Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Sets of faahve

• Registered Users Posts: 17,487 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

July 21. Heavy day

Crappy crappy crappy night of sleep. Went something like sleep 3 hours, awake 1 hour, dozing 2 hours. Felt like this session would be bad.

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    100kg x 3
    * belt *
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 1
    140kg x 5

Unracked the bar and it just felt like crap on my back. In the wrong spot and felt heavy AF. Still did a rep, which was stupid. Reracked, gave myself a ~45 second break to compose myself and went at it again. Much better back position and although it felt heavy, wasn't anything remotely near a struggle.

OHP:
    20kg x 5 (Klokov press)
    20kg x 5
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    50kg x 3
    55kg x 1
    60kg x 1
    65kg x F

Just having fun with the OHP as I really don't care about it. Decided to try for a 1RM @65kg but once I had it in my hands, my body said no and I didn't even try.

Deadlift:
    50kg x 3
    70kg x 4
    90kg x 5
    110kg x 3
    * belt *
    130kg x 3
    150kg x 3
    172.5kg x 3

New 3RM, +2.5kg. Recorded it and it looked exactly like it felt: slightly bend at lower back and bar moving a little slower than hips. Still far from perfect, but better than it has been recently. At least my setup makes things feel better, which will be enough to get me through this meet and I can sort this damn lift out afterwards.

July 24. Volume day

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    * belt *
    120kg x 3
    130kg x 3
    130kg x 3
    130kg x 3
    130kg x 3
    130kg x 3

Not exactly a lot of volume on paper, but just trying to slightly increase the intensity but keep the volume down. First set felt awful but rest were fine.

Bench:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 3
    80kg x 3
    87.5kg x 5
    87.5kg x 5
    87.5kg x 5
    87.5kg x 5
    87.5kg x 5

Feckin hard, this was. Last rep in set 4 was very close to being a fail. Took some extra rest time and last set was far easier.

Had planned on doing some light deadlift singles, but ran out of time. Guess some band pullaparts at my desk today is in order for the sake of getting in some sort of back work

(thought I posted this earlier but apparently I didn't)

July 26. Recovery day

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    105kg x 5
    105kg x 5

OHP:
    20kg x 5
    20kg x 5 (Klokov press)
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 3 (push press)
    45kg x 5 (push press)

Changing things up a bit for the craic. Still hate the OHP

GHR:

Chinup:

Reverse flye:
    5kg x 12
    5kg x 12
    7.5kg x 8

Grand day

• Registered Users Posts: 24,550 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

How many weeks til the comp?

5 weeks

As usual, I won't know when my flight is until a few weeks before. I'm hoping it's not early Sunday because I'm gigging on the Saturday evening. Worst case scenario, I might have to drop a few kg from my openers

July 28. Heavy day

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    100kg x 3
    * belt *
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 1
    150kg x 3

Self doubt kicked in after racking the 140kg. Was thinking 155kg for Athlone's opener was going to be too risky and would decide to drop to 150kg after today's set. Had a few minutes of pacing back and forth to have a good oul' think and just decided to do the 150kgs with one main cue that has let me down in the past: lazy back tension. I made my back as tight as possible when unracking the bar and it was the only thing I really thought of and low and behold, all 3 reps were grand. RPE 7ish stuff. The voices in my head were just being silly.

Bench:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 3
    80kg x 1
    90kg x 1
    97.5kg x 2+F

New 2RM and PB, +2.5kgWarmups felt good. The 90kg felt slow. The first two reps felt heavy as fcuk and my arms had given up before I started the 3rd. Spotter said the first two reps looked smooth, but they sure as hell didn't feel smooth.

But now I just know that 100kg is guaranteed when I try. Hopefully no mental blocks occur.

Deadlift:
    50kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    90kg x 3
    110kg x 3
    130kg x 3
    * belt *
    150kg x 3
    165kg x 1
    175kg x 3

New 3RM, +2.5kg. After watching a video about poor lockout/being weak off the floor by some guy (can't remember his name - think it was Janley???), I decided to pay close attention to my warmups as I know I'm weak off the floor. Basic cue of being as tight as possible, pushing the legs through the floor and not thrusting the hips forward until bar is past the knees made it feel smoother. So much better than my tendency to just yank the bar off the floor.

Recorded my warmups from 130kg and for the first time, my deadlifts didn't look completely crap. 130kg looked solid AF. 150kg started to break down a bit. First two 175kgs were ok but 3rd was just crap. I must have been tired.

Nice work!

