Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,346 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

In general I dont get why a urine sample is needed. Are blood and hair not even more accurate methods of testing for drugs?

Be considerably quicker and cause much less annoyance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,101 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Uts should sell both the players right away. There can be no room for the type of attitude that they showed.

He wants to be in a picture? What is he 10? Give me a break. You are a professional, faced with another professional doing their job. These are the rules and procedures that all clubs and players sign up to.

Team like MU should be setting the example, not looking for excuses. These rules are there to protect the players, officials and the very standing of the game. Look at cycling, if you let the standards slip, and people start to question the validity of the sport it is very hard to recover any credibility.

Blind wanted to celebrate with team mates, completely understand but thems the breaks. Someone has to be chosen and your name came up. Tough. Focus on drinking some water and getting it down rather than moaning about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Leroy42 wrote: »
    Uts should sell both the players right away. There can be no room for the type of attitude that they showed.

He wants to be in a picture? What is he 10? Give me a break. You are a professional, faced with another professional doing their job. These are the rules and procedures that all clubs and players sign up to.

Team like MU should be setting the example, not looking for excuses. These rules are there to protect the players, officials and the very standing of the game. Look at cycling, if you let the standards slip, and people start to question the validity of the sport it is very hard to recover any credibility.

Blind wanted to celebrate with team mates, completely understand but thems the breaks. Someone has to be chosen and your name came up. Tough. Focus on drinking some water and getting it down rather than moaning about it.

Ah here. Sell both players. Surely we should reward them for showing passion if we are going to do one of those two ludicrous things!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

ah seriously!!!

if you want players sold for the above reasons we would have no squad and jose wouldn't be our manager.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

A picture with a banner supporting the victims of the terrorist attack on Manchester that occured 2 days previously. You can see why he and Blind my not want to be in it.

And the both did and passed their drugs tests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,270 ✭✭✭fyfe79

MrMac84 wrote: »
    And Jordan Henderson celebrated like he had won the World Cup ha ha ha at least Peter chec with Arsenal knew it was only preseason

Am I missing something? Looks to be a fairly mild WC winning celebration:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XbKgOxkRsAE

He raises the Cup, without looking miserable, as that's his job. At least slag us off for the usual stuff - 'our year', transfers falling through, Carroll, Suarez t-shirts etc etc, there's enough material there.

bangkok wrote: »
    ah seriously!!!

if you want players sold for the above reasons we would have no squad and jose wouldn't be our manager.

Then we have no standards as a club.

Seriously, this is pretty poor showing. It paints the team in a bad light, paints the players in a bad light.

Is it harsh? Yes. But a standard must be shown. A certain expectation of the type of players we want to represent the team. Would other teams get rid of them, probably not. But other teams don't matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,346 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

200_s.gif

A picture with a banner supporting the victims of the terrorist attack on Manchester that occured 2 days previously. You can see why he and Blind my not want to be in it.

Yes of course I can see why, doesn't excuse their behaviour. There are lots of things lots of employees would like to do but can't because they are working. You suck it up and get on with it.

They weren't in the photo, was it even commented on at the time? Could they not have waited to take the picture later?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Video of what happened released.

giphy.gif

Yes of course I can see why, doesn't excuse their behaviour. There are lots of things lots of employees would like to do but can't because they are working. You suck it up and get on with it.

They weren't in the photo, was it even commented on at the time? Could they not have waited to take the picture later?

You can be in a drugs room for hours drinking water and waiting for your body to actually produce enough urine to provide a sample. So no they couldn't take the spontaneous picture later.
    Blind was in the pic and was fined for being late to the test.
    Jones over reacted, but the official could have waited the 30 seconds needed to take the pic.
    Demanding they be sacked is ridiculous over reaction.

Seriously, this is pretty poor showing. It paints the team in a bad light, paints the players in a bad light.

Is it harsh? Yes. But a standard must be shown. A certain expectation of the type of players we want to represent the team. Would other teams get rid of them, probably not. But other teams don't matter.

in that case you must not want jose at the club either because of his attitude?

herrera out as he is a diver

fellaini out as he elbows players

valencia out as he is a serial cheater

roy keane would have been gone after a week going by you're "standards"

they are football players not choir boys!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

02d518c695c51f2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Nah, that's stupid.

bangkok wrote: »
    in that case you must not want jose at the club either because of his attitude?

herrera out as he is a diver

fellaini out as he elbows players

valencia out as he is a serial cheater

roy keane would have been gone after a week going by you're "standards"

they are football players not choir boys!!!

Great deflection. I can't do anything about those instances, they rules are not as clear. There are very strict and precise rules covering the drug testing protocol. Clubs are very quick to attack the testers is any of the rules are not strickly adhered to. You can't simply give 30 secs because the player wants to do something (no matter how important).

