Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    You are always stopping randomly when out rambling on the bike. Why not bring the spade with you the next time and do some public service!

Who says I stop? I cycle along that path, but I do look at it :cool:

Ten egrets on the Dodder today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

Chuchote wrote: »
    Who says I stop

From one of your previous posts:

"we took a leisurely loop through Ringsend Park, across Tom Clarke, along the Liffey, stopped for a sit and to watch someone throwing a ball into the Grand Canal Dock for his dog"

So, I put it to you, that you do indeed, stop!

"we took a leisurely loop through Ringsend Park, across Tom Clarke, along the Liffey, stopped for a sit and to watch someone throwing a ball into the Grand Canal Dock for his dog"

Guilty as charged, sir! Indeed I stopped today to watch the swans and egrets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Ryath

I feed the pigeons, I sometimes feed the sparrows too.
    It gives me a sense of enormous wellbeing
    And then I'm happy for the rest of the day,
    safe in the knowledge there will always be a bit of my heart devoted to it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,358 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

on several occasions, i have wondered if cyclists could provide useful feedback on animal population levels based on reporting what they see, which unfortunately would involve a lot of roadkill. there's been quite a lot recently.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

I'm with Ferris Bueller on this one :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

21192297_864259443724489_1579282029473019874_n.jpg?oh=9b14658170cf6bc4cd17021f0d119af6&oe=5A571923

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

on several occasions, i have wondered if cyclists could provide useful feedback on animal population levels based on reporting what they see, which unfortunately would involve a lot of roadkill. there's been quite a lot recently.

You can report sightings on Biodiversity Ireland's website. I've done it before for red squirrels and other creatures.

http://www.biodiversityireland.ie

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,358 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

bugger, never thought of that. mainly hedgehogs and rabbits of late - though i did find a dead sparrowhawk outside the house a few months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,335 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭manafana

Tenzor07 wrote: »

their is a want and push for this in Dublin, but the car park lobby and likes of BT keep opposing it

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,999 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    The cynic in me believes the first photo is photoshopped.
    manafana wrote: »
    their is a want and push for this in Dublin, but the car park lobby and likes of BT keep opposing it
    Which is funny because the car park lobby as a whole is probably quite small, so unless there are nice brown envelopes flying around. Despite being lower down on the finance spectrum than a typical BT shopper, I know alot of people who shop in there. None of whom I can think of who would drive in typically. I imagine most BT shoppers are LUAS users now and the rest who are not near the LUAS lines typically bus it (no proof whatsoever).

CramCycle wrote: »
    Which is funny because the car park lobby as a whole is probably quite small
    what lobby is bigger than them though? or can do the hand wavey 'THIS MANY JOBS' claims?

I'd say almost any lobby group would have a superior claim in that regard compared to them. A few security guards, repair people for the ticket machines and other machines and the people who run it.

Interestingly, selling that property (or just changing their mind with what they wanted to do with it) and having them convert it into residential property would be far more beneficial to the economy, create more jobs, support more local businesses and so on.

Hell, considering the rental, I cannot imagine that despite the investment, they would not make more over time through rental over car parking.

I'd say almost any lobby group would have a superior claim in that regard compared to them.
    it's not about the validity of their claim, it's about who they can afford and who is best at arguing their point of view, unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Fair play to the girl who continued her commute today not only on a flat tyre, but on a tyre that has unseated from the rim on both sides and was rolling OVER her canti brakes, flapping happily.

She refused any help or a spare tube, thats the proper cyclocross spirit!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭manafana

I'd say almost any lobby group would have a superior claim in that regard compared to them.
    it's not about the validity of their claim, it's about who they can afford and who is best at arguing their point of view, unfortunately.
    The car park lobby group is akin to the NRA in USA, they make alot of noise for their size and budget. BT itself seemed think its biggest clients drove in, then also they are attached to a car park itself, one on a street that shouldnt even have cars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Alek wrote: »
    Fair play to the girl who continued her commute today not only on a flat tyre, but on a tyre that has unseated from the rim on both sides and was rolling OVER her canti brakes, flapping happily.

She refused any help or a spare tube, thats the proper cyclocross spirit!!!

Reminds me of a nice bike I was admiring parked up outside a store I was in yesterday, then I noticed the front tyres had banding around the sides. The brakes were set up so that they were clamping onto the tyre and not the rim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

I would leave a note suggesting that riding this bike as it is may cause the rider to suddenly embrace the tarmac, or eternity, soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,908 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

We haven't heard much of Finian McGrath's opinions on cyclists round these parts in a while. I wonder what he's up to.

tomasrojo wrote: »
    We haven't heard much of Finian McGrath's opinions on cyclists round these parts in a while. I wonder what he's up to.

He doesn't know what he is upto himself, between being strongly opposed to things, but also agreeing with the opposite position when someone tells him that he is being a bit of a wally, but then turning around and saying, while he supports it, he hasn't changed completely from his first position. My concerns for either the electorate or more likely the lack of reasonable alternatives in that area leads me to understand why we have issues in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Bringing his weight of experience and knowledge to the HPV vaccine "debate".

Call for "citizen database" on wildlife (damn, my environmentally conscious African neighbours presumably won't be able to send in notes)

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/calling-citizen-scientists-to-save-nature-with-a-database-1.3193204#.Wa04NpERiNE.twitter

Ah yeah, I was just trying to be funny. It's instructive to see that someone who is a gut populist in one area will probably be a gut populist in another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Anybody done Lahinch to Galway on the Wild Atlantic Way? I would love to have a look at it on Strava

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Ah yeah, I was just trying to be funny. It's instructive to see that someone who is a gut populist in one area will probably be a gut populist in another.

Finian has never seen a bandwagon,that he didn't feel compelled to jump on!

He'll be looking for Leo Varadkar's birth certificate next.

Call for "citizen database" on wildlife (damn, my environmentally conscious African neighbours presumably won't be able to send in notes)

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/calling-citizen-scientists-to-save-nature-with-a-database-1.3193204#.Wa04NpERiNE.twitter
    i tweeted at liam lysaght that if he wanted to cycle over dunes, a fat bike would be advisable. unfortunately, he had to take me seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,380 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

He'll be looking for Leo Varadkar's birth certificate next.
    Make Clontarf great again by (not) building a wall.

God, I'd forgotten about his intervention in the sea wall business.