If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Kids on Flights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

However, if anyone were to butt in and tell me to control my child or similar, he would be told, in no uncertain terms, to pay a visit to a taxidermist on his own behalf.
    So I just tell the child itself to shut the **** up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,948 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

osarusan wrote: »
    The child would probably suffer a lot more if they tried to travel to Spain by car. Directly at least.

Kids on flights can be painful, but I'd have a lot of sympathy for them, and their parents, if there is a genuine condition/fear/etc involved and the parents are doing their best to keep the child at ease.

Letting people act the maggot, child (running round the place) or adult (drunk and rowdy) because they just don't give a f**k, annoys me much more.

The child would suffer a lot less if they didnt travel to Spain at all. There are plenty of places in Ireland to go on holidays that involve much less stress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,948 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Candie wrote: »
    It's not nice to endure, but it's a million times worse for the parents and the child themselves.

I'm sure loads will decide that they're bad parents for going away with the child at all and should hide away from society in case they inconvenience anyone with their presence, but they deserve a break, the kids deserve a break, and kids with special needs deserve holidays too.

I'd rather be sat beside a child with some struggles than beside a grown adult who thinks the world should revolve around their comfort and that kids with needs should be kept apart from the rest of society.

If its so bad - then why are they doing it???? The kid doesnt care if its two weeks in Spain or two weeks in Brittas Bay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 omagh776

So wanting to move away from a screaming, kicking child having a serious meltdown makes you ignorant now. :confused:
    That mother need to cop on a bit.

Love all the posters falling over themselves to show how tolerant they are.
    An hour or two of being kicked in the back and having to listen to very loud screaming, they'd be sitting there like a Tibetan monk, yeah we believe that.
    Everyone has a limit to what kind of behaviour they'd be will to accept on a flight.

Flying is stressful for most, an scary for a lot of people.
    Your trapped in a tiny space, deprived of oxygen and you can't escape from.
    There's a limit to how much disruption, danger, loud noise others should be subjected too.
    The parents need to realise that their child's behaviour could scare, upset and anger others.
    Labelling everyone else who isn't 100% understanding as ignorant, is well pretty ignorant.

Would be great if Aer Lingus could implement something like KLM, people that want to sit together can sit together rather than just a lucky dip ending up in the middle of stag or screaming kids.

https://www.klm.com/travel/de_en/prepare_for_travel/on_board/your_seat_on_board/meet_and_seat.htm
    How does it work
    Meet and Seat image with Facebook and Linkedin logos
    On KLM.com, log in to My Trip or check in (from 30 hours before departure) and go to the seat map.
    Select the profile details you want to share with other passengers and add your travel details.

Next, the seat map will show you:

Other participating passengers’ profile details – regardless which social media account they or you used.
    Which seat they have chosen.
    Which seats are available: you can select a seat, for example, next to someone with similar interests – and change as often as you like.

If you want to, you can sign up to receive an e-mail 3 days before departure, in which you’ll see who has joined Meet & Seat on your flight.

If other airlines implemented something similar, would give people the option at least of knowing what their seat neighbors are like before they are forced into the situation when the door shuts.

It is after all a shared space, the more information you have the more comfortable the journey can be for everyone.

If it's a Train/Boat you have space to walk somewhere else and get away from the disruption.
    If it's a bus you can get off
    If it's a Car/Minivan then it's a private space and you can do whatever you want.

Many of my friends/colleagues in Holland/Germany wouldn't go near an Airplane with their kids and prefer to spend the time driving even if that means over 10-20 hours driving as they can fit everything in the car, no security, check in, oversize bags, delayed flights etc.

Cost is also a factor, flying during the school holidays is expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

So I just tell the child itself to shut the **** up?

If you want me to call the attendant and report you harassing a child with foul language, rock on.

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    There are plenty of places in Ireland to go on holidays that involve much less stress.

Feel free to avail of them if you don't like flying with actual people.

If you want me to call the attendant and report you harassing a child with foul language, rock on.
    My word against yours I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭Nermal

inforfun wrote: »
    Latest thing in fashion i have noticed is handing out tablets to kids and no headphones. So you have the joy of having to listen to peppa pig coming from tin can speakers for the duration of the flight

Hear hear. When did this become acceptable in public?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 omagh776

My kids are too old for this to be an issue anymore, and I only recall one time on one flight where the little guy cried and screamed (last leg of a 3 flight trip to visit family), but yes, I agree. It is no skin off my nose if the guy (always a guy) in the next seat tuts, sighs, folds his arms or glares.

However, if anyone were to butt in and tell me to control my child or similar, he would be told, in no uncertain terms, to pay a visit to a taxidermist on his own behalf.

