Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 7 Episode 6 "Beyond the Wall" - "Non book readers" - Spoilers from post 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭knipex

murpho999 wrote: »
    Because it would fit in with the ice and fire theme and many are expecting an ultimate battle between then.

It's not that strange to think the dragon could breathe ice imho.

I dont get it either

Dragons who breath fire, Wrights, zombies, and Ice Kings are perfectly believable and fine ... but a dragon that breaths ice is unrealistic !!!!!!!!!!!

Where exactly do we draw the line ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,382 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

murpho999 wrote: »
    This is not true as the shows are all agreed and consulted with Martin.

Big difference between having thousands of pages of story to adapt from and consulting with GRRM on that to recent consultations which amount to "Here's how it ends, fúck if I know how you get there."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

How many white walkers are there? Was the group of them standing behind the wights all there is of them?

Also where is their scrapyard? I'd love to see what else they have in their archives besides heavy chains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

Penn wrote: »
    The show didn't say that. Not even close.

400 km is a conservative estimate.

Westeros_-_Byound_the_wall.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,965 ✭✭✭✭Penn

How many white walkers are there? Was the group of them standing behind the wights all there is of them?

Also where is their scrapyard? I'd love to see what else they have in their archives besides heavy chains

There's probably more white walkers. All of Craster's male children for several years were being turned into White Walkers, and they possibly had the same with other Wildlings or stealing their children. We've only seen four or five be killed in the show (Sam killed one, Meera killed one, think Jon has killed two).

As for where they got the chains, they belonged to the Wildlings. The Wildlings have used chains before, such as when they had the Giants trying to pull off the gate under the Wall during the attack on Castle Black. The Wildlings have all left North of the Wall now. White Walkers can pick up and use all their stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

david75 wrote: »
    Tbh I prefer it this way. It's is show in previous seasons took a really long time to tell not an awful lot. I found it plodding a few times and was it season 3 that was really just a load of filler?

I actually prefer it this way too. Not showing the journey is fine. No problem with that. If they said "oh that was a long 2 weeks of walking" I've no problem. But neither the characters' actions make sense, nor are the rules consistent. That makes it garbage. Amusing and entertaining garbage, perhaps, but it's the sort of thing that is better to watch whilst drunk. The equivalent of sharknado.

In the same way if in the next episode The Wall only turned out to be 8 feet high and can be easily climbed over it would be garbage. Not because an 8 foot high wall is inherently ridiculous, but because it just takes what has come before, and been repeatedly emphasised, and throws it into the trashcan. "Did we previously show it taking a couple of days to get to Craster's Keep? Sure what the hell, this audience is too dumb to remember."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭buswankers

GavRedKing wrote: »
    I was laughing at the chains they used to get Viserion out, if they were dragging them around with them all season, no wonder they never made it to the wall.

:P I was thinking the same thing myself! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭biggebruv

I think if they had of taken a slower pace this season people would be giving out as it's billed as the end begins GOT has earned it to be like this for it's final 2 seasons the world/character building and stuff has been laid and done now we reap the rewards with imo this amazing season

Gru wrote: »
    does she have to kill them to impersonate them though?

what if it was actually little finger and Sansa in that scene, but Arya impersonating Sansa in the scene where she sent Brienne away.

the scene with Sansa and Arya would make more sense as Arya would know she's already successfully impersonated Sansa.

Sorry now but have to ask, why did Sansa (or Arya impersonating Sansa) send Brienne away? I didnt quite understand that. I will be rewatching later but just didnt quite get why she did that? Am I being thick?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭mr_cochise

I actually prefer it this way too. Not showing the journey is fine. No problem with that. If they said "oh that was a long 2 weeks of walking" I've no problem. But neither the characters' actions make sense, nor are the rules consistent. That makes it garbage. Amusing and entertaining garbage, perhaps, but it's the sort of thing that is better to watch whilst drunk. The equivalent of sharknado.