Doubt is such a ****. Had the same last week on deadlift. It hadn't been great. Kept having to tell myself that I wouldn't have any doubt I'd smoke 90% at squat or bench so why was I being such a bi*ch?!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

I must watch his deadlift thing as well. My issue is usually off the floor which i think is core so i try supplement core work, but i definitely fell apart pretty quick on Tuesday due to set up.
    It's funny i usually don't have a lockout issue but i did on Tuesday and i knew it was cos i was off as soon as i started

Makes perfect sense....but most people just want to do rack pulls for their lockouts rather than address their shi*ty starting position.

I don't like rack pulls so I might as well address my shi*ty starting position :pac:

July 31. Volume day

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    * belt *
    100kg x 1 (forgot to add the 2x10s - knew it felt light)
    120kg x 1
    125kg x 3
    125kg x 3
    125kg x 3
    125kg x 3
    125kg x 3

First set felt awful and grindy. Second set felt like I was pushing more off my right leg than anything else. Sets 3-5 were actually fine.

OHP:
    20kg x 5 (Klokov press)
    20kg x 5
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 5 (push press)
    50kg x 5 (push press)

Had been taking the piss recently with the OHP by YNFTP so decided to go heavy again at the prescribed sets and reps, albeit as a push press. Felt it more in the upper traps than before.

Deadlift:
    70kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    110kg x 1
    110kg x 1
    130kg x 1
    130kg x 1

More light singles for dialing in form and practise for competition. First 130kg was dogsh1t because I had become complacent after the easy 110s. Kept everything tight for the 2nd and remembered to separate the leg drive from hip drive and it was piss easy.

Grand day

August 2. Recovery day

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    100kg x 5

Bench (paused):
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    70kg x 5

GHR:

Chinup:

Reverse flye:
    5kg x 12
    5kg x 12

Mad pump from the GHRs. Aside from that, grand day

Heavy day:

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    100kg x 3
    * belt *
    120kg x 3
    140kg x 1
    145kg x 3
    60kg x 3

Form felt crap. Bar felt heavy. Everything felt bad. No idea why. head just not in it today. Did some front squats because I hadn't done them in months and was wondering if I'd forgotten. Too easily distracted by random stuff today.

OHP:
    20kg x 5 (Klokov press)
    20kg x 5
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 5 (Push press)
    50kg x 3 (Push press)
    55kg x 1 (Push press)
    60kg x 5 (Push press)

Amazing what a little leg drive can do. I had previously failed 58.5kg x5 twice, which contributed to my hate of this lift. Had more in the tank and all.

Deadlift:
    50kg x 3
    70kg x 4
    90kg x 3
    110kg x 3
    130kg x 3
    * belt *
    150kg x 3
    170kg x 1
    177.5kg x 1+F

Was supposed to be a set of 3, but my form was crap for the first and I could feel it falling apart for the 2nd, so dropped it 1 inch off the floor. If I'm gonna do it, I should do it right. My head just isn't right today so walking away was the most sensible thing to do. Deadlift deload next week anyway.

Bad day. Sh1t happens.

July 7. Volume day

Had a 9 hour drinking session on Saturday followed by not being able to stomach much food on Sunday. Think I got in about 2,000 calories which wasn't too bad, but was still expecting the worst from today

Squat:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    100kg x 3
    120kg x 1
    125kg x 6
    125kg x 6
    125kg x 6

Felt a twinge in my left knee from rep 5 of set 2. Took some extra time to do some quick poverty squats and ensure that nothing was damaged. Did a 3rd set and my knee felt fine doing them, but I felt it getting tight while waiting for set 4, so decided to call it.

Also had my first ever squat fart during set 1. Wasn't at the bottom, but happened while bracing for my first rep. I wouldn't normally mind, but there was a group training session at the squat rack next to me and the gym was otherwise empty, so at least 8 people in earshot of it. Racked the bar and pretended to kick away some gravel that would have caused the noise, but I don't think I fooled anybody.

Bench (tng):
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    75kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    85kg x 5
    85kg x 5

Was supposed to be 87.5kg but too off 2.5kg due to expecting to be weak after the weekend activities. First 4 sets felt pretty easy. Last set was crap though, but I think my shoulders were out of position.

Lateral raise (paused):
    7.5kg x 8
    7.5kg x 8
    7.5kg x 8

Pullup:

Gym had gotten busy so nowhere to do power cleans/deadlifts, so did some random back/trap stuff and went home.

RICE for the knee today. Must be careful not to give myself frostbite.

Also had my first ever squat fart during set 1. Wasn't at the bottom, but happened while bracing for my first rep. I wouldn't normally mind, but there was a group training session at the squat rack next to me and the gym was otherwise empty, so at least 8 people in earshot of it. Racked the bar and pretended to kick away some gravel that would have caused the noise, but I don't think I fooled anybody.