That's exactly how people end up escalating things and getting kicked off flights, more than likely the passengers around you will be on the side of the person who asked you if you could control your child.

The person you'd just effectively said "I am going to kill you" to will call a flight attendant and see how it goes from there.

Then you end up on the Sunday World banging on about how they didn't actually mean they wanted to kill the other person and "he would be told, in no uncertain terms, to pay a visit to a taxidermist on his own behalf." was a figure of speech and you didn't actually mean you wanted to kill them.

Zubeneschamali's family holiday to Playa des Engles was ruined by one stupid mistake

My word against yours I suppose

I've got a witness.

omagh776 wrote: »
    The person you'd just effectively said "I am going to kill you" to will call a flight attendant and see how it goes from there.

I double dog dare you.

I've got a witness.

So do i

So do i

Namely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Nermal wrote: »
    Hear hear. When did this become acceptable in public?

It isnt.
    But those parents of the year dont have to entertain their kids that way and a big **** you to the people around them.

But what i really, really dont get is that when there are 4 flights a day on a route, why pick the 10 pm one when having 3 kids of which the oldest is 6.

That is one of the most valid points made so far.

As I said, it's hard to tell from the info in the OP.

But if it was a case where they got on a busy flight, at a time when their kids were at their worst anyway, knowing what would happen because they take 2 holidays a year stuff, much less sympathy. If they were caught unawares, needed a holiday, didn't think it would be that bad, went during the kid's nap time, well they tried.

But those parents of the year dont have to entertain their kids that way and a big **** you to the people around them.

So if the kid cries, it's bad, and if the parents give them a mind-numbing tablet to keep them quiet, it's bad.

How about if we sing "the wheels on the bus" at the tops of our voices for 90 minutes straight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,639 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I was in the airport a while back walking around in duty free. There was a woman with a kid of about 5 in a buggy (a kid far too big for a buggy in other words). She had herself and the buggy parked in a corridor, probably as far away from everyone as she could get. The child was rocking and keening, making this horrific high pitched wailing sound. It was absolutely ear piercing. I walked back about ten minutes later and the noise still hadn't stopped.

Now that woman looked absolutely exhausted and I pitied her with all my heart. But if that child had been on my flight I would have had a breakdown. The noise was horrific, absolutely horrific. If you had any sort of anxiety being trapped in a plane with it would have driven you out of your mind. And it was like a klaxon, the child didn't draw breath. The woman in the OP said her child cried for an hour an 45 minutes. I wouldn't blame any passenger for being upset or annoyed in that situation. Airports are already stressful, flying is already stressful.

I honestly don't think you should fly with a child like that. It's not fair on you, the child, or anybody else.

But if it was a case where they got on a busy flight, at a time when their kids were at their worst anyway, knowing what would happen because they take 2 holidays a year stuff, much less sympathy.

This is a very strange thread. People are talking about how they are bothered, how they are annoyed and inconvenienced, how their flight time is not enjoyable - and now how much sympathy they have or don't have for the parents.

Why does anyone imagine that any parent cares about any of this? You buy a ticket, you sit in your seat, you get to the other end. No-one promised you a child-free flight, and your annoyance or otherwise is nobodies problem but yours.

Why does anyone imagine that any parent cares about any of this?

See post 1. The entire thread is based on the observations of a parent who at least cares enough to tell their story on social media. As they are entitled to. It's all about the sympathy of some, the frustration of others. That's the discussion. Not sure how that has passed you by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

So if the kid cries, it's bad, and if the parents give them a mind-numbing tablet to keep them quiet, it's bad.

How about if we sing "the wheels on the bus" at the tops of our voices for 90 minutes straight?

You have read the initial point I made with the tablet? 100% volume up so 4 rows in each direction the people have to "enjoy" peppa pig?

I couldnt care less if they used headphones so no one else hears a thing.

See post 1. The entire thread is based on the observations of a parent who at least cares enough to tell their story on social media.

No, the parent in that social media story thanked the airline staff for helping with a difficult flight despite some other passengers being jerks.

The OP used that as a starter for this strange thread making it all about the poor other passengers being subjected to a child, and how children should not go on planes in case they might annoy someone.

Eh, no. I buy tickets, I travel with kids. Don't like it? Don't get on a plane. You might want to avoid trains, too. Also buses, restaurants and parks. Supermarkets are iffy unless you go very late at night.

