Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today FM Megathread Mod warning post #1 / #1401

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,035 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Sadly to say I'm going to jump on the bandwagon here.

Was a fan of today before these changes started happening, might not be everyone's taste but Anton savage did have some very good moments / interviews. and avoided some mainstream music that is very irritating (if I have to listen to Beyonce sing girls, ggrrrr it's very annoying)

The music has gotten shocking lately during the day. It has nearly turned into FM104 I think at this stage, particularly disliking telling us what is about to come on, sticking to the mainstream music which would generally be hip hop, Rihanna , bieber etc.

Aswell as repeating songs over and over.... Nova ? No thanks they do it too....

There's only a few things keeping it alive for me, the main one being Paul mccloone, ed with songs of praise and lost in music with Louise Duffy has good moments too but after that I can't stick.

I don't find Dermot and Dave funny in the slightest and their interviews are very dragged out / bland

I expected more from Ian Dempsey

The Canadian im sure is very nice but she doesn't offer a lot.

So I think for me during the day it's going to be the music collection / Spotify and during the evenings a bit of lost in music and Paul mccloone.

It is sad that in Ireland I cannot find an alternative radio station for the type of music that is not mainstream. Missing phantom quite a bit

8radio are looking for support for a licence. I'm not affiliated in any way, shape or form and only mention it because I too miss Phantom/TXFM. I've also commented on here re Today FM

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

ILikeBoats wrote: »
    Why are they telling us what songs are coming up with snippets?
    And why are a lot of songs getting little intros now?

Ohhhhh......it's. .........on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭statto25

ILikeBoats wrote: »
    Why are they telling us what songs are coming up with snippets?
    And why are a lot of songs getting little intros now?

They annoy the hell out of me. iRadio have been doing the same thing for years. Next it will be snippets of the Artists introducing themselves before the song plays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

statto25 wrote: »
    They annoy the hell out of me. iRadio have been doing the same thing for years. Next it will be snippets of the Artists introducing themselves before the song plays.

Yeah 98fm are doing that at the moment too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

statto25 wrote: »
    Wall to wall Johnny Cash so:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

I'm surprised they've kept the likes of Paul McLoone and Ed on air because their programmes are jarringly out of place in comparison to the rest of the schedule. Perhaps all that's saving them is that they're on during relatively off-peak times?

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,179 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Jesus, it'd be terrible altogether if they got rid of Ed Smith, one of very few things left listenable on the station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭statto25

Wall to wall Johnny Cash so:D

Johnny Cash would be sound but when I start hearing Justin Bieber introducing himself I'll be bowing out. It just cheapens the station further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭penelope2012

If they didn't have Paul Mc C and Ed it would definitely not be worth listening to. Louise can be listenable too.

Will Today Fm continue to have premier league commentaries every Saturday for the new season? Its the only thing I ever listen to on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,969 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I'm surprised they've kept the likes of Paul McLoone and Ed on air because their programmes are jarringly out of place in comparison to the rest of the schedule. Perhaps all that's saving them is that they're on during relatively off-peak times?

Exactly.

The type of show both Ed and Paul present and music they play doesnt make it easy for them to talk about a cat video on youtube or play a distorded voice app recording of a fella telling a stupid story about himself the curry chips he had last night.

It probably wont be long before they replace to two lads with some hilarious new presenters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

BPKS wrote: »
    Exactly.

The type of show both Ed and Paul present and music they play doesnt make it easy for them to talk about a cat video on youtube or play a distorded voice app recording of a fella telling a stupid story about himself the curry chips he had last night.

It probably wont be long before they replace to two lads with some hilarious new presenters.

And if they didn't have those shows, where would the variety be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

I'm not sure they're too worried about variety any more.

2FM has:
    *rock/alternative (Dan Hegarty, Cormac Battle)
    *dance (Electric Disco, Spring Sessions)
    *urban/hip-hop (Mo-K)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,015 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

zorro2566 wrote: »
    Will Today Fm continue to have premier league commentaries every Saturday for the new season? Its the only thing I ever listen to on it!

They better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Highly likely that there's a clause in their licence agreement that they have to have an alternative music output. Unless the new licence (was up for renewal this year) is drastically different, I wouldn't worry too much about a potential format change there to be honest.