So you have criticized the earlier seasons for pacing and the latest seasons as garbage. Why do you even watch it?
    Yet you have gone out of your way to watch it, illegally, not contributing a penny to its production, and you call it garbage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭D3sperado

The show has always had issues with 'teleportation' around Westeros, no point saying its only a season 7 issue. Ned and crew made it from Winterfell to Kings Landing in a single episode in season 1 so this has always been there in the show. Each scene is not necessarily meant to cover the same timeline, it could take place over hours, days or even weeks - It is whatever the story needs it to be.

No point complaining that Arya and the Hound spent a season wandering the Riverlands but X made it halfway across Westeros and back in an episode, they aren't intended to cover the same time period

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

buswankers wrote: »
    Sorry now but have to ask, why did Sansa (or Arya impersonating Sansa) send Brienne away? I didnt quite understand that. I will be rewatching later but just didnt quite get why she did that? Am I being thick?!

Raven was sent to Winterfell, an invitation by Cersei but Sansa wouldn't risk it so she sent Brienne on her behalf instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

That episode was too like a cheesy brainless 90's action movie for me. Comparing this episode to the "Spoils of War" episode it was like watching two completely different shows (in terms of quality).

In the "Spoils of War" episode, you were constantly on the edge of your seat as you didn't know if the dragons and/or Dany would die or not. In this episode, you knew the dragons we going to save the day, there was no suspense when Jon Snow and his gang we running out of space on top of the rock. What was the point of Jon Snow "almost" dying? It seemed like a poorly executed shock value trick. I'd understand it if they had a story line of Jon getting lost beyond the wall and he had to find he's way back and he discovered something interesting to help them defeat the Night King but he was re-united with Dany 10 mins later. They could have built suspense by not showing Gendry getting back to the wall or not knowing if the raven would notify Dany in time but once they showed Dany jumping on the dragons, you knew they were safe.

Other stupid stuff:
    • If the night king had spears all this time, why didn't he just throw them at the lads on the rock instead of waiting for the ice to freeze over. Like shooting fish in a barrel. There was no way he knew that the dragons were coming and he was saving them for that. Not to mention they are made of ice so not exactly hard to find North of the Wall.
    • Jon Snow surviving in that freezing water, not to mention not coming up for breath long enough for the White Walker arm to mostly disband enough so Rhaegal can slidein and save him, was so stupid. Two improbably, last minute saves in one episode was stupid.
    • Jon fighting some random zombies while all the lads are on the dragon waiting for him, just long enough so the Night king to kill a dragon was stupid. Its just like if you and your buddies have all jumped in a taxi heading to the next bar, sitting there waiting as the last lad is still in the bar chatting to randomers, if anything its just plain rude.
    • Dany not being pissed at Jon for his stupidty getting her dragon killed was stupid. Especially after the speech she gave about heroes being stupid.
    • Why is Arya so intent on trying to murder (or just fcuking with) her sister? seems like a massive leap, oh and stupid.

I looked up who the director was, it was a first time GOT director called Alan Taylor...lets never let this guy do GOT again.

5star02707 wrote: »
    Raven was sent to Winterfell, an invitation by Cersei but Sansa wouldn't risk it so she sent Brienne on her behalf instead.

Ah ok thanks. Just wasnt sure as the whole LF Sansa dialogue prior to that mentioned Brienne could be the key to keeping peace between the 2 sisters & then next scene it shows Sansa getting the raven and sending Brienne off. Thought the raven may be a made up plot to get rid of Brienne but obvs overthinking so cheers 5star!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭Bacchus

biggebruv wrote: »
    I think if they had of taken a slower pace this season people would be giving out as it's billed as the end begins GOT has earned it to be like this for it's final 2 seasons the world/character building and stuff has been laid and done now we reap the rewards with imo this amazing season

Totally agree. I mean, we've had 6 seasons of character building and long character arcs (which was great of course). I don't think I'd be alone in growing tired of some characters paths as they have nowhere else to go. This (and next) season is the climax of the show. This is everything the first 6 seasons was building towards. Why would you want to bog it down in MORE character building and long walks around Westeros. We know who the characters are, we know their motivations, their history, it's time to hurtle towards the conclusion of this story.

