Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Larbre34 wrote: »
    What weaknesses do you believe the Dubs might have, and that Mayo may be in a position to exploit?

That's my whole point we've no idea what they are as no-one has been good enough to test them.

Say what you want it's much better to iron out any deficincies in earlier rounds than learn about them in the heat of an all ireland final. Kerry looked world beaters till mayo got at them. Tyrone beat teams out the gate till the Dubs got at them

This mayo team has rattled dublin before and can easily do so again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

Open the game up, run at them, run and don't stop running.. Make it a case of we will score more than you ! Mayo have Athletes to match Dublin and it is all about taking your scores on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭jasonroche123

If anyone has tickets soon for final, I'd appreciate them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

jr86 wrote: »
    That's my whole point we've no idea what they are as no-one has been good enough to test them.

Say what you want it's much better to iron out any deficincies in earlier rounds than learn about them in the heat of an all ireland final. Kerry looked world beaters till mayo got at them. Tyrone beat teams out the gate till the Dubs got at them

This mayo team has rattled dublin before and can easily do so again

Kerry haven't looked all that great all through the champo, and neither have Mayo

Tyrone have up until today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

Bambi wrote: »
    Kerry haven't looked all that great all through the champo, and neither have Mayo

You're forgetting the Roscommon reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,547 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

The first fifteen minutes of the final could be the winning of the game in my opinion. As good as Dublin are, they haven't played a properly competitive match in 11 months (unoess you count the league final, I don't because I believe Dublin wouldn't perceive it as a hugely important fixture) so they'll need a little bit of time to settle in and get to grips with our intensity, an intensity we brought right from minute one in both Kerry matches. If we build up a nice lead (4 points minimum) in that period, we are in with a real shot. If it's close heading into minute twenty, we're really up against it but never out of it all the same.

That's just the way I see it, and of course there's a lot more to the game than the opening stanza. The gap in fitness and quality from the bench between them and us (and every other county) isn't half as wide as many make it out to be. This year, we have really good options from the bench to call on like Loftus, Coen and Durcan. Maybe not quite as polished as the likes of Brogan, O'Gara and company but these are options we didn't really have last year, I don't recall any subs making a huge difference for us in 2016 but it's an area that needed to improve and so it has (although Dublin obviously have more high quality subs than ourselves, so we have to make clever use of ours).

We're in a much better state heading into this final than we were last year, and even then there was only one point between the sides over 150 minutes, made even harder to take for our two desperately unfortunate own goals. We can beat them in a football match, I've no doubt about it, and after getting the Kerry monkey off our backs, the panel has never been mentally stronger and rightfully confident as they should be now.

I wasn't very confident last year, and was pleasantly surprised by the battle we fought in the two games, but this year is a different story and I can't think of many reasons why we can't push Dublin to the brink and then finally over it. We don't really do "cute hoorism" here, well I certainly don't anyway, and I won't apologise to anyone for really believeing we will go that one step further at last in three weeks time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Dublin are a super team but are now completely untested coming into a final and none of their weaknesses have had a chance to be exposed.

I honestly that was an absolutely ideal scenario for ourselves. We'll now be written off to high heavens and a nice lid kept on the hype. We have rattled dublin anytime we've played them.

Cannot bloody wait

Could equally be said no team good enough to test Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

You're forgetting the Roscommon reply

Repeat the words "Roscommon replay" a few times and you'll get my point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Donal55 wrote: »

I'd agree with this,I thought Dublin were exceptional in the first half today.Very controlled and measured with great intensity.Probing patiently until the opportunities arose and some quality long distance scores.

Don't buy for a minute the narrative that Tyrone have suddenly become a bad side,possibly not as good as one had been led to believe but they were literally blown out of the water in the first half.

Dubs pulled away in the second half whilst in second or third gear whilst bringing in a bench of All Ireland winners.

Brings one bang down to earth after the elation of yesterday.Still think we'll give them a decent game!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭TommyDe

Bambi wrote:

Tyrone haven't played good opposition though.
    They really needed to play monaghan in the ulster final to help bring them on. A blanket defense when teams are pushing up on kick outs now? It was so easy for Dublin. All they had to do (and did perfectly) was keep Tyrone pegged back in their own half and get the turnover/loose pass - madness tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Mayo can take them I'm certain of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Solomon Pleasant

Tyrone's approach was obviously wrong today.