You should be OK in your apartment, in your car (if you keep the windows closed), at work (unless you are a teacher/doctor/nurse or work on planes, trains or buses), and in the pub after 7 at night. Stick to those locations, and you'll never be subjected to an actual family, problem solved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,661 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Earplugs folks, always travel with earplugs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I'm on holidays at the moment, with my 2 kids, 7 and almost 2.
    I was having bouts of anxiety over how the youngest would be on the plane. I didn't need to worry as there wasn't a peep out of her for the 4.5 hours. There was a new born on the flight and boy did he test his lungs. Nobody seemed bothered by it, most just gave a look of sympathy and smiled.

Halfway through the flight a Dublin couple had a Barney, screaming and cursing at each other. A flight attendant had to tell them to calm down 3 times. They had a small child with them :( safe to say they pissed people off more than the baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,355 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

There is a huge difference between a child who is upset and crying and tired and a child who is simply bold and undisciplined and causing others stress . A child crying when upset and a parent who is doing their very best to calm and reassure is not a problem . One who kicks my seat , or leans over the one in front and spits is .
    Its very rarely the childs fault but the parents who could not give a toss who they bother .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I have been reading this thread with interest, and horror at some people's opinions. I was the parent with the child having a meltdown on a plane. We never had a bother at all with the eldest two, and as it was just a flight from Dublin to London and back again, so didn't anticipate any problems. She was two at the time, I hadn't had a break in ages and we were just going over for the weekend to a family occasion. She was grand getting on the plane but about 20 minutes into the flight got upset and cried and cried. Nothing would calm her down until the plane landed. Absolutely fine then. I am a quiet person, hate having attention drawn to me and was absolutely mortified.
    Three days later and we are flying home, I had a colouring book etc, a little packet of sweets , anything to distract her. I gave her Calpol before getting on the plane in case her ears hurt. To say I was dreading the flight is an understatement. The same happened again only worse about halfway home, she had a total meltdown, I tried my best to distract her with her books , gave her a couple of jellies, nothing would work.
    The woman behind stuck her head in between the seats and asked me to please "shut her up".
    All I could say in shock was "excuse me?". She told me I had her spoilt , that is what the problem was. At this point I had stood up, shaking with rage, asked her how old was she to be carrying on like that, the child at least had an excuse being only two. I asked her did she not have kids herself, that maybe she could have a small bit of empathy seeing that I was doing my best to calm her down. Whoever the man was travelling with her looked absolutely mortified at her behaviour. She said nothing else after that.
    As soon as the plane landed, herself was all smiles again, ran off the plane all delighted, little wagon!
    As another poster said , you don't know until you have tried a flight how they are going to behave, and that is even without any special needs to take into consideration. God help that woman if she had a crying child to listen to on a long haul flight, if she turns into such a b1tch listening to it for 20 minutes or so. I can appreciate that it wasn't pleasant to listen to, it certainly wasn't for me either! I have been in situations where a child is acting out and the last thing I would do is roll my eyes and tut, nevermind say anything.
    Inside I am sympathising with the parents. As others have said, I can walk away from the situation and go on with my day. Needless to say we haven't been on a plane since:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Saruhashi

biZrb wrote: »
    Some serious lack of compassion from people on this thread. The mother of the autistic child didn't ask for her child to be autistic. She probably gets hardly any respite for her child. Her family are affected by this as the child gets the most attention in the family. The holiday was a break for everyone in the family. Yes, it lead to a nosy flight for those who sat near her, but they could walk off the flight and return to their normal lives. The family can't do that.

From the description it sounds like this flight was extremely traumatic for the child.

Is it fair to put your child through a traumatic experience (twice, probably) just to have a holiday?

I understand the mother giving out about passengers being unsympathetic to her circumstances but at the same time she is putting her child through what sounds like a traumatic experience.

The child doesn't know that other passengers were huffing and puffing and moving seats etc. So actually this behavior only offended the mother.

So she puts her kid through hell and then complains because people were giving out and the giving out offends her.

Was the child more upset by the tuts and dirty looks of other passengers or was the child more upset by being dragged onto a 2 and a half hour flight?

No, the parent in that social media story thanked the airline staff for helping with a difficult flight despite some other passengers being jerks.

The OP used that as a starter for this strange thread making it all about the poor other passengers being subjected to a child, and how children should not go on planes in case they might annoy someone.

Eh, no. I buy tickets, I travel with kids. Don't like it? Don't get on a plane. You might want to avoid trains, too. Also buses, restaurants and parks. Supermarkets are iffy unless you go very late at night.

You should be OK in your apartment, in your car (if you keep the windows closed), at work (unless you are a teacher/doctor/nurse or work on planes, trains or buses), and in the pub after 7 at night. Stick to those locations, and you'll never be subjected to an actual family, problem solved!

I have a kid.

