Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Floyd via DQ
    Gamebred wrote: »
    Eubank is a real clone of McGregor alright pmsl orthodox pressure fighter absolute nothing like Conor's style.

They must have ran out of punch bags to use as clones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

Floyd via DQ
    Gamebred wrote:
    Eubank is a real clone of McGregor alright pmsl orthodox pressure fighter absolute nothing like Conor's style.

Conor has no style in the sport of boxing. He's going to have to come up with some kind of boxing stance or else Floyd decks him quickly. There's a reason boxers approach other boxers in a certain way. If they don't have their stance and guard right they leave themselves open taking shots. Floyd doesn't need much of an opening to land accurate shots and Conor will be wide open. He will land at will, there's nothing Conor can do defensively, other than try to clinch, and getting that close to Floyd is leave him open to Floyds sharp left hook, and then it's lights out for McGregor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭hbhook

Floyd via DQ
    While trying to find out if Alvarez v GGG will be available as a once off PPV for various cable subscribers I found this on fightsports which I've never visited before now.. 'the Sky Sports Box Office pay-per-view will be available to UK fans for £19.95 ($26.31 in U.S.), and to Irish fans for €24.95 ($29.47 in U.S.)'.

Is this confirmed, is it old news? I'm just asking because Sky still haven't been talking about the price and they usually have it placed under their lil ticker poster on SSNews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,764 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Conor via DQ
    The whole Paulie thing is just a publicity stunt, the sparring is probably a joke. A professional boxer is never going to get beat up by a person who has never boxed a professional bout in his life. It's beyond a joke at how many people actually believe this nonsense.

That doesnt make sense. By that logic all amateurs moving up to their first pro fight will lose.

Floyd via DQ
    Burial. wrote:
    They must have ran out of punch bags to use as clones.

It might be hard to tell the difference between a punching bag and McGregor on Aug 26.

Floyd via DQ
    hbhook wrote:
    While trying to find out if Alvarez v GGG will be available as a once off PPV for various cable subscribers I found this on fightsports which I've never visited before now.. 'the Sky Sports Box Office pay-per-view will be available to UK fans for £19.95 ($26.31 in U.S.), and to Irish fans for €24.95 ($29.47 in U.S.)'.

Much to Oscar De La Hoya's frustration. Canelo/GGG is being completely overshadowed by the MayMac circus.

What should be the biggest middleweight championship fight in the modern era is playing 2nd fiddle to a joke fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,473 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Muahahaha wrote: »
    That doesnt make sense. By that logic all amateurs moving up to their first pro fight will lose.

Don't think he meant exactly that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Conor via KO-TKO
    Muahahaha wrote: »

Yeah that internal logic is flawed obviously because you have Olympic gold-medalists in amateur boxing with an 0-0 record who could very easily beat world champions in their first pro fight.

The logic is pretty simple in my book. No pro boxer has beaten Floyd *officially*, anyway - Castillo CLEARLY beat Floyd in their first fight but we can only go by the official scorecards - so Conor's lack of pro boxing experience isn't something to point to as a negative.

If Floyd had 10 defeats on his pro record, then we could point to being a pro boxer as being beneficial to beating him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Floyd via DQ
    Yeah that internal logic is flawed obviously because you have Olympic gold-medalists in amateur boxing with an 0-0 record who could very easily beat world champions in their first pro fight.

The logic is pretty simple in my book. No pro boxer has beaten Floyd *officially*, anyway - Castillo CLEARLY beat Floyd in their first fight but we can only go by the official scorecards - so Conor's lack of pro boxing experience isn't something to point to as a negative.

If Floyd had 10 defeats on his pro record, then we could point to being a pro boxer as being beneficial to beating him.

lol... I really am never surprised by how high you can manage to stack your BS... it appears you will literally twist and misapply anything, just to suit your agenda! (no matter how ludicrous it is) :pac:

At the end of the day, a professional is just someone who gets paid to do a particular thing. It usually indicates that this individual is more experienced or skilled at what they're doing... but this is not always the case!

Clearly, boxers can have 100's of amateur fights under their belts... and countless hours of training... so it can be said that they are experienced at the skills of boxing!

Conor would undoubtedly benefit from having more experience in the sport of boxing... whether that be at amateur level... pro level... or even just more time in the gym to practice the sport.

You are trying to suggest that Conor's lack of pro experience is not a negative... by pointing out that amateurs can walk in to the pros and do well right away...

But this line could only be legitimately argued, if you could point to Conor's vast amateur experience as some kind of substitute. Which you obviously can't... so your point is complete and utter nonsense!! (as usual)...