Dublin, the most technically gifted team in Ireland, were given time and space in midfield and defense, and vitally were allowed to go short for so many kick outs. Tyrone thought it acceptable and even rational to simply sit behind a blanket defense without pressing and matching Dublin for intensity.

I think Mayo can genuinely trouble Dublin by using their approach which is a more aggressive, fitness driven and fiercely physical approach by hitting a Dublin player every time he gets the ball.

I suspect that, without such easy possession, Dublin will struggle to play such excellent football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

seligehgit wrote: »
    I'd agree with this,I thought Dublin were exceptional in the first half today.Very controlled and measured with great intensity.Probing patiently until the opportunities arose and some quality long distance scores.

Don't buy for a minute the narrative that Tyrone have suddenly become a bad side,possibly not as good as one had been led to believe but they were literally blown out of the water in the first half.

Dubs pulled away in the second half whilst in second or third gear whilst bringing in a bench of All Ireland winners.

Brings one bang down to earth after the elation of yesterday.Still think we'll give them a decent game!:D

Whoever wins wins with no excuses. I can't believe the narrative being peddled now about Dublin being untested. Its rubbish. Dublin are probably the most consistent team there's ever been in the GAA. Much like Mayo they'll hit the ground running in the final.

I felt Mayo were physically better than us last year but to their credit Dublin found a way. Comes with being champions i think. This year with McCaffrey back, Mannion playing well and Scully, COC & Lowndes forcing their in we've quite emphatically addressed that. Mayo have added a string to their bow too with their much improved build up play.

Always a fierce intensity to the contest between the sides. It'll be tight again i'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭maximus15

Donal55 wrote: »
    Agreed but no team will test dublin sitting back and trying to keep the score down like most of their leinster opponents, or just operating blanket defences like monaghan and tyrone and let dem stroll up pitch from uncontested kickouts and pick off scores.

We have to run at them with pace and numbers while pushing up on cluxtons kick outs as much as possible. Play the game on our terms not theirs!!

Roll on 3 weeks time!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Having seen Dublin today ye have a right job on your hands. From 1 to 15 they have seriously skilled players. They are well able to mix it as well with John Small and Niall Scully constantly pulling their men down. Peter Harte was tortured by Small for the whole first half dragged down and had his runs stopped constantly.

Their 6 forwards were not only good in front of goal but worked back exceptionally hard with Mannion winning two turnovers in his own fullback line after tracking his man all the way. McCarthy and Fenton are quality around the middle any any one of their subs could do immense damage.

They will punish every mistake. Tyrone found that out very early on today with the goal.

Mayo will have to be a lot more aggressive than Tyrone were today. Parsons and O'Shea will have to dominate like they did against Kerry and your forwards will have to work even harder at keeping Dublin penned in.

Also i'd suggest keeping Clarke in ahead of Hennelly :P

Best of luck. I know that it was probably a blessing in disguise for Kerry to have been beaten on Saturday. I think ye are better equipped to deal with the Dublin threats. I thunk they'd have minced us and relished it to win their 3 in a row.

The common consensus before last weekend was that Dublin were the best team out there, then Kerry, then Tyrone, and Mayo had fallen off the pace. As the Mayo Kerry games showed, that was incorrect, Mayo clearly the better side, twice, so they are at least in the top 2 or 3 sides. And as such of course they can beat Dublin. But still need a lot to go right. One thing that can be said is that they are coming good just at the right time. And more than that, it's now far from the Lee Keegan show, Boyle, the resurrection of Andy Moran, Aidan O'Shea getting the better of Donaghy...they are going into the final with momentum. Huge task...but definitely do-able.

There was a great post on this thread days ago, about how much the Dublin/Kerry/Mayo match ups have given us in recent years. If Mayo finally win it, it will add a wonderful chapter to the story of this era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I fancied mayo for all ireland but if dublin repeat todays performance ,mayo have no hope .Dublin forward's very impressive kicking points from long range and forwards running off the shoulders .Tyrone missed 5 scorable points at start of second half ,similar to mayo forward shooting when under pressure .
    For mayo's sake lets hope dublin peaked today !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

seligehgit wrote: »

They didn't become bad overnight, they were just never as good as the media would have had everyone believe to begin with. Their style of play was never going to beat Dublin and once they fell behind, they were incapable of fighting their way back into it because the way they​ set up prevents them from doing so. Once Dublin got themselves in front, Tyrone didn't have the tools to stage a comeback. That conservative style is not going to beat Dublin and frankly I'm surprised at Mickey Harte's naivety in that regard. They set up to contain Dublin rather than go at them and going at them is really the only way to take the game to Dublin.

