Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Floyd via DQ
    I'd say I speak for most here when I say no one cares about your potential bet lads, can ye take it to pm or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭marcus001

If you are too scared to put your money where your mouth is, fair enough. Adding nonsense stipulations shows you are in over your head. Let's pretend I didn't have the money to cover it, and miraculously McGregor wins, you lose nothing by taking the bet and can constantly hound me about welshing on it.

You are a spoofer. You don't have €100 to put up. You know you'd be giving me the money and are looking for loopholes to save face. You know it, I know it and everyone reading your pathetic baiting posts knows it.

He loses €100 if Mayweather wins with no chance of a payout if McGregor wins, so you're basically offering him a lose-lose scenario and calling him chicken for not taking it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Rezident

Conor via DQ
    I know it's a bit mad but I can't wait for it. Really looking forward to it. Just hope Conor can catch him, even just once, with a proper shot, be interesting to see what happens. Mayweather has never fought anyone like Conor. After brexit and Trump anything is possible. There is always hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Conor via DQ
    Feel like a dick posting pics of money.
    It's Floyd himself! No wonder you hate McGregor so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Floyd via DQ
    Pighead wrote: »
    It's Floyd himself! No wonder you hate McGregor so much.

Ah sure it's not as if I've much prep to do for tonight. I'll roll out of bed an hour beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Rezident

Conor via DQ
    Muahahaha wrote: »
    Nail on the head there man.

Brave words that cant be backed up.

As an aside and forgetting about the bookies odds what odds do ye think May-Mac should be just based purely on chances? Im thinking McG 12-1 but maybe some think far more than that?

So hard to price due to the anomalies with this one and the fact that a single punch - from either of them - could end it. 4/1 on mcgregor feels like a poor price, but the actuaries must have been working away, so they seem to feel it's a bit closer than many others think, considering Mayweather's age and lack of fighting etc. It's very interesting, it's so volatile that I think it makes an upset more likely. I would have thought 10/1-ish on McGregor but the actuaries are saying 4/1 for a reason...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,186 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Floyd via DQ

First step is to get yourself a new set of runners. And yes, you are a bit of a dick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭TheChosenOne_

Conor via DQ
    I for one cannot wait to hear the Irish National Anthem being sang at the biggest boxing event of all time. That in itself is enough for watching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,186 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Floyd via DQ
    I for one cannot wait to hear the Irish National Anthem being sang at the biggest boxing event of all time. That in itself is enough for watching

Imelda May ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,228 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Floyd via DQ

It might be the highest grossing but it absolutely is not the biggest boxing event of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,458 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    It might be the highest grossing but it absolutely is not the biggest boxing event of all time.

So true..

Biggest 'boxing' circus no doubt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,764 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Conor via DQ

Lol whats that 5k? Still another 45k to go here lad.

Listen you dont have it and nor would I expect anyone to have 50k just lying under the mattress. I will let it go now because you even went to the trouble of proving to everyone here that you dont have it.

Enjoy the fight :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Draw
    [
    There's €1k in the first photo and maybe €5k in the second bet. Considering you stipulated €100 minimum, you are about €45k short.

And I'd imagine the issue getting paid, not how much you have in your piggy bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Draw
    [
    There's €1k in the first photo and maybe €5k in the second bet. Considering you stipulated €100 minimum, you are about €45k short.

And I'd imagine the issue getting paid, not how much you have in your piggy bank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Floyd via DQ
    Muahahaha wrote: »
    Lol whats that 5k? Still another 45k to go here lad.

Listen you dont have it and nor would I expect anyone to have 50k just lying under the mattress. I will let it go now because you even went to the trouble of proving to everyone here that you dont have it.

Excuses Excuses. Good night

Conor via DQ
    Rezident wrote: »
    So hard to price due to the anomalies with this one and the fact that a single punch - from either of them - could end it. 4/1 on mcgregor feels like a poor price, but the actuaries must have been working away, so they seem to feel it's a bit closer than many others think, considering Mayweather's age and lack of fighting etc. It's very interesting, it's so volatile that I think it makes an upset more likely. I would have thought 10/1-ish on McGregor but the actuaries are saying 4/1 for a reason...

Yeah but you got to feel that the 4/1 odds the actuaries are giving is just them covering their massive exposure on McGregor. At least in Paddy Powers case anyway as the vast majority of bets are on McGregor. I would give him 10 or 12 to 1 at best though even then part of me is feeling that he does have a bit more of a chance than that. I am mainly basing that on the Paulie Mallinaggi episode, although we havent seen the full spar as yet what has been released did put Paulie firmly back in his box, you can see how butt hurt he is over the whole thing. That leads me to think that there is at least some truth that McG got the better of him when no-one expected him to even be at the races against a pro boxer. In saying all that Mayweather is in a different league than Paulie. But what the sparring does tell us is that McGregor is not as poor a boxer as what the experts were saying eight weeks back. I guess thats what makes it all the more intriguing, any sane person knows he is up against it tonight but there is still that element of Can he do it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭mikeybrennan

Mayweather won't give him the opportunity. He knows how important this fight is for the sport of boxing. The only way Mayweather can lose this fight is if he becomes complacent due to the utter dominance he will display over McGregor from the start; But again, the importance of the fight, combined with Mayweather's skill and professionalism, should dictate this does not happen.
    I meant Mayweather ko/tko not McGregor

I don't think McGregor as any chance of even landing a punch

Fair play to him for negotiating the deal though

Conor via DQ
    Excuses Excuses. Good night

No excuses here mate, you are the one who has fallen about 45,000 short of what you said you could manage just a few posts back.

