Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Very happy with Matic signing. I don't think he is all that as a individual player but he is what we need to us better team. He is a proper holding player and can hold the position, Pogba and Herrera will have more freedom to make the runs without worrying about counter attacks. Also I think our fullbacks can push even more since Matic sits deep and provide defensive stability.

For a price (35Million + 5M) it's a good deal for both parties.

Also hopefully we sign Aurier. Valencia will be 32 in 3 days and we will be searching for RB next season, when a very good RB like Aurier is available for a cut price, we should sign him (Yeah if he gets work permit).

He is just 24 and very good RB, would be superb signing.

Oddly enough, I'm really starting to like the look of the Grey / Silver looking Jersey this season.
    Anyone have a decent website to get this cheaper than the norm?

*Edit* NM, seems to be a thread for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    Very happy with Matic signing. I don't think he is all that as a individual player but he is what we need to us better team. He is a proper holding player and can hold the position, Pogba and Herrera will have more freedom to make the runs without worrying about counter attacks. Also I think our fullbacks can push even more since Matic sits deep and provide defensive stability.

For a price (35Million + 5M) it's a good deal for both parties.

Also hopefully we sign Aurier. Valencia will be 32 in 3 days and we will be searching for RB next season, when a very good RB like Aurier is available for a cut price, we should sign him (Yeah if he gets work permit).

He is just 24 and very good RB, would be superb signing.

Would much rather fosu mensah than aurier.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Oddly enough, I'm really starting to like the look of the Grey / Silver looking Jersey this season.

Ha while watching the match the other day I was giving out to the OH when the players where up the top of the pitch they were blending in with the crowd. Didn't even cop about the Southampton game at the time.. that was in HD, can you imagine what it would be like on a ****ty stream

Oh you should get a decent one on aliexpress or one of those sites for cheap enough

bangkok wrote: »
    Would much rather fosu mensah than aurier.

One is a superb player already and one is still finding what is his best position. Fosu Mensah can rotate in that position and also in other positions.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

One is a superb player already and one is still finding what is his best position. Fosu Mensah can rotate in that position and also in other positions.

Aurier is a dick though :D would worry about him unsettling the squad. Though in saying that I really do believe that his appeal won't be won and he will be off to prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,026 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Im a Carrick fan and appreciate his efforts for the club, but no way for was he a super passer either

He's still living off all those 5 yard passes to Scholes.

Carrick could never have been a Pirlo or Xavi, he was far too cautious. He had the ability to provide incisive forward passes but not the mentality, he was far too happy to sit and just take the easy options in the guise of keeping possession ticking over. There is a place for that, I wish Pogba would learn it for example, but you can go too far as well and for me Carrick could have done so much more.

He used to frustrate the hell out of me actually. Get the ball in space, look up, then sideways pass to Scholes. Sure, its Scholes, but its also slowed the play down completely and made it multiple passes for no reason.

Aurier is poison, wouldnt want him anywhere near the club.

Would like to see fosu mensah play cup games and a few league games at rb to cover valencia with a view for him to be our rb for the next 10 years

He's still living off all those 5 yard passes to Scholes.

Carrick could never have been a Pirlo or Xavi, he was far too cautious. He had the ability to provide incisive forward passes but not the mentality, he was far too happy to sit and just take the easy options in the guise of keeping possession ticking over. There is a place for that, I wish Pogba would learn it for example, but you can go too far as well and for me Carrick could have done so much more.

He used to frustrate the hell out of me actually. Get the ball in space, look up, then sideways pass to Scholes. Sure, its Scholes, but its also slowed the play down completely and made it multiple passes for no reason.

Carrick at one stage in his career used to have the most forward passes in all of europe. The above post is bs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,810 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Xavi and Pirlo are probably 2 of the best passers of all time. Carrick was a bit below their level but was still a class act and one was still one of the best passers in europe and probably the best in england for a few years.

Matic was never and will never be anywhere near as good as carrick was

He was a good bit below their level when it cane to passing. I would struggle to name a game where he gave a passing masterclass.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,140 ✭✭✭KH25

Lads correct me if I'm wrong but is TFM not more of a DM? I know he's been played at RB in the first team but is DM not his normal position?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Carrick at one stage in his career used to have the most forward passes in all of europe. The above post is bs

See that's exactly what ye were arguing yesterday he was at one stage of his career a very good passer but the guy is 37 now and does exactly what buckety says he passes safe majority of time.