But evidently we differ, in that I also have an awareness and appreciation for others. I'm not one of those "I am now a parent, nothing else matters except my child".

If my kid is throwing a tantrum in a confined space with others, like a restaurant, she is brought out. You are entitled to not care about other people. But if you don't like the reaction of others? Well then...don't get on a plane. You might want to avoid trains, too. Also buses, restaurants and parks. Supermarkets are iffy unless you go very late at night. You should be OK in your apartment, in your car (if you keep the windows closed), at work (unless you are a teacher/doctor/nurse or work on planes, trains or buses), and in the pub after 7 at night. Stick to those locations, and you'll never be subjected to (the reaction of other people), problem solved!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Saruhashi

73Cat wrote: »
    I have been reading this thread with interest, and horror at some people's opinions. I was the parent with the child having a meltdown on a plane. We never had a bother at all with the eldest two, and as it was just a flight from Dublin to London and back again, so didn't anticipate any problems. She was two at the time, I hadn't had a break in ages and we were just going over for the weekend to a family occasion. She was grand getting on the plane but about 20 minutes into the flight got upset and cried and cried. Nothing would calm her down until the plane landed. Absolutely fine then. I am a quiet person, hate having attention drawn to me and was absolutely mortified.
    Three days later and we are flying home, I had a colouring book etc, a little packet of sweets , anything to distract her. I gave her Calpol before getting on the plane in case her ears hurt. To say I was dreading the flight is an understatement. The same happened again only worse about halfway home, she had a total meltdown, I tried my best to distract her with her books , gave her a couple of jellies, nothing would work.
    The woman behind stuck her head in between the seats and asked me to please "shut her up".
    All I could say in shock was "excuse me?". She told me I had her spoilt , that is what the problem was. At this point I had stood up, shaking with rage, asked her how old was she to be carrying on like that, the child at least had an excuse being only two. I asked her did she not have kids herself, that maybe she could have a small bit of empathy seeing that I was doing my best to calm her down. Whoever the man was travelling with her looked absolutely mortified at her behaviour. She said nothing else after that.
    As soon as the plane landed, herself was all smiles again, ran off the plane all delighted, little wagon!
    As another poster said , you don't know until you have tried a flight how they are going to behave, and that is even without any special needs to take into consideration. God help that woman if she had a crying child to listen to on a long haul flight, if she turns into such a b1tch listening to it for 20 minutes or so. I can appreciate that it wasn't pleasant to listen to, it certainly wasn't for me either! I have been in situations where a child is acting out and the last thing I would do is roll my eyes and tut, nevermind say anything.
    Inside I am sympathising with the parents. As others have said, I can walk away from the situation and go on with my day. Needless to say we haven't been on a plane since:)

"about 20 minutes into the flight got upset and cried and cried. Nothing would calm her down until the plane landed"

"The same happened again only worse about halfway home, she had a total meltdown"

So you put your child through this because...

"I hadn't had a break in ages and we were just going over for the weekend to a family occasion"

So this wasn't a necessary thing like taking the child to the dentist or the doctor or something that they won't exactly enjoy but that is absolutely necessary.

Did your 2 year old comprehend that the other lady wanted her to shut up? You took offence on your daughters behalf but it was you who willingly put your daughter in that position in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Saruhashi wrote: »
    "about 20 minutes into the flight got upset and cried and cried. Nothing would calm her down until the plane landed"

"The same happened again only worse about halfway home, she had a total meltdown"

So you put your child through this because...

"I hadn't had a break in ages and we were just going over for the weekend to a family occasion"

So this wasn't a necessary thing like taking the child to the dentist or the doctor or something that they won't exactly enjoy but that is absolutely necessary.

Did your 2 year old comprehend that the other lady wanted her to shut up? You took offence on your daughters behalf but it was you who willingly put your daughter in that position in the first place.

What the..?

Kids are unpredictable. Especially when they are babies and toddlers. Would you suggest that no parents ever take their kids on a plane unless they can guarantee the kid will not cry?
    It's not as if the poster knew the child would be upset. Or that they ignored the child.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,205 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

omagh776 wrote: »
    That's exactly how people end up escalating things and getting kicked off flights, more than likely the passengers around you will be on the side of the person who asked you if you could control your child.

Then you end up on the Sunday World banging on about how they didn't actually mean they wanted to kill the other person and "he would be told, in no uncertain terms, to pay a visit to a taxidermist on his own behalf." was a figure of speech and you didn't actually mean you wanted to kill them.

Zubeneschamali's family holiday to Playa des Engles was ruined by one stupid mistake
    You didn't understand that to mean 'go and get stuffed'?

More of the same, people looking for outrage and offence.