If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Kids on Flights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

I have always believed that's kids who can't behave themselves shouldn't fly.

That does seem to be a common opinion here.

But neither I nor the airlines care about that common opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,355 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

The point here I think is being lost . The mother in the OP post wanted consideration for her sons kicking off . Fine , but then she wasn't giving others consideration that they also have a right to be stressed or upset . It has to work both ways , yes autistic kids are unpredictable and can shout and scream and we need to try to be patient and understanding . But their carers also need to understand that screaming upsets some people
    I for one cannot handle high pitched screaming , be it a toddler in tge playground or whatever . It hurts my ears and actually stresses me . ( Equally a very high soprano opera singer stresses me )
    So yes I would have to cover my ears and get stressed at an hour and 45 minutes of kicking off on a plane

My point is that if the mum asks for tolerance for her son then she must afford the same tolerance to the other stressed passengers as she does not know why they are travelling or what stresses or indeed illnesses they also might have

The child cannot help screaming and I cannot help being stressed over it . In my opinion its that simple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭irishmoss

That does seem to be a common opinion here.

But neither I nor the airlines care about that common opinion.

Well we know that, you've mentioned it a few times. Anything else to contribute?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭keith_sixteen

anewme wrote: »
    No one wants the cabin to themselves.

The mother has said that the child was kicking, screaming, hair pulling, banging her head for an hour and 45 minutes. She admitted herself that it was so loud that people covered their ears.

People are not "snowflakes" for being upset in this instance.

Being rude to the family is not helpful and achieves nothing, but don't try to downplay it. It must have been very distressing for all concerned INCLUDING other passengers.

What's this thread about then?

Is it about the attention seeking episode in the OP? All the usual outrage mob on here sound like they wish they could have been on that flight.

Or, is it about kids on flights in general? Cos if so, again - kids have every much a right to be on a flight regardless what some entitled pricks (such as the lady in the OP) think.

People insisting that this is about the right to "be" on a flight without reference to behaviour are just avoiding the entire question. In fairness, thread should have been called 'uncontrolled kids on flights' maybe

People whataboutery drunk adults- off with ye to the 'drunk adults on flights threads

People insisting that this is about the right to "be" on a flight without reference to behaviour are just avoiding the entire question

There is no question except in your head. Children, even children who melt down, are allowed on flights. If that is a problem, it is your problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

There is no question except in your head. Children, even children who melt down, are allowed on flights. If that is a problem, it is your problem.
    I think there lies the problem.

Your kids behaviour is in fact your problem, not everyone else's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭irelandrover

There is no right to be on a flight.

If a child is melting down so that they cannot be restrained in their seat for take-off can be removed. I've seen that happen. The airline were very apologetic but they couldnt take off while the child wouldnt sit down.

So if the meltdown of the child compomises the safety on the flight they are not allowed on the flight. The exact same way that an adult who does the same is not allowed on the flight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭keith_sixteen

People whataboutery drunk adults- off with ye to the 'drunk adults on flights threads

It would be a much bigger thread for sure:

- Drunken fools
    - People not bothering to turn up to the gate - wait for their bag to be offloaded - flight delayed
    - People trying to smoke on flights
    - People sitting in the wrong seats
    - People dragging their oversized luggage in and ramming into the overhead bin

Crying kids has never been an issue for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,355 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

yes they are , and others have a right not to like it or get stressed by it . I would really hope I would find it in my heart to be tolerant and accepting of a child who is having a meltdown . But to deny that it would stress me is nonsense in my opinion as everyone has different stress inducers . I would have to leave a room with a screaming toddler in normal life but on a plane I cant so would be stressed and upset .I hope I would just put in ear plugs and try to avoid being an additional stress on the parents. But as I said it works both ways and the fact others find it stressful must also be acknowledged .
    The plane is not full of angels it is full of humans with their own upsets , illnesses, stresses .

I think there lies the problem.

Your kids behaviour is in fact your problem, not everyone else's

And your annoyance at the behavior of someone elses child is your problem.