Look, are Dublin untested this champ? Yes.
    Is it their fault? Absolutely not.
    Do we know can they dig out wins when a game is in the melting pot? Absolutely.
    Am I deep down clutching at straws behind it all? Probably.

But forgive me for coming into a mayo thread and taking the optimistic view. After all and sundry telling us we were making up the numbers last year and the majority of pundits and fans countrywide saying we couldn't beat Kerry, I sure as can be will believe that this is the year right until Dublin win the cup

I'm going to be as optimistic and deluded as I can be and fk the begrudgers. Being in an all Ireland is what it's all about and we're the envy of 30 counties.

I probably won't post much in the build up as it'll be a trolling goldmine and full of petty tit for tats about who was tested and how much of a jail sentence aidan o'shea should serve for provoking Donaghy but would encourage everyone to stay positive and believe in the lads and savour all of it

Tldr: mayo4sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

But forgive me for coming into a mayo thread and taking the optimistic view. After all and sundry telling us we were making up the numbers last year and the majority of pundits and fans countrywide saying we couldn't beat Kerry, I sure as can be will believe that this is the year right until Dublin win the cup

I'm going to be as optimistic and deluded as I can be and fk the begrudgers. Being in an all Ireland is what it's all about and we're the envy of 30 counties.

I probably won't post much in the build up as it'll be a trolling goldmine and full of petty tit for tats about who was tested and how much of a jail sentence aidan o'shea should serve for provoking Donaghy but would encourage everyone to stay positive and believe in the lads and savour all of it

I think we are going to win too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

km79 wrote: »
    I think we are going to win too ;)

Me three.

Sure, we'll be lucky to keep the ball kicked out to them, but we'll head up for the day out anyway. :)

PressRun wrote: »
    Sure, we'll be lucky to keep the ball kicked out to them, but we'll head up for the day out anyway. :)

But surely if we lose we're complete bottlers, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

Blackjack wrote: »
    Me three.

Make that four.

Mayo are no Tyrone.

That's it gents great to see!

But surely if we lose we're complete bottlers, no?

Oh yeah, of course we are.
    Dublin will win by about 20 points, maybe more if they really decide to go at it. And Mayo will just roll over and let them cos they've no backbone.
    We'll go up for the look anyway, even if only to have the pleasure of being in the presence of this Dublin team.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Won't go into all the details as I'm sure its been said. But great win, everyone stood up. AOS did the job, loved when he was switched from FB into the forward line. Managment made great decisions.
    We got rub of the green from ref for once. Kerry not as good as thought, but we stopped them.
    Tyrone were very poor but Dublin clinical and powerful.

Going to be epic. No fear though as we know everyone of their toe nails at this stage, though everything has to go right for us.

Immense squad of player, writing off and ridiculed by many on here and media over the last few months, now in an AI final once more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

DDC1990 wrote:
    Best of luck. I know that it was probably a blessing in disguise for Kerry to have been beaten on Saturday. I think ye are better equipped to deal with the Dublin threats. I thunk they'd have minced us and relished it to win their 3 in a row.

Oh we would, would be more difficult with Crowley and Morley dragging out of the half-forward line like the best of them than it was today.

I agree Mayo are certainly better equipped than Kerry, always have been in my book and I've questioned the rubbish about them not being a top three team here before. They only get moving in the Semifinals.

What impressed me most yesterday was the performance of the management team, they got nearly everything right, that in itself is the biggest concern for me as a Dublin supporter as largely speaking these are the same players as the last two years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

Great result on Saturday, took control of the game from the start, and despite Kerry getting a 1 point lead at one point, we kept driving on, controlled posession in the middle which completely nullified the threat from Donaghy.

Feet on the ground though, nothing won yet, and the level of Dublin's annihilation of Tyrone yesterday was a sobering sight.

Still though, we've 3 weeks to focus on a tactical plan to dethrone the champions, and if anyone can do it, our boys are the best equipped in the country from a fitness, strength and hunger perspective.

What to do with the weekends though?
    Thankfully the rugby season is back next Saturday, and as luck will have it, Connacht are at home in the first two games, so I'll be in the Sportsground the next two Saturday nights.

That will see me through til All-Ireland week, hopefully a ticket will have surfaced by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

Stephen Coen was super when he came on