in the +1 timezone". Like in France.

If I want to watch the 9 o'clock news* in France, I want a channel for my +1 timezone. I sit down at 9pm French time, turn on my RTE+1 TV channel and...oh wait, it's only 8pm in Ireland. I'm two hours early!

So what I really want is for the Irish people who were late home to be watching RTE - 1, and I want my RTE+1 channel to be showing the 9pm news at 8pm Irish time. That's OK right, you have a time machine?

* To be honest I don't know whether RTE has news at 9pm because I don't watch TV; it interferes with my hobby of arguing with people on the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Cool Mo D wrote: »

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,126 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Its not.

It couldn't be clearer.

Here we'd say Half One , and in Germany Halb Eins.

It couldn't be clearer.

In Germany, "half one" is actually "halb zwei".

So there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Fanny **** wrote: »
    Far too much reading there

In any case I think I'll just start calling it RTE 1 -1

Not unless you plan on putting the six o'clock news on at 5 o'clock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

It couldn't be clearer.

we should really be saying half past one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

'Should people who can't understand +1 channels be allowed to vote?'

But what if they got 500+ Points on their Leaving Cert?