Internet hardmen should have to pass a comprehension exam imo. Aggression without wit is an unpleasant mix.

And your annoyance at the behavior of someone elses child is your problem.

Exactly, so if a parent of a hysterical child wants understanding, I hope they afford the same understanding to my reaction to 1:45h of screaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,954 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

People insisting that this is about the right to "be" on a flight without reference to behaviour are just avoiding the entire question.
    I don't think that they are. I think it is the question.

I'm happy to agree that noisy or distressed kids on planes are a pain for everybody involved.

But my position is...what can I reasonably expect to happen?

That, for my sake...kids should not be allowed on planes? That parents with families that include young kids should not go on holidays that need flights? That kids be given some medicine to keep them quiet?

I don't think it's reasonable to expect any of that to happen (but these have been suggested in the thread), so what can I really do about it. Yes, it's going to annoy me, and I am being imposed upon more than I am imposing on others, but it's just something I'll have to put up with, because the only ways that I can think of to avoid it, are not reasonable.

What I think I can reasonably expect is that parents with kids who are suffering make efforts to calm them down (for their own sake much more than other passengers), and that parents with kids who are just being noisy make efforts to keep them quiet (for the consideration of other passengers).

I think this kind of situation is rare enough anyway, but on the few occasions there has been a child really crying/distressed, I've always seen the parents doing what they can to calm them down and keep them happy...I don't know what more I can reasonably hope for.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,335 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

the_syco wrote: »
    If she was kicking my chair, I'd care. If she kicked it for 1 hour 45 minutes hours, I'd care enough to tell them to stop. Otherwise, my music goes loud, and I ignore the screaming children/adults as best as I can. If the adult is nearby me, I will tell them to shut the fcuk up. If it's a kid, I'll laugh at them (I've an evil laugh).

Am I to assume that because the kid is autistic, that the parents are totally unable to calm them down?

Yes, that can actually literally be the case.

Exactly, so if a parent of a hysterical child wants understanding, I hope they afford the same understanding to my reaction to 1:45h of screaming.

I doubt they want understanding. I very much expect what they really want is for their child to calm down.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,335 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Edit: I've tried to read up on the posts following mine, but, to be honest, the level of ignorance is astounding. Some of you people should be ashamed of yourself. Shouldn't go on a flight. Shouldn't leave the house I suppose. Maybe put them in a nice institution, so they don't annoy you. FFS.

I'm out.

I doubt they want understanding. I very much expect what they really want is for their child to calm down.

The OP was referencing a lady who wanted people to be tolerant and understanding

osarusan wrote: »

I'm happy to agree that noisy or distressed kids on planes are a pain for everybody involved.

That, for my sake...kids should not be allowed on planes? That parents with families that include young kids should not go on holidays that need flights? That kids be given some medicine to keep them quiet?

I don't think it's reasonable to expect any of that to happen (but these have been suggested in the thread), so what can I really do about it. Yes, it's going to annoy me, and I am being imposed upon more than I am imposing on others, but it's just something I'll have to put up with, because the only ways that I can think of to avoid it, are not reasonable.

What I think I can reasonably expect is that parents with kids who are suffering make efforts to calm them down (for their own sake much more than other passengers), and that parents with kids who are just being noisy make efforts to keep them quiet (for the consideration of other passengers).

I think this kind of situation is rare enough anyway, but on the few occasions there has been a child really crying/distressed, I've always seen the parents doing what they can to calm them down and keep them happy...I don't know what more I can reasonably hope for.

Stepping away from the rancour of the thread I'd have to say this is really the fair position alright

But hey, arguing on the internet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭GritBiscuit

...I'm happy to agree that noisy or distressed kids on planes are a pain for everybody involved.

But my position is...what can I reasonably expect to happen?...

Exactly.

At the end of the day a boarding pass entitles us to rent a seat for the duration of a flight. It doesn't entitle us to comfort, peace or anything else...never mind a say in how those who have rented the seats around us behave. Of course the ideal way to travel is in peace and harmony and with zero delays but we don't live in an ideal world and starting out with that expectation is only going to end in frustration and disappointment all round...without changing the outcome one little bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

caniask86 wrote: »
    :eek: Really ban Autistic children from first class?