You end up with players going missing, only 30 secs becomes 1 minute, becomes 5 etc. There simply cannot be any leeway.

And that is to the benefit of everyone involved.

They are professionals, they know the rules and by playing the game they are accepting those rules. Thats it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,040 ✭✭✭✭adox

I thought this was a joke until you followed up with replies.

jaykay74 wrote: »
    Nah, that's stupid.

Brilliant, I bow to your superior argument.

The players have caused themselves to be banned and brought the club the wrong type of headlines.

That to me is enough. Maybe you are prepared to overlook it in order to win but I think we should have some standards.

Whatever about Blind, Jones should be out the door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,397 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

why sell them? Why not sack them? Surely sacking them is the only method of your standard setting here.

Also, surely the club standard was set when: Not sacking Cantona, and Not sacking Ferdinand.

Also, why would you just straight to selling (which should be sacking, surely) rather than a fine or some other form of punishment.

Do you think any employee should be sacked immediately for any breach?

Matic announced. 3 year deal with the option of a 4th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Matic announced. 3 year deal with the option of a 4th.

I'm delighted with that signing.
    Exciting times. We will see the best of Pogba now

why sell them? Why not sack them? Surely sacking them is the only method of your standard setting here.

Also, surely the club standard was set when: Not sacking Cantona, and Not sacking Ferdinand.

Also, why would you just straight to selling (which should be sacking, surely) rather than a fine or some other form of punishment.

Do you think any employee should be sacked immediately for any breach?

Because I know that sacking would never happen, football simply does not have the morals. But at least if they sold them it would show they had something approaching standards.

They should have sacked Cantona and Rio.

Not for any breach, no, but this is certainly in the category of a serious professional misconduct, bringing the team into disrepute and being unavailable to play through negligence.

the amount of stuff that never comes out id say would shock a lot of people that gets covered up at every club.

Only came out in the last year that Roy Keane once knocked Heinze out after a game.

He also attacked Veron in the dressing room after a game, headbutted peter schmeichel another time in a hotel.

Also with regard drug testing... Rio Ferdinand didnt do a drug test and got an 8 month ban, was plastered all over the media and he was hung out to dry.....

Saido Berahino failed a drugs test and he served a secret FA ban and was allowed to go to france to train on his own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,397 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Because I know that sacking would never happen, football simply does not have the morals. But at least if they sold them it would show they had something approaching standards.

They should have sacked Cantona and Rio.

Not for any breach, no, but this is certainly in the category of a serious professional misconduct, bringing the team into disrepute and being unavailable to play through negligence.

How does getting a red card for a cynical deliberate foul factor into your thinking?

Making themselves, bringing the club and team into disrepute and unavailable to play through unprofessional behavior?

Should players be sold for cursing at match officials? (I don't think they should be cursing at them)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Rod Munch wrote: »
    Pair of idiots.

Club should fine them a couple of weeks wages too.

No excuse for that kind of nonsense.

I'll probably harbour judgement until some actual facts emerge.

Wouldn't be surprised if it was a totally inappropriate timing of the testing, in the context of a cup final.

There has been plenty of stories of doping agents being ridiculous in when a test is to take place, having no understanding of a celebratory moment.

If it was just a case of everyone in the dressing room popping the champagne and they wouldn't leave then fair enough, they should have gone out.

But if they were summoned during the lap around the pitch or during it for example, which can happen, then yeah, I've sympathy with the lads.

Some obscure over reaction to be honest, I'd imagine when facts appear it will likely be justified.

*EDIT just as I type I see the point at where there was summons, so yeah, I've sympathy with the pair there, and you'd think the testers would have the cop on and understanding of the situation to wait until certain moments and celebrations had finished.

It's not like the results would be different, only showing up alcohol which they easily seperate out when identifying any potential drug use

No need to abuse the officials, which is what got him the ban. Plead you case, yeah - resort to abusive language at an official just doing their job? I don't see the justification.

Never cursed at a ref before Mitch? :rolleyes:

Think you've just gone heavy on the two lads there from the bat :)

1uf27Y7.gif

Shouting for Ferdinand to be sold I suppose back in the day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

TheDoc wrote: »

It's not like the results would be different, only showing up alcohol which they easily seperate out when identifying any potential drug use

Im almost sure I've heard of people being banned due to alcohol being found in their sample as a potential masking agent. I'm sure it would be easily differentiated from a small bit of post game champagne though

Matic in the door.... Super signing

team is starting to take shape....

de gea

Valencia
    Lindelof
    Bailly
    Darmian

Matic

Herrera