Lacking any kind of substantial experience in the sport of boxing, ABSOLUTELY IS a negative for Conor in this fight... no two ways about that. He is at a major disadvantage going into this fight!!

If you want to be good at a sport, you have to practice it... if you want any chance of beating one of the best practitioners of that sport, you need to practice ALOT...

Anything else is really just pie in the sky logic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Floyd via DQ
    Not so sure about "easily" but there are exceptions - some amateur gold medalists are very talented boxers....
    The logic is pretty simple in my book.

Excellent - some clarity at last - please proceed...
    No pro boxer has beaten Floyd *officially*,
    Ok, quick check of the history books and yes this seems to be true..
    anyway - Castillo CLEARLY beat Floyd in their first fight
    But doesn't Aristotle's law of contradiction state "something cannot be, and not be at the same time"?

Anyway screw him, but where do we go?
    but we can only go by the official scorecards
    damn those scorecards...
    - so Conor's lack of pro boxing experience isn't something to point to as a negative.

wait... because of scorecards?, or because Castillo beat him, or because Castillo didn't beat him... I'm now a little lost, and I find myself trying to bite my own teeth... :eek:

well its a start anyhows.... :pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Floyd via KO-TKO
    This is the things if Conor was the MMA champ he is but had also been a serious contender years earlier for a World Boxing Title, then he would be viewed as having an even chance.

In an MMA fight McGregor would have Mayweather beaten within a minute, there are people who will never make the UFC who would as well and they would never even let Floyd have a chance.

It is not though.

Conor via KO-TKO
    But this line could only be legitimately argued, if you could point to Conor's vast amateur experience as some kind of substitute. Which you obviously can't... so your point is complete and utter nonsense!! (as usual)...

Conor's substitute isn't vast amateur boxing experience, it's vast professional MMA experience.

He's not going to try box Floyd using traditional orthodox boxing fundamentals, he's going to try win using MMA fundamentals in a boxing ring under boxing rules.

Wait and see Round 1, I'm very confident his stance, range, distance, faints, set-ups will look like they do in MMA which is very different to boxing.

Whether that works or not is up to Conor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Floyd via DQ
    Whether that works or not is up to Mayweather

Floyd via DQ
    Conor's substitute isn't vast amateur boxing experience, it's vast professional MMA experience.

He's not going to try box Floyd using traditional orthodox boxing fundamentals, he's going to try win using MMA fundamentals in a boxing ring under boxing rules.

Wait and see Round 1, I'm very confident his stance, range, distance, faints, set-ups will look like they do in MMA which is very different to boxing.

Ok so you're saying Conor is going to try something a bit different than the other 47 boxers floyd has fought, then I have just one question - why hasn't any other boxer come up with this same plan?

Conor via KO-TKO
    begbysback wrote: »
    Ok so you're saying Conor is going to try something a bit different than the other 47 boxers floyd has fought, then I have just one question - why hasn't any other boxer come up with this same plan?

Yeah that's exactly it. Well, boxers usually start boxing at 4 or 5 in many cases and by the time they fought Floyd they'd been doing the same things for 20, 30 years. It's very difficult to throw out 20 years of traditional boxing practices (like stance, footwork etc) to try a new plan.

On the other hand, Conor has been fighting out of a karate stance at kicking-range for over a decade. He knows how to attack and how to defend at that range. It's easier for Conor to fight out of a karate stance than it would have been for Oscar de la Hoya to try it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Floyd via DQ
    Wonder, fair play for calling out McGregor's camp and their behaviour over the apulie sarring on the MMA forum. Shows you are not a blinkered 'fanboy'.
    I respect your opinion even if I think it is totally wrong :pac:.

Floyd via DQ
    Yeah that's exactly it. Well, boxers usually start boxing at 4 or 5 in many cases and by the time they fought Floyd they'd been doing the same things for 20, 30 years. It's very difficult to throw out 20 years of traditional boxing practices (like stance, footwork etc) to try a new plan.

On the other hand, Conor has been fighting out of a karate stance at kicking-range for over a decade. He knows how to attack and how to defend at that range. It's easier for Conor to fight out of a karate stance than it would have been for Oscar de la Hoya to try it.

So you're saying past generation boxers have got it wrong, and would be better off using a karate stance?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Floyd via KO-TKO
    begbysback wrote: »
    So you're saying past generation boxers have got it wrong, and would be better off using a karate stance?

No but trying to out box Floyd hasnt worked, attacking him on the inside like Maidana worked to a certain extent but still lost, Im not sure he will fight Karate wild stance tbh but theres zero chance of him winning via out boxing him as a normal southpaw counter striker, creating some madness in exchanges with feints might give Floyd some trouble understanding the range early on, thats his plan imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Floyd via DQ
    lol... I really am never surprised by how high you can manage to stack your BS... it appears you will literally twist and misapply anything, just to suit your agenda! (no matter how ludicrous it is) :pac:

At the end of the day, a professional is just someone who gets paid to do a particular thing. It usually indicates that this individual is more experienced or skilled at what they're doing... but this is not always the case!

