Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are the channels an hour behind called +1

• 07-09-2017 11:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭

RTE 1 channel, for example, which is an hour behind is actually called RTE 1+1

I'm sure there's a reasonable explanation that will make me look like an eejit (or "asshat") but I've often wondered......

• Registered Users Posts: 6,774 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Honestly why post that question when searching Google would give you the right answer and require you to type less?

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timeshift_channel

• Registered Users Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

I always thought these channels were for people who couldn't be arsed to adjust the clocks in October.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

Honestly why post that question when searching Google would give you the right answer and require you to type less?

Far too much reading there

In any case I think I'll just start calling it RTE 1 -1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Because something scheduled at 8pm plus 1 is 9pm? :confused:

If it was minus one it'd be an hour ahead.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

myshirt wrote: »
    I always thought these channels were for people who couldn't be arsed to adjust the clocks in October.

Wonder how many unsuspecting teenagers have been caught having a jimmy floyd based on the assumption "ma's never home until after neighbours"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

Because not everyone needs google to do everything for them.

Anyway that link does not explain why it is +1 and not -1.

+1 implies its is RTE etc one hour ahead of the regular RTE and not one hour behind.

For example, a RTE +1 should show the 18.01 news at 17.01 as it is +1.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,774 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

prinzeugen wrote: »

+1 implies its is RTE etc one hour ahead of the regular RTE and not one hour behind.

OK then use bing instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

eeguy wrote: »

You hit the nail bang on the head there

• Registered Users Posts: 28,901 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

But it's an hour later, which is 19.01, which is 18.01+1 :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

myshirt wrote: »

no its for people who live in the past

btw - good question OP

• Registered Users Posts: 440 ✭✭GritBiscuit

+1 hour has passed since original show broadcast...

6pm broadcast advertised at -1 to the original but broadcast at 7pm makes no sense at all :confused:

Read that again out loud to yourself good chap. I think its time for your bed

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    But it's an hour later, which is 19.01, which is 18.01+1 :confused:

+1 implies ahead or more.

-1 implies behind or less.

The six one news being shown at 19.01 is behind so it should be RTE-1.

E4 show Hollyoaks one day ahead of CH4 so E4 is in effect a +1day channel.

Nope. Say a program is scheduled for 6pm, but they're going to show it one hour earlier. Would you say plus one hour or minus one hour.

If Hollyoaks is on a Wednesday then would you say that Tuesday is Wednesday plus one?

If the clocks are going forward an hour would you add (plus) an hour or minus an hour?

I repeat

18.01 + 1 = 19.01

Which is when the news (in this example) is shown on the +1 channel.

It's really that simple. You're overthinking it.

I repeat

18.01 + 1 = 19.01

Well maybe I, like the OP like to think about stuff.

Anyway I still say it should be -1 as it is a hour behind.

And I say it should be +1 as the numbers are greater.

Its not.

Its 1am in Germany. Are they an hour ahead or behind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Post #5 with the full explanation .......... why did this thread continue after this post, that's the real question that needs answering!!!

'PLUS you get ONE more chance to watch, is surely what it means?

Its not.

Its 1am in Germany. Are they an hour ahead or behind?

Its +1, ie ahead.

So RTE +1 should be showing stuff a hour earlier than the regular RTE.

00:00 +1 = 01:00. The six one news would be on at 19:01 in Germany.

Thus the six one news being shown in Ireland at 19:01 is -1.

When you go to Germany do you + or - a hour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

It's to show they agree with RTE 1. You'd think a moderator would just tell them to use the thanks button instead of saying +1.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,955 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Live , real time, any of those would apply?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,392 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Can't wait for the op to explain channel 5 + 24

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Because if everybody cracked off on Google instead of posting on forums, forums like this would have about 5 people like you on it at any given time.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,411 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I repeat

18.01 + 1 = 19.01

The news at six is an hour later at seven,so -1. If it was +1 it would be at five.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,138 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Jesus Christ

This whole thread is like being inside a stoner's mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,291 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

Think my toddler even knows the answer to this

• Registered Users Posts: 19,138 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

It's "plus one" as in it's enabling you to watch it with your missus.

Due to the fact that it'll take her an hour to get ready, and/or stop moaning and giving out about whatever random shite has deemed to be your fault today, they delay the programs for an hour so that you don't miss them