Good thinking to kick away the gravel because it made them think that disturbing the gravel might have unleashed The Smell :pac:

August 9. Bench day

Not recovery day. Bench day.

Since I hurt my knee, I decided that squatting 3 times a week is a bad idea. I sincerely doubt the frequency of my squatting caused my knee (most likely knees collapsing - an old habit), but recovery from it should be my main goal right now. I'm going to do the last few weeks of the cube method, which has one day per lift. Changing program so close to a meet is a bad idea. But even if I did a meet tomorrow, I'd still easily smash my previous comp PRs.

Bench (paused):
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    72.5kg x 5
    82.5kg x 5

CG Bench:
    87.5kg x 2
    87.5kg x 2

Spoto press:
    77.5kg x 5
    77.5kg x 5

Pullup:
    5kg x 5
    5kg x 5
    5kg x 5

Front plate raise:
    10kg x 10
    10kg x 10
    10kg x 10

Facepull:
    29kg plate x 12

Aaallll the upper body

August 11. Squat day

Squat (speed):
    20kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 3
    80kg x 1 (front squat)
    100kg x 3
    115kg x 2
    115kg x 2
    115kg x 2
    115kg x 2
    115kg x 2

Speed day, so reps were low and light. I kept an emphasis on descent being as controlled as possible before exploding from the bottom. Recorded my last set and bar path was perfect, which is a rarity for me. Usually veers forward at the bottom.

And no knee pain!

Front squat:
    100kg x 1
    110kg x 1
    120kg x 1

2.5kg PR. Was supposed to be doing 3x3 @ 122.5kg but I nearly blacked out after the 120kg. Also, got a twinge in my bad knee. Aside from 3 light reps last week, I haven't done these in over 6 months so getting a PR is still good. Elbows dropped a little at bottom position so form ain't perfect.

Pause squat:
    107.5kg x 5
    107.5kg x 5

Remarkably easy considering it's been over 6 months too, and was tired at this stage.

Dumbbell Bulgarian split squat:
    5kgs x 8
    5kgs x 8
    5kgs x 8

Wanted to do some sled drags for some quad burn but astro was occupied by tyre flippers.

Hadn't done these since attempting them over 2 years ago, so kept the weight light. Back then, I kept falling to the side and getting embarrassed and quitting early. Maybe my leg strength and stability has increased.

Hamstring curl, 3010:
    41kg plate x 12

Ab wheel roll:

Decided to keep the reps low as haven't done any ab specific exercises in months either, so trying to avoid doms.

Interesting day. Makes me realise how goddamn boring the Texas Method is in comparison.

Decided to keep the reps low as haven't done any ab specific exercises in months either, so trying to avoid doms.

After a night of uncomfortable turning due to ab-rollout-generated DOMS, I can assure you this was a good choice.

If it wasn't for reading your log, I'd have gone higher

August 14. Deadlift day

Deadlift:
    70kg x 5
    90kg x 5
    110kg x 3
    * belt *
    130kg x 1
    137.5kg x 2
    137.5kg x 2
    137.5kg x 2
    137.5kg x 2
    137.5kg x 2

Today was speed day. Because I'm not 100% with my form these days, fast deadlifts would just mean losing position faster. So I just concentrated on form as usual. Main difference today was I wore deadlift socks. I usually wear shorts and normal socks but today, I was trying to jam the bar into my shins at the initial pull and it helped me stay tighter off the floor. All reps felt solid. But the weight was light and reps low so it probably doesn't mean too much.

2" block pulls:
    145kg x 5
    145kg x 5

Haven't done these in months, but they felt solid.

1" deficit deadlift:
    127.5kg x 3
    127.5kg x 3
    127.5kg x 1

These were weird. First reps felt solid but subsequent were awful. Prescribed was 2-3 sets of 3-5 reps. At least they help with the initial leg drive emphasis.

Barbell row:
    70kg x 8
    70kg x 8
    70kg x 8

Sled drags:
    60kg x 2 lengths

Ab wheel roll:

Had a bad night sleep. Today was fine, aside from the deficits.

August 16. Bench day

Pause bench:
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    60kg x 3
    70kg x 2
    80kg x 1
    87.5kg x 2
    90kg x 1
    92.5kg x 1
    77.5kg x 7 (AMRAP)

Think the plan with this part of the program is to work up to just below opener and drop back to ~75% for some pump. Planning on opening at 95kg and the 92.5kg felt smooth. Was hoping to get to 8 for the AMRAP but bar path started to suffer. In hindsight, I didn't give myself much rest time.

