Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,449 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    To be honest he under performed twice in my opinion and that was because he was acting the bollix which he won't be in 2 weeks

Funny..by default he will kind of be acting the bollix in two weeks..

Unless you're trying to tell us he's a credible opponent for one of Boxing's greats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Floyd via DQ
    8 ounce, no headgear.............. spark out.

giphy.gif

Nevada Commision will say no though. Ah well, 10s it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,228 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Floyd via DQ
    8 ounce, no headgear.............. spark out.

giphy.gif

Pete, why don't you just come out and say you think Conor will win? Still hedging your bets despite being Conor's biggest fanboy? at least Wonder says he thinks he will win. Man Up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

walshb wrote: »

Ok, he doesn't freeze, doesn't look silly and fights his heart out...

And still gets his ass whupped..

When did he get his ass whooped?
    To be honest he under performed twice in my opinion and that was because he was acting the bollix which he won't be in 2 weeks

What two occassions did he under perform?

Floyd via KO-TKO
    That left is a peach. Looks flush with full power..

Problem now is that Conor's silly minuscule chance of a KO win has just gotten more minuscule..

Fanboys, think before jumping in here...

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Naos wrote: »

He gets his ass whooped Aug 26...

That is how my post was meant to read..

He gets his ass whooped Aug 26...

That is how my post was meant to read..

And the other part of my post?

You seem intent on wanting Conor to lose purely because you believe that boxing is the most demanding and physically intimate test in all sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Floyd via DQ
    Pete, why don't you just come out and say you think Conor will win?

Because I don't think he will win.
    Still hedging your bets despite being Conor's biggest fanboy? at least Wonder says he thinks he will win. Man Up!

Wonder says he thinks McGregor will win.... because Wonder thinks McGregor will win. This isn't hard folks.

I hope McGregor wins, be fcuking excellent if he could do it, I'm a huge fan, you may have noticed.... but unfortunately I don't think he will.

Not sure why this is difficult for ye.

Think of it this way: you're all Ireland fans, right... and you get all excited like the rest of us when we get into the World Cup or the Euros, yeah?

Well that doesn't mean you really think they are gonna win it, does it?

If you only give us a slim chance of beating Brazil or Argentina, that wouldn't mean you were just "hedging your bets" now would it?

Course not.

Now in future when I post stuff you disagree with.... attack it and not me. Good chaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Floyd via DQ
    Conor has as much chance of beating Floyd in a boxing match as Seanchai has of beating Conor in an MMA fight.

I.e., not very much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Floyd via DQ
    Pete, why don't you just come out and say you think Conor will win? Still hedging your bets despite being Conor's biggest fanboy? at least Wonder says he thinks he will win. Man Up!

When Conor gets his arse handed to him all his nonsense paragraphs will be shown to be completely idiotic and proving he DKSAB. By not explicitly saying Conor will win he protects the e-credibility he strives for.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    And the other part of my post?

You seem intent on wanting Conor to lose purely because you believe that boxing is the most demanding and physically intimate test in all sports.

Other part?

If you were asking why I think it is a possibility that Conor will tie up, freeze and be kind of like a deer in the headlights, well I detailed why in several posts..

In a nutshell he is stepping into Floyd's zone to compete with the world watching. A sport (pro boxing) he has never competed in before, against a world class operator. Conor is only human. I don't think it's at all strange to think that the event will or could get to him. If not before bell 1, then maybe when he is getting very much dominated.

Going from a sport where he is skilled and successful to an alien sport. I don't think it would be wise to simply discount that based off "oh, sure he's used to the big UFC stage. He'll be grand."

That stage was HIS stage. This stage is NOT!

And I never said I really want him to lose..

He will lose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,760 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Conor via DQ
    Originally Posted by weldoninhio
    I'll give you 500-1 for any bets over €100
    Muahahaha wrote: »
    Ill take that bet. 500 euro at 500-1. Just need you to prove you have 250,000 in your bank account first ;)

Are you still giving these odds weldoninhio? Some how I doubt it :rolleyes:

Just shows the extreme level of goal post shifting on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,036 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Conor via DQ

He gave mendes too many chances to puck him in the gob... And gassed against Diaz

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Anyone who thinks Conor will ''will tie up, freeze and be kind of like a deer in the headlights'' is not worth debating the fight with, the most far fetched thing ive ever read on Boards full stop.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Gamebred wrote: »
    Anyone who thinks Conor will ''will tie up, freeze and be kind of like a deer in the headlights'' is not worth debating the fight with, the most far fetched thing ive ever read on Boards full stop.

Well, let's wait and see...

I never said he will. I put the question out there. And I happen to think it's a worthy question..

Considering your absolute 180 turn on this fight I could easily say the same as regards debating with you..

Have you read some of your stuff here...?

You barely gave Floyd a chance at the start, and now Conor hasn't a hope..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭bunderoon

Burial. wrote: »
    When Conor gets his arse handed to him all his nonsense paragraphs will be shown to be completely idiotic and proving he DKSAB. By not explicitly saying Conor will win he protects the e-credibility he strives for.

Hey, Floyd stands to make more by loosing and also has a rematch clause.
    Money Talks.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Conor via KO-TKO
    Ok, he doesn't freeze, doesn't look silly and fights his heart out...

