Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Not club captain, he wasn't.

It was a joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

astradave wrote: »
    It was a joke

Would be obvious to all but the craic police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,030 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Matic birthday today. Hope he got a cake

Does that make him 30 now given that yesterday everyone was saying we paid "£50m for a 29 year old"? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

pjohnson wrote: »
    Pew Pew
    blackwidow.jpg

Can't we all be friends again?

carefulnow.jpg

Fellaini was Captain last season

#justsaying :D

Bangkok wept that day

#justsaying

Am i doing it right...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

brinty wrote: »
    Fr. Ted image

You really need to get that chip off your shoulder Brinty :pac:

Somehow i know this will all get blamed on me and I've not been posting any lady pictures in a long time....

If we make one more signing i'm gonna have to post one or all off our lovely ladies in their best red outfits....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

bangkok wrote: »
    Ah seriously, come off it. Carrick has over 700 career games in midfield, has been lauded all over europe by ex managers and players, players that played for him, watching him live at old trafford he has been a class act. How has blind been more productive during his brief spell there and how many games has he actually played there. If he was that good there he would have made a career out of that position.

Also, "scholes level of inflation"?? You didnt rate him? He was easily one of the best midfielders in the world at his peak

Pretty much spot on, the fact he was seen as an exciting young playmaker at West Ham and Spurs kind of worked against how a good bit of the general public viewed him otherwise. Carrick is basically the same type of player as Xabi Alonso, I would personally rate Alonso higher but only by a little over their careers, excellent readers of the game with great defensive instincts/discipline who were also very good in possession. Could pick out a pass when needed, but given their typical roles, were again very disciplined about keeping the ball going for us.

I know TheDoc isn't saying he doesn't rate Carrick so it's not referring to him, but I have had a laugh down the years at the number of United fans who have even detested him in some cases while lauding Alonso as exactly the type of player we could use.

Billy86 wrote: »
    Pretty much spot on, the fact he was seen as an exciting young playmaker at West Ham and Spurs kind of worked against how a good bit of the general public viewed him otherwise. Carrick is basically the same type of player as Xabi Alonso, I would personally rate Alonso higher but only by a little over their careers, excellent readers of the game with great defensive instincts/discipline who were also very good in possession. Could pick out a pass when needed, but given their typical roles, were again very disciplined about keeping the ball going for us.

I know TheDoc isn't saying he doesn't rate Carrick so it's not referring to him, but I have had a laugh down the years at the number of United fans who have even detested him in some cases while lauding Alonso as exactly the type of player we could use.

Well said Billy, my thoughts on Carrick exactly.. he's been that Denis Irwin type of player, 7 or 8 of 10 every game, nothing flashy or fussy, just does his job quietly and effectively. A perfect foil for Scholes in that he broke the play up and gave the ball to the guy who could do something with it.
    As a younger player he could play those balls but wasn't required to do so at United because he'd Scholes beside him. He did play them on occasion but wasn't required to so people under appreciate the impact he had. The fact so many of his contemporaries speak so highly off him is more an indication of his ability.

What happened rachel riley or do ye not like her anymore

#RileyisRed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

jayo26 wrote: »
    I'd just love people to be able have an opinion on here without been called mental or insane and so on :):) kind of ruins the buzz of debating an opinion.

Or else someone else quips in and says I don't know how someone can say such and such about a player blah blah blah eh if your talking about my opinion bloody quote me.

Rant over love ye all.

Ah now stop that was mental <3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Personally I don't think Carrick was ever as good or as consistent as Alonso. By quite a large margin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭Robson99

bangkok wrote: »
    What about champions league games where we got to 3 finals in 4 years and he was at the heart of that midfield?