Pullup:
    x5
    5kg x 5
    5kg x 5
    5kg x 5

Was hoping to push myself and go to 7 on the last set, but I got tired and form suffered. Started swinging. Barely finished 5.

Front plate raise/lateral dumbbell raise:
    10kg x 10/5kgs x 10

Planning on doing Joe DeFranco's shoulder shocker after the meet, so this was half the circuit. Holy crap, my traps were on fire by the end.

Facepull:
    29kg x 15
    29kg x 15
    29kg x 15

Great day. Amazing how two solid nights of sleep can help.

August 18. Squat day

Squat:
    40kg x 5
    * sleeves *
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 3
    100kg x 3
    120kg x 3
    130kg x 3
    130kg x 3
    130kg x 3

Prescribed sets/reps were 2-3 sets of 3-5 reps. Was gonna go 2x5 but I felt like crap after the first three, so settled on 3x3.

Front squat:
    100kg x 1
    110kg x 1
    110kg x 1

Prescribed was 2 sets of 1-2 @ 137.5kg. No fcuking way! Was aiming for 125kg for a new PR but the first 110kg barely made it up, so I went for another and left it at that.

Paused squat:
    122.5kg x 3
    122.5kg x 3

Was supposed to be sets of 3-5 reps but again, felt like crap.

Hamstring curls:
    41kg plate x 12

Bulgarian split squats:
    10kgs x 6
    10kgs x 6
    10kgs x 6

These felt awful. Kept losing balance until I sorted my rear foot out. Was hoping for at least 8 reps each.

Hanging leg raise:

Running out of time so no ab wheel.

Bad day overall. Had a good night sleep and ate well yesterday, but something just didn't feel right. Even recorded my last top set and there was loads of forward travel.

Gaaaaaahhhhh

Your 'poor' day on front squats beats my PR

21 August. Deadlift day

70kg x 5
    90kg x 3
    110kg x 3
    130kg x 2
    140kg x 1
    155kg x 3
    155kg x 3
    155kg x 3

Today was rep day, so was 2-3 sets of 3-5 reps. I'm crap at high rep sets so went for the minimum way of matching rep requirements. Felt good. Took a video of last set and it looked good. Back wasn't 100% straight but hips rose at same speed as bar.

2" block pull:
    162.5kg x 2
    162.5kg x 2

These just felt bad. Not sure how they're supposed to feel as I don't do them often enough to tell.

1" deficit deadlift:
    130kg x 1
    130kg x 1

Lower back was fried by the end of block pulls, so thought doing 2 sets of 3-5 reps @ 145kg would have been a terrible idea. Listen to your body and all that jazz. Especially less than 2 weeks from a meet.

Barbell row:
    70kg x 8
    70kg x 8
    70kg x 8

Prowler sprint:
    +20kg length x 2

First time doing these and sprinted to target the quads. Didn't feel it much there but felt it in the lungs. 60s rest. Holy crap, my cardio is awful. Anyway, not important right now.

Ab wheel roll:

I am bollocksed after today. Back is so so tired. Hasn't been this tired in a long time. I'm pretty sure I didn't injure myself and hope ta fcuk I'm right. Anyway, last heavy-ish deadlift session until the meet.

Probably not the day for prowler sprints :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

I had issues with block pulls and had to ask hanley cos i was sure i was gonna break my back. Turned out i needed to be standing way closer to the bar like with my legs just about touching it. I think the glass wall cue came in as well. Then it clicked. Stopped hitting my back and started hitting my legs. Was a leverage thing i guess

I've to start them again soon hope i don't muck it up :D

bluewolf wrote: »
    I had issues with block pulls and had to ask hanley cos i was sure i was gonna break my back. Turned out i needed to be standing way closer to the bar like with my legs just about touching it. I think the glass wall cue came in as well. Then it clicked. Stopped hitting my back and started hitting my legs. Was a leverage thing i guess

I've to start them again soon hope i don't muck it up :D

I usually start with shins vertical and touching the bar and shoulders locked in place and just try to lift with my glutes as much as possible, but I don't think I did that this week. It worked fine last week though. I dunno.

I just remembered they cancelled the athlone meet and you weren't sure which to do, is there another one coming up?

They didn't cancel; they moved it to Dublin (ABS) and it's one-day only. I'm still doing it.

I've a friend from Galway that was supposed to do it with me but he didn't want to go to Dublin for it (wuss) so we contemplated doing Limerick together instead, but that sold out.

So you win.

Ahhh that was it. Brilliant