So a shack on a mountain top...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭jimbis

I liked it, i went up to see it just 2 days before it was destroyed. Im a regular up around them mountains and i dont think it ruined any views what so ever. What about the giant Aerials that are an absolute (albiet essential) eyesore up there?

A local Councillor has raised the suggestion to have it rebuilt in marlay park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

The Shaq Attack still going strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Whatever happened to walking along the street muttering to yourself? Bloody hipsters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

It was doing no harm and was a novel idea.
    The ones who knocked it down where the vandals and litterbugs.
    Imagine traipsing all the way up there with sledge hammers in the dark to knock it down...the mind boggles.

Other version..... hysteria, maniacs ...rabble rabble rabble:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

The vandalism was putting that thing up there to begin with.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Academic

I've been a bit puzzled at the general reaction about this on Facebook, Thejournal etc... since yesterday, people shouting "vandals !" like you said.

[...]

Anyone have a link to the Facebook discussion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Love shack ... bebe Love shack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Hey, somebody made an artistic statement about their artistic statement. Surely the artists can get behind that? It's still there like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

It looked nice. Likely some disgruntled bitter local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭scoey

I think this piece of art as it currently exists in a heap on the ground makes a more interesting artistic statement in modern Ireland than it did before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,966 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Actually this has got me thinking - whatever happened to Achillhenge? Is it still there after almost a decade?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

They should have called it an Installation.
    That seems to boost the value of any pile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Actually this has got me thinking - whatever happened to Achillhenge? Is it still there after almost a decade?

That reinforced concrete eyesore is still there.
    Of course the guy that put that up is/was a developer and as you know those people are untouchable in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Academic wrote: »
    Anyone have a link to the Facebook discussion?

Sorry I don't have any specific discussion in mind other than reactions on articles about it, The journal, examiner... But reactions to the article share as opposed to reactions on the specific papers' websites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    I think it was the right thing to do getting rid of it. You see a lot of this creeping into the Dublin/Wicklow mountains what with the mountain bike rentals, coffee shacks sure look what they want to do with the hell fire club ffs. Leave the mountains as is and keep the art and commercial crap for the towns and cities.

Yeah, **** anything that might help our piss poor development of attractions.

I mean, they went and put a walkway up the Cuilcagh mountains, and it's now a star attraction around the parts. How fucking dare they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I mean, they went and put a walkway up the Cuilcagh mountains, and it's now a star attraction around the parts. How fucking dare they.

In a way I agree with BillyBob, I went for a walk up to the 3 Rocks a couple of months ago and it was a bit unsafe with the lads booting downhill on the mountainbikes. At least walkers and bikes should be separated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,005 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

The 'artists' missed a trick here.

Should've built a massive reinforced concrete eyesore on a mountaintop, called it a 'chapel' and started raking in the cash.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,059 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

The 'artists' missed a trick here.

Should've built a massive reinforced concrete eyesore on a mountaintop, called it a 'chapel' and started raking in the cash.

Lets not forget this one in achill either....

achillh.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

There's a difference between something that has been imagined, engineered, planned and discussed, by the local community or/and authorities, and something a bunch of artists decide to plunk somewhere because they like the concept with no prior consultation with ... anyone ?
    There was nothing said in the article about these people having informed anyone of their project, I stand to be corrected.

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Lets not forget this one in achill either....

achillh.jpg
    Jesus... he could have at least prettied it up a bit. A few nice plants and a lick of paint would do it the world of good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Dramatik

This thread needs a poll, it would be interesting to see who was for or against the work

Cuilcagh walkway is an eyesore that might be visible from outer space. Hard to think of a less sympathetic structure on our higher landscapes...

eb52e32bb95b02caf0f3bfc6064726aa.jpg--editorial_image.jpg

Cuilcagh walkway is an eyesore that might be visible from outer space. Hard to think of a less sympathetic structure on our higher landscapes...

Give it a few years and the wood will weather in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,013 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

I agree, those who demolished it should have gone a step further and completely removed the material from the site.
    or they should have left it alone, and let the relevant council or authority remove it. those who removed it are still vandels as they have no authority to remove it.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

kylith wrote: »
    Give it a few years and the wood will weather in.

Even still, the structure itself is far more obtrusive than boardwalks around places like the National Parks in Killarney and Wicklow that just use sleepers laid flat with no need for side railings, or the stone steps and flag paths in the Mournes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

It was erected by an art collective, so the onus should be on the shower of pot-smoking crusties to remove the debris.

Even still, the structure itself is far more obtrusive than boardwalks around places like the National Parks in Killarney and Wicklow that just use sleepers laid flat with no need for side railings, or the stone steps and flag paths in the Mournes.

Probably to do with that woman who sued when she fell on a walkway. If someone were to fall off it and get hurt the state would be liable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Probably to do with that woman who sued when she fell on a walkway. If someone were to fall off it and get hurt the state would be liable.

The steps and park are in Fermanagh, which is part of the UK.

It was up before the initial decision in that case. If anything, it would seem to add to the potential for liability, the landowner is not liable at all to recreational users unless the land is altered in some way such as the installation of a structure. Furthermore, her claim was based on the fact that she fell on rotting wood and injured herself on nails. I'd say there's a fair few of them in that beaut! The State or any landowner may still be liable, the decision didn't change that, the appeal held that on the particular facts liability did not arise. And if no structure at all is put down, the landowner or State has no liability at all.

The steps and park are in Fermanagh, which is part of the UK.

Could still be the same deal.