Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today FM Megathread Mod warning post #1 / #1401

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,793 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

What about - if you guessed Dara Quilty you're right! - ?

You're mad about Dara Quilty and that's probably ok but he has no links to Today FM for the moment and tbh, I really don't think he fits. He's somewhere between 98FM and Spin but he's quite trashy. Today FM is not his gig and tbh, I'd be happy if he stayed put rather than impinging on Today.

I think the best bet for Today FM is looking for proper music DJs and they could probably do with changing their timeslots up.

If we absolutely HAVE to have Dempsey, he should do 6-8am and then Paula McS should go to an 8-10 slot. Have Muireann do 10-12 and then Dermott and Dave 12-2.30. 2.30-4.30 should be someone like Kelly-Anne Byrne or Claire Beck but Fergal Darcy would be a compromise.

4.30-7 is Matt Cooper's slot and in absolute fairness, he's made it the best ad for insurance companies I've ever seen. It should be something else but what, I don't know.

7-9 is perfect for Louise Duffy imo and then Paul McLoone for the 9pm+ show (although I wish he was on earlier in the day!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

You're mad about Dara Quilty and that's probably ok but he has no links to Today FM for the moment and tbh, I really don't think he fits. He's somewhere between 98FM and Spin but he's quite trashy. Today FM is not his gig and tbh, I'd be happy if he stayed put rather than impinging on Today.

I think the best bet for Today FM is looking for proper music DJs and they could probably do with changing their timeslots up.

If we absolutely HAVE to have Dempsey, he should do 6-8am and then Paula McS should go to an 8-10 slot. Have Muireann do 10-12 and then Dermott and Dave 12-2.30. 2.30-4.30 should be someone like Kelly-Anne Byrne or Claire Beck but Fergal Darcy would be a compromise.

4.30-7 is Matt Cooper's slot and in absolute fairness, he's made it the best ad for insurance companies I've ever seen. It should be something else but what, I don't know.

7-9 is perfect for Louise Duffy imo and then Paul McLoone for the 9pm+ show (although I wish he was on earlier in the day!)

The schedules won't be changing any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,015 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

If I'd a tenner for every time Dara Quilty was mentioned....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

No 'king way, not before 12!

I shall not allow it!

Bold corner for you:p

Listening to Muireann on 98FM now. Sounding good.

Edit: ...and she implied it was her last 98FM show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

At some stage Al Porter's stock will rise high enough that he'll get a lot of other work. Possibly in the UK. Then he won't need to have that radio gig to fall back on. It'll be interesting to see what happens then. As much as anything else, having Al Porter on the books is a vanity thing for Today FM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

He doesn't need the Today FM job because he earns enough with his gigs.

Sells out Vicar St

3 Vicar St. gigs x 1,000 tickets x €25 less VAT and overheads = a fair whack

Then his gigs at festivals, and around the country plus corporate gigs and UK gigs....

And TV shows........

He isn't dependent on Today FM for an income.

Well, he's doing it for some reason. Ego and exposure perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,078 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Listening to Muireann on 98FM now. Sounding good.

Edit: ...and she implied it was her last 98FM show.
    Yes, she said it is her last show on 98fm, that she enjoyed the last 7 years there. I wonder is she leaving communicorp all together or just 98. She might fit in on 2fm as part of a duo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

Well, he's doing it for some reason. Ego and exposure perhaps?

Included on Today FM posters.....

Able to get national exposure..... and tv work based on new level of exposure.

"Yer man on the radio is on in the theatre - will we go?"

If someone offered you a job where you worked 2 hours a day (as there really doesn't seem to be any prep), talking **** and playing records while being able to promote your real job and get paid a nice salary to do it, you'd do it, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭IUA14

Sir Dosser wrote: »
    Yes, she said it is her last show on 98fm, that she enjoyed the last 7 years there. I wonder is she leaving communicorp all together or just 98. She might fit in on 2fm as part of a duo.

On Today FM from 2. Not a hope they would let her go.

IUA14 wrote: »
    On Today FM from 2. Not a hope they would let her go.

Fergal is on at 2 according to a tweet from Ralph Rolle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭IUA14

Fergal is on at 2 according to a tweet from Ralph Rolle.

Well its Muireann on air anyways. Something had to give with her doing the Six O'Clock Show on TV3 now every weekday full-time, and always covering for someone on the weekday schedule it seems, along with the weekend shows on Today FM...the 98FM show on Saturday and Sunday mornings was overkill.

IUA14 wrote: »
    Well its Muireann on air anyways. Something had to give with her doing the Six O'Clock Show on TV3 now every weekday full-time, and always covering for someone on the weekday schedule it seems, along with the weekend shows on Today FM...the 98FM show on Saturday and Sunday mornings was overkill.

Saturday mornings ain't going to be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭liam7831

IUA14 wrote:

I can't listen to her with her constant fake laughing

liam7831 wrote: »
    I can't listen to her with her constant fake laughing

She has removed 98FM from her Twitter handle. I expect a sort of "Best of Cooper & Luke" show as a replacement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Rackard

McS should go to an 8-10 slot.

No way. She's a disaster of a presenter. Better off where she is in the graveyard shift.

They do need to shake up the breakfast show though - paint by numbers for a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,424 ✭✭✭nc6000

Rackard wrote: »
    They do need to shake up the breakfast show though - paint by numbers for a while now.

Apart from the news and sport bulletins being out of date you could be listening to recordings of the show and be none the wiser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

Al Porter to cover breakfast next week.......................waking up to that, no thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Al Porter to cover breakfast next week.......................waking up to that, no thanks.
    :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Imagine the state he'll be in Monday morning! He sounds hungover (and brags about it,) the few Mondays when I listened at the start and have seen it mentioned here since aswell, on his lunch time slot imagine a 7am slot

MrMac84 wrote: »
    Imagine the state he'll be in Monday morning! He sounds hungover (and brags about it,) the few Mondays when I listened at the start and have seen it mentioned here since aswell, on his lunch time slot imagine a 7am slot

Thankfully I won't hear as i have an mp3 of mating badgers i intend to listen to instead.

Al Porter has been nomitated for an IMRO:eek::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Is the IMRO like the SIMI? Cos thats the only way he could be nominated!

Mc Love wrote: »
    Is the IMRO like the SIMI? Cos thats the only way he could be nominated!

I have no interest in any conversation involving Al Porter and a simi:D

(HIS LEVEL OF COMEDY, OHHH MISSUS)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Juniper Petite Sordidness

Shouldn't it be muireann as he's only There 30% of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,015 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Let this be a lesson ye fcukers. Complaining about how "dated" Dempsey is. Now we get fcuking PORTER!

Be careful what ye wish for

Al Porter has been nominated for an IMRO:eek::rolleyes:

I saw that nominations list. It looks like they were just giving out nominations to anyone who sits in front of a microphone in any radio station anywhere.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Let this be a lesson ye fcukers. Complaining about how "dated" Dempsey is. Now we get fcuking PORTER!

Be careful what ye wish for

Good luck Al!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,969 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

The entirety of the majestic I am the Resurrection was just played on Eds Songs of Praise.

Playing such brilliant stuff without mentioning the Today FM website or a funny video he posted on his blog will surely see Ed get his P45 from the new management.