Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,427 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Show me where it says he wants to reveal something? He doesn't. He says we may understand in a couple of days. He says nothing about revealing anything.

Jaysus you do never stop looking for a scrap. Not in the mood this morning off to watch the matches. Gluck.

Although I do agree with you other point that we've seen this before already.

We will likely still refuse to actually pay for him in the end and not sign him lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Giggsy11 wrote: »

Seen that he seems to be the sky source today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,450 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

pjohnson wrote: »
    Jaysus you do never stop looking for a scrap. Not in the mood this morning off to watch the matches. Gluck.

Yeah, never stop looking for an accurate representation of what was said, not an over exaggerated inference. G'luck.

jayo26 wrote: »
    Seen that he seems to be the sky source today.

Di Marzio team is reporting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,801 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

Mr.H wrote: »
    Ye spent more on both Pogba and Lukaku than City have ever spent on a player. You can pretend all you like but ye do spend "crazy money like city". Funny thing is I think we are all guilty of spending crazy money like city this summer

http://www.totalsportek.com/money/premier-league-clubs-transfers-net-spend-last-5-years/

City have outspent United by over 300m since 2008 and the figures in this article don't include this summer.

Not to mention the amount of players City let go for next to nothing. Without a sugar daddy, this kind of economics is not sustainable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,450 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    Di Marzio team is reporting it.

I saw a few people mention it last night too. Two of the more reliable lads on Red Issue were say it. That @malachains (?) fella who had the first Lukaku interview was one.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

The main problem with Matic coming is that it's not a great sounding name for coming up with chants. I've tried for ages to come up with one and can't. You'd want to be adding his country of birth too and also a reference to his no-nonsense defensive style.

Matic. Matic. Matic.
    You came from Chelsea-aaaaa
    And you are Serbian.
    You tackle well and wear red now.
    To la loo la lay.

Best I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

http://www.totalsportek.com/money/premier-league-clubs-transfers-net-spend-last-5-years/

City have outspent United by over 300m since 2008 and the figures in this article don't include this summer.

Not to mention the amount of players City let go for next to nothing. Without a sugar daddy, this kind of economics is not sustainable.

Not saying it will happen to city but it will happen to one of the clubs with that type of owner, they will eventually leave and put the club under massive financial strain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,801 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

Hococop wrote: »
    Not saying it will happen to city but it will happen to one of the clubs with that type of owner, they will eventually leave and put the club under massive financial strain

Guaranteed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

FutureGuy wrote: »
    The main problem with Matic coming is that it's not a great sounding name for coming up with chants. I've tried for ages to come up with one and can't. You'd want to be adding his country of birth too and also a reference to his no-nonsense defensive style.

Matic. Matic. Matic.
    You came from Chelsea-aaaaa
    And you are Serbian.
    You tackle well and wear red now.
    To la loo la lay.

Best I have.
    Feck it let's just recycle the Nemanja one (nobody will know I promise!).

I saw a few people mention it last night too. Two of the more reliable lads on Red Issue were say it. That @malachains (?) fella who had the first Lukaku interview was one.

Yeah, @Malachians reported it last night that Matic will be Manutd player in 2 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,140 ✭✭✭KH25

Not a fan of these Fellaini rumours. Really feel that we should keep him unless we're planning to buy in another midfielder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

How color is close :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Think the spending is skewed especially with Utd. The whole squad needed a complete overhaul in the last few years and the spending was through the roof for it. Compare that to say Chelsea who spent massively when fees weren't at the scale their at now. Only needed to add a couple if players hete and there cos the squad is good now. Sold players for massive money too. It's a little flawed to look at spends. Utds squad was very poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Don't think looking at spends is flawed at all. It's quite a clear cut figure.

Either you spread it out over multiple seasons or you have these peaks and troughs. Net result is probably quite similar. With the way prices are going the complete overhaul approach seems less ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,456 ✭✭✭Quandary

If we are signing Matic I'd say it must be for an exorbitant fee. Chelsea would refuse to strengthen a rival unless they were getting massively massively compensated for it.

That being said, we can afford it and Jose is getting a player who he clearly trusts to do a very specific job for the team in a position where we are embarrassingly exposed.

He's going on 29 in August so we should still get 3 or 4 very good seasons out of him.

If he performs for us like he did for Chelsea in Joses title winning season then he will have been considered an excellent signing.

Quandary wrote: »
    If we are signing Matic I'd say it must be for an exorbitant fee. Chelsea would refuse to strengthen a rival unless they were getting massively massively compensated for it.

That being said, we can afford it and Jose is getting a player who he clearly trusts to do a very specific job for the team in a position where we are embarrassingly exposed.

He's going on 29 in August so we should still get 3 or 4 very good seasons out of him.

If he performs for us like he did for Chelsea in Joses title winning season then he will have been considered an excellent signing.

He hasn't been that good the last 2 seasons though. I'm unsure why people think he's suddenly going to be more than a more expensive Schneiderlin.

It's a position United need to strengthen but 40 odd million on Matic? That's worse than Walker or Mendy who at least have a claim to being amongst the best around in their positions last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,456 ✭✭✭Quandary

Liam O wrote: »
    He hasn't been that good the last 2 seasons though. I'm unsure why people think he's suddenly going to be more than a more expensive Schneiderlin.

It's a position United need to strengthen but 40 odd million on Matic? That's worse than Walker or Mendy who at least have a claim to being amongst the best around in their positions last season.

From our point of view it might look like an expensive gamble alright, but Jose clearly trusts Matic to be able to do the job. In a well settled squad with good morale and no negative influences (unlike Joses disaster season following the title win), I will be expecting to see a very effective Matic.

Also, I think the fee will probably be closer to 50m than 40m.

Like I said, it appears to be an expensive gamble, but I'm going to trust Jose on this one.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 18,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

cm3ih7m99qcz.jpg

Picture doing the rounds, pretty good fake tbh :D

astradave wrote: »
    cm3ih7m99qcz.jpg

Which is fake, jersey or the head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,048 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Some insight in the Sunday Times as to why we may not be interested in Neymar. For example his father is delaying the negotiations because Barca still have to pay him 26m comission for October's contract extension.

His dad will get a minimum of 10% of any transfer fee. Barca are insisting that the release clause is 222m & nothing less will be accepted.

The whole thing sounds seriously dodgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

astradave wrote: »
    cm3ih7m99qcz.jpg

Can he not afford a decent camera phone very grainy, but head looks a bit off. Could be wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

JamboMac wrote: »
    Can he not afford a decent camera phone very grainy, but head looks a bit off. Could be wrong.

Less grainy. I don't know what to think.

20431415_1469526889750765_7029932754131542422_n.jpg?oh=ff387834f9e5e9701f605d86375d9d4c&oe=59FFB9C7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

That second one looks lot more real I'm Confuzeled now.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 18,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Jaysus I was convinced it was fake until that second one!

Yeah looks so real

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Neymars father has been making some amount of money from day one. Ridiculous how much the pair of them are getting.

Could do with avoiding that sh*t storm to be honest.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Less grainy. I don't know what to think.

20431415_1469526889750765_7029932754131542422_n.jpg?oh=ff387834f9e5e9701f605d86375d9d4c&oe=59FFB9C7

So my brother, who is a concept artist and all round whizz on photoshop etc reckons the only thing that could possibly be photoshopped is the shirt and that's unlikely. He is in that room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

S.M.B. wrote: »
    Neymars father has been making some amount of money from day one. Ridiculous how much the pair of them are getting.

Could do with avoiding that sh*t storm to be honest.

It is no different from the fees Raiola, Mendes etc get, only difference is the agent is his father.