Clearly, boxers can have 100's of amateur fights under their belts... and countless hours of training... so it can be said that they are experienced at the skills of boxing!

Conor would undoubtedly benefit from having more experience in the sport of boxing... whether that be at amateur level... pro level... or even just more time in the gym to practice the sport.

You are trying to suggest that Conor's lack of pro experience is not a negative... by pointing out that amateurs can walk in to the pros and do well right away...

Lacking any kind of substantial experience in the sport of boxing, ABSOLUTELY IS a negative for Conor in this fight... no two ways about that. He is at a major disadvantage going into this fight!!

If you want to be good at a sport, you have to practice it... if you want any chance of beating one of the best practitioners of that sport, you need to practice ALOT...

Anything else is really just pie in the sky logic!

But, but, but remember the Fosbury flop!! Hahahaha

Floyd via DQ
    Mayweather v McGregor is gonna be like when Floyd rematches somebody......x1000

Floyd via KO-TKO
    I heard Eubank's been sacked by Floyd in favor of Jackie Chan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Floyd via DQ

The rules of the game he is about to play on Aug 26th, dictate that he must box Floyd... what style of boxing he chooses, is up to him. But no matter what style... it will still be a form of boxing! (no matter how stupid, weird, ugly or unskillful it looks) :p

His fists will still be flying towards Floyd's head or body... that's all that matters!

The best boxers, box the way they do, because it's the smartest and most efficient method of doing so. Through trial and error, over MANY generations, with MANY great minds guiding the way. Not because they can't think up anything better! ;)

Every youngster is taught the fundamentals of their sport... but that doesn't mean there isn't room for personal styles or improvisation. Boxing is no different.

The way you talk about boxing... you would swear that all boxers are just robots that do the same things. This is not true at all. There are many subtle differences between boxers... but the fundamentals are the sport. You can't change that, without creating a totally different sport!!

That last point, actually shows not only your lack of boxing knowledge... but also your lack of MMA knowledge too.

The karate stance is an effective and intelligent stance in MMA, because it allows you to defend against the different ways your opponent can attack you... you don't know if your opponent is going to kick, punch or shoot for a takedown. So it's a logical stance in MMA... it gives you a lower, more solid base and better balance with kicks and takedowns. (both defensively and offensively)

Floyd or Conor don't have to worry about kicks or being taken down... so if Conor actually adopts that stance, it will just make it even easier for Floyd to see his punches coming, and Conor won't be able to move fast enough to react to Floyd's movements around the ring offensively! And because his footwork will be slower, with that wider stance... he will also be easier for Floyd to hit.

He will also be essentially cancelling out any reach advantage he might have too... because his lower stance, will mean he has to reach further to land punches. He will effectively be turning himself into a smaller fighter inside a boxing ring, for absolutely no logical reason at all.

A karate stance, against a top boxer, in a pure boxing match.... is absolute madness. It's not revolutionary or evolutionary... it's just dumb! There is zero advantages to be gained, from such a method.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Floyd via DQ
    Paulie said after the second spar that Conor had improved, he was shortening his punches, which suggests he might be abandoning trying to fight at his usual MMA range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭xtal191

Floyd via KO-TKO

Floyd via DQ
    S.A.S is annoying but I agree with him here. I think I get what he was saying. I try not to listen to him. Paulie didn't want people to think a novice could knock him down. He couldn't keep his trap shut until after the fight.

Conor via KO-TKO
    But, but, but remember the Fosbury flop!! Hahahaha

We'll see.
    T
    A karate stance, against a top boxer, in a pure boxing match.... is absolute madness. It's not revolutionary or evolutionary... it's just dumb! There is zero advantages to be gained, from such a method.

Says you.

We'll find out August 26th.

Conor via KO-TKO
    Max Kellerman in that clip is the personification of all you "experts" in here.

Didn't shut up for weeks that no pro boxer would get touched in sparring by Conor, then as soon as Conor proves him wrong he pivots to lame excuses.

The ol' sweet science eh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,925 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Floyd via DQ

Didn't shut up for weeks that no pro boxer would get touched in sparring by Conor, then as soon as Conor proves him wrong he pivots to lame excuses.

You really don't come across well when you take a position and tone like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

Conor via DQ

I hold Kellerman responsible for a lot of the boxing fans expert opinions.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    We still talking bollix sparring against has-been Paulie Malignaggi?