Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,458 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    gitzy16v wrote: »
    Floyd is old...tonight is the night he himself will realise.

Father time waits for no man...

Its all the straws i can grasp but im grasping them lol

If it makes you feel better it's the best straw to clutch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Conor via DQ
    Boxing fans about to be shut up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

Conor via DQ
    walshb wrote: »
    If it makes you feel better it's the best straw to clutch.

Im not that invested but you're right its the only hope hes got really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,228 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Floyd via DQ
    Pheonix10 wrote: »
    Boxing fans about to be shut up.

Can you not be boxing and MMA fan? why so polarising?

Conor via DQ
    Can you not be boxing and MMA fan? why so polarising?

Because the smugness in here over the past few days is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Are people concerned that Mayweather may well seriously injure McGregor tonight? Most likely he will toy with him, and let Conor tire himself out, but the potential is there for Mayweather to do proper damage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Floyd via DQ

49-0 multi weight champion, top 3 of all time defensively, a guy who's made some of the best boxers of the last 50 years look ordinary vs a 0-0 guy who does MMA. Smugness? I think you mean common sense and logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,580 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Are people concerned that Mayweather may well seriously injure McGregor tonight? Most likely he will toy with him, and let Conor tire himself out, but the potential is there for Mayweather to do proper damage.

McGregor is much younger, won't get tired. I do expect the first serious punch to knock him the duck out though.

Conor via DQ

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,458 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO

Get out then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,580 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lSPNQ82Sq4E

Interesting prediction for the fight.

Conor via DQ
    Burial. wrote: »
    49-0 multi weight champion, top 3 of all time defensively, a guy who's made some of the best boxers of the last 50 years look ordinary vs a 0-0 guy who does MMA. Smugness? I think you mean common sense and logic.

Lets see. Good thing sports are so predictable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Floyd via DQ
    walshb wrote: »
    Utter nonsense.. kill you stone dead? In the dark alleyway, yeh?

Floyd's laughing because this isn't some dark alleyway scrap. It's Floyd's stage where he's getting paid an obscene amount of money to show up and show up a complete novice..

Exactly...

Floyd will be absolutely relishing the fact, that Conor is completely hamstrung in this "fight".... he is forced to become a rubbish boxer for the night.

He will love the fact, that he gets to pick apart such a famous star, with 100's of millions watching around the world. While Conor gets more and more frustrated, at not being able to use his full range of fight skills!

It's a bit like watching a cat play with it's food, before killing and eating it. Conor is going to be a very well paid sacrificial lamb, so Floyd can look awesome at his retirement party! ;)

Conor via DQ
    Exactly...

Floyd will be absolutely relishing the fact, that Conor is completely hamstrung in this "fight".... he is forced to become a rubbish boxer for the night.

He will love the fact, that he gets to pick apart such a famous star, with 100's of millions watching around the world. While Conor gets more and more frustrated, at not being able to use his full range of fight skills!

It's a bit like watching a cat play with it's food, before killing and eating it. Conor is going to be a very well paid sacrificial lamb, so Floyd can look awesome at his retirement party! ;)

Sure mate. We shall see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Floyd via DQ
    Lets see. Good thing sports are so predictable.

Na don't be like that. How can you suggest some people are being smug by writing McGregor off? He's never had a professional boxing fight and he's fighting a wizard. If the shoe were on the other foot and Floyd and Conor were going to head into the Octagon I'm certain you'd be nowhere to be seen remarking how the smugness of MMA fans in relation to Floyd's chances would be ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

I literally can't believe how many of lads I know are staying up and/or paying for this event, is it for the craic? or just to see what happens?
    Can't get my head around the facts that people are buying into this marketing scam, jaysus talk about being sold a pup!
    No wonder they are getting paid millions and laughing up their sleeves when there is so many gullible people out there.
    Anyway, night all, going to have a decent nights sleep. Will have no trouble finding out what happens tomorrow :)

Conor via DQ
    I literally can't believe how many of lads I know are staying up and/or paying for this event, is it for the craic? or just to see what happens?
    Can't get my head around the facts that people are buying into this marketing scam, jaysus talk about being sold a pup!
    No wonder they are getting paid millions and laughing up their sleeves when there is so many gullible people out there.
    Anyway, night all, going to have a decent nights sleep. Will have no trouble finding out what happens tomorrow :)

We will tell you about the party tomorrow 😜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

We will tell you about the party tomorrow ��

Thats what i mean, it's got nothing to do with boxing or MMA, it's just a piss up.
    Still can't believe people part with their hard earned money for this con :)

Conor via DQ
    Thats what i mean, it's got nothing to do with boxing or MMA, it's just a piss up.
    Still can't believe people part with their hard earned money for this con :)

Not really a con but enjoy your sleep :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

McGregor is much younger, won't get tired. I do expect the first serious punch to knock him the duck out though.
    I think a lot of professional athletes, even those coming from similar sports such as MMA, can often be very surprised at the levels of fitness and stamina required to go round after round in a boxing ring. I think McGregor's age advantage is negated by his lack of boxing fitness, which will become obvious very early.

Floyd via DQ
    What time does under card start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭wazzer1

Any idea if box office works on chromecast folks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,639 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Conor via DQ
    Am watching on sky box office channel 491.
    Anyone know how to get rid of the blue rectangle across as the bottom of the screen showing the channel details??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Stephen Hawkins football boots

Is 5.30 reasonable for fight to start ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,639 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Conor via DQ
    Figured it out!! Go Conor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭buzzinfly83

Do you reckon Mcgregor is going to fight in a similar stance as his Mma fights hands low, wide stance. How dya think this will effect the fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Jamiekelly

Do you reckon Mcgregor is going to fight in a similar stance as his Mma fights hands low, wide stance. How dya think this will effect the fight.

He doesn't have much experience with using the double jab technique to measure distance so I think that he will use a wider stance to judge the distance and throw some uncertainty at Floyd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,144 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Figured it out!! Go Conor.

How did you do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Floyd via DQ
    Jamiekelly wrote: »
    He doesn't have much experience with using the double jab technique to measure distance so I think that he will use a wider stance to judge the distance and throw some uncertainty at Floyd.

I think that after the first minute or so, he might revert to the "sleeping stance".

i.e. lying on the flat of his back in the middle of the ring while the room swirls around him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Kidantrim

Starting to get excited for this one now....

One of the few pro boxers going against the mantra of 'its a mismatch, farce , shouldn't be sanctioned etc etc ' is Andre Ward

Wards picking floyd in 6 , but did say it will insteresting in the early rounds , and I think it will be. I get the impression he doesnt think this will be the cakewalk for floyd most think it will......I like Ward and respect his observations on boxing in general.

People are going on about conor never having had a professional fight like he was a postman who'd never had a professional
    Fight. Hes a professional fighter whos never had a professional boxing match. If we get three or four competitive and exciting rounds , even if floyd takes over and stops him, conor loses little stock and it may still be a memorable bout. Floyd has more the more pressure on him i think.

One of the best and most talked about boxing matches ever is hagler hearns and that lasted less than ten minutes and was only really competitive for six.
    Both of those guys didnt need all their schooling and experience to serve that up . Hearns cracked hagler hard , broke his hand and was knocked out
    In three rounds and people still love him for it.

Its seems a lot of the media and public seem too fixated on saying ' I told you so' if conor only lasts a few rounds instead of waiting to see how it actually
    Unfolds.