This season is the "episode 9" of GoT seasons and it's thrilling.

Hazys wrote: »
    That episode was too like a cheesy brainless 90's action movie for me. Comparing this episode to the "Spoils of War" episode it was like watching two completely different shows (in terms of quality).

In the "Spoils of War" episode, you were constantly on the edge of your seat as you didn't know if the dragons and/or Dany would die or not. In this episode, you knew the dragons we going to save the day, there was no suspense when Jon Snow and his gang we running out of space on top of the rock. What was the point of Jon Snow "almost" dying? It seemed like a poorly executed shock value trick. I'd understand it if they had a story line of Jon getting lost beyond the wall and he had to find he's way back and he discovered something interesting to help them defeat the Night King but he was re-united with Dany 10 mins later. They could have built suspense by not showing Gendry getting back to the wall or not knowing if the raven would notify Dany in time but once they showed Dany jumping on the dragons, you knew they were safe.

Other stupid stuff:
    • If the night king had spears all this time, why didn't he just throw them at the lads on the rock instead of waiting for the ice to freeze over. Like shooting fish in a barrel. There was no way he knew that the dragons were coming and he was saving them for that. Not to mention they are made of ice so not exactly hard to find North of the Wall.
    • Jon Snow surviving in that freezing water, not to mention not coming up for breath long enough for the White Walker arm to mostly disband enough so Rhaegal can slidein and save him, was so stupid. Two improbably, last minute saves in one episode was stupid.
    • Jon fighting some random zombies while all the lads are on the dragon waiting for him, just long enough so the Night king to kill a dragon was stupid. Its just like if you and your buddies have all jumped in a taxi heading to the next bar, sitting there waiting as the last lad is still in the bar chatting to randomers, if anything its just plain rude.
    • Dany not being pissed at Jon for his stupidty getting her dragon killed was stupid. Especially after the speech she gave about heroes being stupid.
    • Why is Arya so intent on trying to murder (or just fcuking with) her sister? seems like a massive leap, oh and stupid.

I looked up who the director was, it was a first time GOT director called Alan Taylor...lets never let this guy do GOT again.

Wiki says he's directed 7 episodes. S1E09-S2E02, S2E08, S2E10 and S7E06.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Just a theory on why the white walkers are moving so slowly South. Maybe they need a certain temperature to survive. Maybe that's behind the "Winter is Coming" saying.No point in them getting to the Wall and not being able to go much further South.The Night King is patient.

J. Marston wrote: »
    Wiki says he's directed 7 episodes. S1E09-S2E02, S2E08, S2E10 and S7E06.

Ah ok...i only looked back 3 or 4 seasons of who the directors were and didn't see him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

zerks wrote: »
    Just a theory on why the white walkers are moving so slowly South. Maybe they need a certain temperature to survive. Maybe that's behind the "Winter is Coming" saying.No point in them getting to the Wall and not being able to go much further South.The Night King is patient.

That was my thought too as the entire premise of the show is that "Winter is Coming" and that's the only reason the White Walkers are appearing, otherwise they would have showed up in the Summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Couldn't denyres have ended it all when the three dragons went beyond the wall? The ice dragon could she somehow reclaim it or maybe brom take it over?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

perfer wrote: »
    Final battle Of The show leaked

What's the f*cking point of making an account just for that?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Removed

It's spoilers for this episode. Not things that happen in future episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

so far

Probably since this is episode 6 spoilers not the end game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,694 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Future Spoilers deleted. Cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I'd also suggest for people to delete their own posts that quote the guy, even his small 2 line post has potential spoilers.

Post to get on to a new page.

(For people on 40 posts per page!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Washout

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Dragons like the direwolves are nothing but expendable filler which is unfortunate as they are more interesting than many of the main characters on the show lol

They had no choice but to kill of a dragon to show they vulnerability otherwise all they would need to do to kill of the Wights is have the dragons constantly go on raids.

I just didn't like the fact that the Night Kings through was more powerful than the scorpion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,594 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Jaysus some people are absolute *****