Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Squatman wrote: »
    How do people feel the ref fared out? A lot of stoppages i thought. Seemed hard on both sides. And a yellow for everyone in the audience. Lol

Think he was trying to keep control by giving out a lot of cards. He was probably worried it would get a bit fiery. He was consistent, but over the top with cards, imo. Some of the yellows weren't yellows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Buer wrote: »
    I'd disagree in so far as there's nothing outside about his chances. He has to be one of the front runners regardless of who wins the title.

He's the favourite with PP, 9/2. I had a small bet on him the other day at 25s.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Fantastic result for Mayo.

1996 was a long time ago and that win puts 2014 to bed.

The only kerry player who can walk off that pitch happy with his performance in my view is Paul Geaney.
    Some talent.
    Probably Donaghy's last game for Kerry and not a good way to bow out.

The best players on the pitch were in Mayo jerseys and they strangled the game well at the end and closed it out, something they have failed to do numberous times before.

I really hope Durkan is available for selection for final.
    Would be an awful pity if he was suspended.

It's a pity Gough had so much influence on the game.
    It was like he was at an 80s wedding, throwing cards around like confetti.
    13 yellows, 3 reds and 2 black cards by my counting.
    The game wasn't allowed to flow.
    In saying that, he was on to the cynical tactics employed by Kerry so I'll give him some Kudos for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

jr86 wrote: »
    The only blatant heart in mouth moment was Aido criminally letting Donaghy get goal side at one stage for a high ball. Thankfully Boyler blocked it on the line
    I spent the last 20 minutes with my heart in my mouth. I only relaxed after the Donaghy sending off :o But I am sure once I look back on it I am sure we will look more comfortable than I felt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

franklyon wrote: »
    I spent the last 20 minutes with my heart in my mouth. I only relaxed after the Donaghy sending off :o But I am sure once I look back on it I am sure we will look more comfortable than I felt.

Exact same haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

jr86 wrote: »
    i actually think when we watch it back it'll look much more comfortable than it seemed at the time. Kerry were always going to throw the kitchen sink. I think we showed super nous and experience to see it out

The only blatant heart in mouth moment was Aido criminally letting Donaghy get goal side at one stage for a high ball. Thankfully Boyler blocked it on the line

It's amazing how comfortable it is watching it back. I watched the first game 3 times in full and we were never going to lose it any time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

Will durcan miss the next game? I assume not.

Delighted ref tried to stomp out kerrys off the ball antics. I assume donaghy and dazzler o sullivan will retire this year, otherwise they are both looking down the barrel of 12 week suspensions.
    Mayo all stars this year. Aido. Colm boyle. Andy moran. Jason doherty.. you heard it here first. Must look up odds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Naughty naughty

000e8b89-500.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Congrats lads. Make it count now and go and win it. Rochford deserves great credit. Got it spot on and won the battle of the sideline comfortably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Well done Mayo. The better team of the two is in the final by far. I think 2017 is your year. I think if Dublin make it there will be pressure on them to do the 3 in a row which will suit Mayo down to the ground. Tyrone may throw in an upset yet so all to play for. Well done today. I would love to see Mayo winning the All Ireland after all these years of heartbreak. Out of the top 4 teams they are the most consistent apart from Dublin and have failed to win the All Ireland. I think 2017 is the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,651 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

km79 wrote: »
    We need to organize some kind of a mayo game before the final final for Seamie to get the bad game out of the way :D

I'm worried about Donie
    He was a massive Massive loss when he went off just like in replay last year
    I fear it's concussion again which won't be good

He didn`t look concussed going off. Some reports it was hamstring.

Either way it shouldn`t be a problem for the final I would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Absolutely elated with that. One of our best days out in Croker. What a team, what a support, what a county.

Let's win this outright now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

What about Diarmuid ?
    Donie and him going off left us wide open
    Shows how important twhy are

Will durcan miss the next game? s

It was a second yellow so he won't miss it. I felt at the time it was a case of mistaken identity. Am pretty sure it was AOS that commited that foul but could be wrong.

Fantastic result for Mayo.

1996 was a long time ago and that win puts 2014 to bed.

The only kerry player who can walk off that pitch happy with his performance in my view is Paul Geaney.
    Some talent.
    Probably Donaghy's last game for Kerry and not a good way to bow out.

