Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tyrone GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭munster87

That Canavan looks like a great prospect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭babybuilder

As a Donegal supporter it gives me no satisfaction to see Tyrone playing so poorly. One positive that may come out of this is the end it the mind numbing ultra defensive tactics employed by both Donegal and Tyrone. Giving top calibre footballer s free possession, uncontested ball and no one marking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭physioman

Yee just weren't at the races today. See you in Ulster next year ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Sad to see Sean have to bow out like that. The only reason he came back this year was a bad performance last year and we do that. So disappointing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Jayop wrote: »
    Sad to see Sean have to bow out like that. The only reason he came back this year was a bad performance last year and we do that. So disappointing.

A long drive home with time to think. Where do you reckon ye got it wrong?

One of the very best in this century. Such a superb footballer. One of the reasons we admire the sport.

Donal55 wrote: »
    A long drive home with time to think. Where do you reckon ye got it wrong?

I made a big post there in the main thread. The goal from a mistake, no intensity in attack or defence. A massive change in the attacking tactics. Poor shooting.

Really we got it wrong by playing Dublin. Too good for us but we didn't help ourselves either. Looked like a team out on their feet after twenty minutes which was strange given how fit we're supposed to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭Grueller

Grueller wrote: »
    Total neutral here. Just popped in to say that I think that ye will win tomorrow. It is exactly the type of game that Mickey Harte has specialised in masterminding over the last decade and a half.

Just as well that I am not a gambler lads eh.
    To be fair that dublin performance was excellent and their tactics were spot on. Tyrone are not as bad as that.
    On another note it is very touching to see the tributes to Sean Cavanagh. What a player, what a leader, what a man. Up there with the greats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,150 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

One of the very best in this century. Such a superb footballer. One of the reasons we admire the sport.

+1 Personally I would put him down as the best footballer in the country since the turn of the century. I know Gooch is probably favoured by most but I saw so many games that Cavanagh controlled and bossed, especially when the games were going against them and he was needed. He was everything to Tyrone, leader, role model, midfielder, point scorer, captain, just an outstanding footballer and it was a privilege to watch him play (apart from when he was lining up against Donegal obviously! :P ).
    Lovely touch by the Dublin footballers at the end yesterday too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

How many of the starting forwards would even make the Dublin squad?

Not too many I reckon. Maybe Sludden. When you see the likes of Connolly, McManamen, Flynn, O'Gara coming on, it shows the gulf in class. Brogan and Costello not even getting a game.

Just as an aside didn't I say that if there was any incident of note in the Tyrone game TSG would be salivating to get the chance to lay the boot in whereas they completely ignored stuff from other games. O'rourke I'd say was delighted Colm lost the run of himself for a second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭JB81

Just as an aside didn't I say that if there was any incident of note in the Tyrone game TSG would be salivating to get the chance to lay the boot in whereas they completely ignored stuff from other games. O'rourke I'd say was delighted Colm lost the run of himself for a second.

I see what you did there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,051 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I've stopped watching the 4 lads anymore. Time for a major overhaul.

Whelan and O'Se were very quick to back McGuigen up and say it shouldn't really be dwelled upon during TSG highlights. Donaghy incident was also highlighted and similar sentiment. Rightly so. Move on.

Must be hard to take yesterday's game. Despite all his service, I think the best thing for Tyrone in the medium-long term would be a fresh start with a new manager. It would be nice to see that happen without an internal fight.

Aye it's a bitter pill to swallow. We just seemed to be going the right direction prior to yesterday so whether there's any appetite to push mickey out I don't know. I don't even know if I want it.

Any word on how the vote is going to go tonight Jayop? He'll get another year anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

I still think he has earned the right to call it a day himself. However a repeat of the meak exit of this year, next year then he has to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭thisonetaken

I still think he has earned the right to call it a day himself. However a repeat of the meak exit of this year, next year then he has to go.

We've had 10 years of meek exits, surely it's time for something new. All the top teams have our number, his system just doesn't work against them anymore. Doing the same thing year in year out and expecting different results is just stupid. The Dublin match showed how tactically inept he is, we were getting demolished and it took him to half time to change anything by which time the match was well over. Tyrone have some seriously good players they deserve a chance under a new manager.

3 year extension.

I don't know how I feel about it. Back to back Ulster and strong favorites already for next year to do a historic threw in a row, but we're as far away from the top boys as we've been in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Jayop wrote:
    I don't know how I feel about it. Back to back Ulster and strong favorites already for next year to do a historic threw in a row, but we're as far away from the top boys as we've been in a long time.

I don't think it's good news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Wow I wasn't expecting that strong an endorsement.There seemed to be a not insignificant lobby opposed to Mickey Harte.

Stoner wrote: »
    I don't think it's good news

I think we'll continue to do well in Ulster until one of the other teams ups their game a fair bit. On the basis of the last two years we're well in front there. That shouldn't be enough though.

Have to say that is some surprise but I can see some logic in it if it has been realised that something drastic needs to be done in order to challenge for an All Ireland.

I thought the best would be to let someone new in but if Micky is intending on going back to the drawing board or sold them a new vision, then it'll take a bit of time and year 2 & 3 might reap dividends.

It'll be very interesting to see if there's a tactical shake up in the League.

There won't be. Nothing major anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭sliabh beagh

its an utter disgrace. grassroots in tyrone totally opposed to harte and yet the few decision makers come up with 3 years? there has been some backlash on the tyrone forums. has not went down well at all. why would mickey change his tactics now he is safe for another 3 yrs? they are gonna regret this decison big time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

He's basically blocking any progressive young coaches or managers coming through

its an utter disgrace. grassroots in tyrone totally opposed to harte and yet the few decision makers come up with 3 years? there has been some backlash on the tyrone forums. has not went down well at all. why would mickey change his tactics now he is safe for another 3 yrs? they are gonna regret this decison big time.

Was it not Club delegates that had the final say?
    If it's 3 years of more of the same then it's going to be a long 3 years. I know an Ulster means more than the other provinicals but it shouldn't be enough for Tyrone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    He's basically blocking any progressive young coaches or managers coming through

Is he?

Like who?

Was there anyone else in contention for the role?

The majority of people I've seen calling it a disgrace are people from outside the county, particularly twat like brolly who again made a complete prick of himself and his hatred for Tyrone obvious last night on Twitter. There is a vocal minority within that aren't happy but the majority of people I've seen comment on it are happy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭sliabh beagh

brolly is right on this one. your not allowed to critisize harte in tyrone. too many people afraid of the cult leader and anyone who voices their opinion against him is treated like a pariah.