And still gets his ass whupped..

So you keep saying... what level did you box at then walsh?
    Conor has as much chance of beating Floyd in a boxing match as Seanchai has of beating Conor in an MMA fight.

I.e., not very much.

What's your "go-to" excuse if Conor wins?

I want to get all of you nailed down on your excuses ahead of time.

Pick one:

1. FLUKE
    2. RIGGED
    3. Floyd is old
    4. GGG would beat him.

Conor via KO-TKO
    bunderoon wrote: »
    Hey, Floyd stands to make more by loosing and also has a rematch clause.
    Money Talks.....

Wrong on every level.

http://www.boxingscene.com/mayweather-mcgregor-theres-no-rematch-clause-contracts--118505

There's specifically no rematch clause and that's been confirmed by Stephen Espinoza, Dana White and Leonard Ellerbe.

The rest of your post is garbage. Floyd isn't accepting 49-1 for a hypothetical rematch that might never happen.

Floyd via DQ
    So you keep saying... what level did you box at then walsh?

What's your "go-to" excuse if Conor wins?

I want to get all of you nailed down on your excuses ahead of time.

Pick one:

1. FLUKE
    2. RIGGED
    3. Floyd is old
    4. GGG would beat him.

He won't win so it's irrelevant.

Conor via KO-TKO
    He won't win so it's irrelevant.

Humour me. You've admitted his chances of winning are greater than 0% so what's your excuse if he wins?

Floyd via DQ
    Because I don't think he will win.

Wonder says he thinks McGregor will win.... because Wonder thinks McGregor will win. This isn't hard folks.

I hope McGregor wins, be fcuking excellent if he could do it, I'm a huge fan, you may have noticed.... but unfortunately I don't think he will.

So what's your point of fanboyying him all the way in this fight and still saying you think he will lose? I don't get it.
    I am an Ireland fan and wouldn't expect Ireland to win the Euros but I wouldn't be going on the German fan forums telling them how great Ireland are either.

For the record I am not a Mayweather fan and don't rank him anywhere close to TBE.

Floyd via DQ
    I can't see any scenario where he wins. I also don't believe in inventing prior excuses for hypothetical scenarios, that's bull****. If he wins I'll evaluate the fight on it's merits.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    wonder, don't forget to set your alarm Aug 27 to come on and admit you were completely clueless on the glaring gulf in class..

It's your (and some others) posts that will have many who were wanting Conor to win to actually rooting for Floyd.

Floyd via DQ
    Pete, you are constantly trying to present an argument whereby McGregor wins but at the same time are saying there is very little chance he wins. That's what makes no sense. Can you not see that?

Floyd via DQ
    Wonder, can I ask why you think McGregor wins on points (as by the poll) or was that a mis-click?

Floyd via DQ
    Pete, you are constantly trying to present an argument whereby McGregor wins but at the same time are saying there is very little chance he wins. That's what makes no sense. Can you not see that?

Heads I win, tales you lose!

That's Pete's game.

Other part?

If you were asking why I think it is a possibility that Conor will tie up, freeze and be kind of like a deer in the headlights, well I detailed why in several posts..

In a nutshell he is stepping into Floyd's zone to compete with the world watching. A sport (pro boxing) he has never competed in before, against a world class operator. Conor is only human. I don't think it's at all strange to think that the event will or could get to him. If not before bell 1, then maybe when he is getting very much dominated.

Going from a sport where he is skilled and successful to an alien sport. I don't think it would be wise to simply discount that based off "oh, sure he's used to the big UFC stage. He'll be grand."

That stage was HIS stage. This stage is NOT!

And I never said I really want him to lose..

He will lose!

And before it was his stage, it was not his stage.

He was going against the likes of Aldo, undefeated for 10 years and the P4P #1 and he didn't shy away.

Conor has shown to perform under pressure from press conferences to the octagon, even in throwing a 3-pointer. He has shown the complete opposite of freezing up.

I genuinely think you're being unreasonable on purpose. You think boxing has more variables than MMA which is absolutely & factually untrue. How can you stand by that statement?

Floyd via DQ
    Pete says it's like going for Ireland at the Euros. Ireland were 100/1 to win the Euros. Conor is 7/2 here.
    According to the bookies there is more chance of McGregor beating Mayweather than there is of Tyrone beating Dublin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Walshb I was fishing when it was a rumoured bout 6 months ago and caught a heap in here,

I give him close to zero chance, I gave Canelo no hope or Manny no hope and neither them made a fight of it for any of them 24 rounds, I guarantee Conor will give him fits early that neither of them could achieve, I think a moral victory is within reach for Conor here if he doesnt get lit up and goes 12 rounds I'd be very impressed tbh but I dont think you'd give him a bit of credit for that.

Floyd via DQ
    Gamebred wrote: »
    Walshb I was fishing when it was a rumoured bout 6 months ago and caught a heap in here,

I give him close to zero chance, I gave Canelo no hope or Manny no hope and neither them made a fight of it for any of them 24 rounds, I guarantee Conor will give him fits early that neither of them could achieve, I think a moral victory is within reach for Conor here if he doesnt get lit up and goes 12 rounds I'd be very impressed tbh but I dont think you'd give him a bit of credit for that.

If he goes 12 rounds but gets schooled does he deserve credit?