Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Mooooo wrote: »
    Bucket with a few nuts in it give it a shake? My feckers knocked me into the trough the other day

Mine too, flat on my ar**se in front of my neighbours house.

And I'm expert at not slipping over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Timmaay wrote: »
    Any easy way to flush a 6 month old calf outa a 10ac field of maize?? Sunday afternoon also of course!

Did ya get the calf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Did ya get the calf?

Yep. But the incalfs decided to do a loop of a neighbours garden, not for the 1st time either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭alps

kerry cow wrote: »
    Do they just overwinter them on silage and sell to grass or finish off grass ??

Put through the system as fast as possible, not many would be finished from grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭alps

Slaughter report.on ICBF is a very interesting tool if you sell any stock into these dealers and they send them directly to the factory...you can see exactly what they got paid.

In July, a Friday morning that we were heading away for the weekend, the poor bill presented with a broken rod...in serious pain and swelling badly. There was no.way we could.leave him until a.fter the weekend so we rang one of our dealers who came with the box and we settled.on 500euros, which I was quiet happy with as the poor lad was a very bad sight and we didn't have the time to tend to him not would.i have been confident that he would.not have been condemned in the factory.

looked up the slaughter report after the weekend, and he had survived a trip to Kildare Chilling and made a whopping 1042euros....

Thought in his best health he'd have only fetched 900 or so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Fcuking bull is lame on the front leg however he managed it. When I trimmed his back leg a few weeks ago he broke the hoof nak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,814 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Someone was asking the interest rates on loans, I have a stocking loan 3.5% over cost of funds, cost of funds is 0.6% p.a, so interest rate of 4.1% , ulster bank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Floki

Got my Glanbia Herd Disease screening report sheet today in the post.

Just as I suspected with the youngstock and now confirmed by the milk testing on the cows the land parasites are dropping big time and all since I got calcium limestone spread last autumn.
    No changes in the dosing regime.
    Only dosed the cows when they went into the shed after 3 weeks last year and no more since.

Results are
    Stomach worms.
    1/10/16 - 0.61938
    8/04/17 - 0.54828
    17/06/17 - 0.36694
    26/08/17 - 0.27903

Liver fluke.
    01/10/16 - 6.332
    08/04/17 - 3.071
    17/06/17 - 2.931
    26/08/17 - 1.533

There it is in black and white.
    The bacteria eat the calcium lime as soon as it's spread on the surface and from being ground so fine into flour. But they will continue to eat the dust all year and then the soil dust or minerals/Om will become available under the soil surface when the soil heats up in late July until around late September and depends on soil temperature and a little bit of moisture for the bacteria.

The more diverse the bacteria in or on the soil the less ruminant parasites able to survive the assaults on all sides.

Calcium lime is formed from coccolithophores growing on the sea surface and then dying and falling to the bottom of the sea floor and through time and compression become limestone.
    Magnesium lime was formed the same way except the rock is a bit more porous and sometime in the past magnesium has leached into the rock. Now to me if a mineral can leach in others can leach out.
    I have also heard from good sources that quality of limestone is graded on its hardness and it makes sense to me that all the minerals would be locked in tight.

Going on this for me the future for my soil (shale and some sandstone and veins of quartz based) would be to scrap spreading lime every 3 to 5 years and apply a little small bit every year on all the land.
    This won't work unless I buy my own spreader but I feel it would be the ideal situation. Anyway here's dreaming.

How'd everyone else get on with their tests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sillycave

Dosed calves about 4 weeks ago with Albex 10%. There is still some coughing in the bunch and was going to dose again now with Albex again, what are people's thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Sillycave wrote: »
    Dosed calves about 4 weeks ago with Albex 10%. There is still some coughing in the bunch and was going to dose again now with Albex again, what are people's thoughts?

We change doses during the season in an effort to reduce resistance developing in the parasites. We find albex good though. Try a levamisole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

We change doses during the season in an effort to reduce resistance developing in the parasites. We find albex good though. Try a levamisole.

I alternate albencare drench and zearl pour on for calves works v well .calves have only got one dose of each this year so far and flying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sillycave

How often do u leave between doses, wouldn't normally dose this soon after the last dose
    Thought maybe the coughing was down to the last dose??

Sillycave wrote: »
    How often do u leave between doses, wouldn't normally dose this soon after the last dose
    Thought maybe the coughing was down to the last dose??

Albendazole only deals with existing burden, there is no protection from parasites picked up after the dose. With weather in recent weeks it is time to watch calves. Would agree with lads and use a different dose. Perhaps an ivermectin now and a different one again at housing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,814 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Sadly decided to say good bye to one of our young Hereford Bulls. He got pneumonia 1 month ago. He picked up after treatment each time but relapsed after 2-3 days.

He's blowing again and I've just given him a pain killer to keep him comfortable till knacker collects him Monday.