I was judging matic on Last season not 2 or 3 year ago when Carricks ability was irrelevant when he was younger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

KH25 wrote: »
    Lads correct me if I'm wrong but is TFM not more of a DM? I know he's been played at RB in the first team but is DM not his normal position?

It's grand just leave Bangkok off in this one it's his pet project.

He was a good bit below their level when it cane to passing. I would struggle to name a game where he gave a passing masterclass.

Roma 7-1.

Champions league final v chelsea.

Inter milan away

Straight off the top of my head along with the majority of games he has played in his 10 years at the club

KH25 wrote: »

He played there and CB in the youths alright but looks like 2 managers in a row deem him to be a RB

jayo26 wrote: »
    It's grand just leave Bangkok off in this one it's his pet project.

His best position imo. Van gaal and jose also seem to think so

astradave wrote: »
    Aurier is a dick though :D would worry about him unsettling the squad. Though in saying that I really do believe that his appeal won't be won and he will be off to prison.

Yeah he is, I don't think he will win his appeal. But if he does then we should sign him to solve RB position for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

M!Ck^ wrote: »

*Edit* NM, seems to be a thread for it.

Got it the other day, looks great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

I see the FA are bringing in retrospective bans for diving. Two match ban if adjudged to have dived to gain an advantage. We might finally get football back.

Leroy42 wrote: »
    I see the FA are bringing in retrospective bans for diving. Two match ban if adjudged to have dived to gain an advantage. We might finally get football back.

ashley young might never play again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,994 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Delighted with this, haven't they been doing this in Scotland? How's it been working?

jayo26 wrote: »
    See that's exactly what ye were arguing yesterday he was at one stage of his career a very good passer but the guy is 37 now and does exactly what buckety says he passes safe majority of time.

I was judging matic on Last season not 2 or 3 year ago when Carricks ability was irrelevant when he was younger.

He plays more forward passes and his average pass distance is higher than matic

scudzilla wrote: »
    Delighted with this, haven't they been doing this in Scotland? How's it been working?

Well one of the more high profile cases was the Hearts penalty against Celtic.
    Yer man got a 2 game ban after the fact if I am remembering correctly.

The advantage is either won a peno or got someone sent off I think, which in the grand scheme of things isn't really a deterrent if the team wins the match..

Roma 7-1.

Champions league final v chelsea.

Inter milan away

Straight off the top of my head along with the majority of games he has played in his 10 years at the club

So 3 games.

In fairness he has been a great servant to the club but to put him as a great passer is something I strongly disagree with. His positioning and awareness were second to none, but he was not a player who fizzed the ball about either. Not in same league as a Scholes or Keane.

He had great attributes but passing was not his strongest by a way.

I appreciate we were comparing him to Matic but when "Super" gets mentioned it ought to be left to a world class passer.

EVENFLOW

So 3 games.

In fairness he has been a great servant to the club but to put him as a great passer is something I strongly disagree with. His positioning and awareness were second to none, but he was not a player who fizzed the ball about either. Not in same league as a Scholes or Keane.

He had great attributes but passing was not his strongest by a way.

I appreciate we were comparing him to Matic but when "Super" gets mentioned it ought to be left to a world class passer.

No i named 3 games, but i also said the majority of games he played in his career.

Did keane fizz the ball about in the same way scholes did? No chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,397 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I find it insane Carrick's passing is being questioned.

I would have thought his passing would be an attribute no one disagreed on, that he is/was a great passer. Maybe not Pirlo or Scholes, but you don't have to be at their level to be a great passer.

If Carrick wasn't a great passer, imo, he'd have had little place in the United side imo.

I would have thought his passing would be an attribute no one disagreed on, that he is/was a great passer. Maybe not Pirlo or Scholes, but you don't have to be at their level to be a great passer.

If Carrick wasn't a great passer, imo, he'd have had little place in the United side imo.

Yea its mad. His passing and positioning is what is known about all over europe. His passing is exceptional. Its what got him his move to united

I think it's cause people don't really remember his passing cause it's not Hollywood style, it's a bit like the way Keanos passing is underrated. Carrick played the correct ball the majority of the time. But he still had the ability to cut defences when needed.

Did keane fizz the ball about in the same way scholes did? No chance.

Keane was a far superior passer of the ball then any United player of PL era other then Scholes. Keane "right pass" all the time was exceptionally high.

EVENFLOW