Which was torn to pieces by Barcelona

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

We can all go around debating or arguing here what we think about Carrick but there is no denying that he's highly regarded by his fellow players and managers. Great player who has served us brilliantly.
    I think Michael’s the best central midfielder in English football. I think he’s the best English player in the game.”
    Sir Alex Ferguson, December 2014

“Scholes and Carrick together was peaceful. It was like going into a bar and hearing a piano playing. It’s relaxing.”
    – Gary Neville

“Carrick gives United balance and can play defensively too. He passes well, has a good shot and is a complete player."
    – Xavi, speaking prior to the Champions League final against United in 2009.

“Carrick could play for Barcelona, he has good vision and is an intelligent player”.
    – Arsene Wenger

“Michael is a different breed to the likes of Roy and Nicky Butt,” said Scholes. “They were brilliant, but so is Michael in a different way. He brings calmness to the game and parades around the pitch like a Rolls-Royce. I’ve always found him very easy to play with. He’s capable of doing anything. He can create goals, score goals, he’s a great passer of the ball and is a big strong lad with a lot of presence who can run all day long."
    – Paul Scholes

“Not only this season but every year. People do not realise the amount of work Carrick delivers until he has gone."
    – Thierry Henry, labeling Michael Carrick as one of the most underrated players of his generation.

“Michael Carrick is a magical midfielder and another who goes about his work with little fuss."
    – Harry Redknapp

“In English football sometimes it seems hard for people to rate those who instead of shining themselves make the team work as a collective. For example Michael Carrick . . . who makes those around him play.”
    – Xabi Alonso

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Robson99 wrote: »

The greatest club side in the history of the game. Nothing to be ashamed about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,397 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Who did he play beside in those games?

Who was he playing against? He was part of a midfield that was outclassed by a trio of Busquets, Iniesta and Xavi - his passing must not be that good so.

2009 - Anderson and Giggs in a three
    2011 - Giggs in a two.. flanked by Park and Valencia..

TheDoc wrote: »
    Ah now stop that was mental <3

It's better than another Rooney debate!

Ya fair enough he was only part of the problem. A good player yes but a great player no.
    Part of the problem I think was we were coming off the back of our best middle of the park partnership in Keane and Scholes which could operate as a two. Carrick always gave the impression that he needed two with him

Ya fair enough he was only part of the problem. A good player yes but a great player no.
    Part of the problem I think was we were coming off the back of our best middle of the park partnership in Keane and Scholes which could operate as a two. Carrick always gave the impression that he needed two with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,397 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

brinty wrote: »
    2009 - Anderson and Giggs in a three
    2011 - Giggs in a two.. flanked by Park and Valencia..

ugh, the fact we regressed from the 2009 midfield, seemingly learning NOTHING from the 09 farce, still irritates me so much.

How could Fergie not address it? IT IS MIND BOGGLING!

442 was the formation back in the day. United were blessed to have beckham and giggs on either wing with keane/scholes in the middle. Times changed and fergie went with a 4231 or 433 formation.

Also we are no comparing carrick to the likes of xavi etc some of the greatest midfielders ever. No one ever said he was at that level but he was still a class player

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Which is disappointing, but ignores the fact that that Barcelona team are quite possibly the best starting XI to ever play the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

I always thought Carrick was better without the ball. A great reader of the game and good positional sense. A solid passer but I wouldn't call him a creative player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

ugh, the fact we regressed from the 2009 midfield, seemingly learning NOTHING from the 09 farce, still irritates me so much.

How could Fergie not address it? IT IS MIND BOGGLING!

i dont think ive ever been annoyed so much at a teamsheet then that night

sky88 wrote: »

What i would do now to have a season like that again......premier league champions, league cup winners, fifa world club cup champions, community shield winners, fa cup semi final and champions league runners up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

sky88 wrote: »

This to me still is one of the weirdest teamsheets I remember us using!

ManUnitedArsenal.jpg?strip=all&w=742&h=417&crop=1

...still ended up beating Arsenal 2-0 though :pac:

Adamocovic wrote: »

The genius of ferguson!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,257 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Adamocovic wrote: »

If we played that team now be well beaten!

There was just something about fergie there where times having him there alone would win you the game.