I should've listened to my 12 yo when he said send him to the factory instead of treating. I didn't want to do that as we only bought him this spring. Phuck it anyway

Have a yearling heifer here. She has had 3vets visits. Fecking flat out this morning. Was commenting yesterday how well she looked

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

There s an open day in Bandon tomorrow on the gurteen farm.this set up as a share farming trial to give a blue print that would be more revelent to ireland than basing it on nz plans.interesting set up that was built on a green field site on a farm that had no dairy infastructure.just thought any young farmers or people thinking of stepping back might be interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

K.G. wrote: »
    There s an open day in Bandon tomorrow on the gurteen farm.this set up as a share farming trial to give a blue print that would be more revelent to ireland than basing it on nz plans.interesting set up that was built on a green field site on a farm that had no dairy infastructure.just thought any young farmers or people thinking of stepping back might be interested

Are u involved in it . Was half thinking of popping in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

What time is it on? Is it an all day thing?

Tempted myself but things a bit hectic.

10.30 . Would love to know what expected finish time as i calls in the evening

No involvement other owning probaly.00001% of it as coop shareholder.always been curious about it so heading tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Another piece in the expansion jigsaw here. 2days of pure hardship with unexpected dodgy ground under the tank, and a serious amount of rain last night, but hopefully the worst part of it done now.

Bad engineers too;)

Another piece in the expansion jigsaw here. 2days of pure hardship with unexpected dodgy ground under the tank, and a serious amount of rain last night, but hopefully the worst part of it done now.

No involvement other owning probaly.00001% of it as coop shareholder.always been curious about it so heading tomorrow.

Mighy see ya there so even though 2 of us dont have a clue what each other look like lol

Would ye want to put a a drain around it? Last tank we did was rock breaking and and space for a drain around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,865 ✭✭✭visatorro

You weren't worried about going close to the existing shed?

Mighy see ya there so even though 2 of us dont have a clue what each other look like lol

If you meet a fella that hasnt a clue what hes talking about,thats me

visatorro wrote: »
    You weren't worried about going close to the existing shed?

Hopefully within 4ft of it. Only way I can fit a 20ft bay over a 16ft tank. Once the tank is up I'm just extending out the existing roundroof and leantos straight out, I could of done a leanto straight out off the whole lot but the cost starts to rocket then with having to make up a flat truss in front of the existing shed. We'll probably need to brace back the pillers, easy enough job, girder on the ground and weld to the piller a bay back. Ideally I wouldn't even bother with a roof over the tank, however then I'd be loosing over half a metre in the tank for rainfall, so the sums stacked up well just to roof it. Tams2 young farmer hopefully back on the most of it also.

And moo, yep definitely putting in a land drain pipe whole way around it, about 4ft down from the top, which is as low as I can drain it to a nearly open drain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Got a call from dept. vets this morning.
    Seems that we were reported for starving animals...
    Each and every animal on farm was inspected. I was commended for their condition and welfare.

Last weekend there was a bunch of young fellas drinking Dutch Gold on the farm...I politely asked them to move on...so they thought it was funny to report me.

Soooo.... I reported that they were "interfering" (!!) with cows whilst blind drunk.

One good turn deserves another.

Interesting day in bandon.a couple of points-nice setup a couple of things i might do different but the entire project cost 260 k but that includes water parlour bulk tank farm roads slurry storage and cubicles.milked 92 cows last year on 34 hectares and hoping to milk 105 next year.all stock belonging to the operater but most bills and milk sales split 60 /40 to land owner.on last years production owners got a return 4.6%on capital invested and the operater had 37.5k.out of this he had to live and pay for his stock.not a great return but it struck me that outside of the calving season he would be under very little pressure.every thing done by contractor and it wouldnt make sense for him do it as owner is paying for 40% of it.he has no infrastructure work or spend so from now u til christmas he would be under no pressure.i could see this year he would have well over 50k for himself and the jist i picked up is if he had a living and a 100cows paid for he d be happy enough.the next step would be to move to a larger set up.the other big advantage for him is he is marketing his skills in a big way to potential suiters in a way that would not be possible in a private setup

10 acres with a bit over 2k cover, looks like weather won't be there to bale or in the next week, silage ground coming back in after cutting last week so stocking rate down to 2.2 with autumn calvers dried. Would I be better off grazing it, too risky waiting for a dry spell.? Next covers just shy of 1500 and paddocks would be grazed approx 18 days ago

Interesting day in bandon.a couple of points-nice setup a couple of things i might do different but the entire project cost 260 k but that includes water parlour bulk tank farm roads slurry storage and cubicles.milked 92 cows last year on 34 hectares and hoping to milk 105 next year.all stock belonging to the operater but most bills and milk sales split 60 /40 to land owner.on last years production owners got a return 4.6%on capital invested and the operater had 37.5k.out of this he had to live and pay for his stock.not a great return but it struck me that outside of the calving season he would be under very little pressure.every thing done by contractor and it wouldnt make sense for him do it as owner is paying for 40% of it.he has no infrastructure work or spend so from now u til christmas he would be under no pressure.i could see this year he would have well over 50k for himself and the jist i picked up is if he had a living and a 100cows paid for he d be happy enough.the next step would be to move to a larger set up.the other big advantage for him is he is marketing his skills in a big way to potential suiters in a way that would not be possible in a private setup

Banks mention anything on financing, unsecured loans?