The best players on the pitch were in Mayo jerseys and they strangled the game well at the end and closed it out, something they have failed to do numberous times before.

I really hope Durkan is available for selection for final.
    Would be an awful pity if he was suspended.

It's a pity Gough had so much influence on the game.
    It was like he was at an 80s wedding, throwing cards around like confetti.
    13 yellows, 3 reds and 2 black cards by my counting.
    The game wasn't allowed to flow.
    In saying that, he was on to the cynical tactics employed by Kerry so I'll give him some Kudos for that.

The off the ball stuff was in full flow before the game started. He had a tough job today. Both teams were looking to get physical from the off and both played in a way that lead to a slower, more niggly game.

It's not great seeing that many cards but I don't think he was left much of an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

franklyon wrote: »
    Will durcan miss the next game? s

It was a second yellow so he won't miss it. I felt at the time it was a case of mistaken identity. Am pretty sure it was AOS that commited that foul but could be wrong.
    They do look very alike

Congrats, Mayo. Well done.

Hope ye go ahead and win Sam this year!

They do look very alike

haha yes :P but my first impression is he booked the wrong player. I will know once I get a chance to watch it back again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

Some punch in fairness to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭maximus15

What about Diarmuid ?
    Donie and him going off left us wide open
    Shows how important twhy are

Loftus deserves mention after replacing Diarmuid. Excellent pass to set up goal and 2 lovely points.
    He didn't weaken us. Kerry pushed forward trying to get back into game and were always goin to get more space when we retreated abit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Congratulations lads. Another great performance by the Mayo guys to savour. Enjoy the celebrations and the build up to the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

maximus15 wrote: »
    Loftus deserves mention after replacing Diarmuid. Excellent pass to set up goal and 2 lovely points.
    He didn't weaken us. Kerry pushed forward trying to get back into game and were always goin to get more space when we retreated abit more.

Have to agree Loftus was excellent when him came on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

naughto wrote: »
    Some punch in fairness to him

Thanks, was trying to post that earlier but couldn't link it in. Pity such a talented player should stoop......

From Irish times

image.jpg

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/mayo-finally-land-knockout-blow-on-kerry-1.3199581?mode=amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Motivator

Well done to Mayo and best of luck in the final. I've had a few quid on a Waterford and Mayo double and I think it's written in the stars for you now.

You're a serious football team and I think the hurt of last year will stand to you.

Paddy is good for the final, the CCCCCCCCCCCCCC have confirmed to RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

DDC1990 wrote: »
    It's hardly panic. Donnacha was in tracksuit and jogging around prematch. He wasn't far away from fitness. He is a guaranteed starter when fit. No different from Keegan starting the last day after his injury.

I just felt like the Kerry management might have decided they needed to roll the dice and decided to play him regardless of his fitness. It didn't work out but I don't think they would have won regardless. Mayo were simply better on the day. That was two fascinating tussles between the teams, and I guess we're even now after Kerry slaying us in 2014.

I think we're in with a really good chance to go all the way now. Go easy on the pints tonight (but not too easy), tomorrow will be gripping!

maximus15 wrote: »

I think he has a fair bit of S&C to do tbh. He looks a real talent and the pass was sublime but he got knocked off the ball a few times too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

I just felt like the Kerry management might have decided they needed to roll the dice and decided to play him regardless of his fitness. It didn't work out but I don't think they would have won regardless. Mayo were simply better on the day. That was two fascinating tussles between the teams, and I guess we're even now after Kerry slaying us in 2014.

I think we're in with a really good chance to go all the way now. Go easy on the pints tonight (but not too easy), tomorrow will be gripping!

I was wrong. It ended being a panic selection along with Lyne and O'Sullivan. I thought he was fit but he wasnt.

Rochford was vindicated in his selections and Fitzmaurice was the one to overreach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

I did feel like the Walsh selection was rushed. You don't recovering from a hamstring that quickly. Kerry missed him the last day and Fitzmaurice just wanted him back no matter what. He wasn't ready really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭maximus15

PARlance wrote: »
    I think he has a fair bit of S&C to do tbh. He looks a real talent and the pass was sublime but he got knocked off the ball a few times too.

Ya i agree he is abit light yet but for a lad who played his first 35 mins in an senior All Ireland semi final he made an encouraging impact