You tried, I will give you that. But if you want to bet 50k then you have to actually have the 50k in the first place. Nobody is gonna bet on your beliefs when you dont have the hard cash to back it up, that is just common sense reality. It is clear now that you do not and that is fair enough. It would have been an interesting bet though, I mean 500-1 odds in a two horse race in the fight game where anything can happen is just astonishing. Even Buster Douglas was only 48-1 to beat Mike Tyson which he duly did in perhaps the biggest boxing upset ever. So offering 500-1 to the thread was just insanity on your part, especially now as we know you dont have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Conor via DQ
    ComDubh wrote: »
    Another analogy is comparing soccer and sprinting. Soccer players sprint, but the fastest soccer player in the world isn't even as fast as Ireland's best sprinter, not to mention a world-class sprinter.

Another crap analogy as are all these crap analogies......what's the aim in boxing? to knock your opponent out, what's the aim in mma? to knock your opponent out....see the difference

it's not football meets sprinting or golf meets the clean and jerk........Gareth A Davies of all people came up with one of the worst, "it's like Johnny Wilkinson taking a penalty in a world cup final" ......no it's fking not! how could that ever even happen

and to stipulate he did say against a top goalkeeper......so he wasn't talking egg chasing here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

The only real analogy is like a triathlon gold medallist in a race with Michael Phelps. The triathlete would have practiced swimming all his life, as Conor has boxing all his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,458 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    The only real analogy is like a triathlon gold medallist in a race with Michael Phelps. The triathlete would have practiced swimming all his life, as Conor has boxing all his life.

I like this one!

What distance/stroke the swim race and where?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Conor via KO-TKO
    Wonder and the other fanboys are going to have a melt down trying to defend their hero after that article.

well written mind you if a bit over the top, mentions the character flaws without going too deep.

I feel it will all end in tears and bankruptcy for McG. But what a ride while it lasts!

The article was a hatchet piece by a "journalist" who had a public falling out with Team McGregor when Conor refused him access.

https://www.balls.ie/mma/conor-mcgregors-coach-got-personal-irish-journalist-twitter-138197

Mind you, the rubbish he wrote was no different than I hear from most "clowns" in here.

Here's a proper article on the REAL Conor:

https://mma-today.com/conor-mcgregor-floyd-mayweather-money-grab-tooth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭ComDubh

sonofenoch wrote: »
    Another crap analogy as are all these crap analogies......what's the aim in boxing? to knock your opponent out, what's the aim in mma? to knock your opponent out....see the difference

it's not football meets sprinting or golf meets the clean and jerk........Gareth A Davies of all people came up with one of the worst, "it's like Johnny Wilkinson taking a penalty in a world cup final" ......no it's fking not! how could that ever even happen

So this fight is a singular event, unlike anything else ever, so no analogies are of any relevance? Hardly. Soccer involves sprinting, MMA invoves striking. Agreed the final goals of MMA & Boxing are similar. Sprinting and running from attack to defence in soccer have similar goals as well.

It's clear from other sports that experts become highly-specialised in their fields and lose much of their edge when the rules are changed even slightly.

An elite cyclist who trains at an 80 rpm cadence on the flat would have rebuild their body to compete at an elite level at 90 rpm. This is surely a smaller change than the switch from MMA to Boxing.

I can't see McGregor winning, but of course he may defy logic and do just that. I'll be thrilled if he does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭marcus001

Rezident wrote: »

The actuaries have nothing to do with it. They know people are going to back McGregor no matter what. 4/1 is the reservation price of the average McGregor fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,193 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Floyd via DQ
    Jesus there are people out there comparing this to Tyson / Douglas. Did Douglas not fight 30 something times before Tyson.

The glue sniffing continues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

walshb wrote:
    What distance/stroke the swim race and where?

Whatever distance/stroke Phelps swims at. Phelps would be the A side so he'd decide what kind of rubber the hat is made of and the goggles ect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭Withrax

Will I be able to chromecast it from my laptop if I buy it on sky box office?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Floyd via DQ
    Looking more and more like I won't be staying up or getting up to watch it live.

Leaving the phone turned off till I download it tomorrow morning it will be! My phone will go bananas if McGregor wins :)

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Floyd via DQ
    ebbsy wrote: »
    Jesus there are people out there comparing this to Tyson / Douglas. Did Douglas not fight 30 something times before Tyson.

The glue sniffing continues.

Gotta keep that hype train rollin... any way you can! ;)

They ran out of real fuel for this train a long way back down the track... now they're just desperately throwing in anything they think will burn! :p

667446a382d904eb063b39ef37be0d7c--conor-mcgregor-entrepreneur.jpg