Even when they had Foley doing The Blast they had Tom Dunne doing the alternative stuff, so it's been a fixture of the station for well over a decade.

Paul McCloone might get replaced with a former TX presenter though.

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Highly likely that there's a clause in their licence agreement that they have to have an alternative music output. Unless the new licence (was up for renewal this year) is drastically different, I wouldn't worry too much about a potential format change there to be honest.

Even when they had Foley doing The Blast they had Tom Dunne doing the alternative stuff, so it's been a fixture of the station for well over a decade.

Or what about John Barker (98FM's Totally Irish)? He would have been ideal for TX.

Can't say I'm familiar with him. My point was that although Paul might be replaced in favour of someone who might appeal more to a younger crowd, it's unlikely that they'd change the format of his show away from alternative music.

Well, you wouldn't be unless you listen to 98FM :-)

Shelly Gray has just said this is her last week doing "Saturday Hits".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

From the very start in the Radio Ireland days from March 1997 (that's nearly 20 and a half years now!), there was always alternative-oriented programmes on weeknights, excluding Fridays. John Kelly used to present The Eclectic Ballroom from 7pm, Either immediately afterwards, or maybe with an hour of specialist programs in between (can't remember), Donal Dineen presented Here Comes the Night. Tom Dunne with Pet Sounds became the permanent replacement for John Kelly after the latter went to RTE. At some stage, Donal Dineen's slot was moved to midnight with In The Wee Small Hours, with the likes of Ray Foley on at 10pm .Eventually, Paul McLoone replaced Tom Dunne. It was another period of time before Paul's slot was moved to 9pm and Donal lost his slot eventually. Since then, the main alternative-oriented slot on weeknights has been Paul McLoone's programme alone.

I assumed as much, but didn't want to state it definitively since I only really started listening in 2004.

As a side note, I could never really warm to Paul McLoone. He's grand like, but I always preferred Dunne.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

I assumed as much, but didn't want to state it definitively since I only really started listening in 2004.

As a side note, I could never really warm to Paul McLoone. He's grand like, but I always preferred Dunne.
    I believe Today FM are licence bound to provide alternative programming in the evenings. Whether this can be changed or whether they will just tell the BAI to jog on remains to be seen.

Interestingly Kate Brennan-Harding was doing overnights on Today FM after McLoone the other night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

Interestingly Kate Brennan-Harding was doing overnights on Today FM after McLoone the other night.

Who is she? Did she join Today FM recently? What's her background?

FRQ presenter, think was involved with TX as well.
    Here is her linkedin: http://ie.linkedin.com/kate-brennan-harding-b3233530

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

A few questions ...................

A) Why are there so many female DJ's after appearing recently??
    B) Why do they all sound the same (except the amazing Louise Duffy!!)
    C) How does Al Porter get so many days off (Muireann presents the show as much as he does)
    D) Why is Al Porter on the radio .......
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

greenspurs wrote: »
    A few questions ...................

A) Why are there so many female DJ's after appearing recently??
    B) Why do they all sound the same (except the amazing Louise Duffy!!)
    C) How does Al Porter get so many days off (Muireann presents the show as much as he does)
    D) Why is Al Porter on the radio .......

A) Because the lack of them has been highlighted over the past few years and stations are now giving more female presenters chances. It's also becoming easier and easier for everyone to get involved in radio/media because the barrier to entry is being lowered because of online opportunities. It's possible more women are seeing it as a viable career now.

B) Don't know, they don't to me.

C) Probably because his contract says he's entitled to them.

D) Because management think he's the answer to the problem of low lunchtime ratings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

A) Because the lack of them has been highlighted over the past few years and stations are now giving more female presenters chances. It's also becoming easier and easier for everyone to get involved in radio/media because the barrier to entry is being lowered because of online opportunities. It's possible more women are seeing it as a viable career now.

B) Don't know, they don't to me.

C) Probably because his contract says he's entitled to them.

D) Because management think he's the answer to the problem of low lunchtime ratings.
    If Al Porter is the answer, they really need to change the question:(

Dara Quilty is the saviour of Today FM :-)