Can every please stop trying to say Autistic children should stay at home.

She was saying that advising people to travel first class to avoid autistic children was a stupid suggestion.

Internet hardmen should have to pass a comprehension exam imo. Aggression without wit is an unpleasant mix.

How exactly is it aggressive to point out to people who believe my children should not be allowed fly that that is not my problem, but theirs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,668 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Honestly, were I the parent of a child I knew couldn't sit quietly on a flight, I wouldn't take them on one. Were my child autistic and pretty much guaranteed to be traumatised by a flight on an airplane, I'd confine family holidays to Ireland.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Sleepy wrote: »
    Honestly, were I the parent of a child I knew couldn't sit quietly on a flight, I wouldn't take them on one. Were my child autistic and pretty much guaranteed to be traumatised by a flight on an airplane, I'd confine family holidays to Ireland.

To be honest, every flight with your child is different, the first they could be an angel, the next they could be a demon.
    Kids have personalities, they have feelings, they are affected more by popping ears and the louder noise inside a plane and all the bigger people around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,025 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

My son has taken 18 flights in his short life, we regularly visit the grandparents and visit his mothers country. From all the flights, he has cried exactly twice. The first one, and the most recent one, which lasted about 15 minutes because he didn't want to sit down quietly while we took off (He was two, and had to have his own seat for the first time). The amount of tutting and crap going on behind me was unbelievable. If you have such a problem on 3 hour flights, wear headphones, of stay home and holiday there instead, I don't have much of a choice if I want my son to know his extended family. We try our best, but we can't put our hands over his mouth, so gway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

These parents have a tough time it seems with an autistic child, they deserve a nice holiday. And for those saying they shouldn't put the child through a stressful flight. How do they know the child always reacts like this or that the child may enjoy the holiday as much as the rest of them when they get their. Some people are maddeningly selfish. Boo hoo if your flight was interrupted for a few hours. You get to move on with your life after it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Wildcard7

Thank you.

I think it comes down to common courtesy in the end. We're all in this big tube trapped together, let's try and make it as comfortable for ourselves and each others as we can. Let's try to avoid unnecessary things that make others time in the plane a nightmare.

I don't mind a kid with autism behind me kicking my seat for the entire 2 hours flight. If nothing can be done about it, fair enough, touch luck for me. I do mind a "normal" (let's hope there are no PC fanatics here) kid kicking my seat for 5 minutes without the parents trying to stop it, though. Because that is as avoidable and disrespectful as a black out drunk person groping you, or someone who hasn't showered for a week before the flight.

Kids will be kids and they will make noise and annoy grumpy old feckers like me and that's perfectly fine. But if your kid is bored out of its skull because you didn't bring any toys/books/whatever and then starts kicking the seat in front of it or pulling my hair and you're not bothered to do anything about it, that's a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,668 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Oh, I've taken my kids on flights (most recently just 2 weeks ago) but we were always prepared to ensure they wouldn't cause disruption to other passengers: ensuring flights coincided with nap times when they were younger, bringing enough things in carry on to keep them quiet (soothers, teddies, bottles, calpol, tablets with favourite cartoons etc. when they were really young, lollipops and video games as they've gotten older).

I'm not one who'd tut at the parents in the OP, I wouldn't appreciate being sat next to them but I wouldn't be having a go about it or making my displeasure known, I'd just be more considerate of others than they are and wouldn't do as they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

The few times i've had to endure economy (short haul), I found that paying for front row (exit) solves the issue of being stuck close to children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Snugglebunnies

Some people are clearly looking to be offended by children on sight. I was on a short flight with my daughter when she was about 4. About 30 minutes in the woman in front of her turned around and told me to stop my daughter kicking her seat. She went blood red when I pointed out that my daughter was a actually fast asleep. She was the type who obviously couldn't wait for her opportunity to give give out about a child. People are weird.