Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unquestioning faith **Mod Warning in final post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

What specifically is not the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭Safehands

hinault wrote: »
    What specifically is not the case?

That Church doctrine is that the sacrament of Holy Orders requiring a member of the clergy to be celibate and chaste.
    If some priests are married then that rule has been bent, hasn't it?

You see, its all very wooly. I'm sure some argument will be dragged up to justify some men being allowed to be married, while others are forbidden. This is the type of thing that encouraged me to look at the church and realise that its all man made masquerading as a divinely inspired. Its not! Its inspired by men suiting their own needs. This rule will change in time along with others, to suit their needs.
    So faith? faith in what? I ask myself.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Safehands wrote: »

Depends on whether the basis of your faith is in the religion, philosophy and morality as best you understand it, or in the organisations that control it. Just a guess, but I'd imagine there are quite a few Irish people who consider themselves Catholic who have little time for the church yet are still religious. To return to the football analogy used earlier, is your interest in following the professional game, where corruption seems commonplace, or having a kick about with the lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭EirWatchr

That Church doctrine is that the sacrament of Holy Orders requiring a member of the clergy to be celibate and chaste.

Actually, celibacy is required only for bishop and priests, not deacons (which is also a Holy Order).

Is your friend a priest, or a deacon in the Catholic church?

If he is in the priestly order, then he has taken a vow not to marry if he becomes widowed, reflecting his change in understanding and acceptance of priestly celibacy under Catholic doctrine.

EirWatchr wrote: »
    Actually, celibacy is required only for bishop and priests, not deacons (which is also a Holy Order).

Is your friend a priest, or a deacon in the Catholic church?

He is a practising, fully ordained priest. His wife helps him to get ready to say mass. He has a document, in latin, from the Pope, giving him dispensation to have, how shall I put this? .... sexual relations with his wife.
    So the celibacy rule has been dicarded in their household. A requirement necessary for him to become a Priest? NO!

What more can I say? Square that circle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,367 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

A deep thread. I hope I can add to it, or at least offer something of quality enough to justify my presence on it.
    It occurs to me that there are two types of logic. The logic that tells me that the Biblical stories and Christian beliefs cannot be true and the logic that tells me that when I am on my deathbed I will be better with her unquestioning faith, than with my lack of it.

I guess it depends what you mean by "better" and what aspect of her faith in the face of death you find yourself envying.

You describe two opposing points on a continuum in a tone that suggests you think them to be mutually exclusive. As if your logic, which sounds like it has left you somewhere on the deist side of not being a theist but not an atheist, can not afford you the comforts in the face of death that this girls faith grants her.

I believe it entirely possible to come to terms with the human condition, up to and including the realities of death, that can leave one entirely at peace with it in a way that would compete with your friends. Maybe not quite to the point of actively looking forward to it, but certainly to the point of facing death with every ounce of dignity, calmness, and zen acceptance to rival her own.

You speak of the "obvious" answer to which you would prefer. For some the answer is not as obvious as you might expect. To cite your exact wording I would PREFER to face death as an "oblivion where I will never meet a loved one again" than " A certainty that I will meet my deceased family and friends again" which I suspect is the opposite of the answer you were calling "obvious"?

This is mainly because the idea of an eternal after life is not only unsubstantiated (a subject for another thread on another forum as per the charter here) but also quite horrific. For me the value of human life, human action, human sacrifice, and many human ideals is not just related to but entirely rooted in the precious rarity, individuality and delicate transience of human life.

Much like flooding the market with 1 million tons of gold tomorrow, I think an infinite life pool would cheapen to nothing the value of human life here. And while the loss of friends and families and loved ones to death is a wound of great pain that sometimes never heals......... I would not trade that pain away while it defines the very value of that which I have "lost".

Christopher Hitchens put it well when he was facing impending death. He described how being told you are going to die is like being at the best party ever, getting a tap on the shoulder and being told that you have to leave but the party will go on without you.

While painful however he contrasted that to the Christian Narrative which he felt was like being tapped on the shoulder, told you can NEVER leave the party, and what is more (threatening tones) while you are there the host positively insists you have a good time.
    r3nu4l wrote: »
    The possibility that the Christian god or other gods exist is just too awful to contemplate however, because if it did, it would be the cruelest, most vindictive creature in existence, across the entire universe. A thing either too stupid or indifferent to understand our suffering and therefore idle in helping us, or too willing to take a perverse delight in watching us suffer. Not a loving God certainty!*

I have heard that position espoused by a few people, including Richard Dawkins. I guess it is what is called the "problem of evil" position on god belief?

I like to partake of the Devils Avocado Salad on that one however and apply what I lovingly call the "Jarvis Cocker Principle" to it.

What I mean by this is that the position you espouse suggests the god can not understand our suffering due to stupidity or evil. I would suggest that neither is true and IF such a god exists (A big if, as I clearly am not a person who thinks any such entity does exist) then it might merely be INCAPABLE of understanding our suffering.

So Jarvis Cockers song "Common People" comes to mind. The girl in the song tries to visit and live with the "Common People" to understand them, and their ways, and their lives. (Perhaps meant like a god deigning to take a "Lower" human form to walk among us).

But, as the song tells us, she fails because no matter how much she throws herself entirely into her tourism........ she forever has the capability of an "out". She can merely pick up the phone and make her pain and suffering end by calling Daddy. So her immersion into that culture, no matter how deep, will never be "real".

I think the Jarvis Cocker principle could apply to a god like figure too. In the Christian Narrative their god is said to have "given" it's "only son" to us as a sacrifice.

However said son is now said to be sitting at his fathers right hand in a state of bliss and dominion. A bit of an insult there to any parent who has suffered one of life's most horrific pains..... that of actually losing a child to death.

A god with infinite power can never understand human suffering. Like the girl trying to understand the common people, it would ALWAYS have the capability to make it end. When it suffers, it can make the suffering stop any time. When his "only son" dies it can simply undo the death in Resurrection.

Such a god need not be stupid of vindictive to be incapable of understanding human suffering therefore. It's mere nature would make it incapable of doing so.

So the "problem of evil" position does not lead me, as it does many, to an image of a hateful angry evil god. Rather it leads me to an image of a character who suffers from the paradox of having infinite power, but being limited by that power rather than empowered or enlightened by it.

Kind of like the scene in Star Trek where Picard in a Confrontation with Q cites........

"What a piece of work is man? How noble in reason? How infinite in faculty, in form, in moving, how express and admirable. In action, how like an angel; in apprehension, how like a god..."

...................resulting in Q becoming instantly irate at being proffered as "god like" attributes that are, as a god himself, actually beyond him and one of the very reasons he observes humanity in the first place.
    Based on your feelings In wondering why you would be in this forum! You are of course free to be here:) How could God be cruel since He doesn't exist?

I will not enter into discussing whether or not it exists, as that is against the charter of course and I am a respectful mostly lurking guest on this area of the forum!

But I will offer this side anecdote..........

I wrote a 10 page essay in school once (though the homework was only for three pages) on what a hateful and irredeemable character I thought Silas Marner was (which was in contrast to my teacher who actually gave us the homework to write about how and why we should forgive him).

Silas Marner does not exist, and never did. Yet I could still write the essay evaluating his character and actions and choices and motivations.

I trust I do not need to insult you by explaining why that is relevant here :)

So the celibacy rule has been dicarded in their household.

You can't discard what was never there - he had made no vow.
    What more can I say? Square that circle!

As per my addendum to previous post:
    If he is in the priestly order, then he has taken a vow not to marry if he becomes widowed, reflecting his change in understanding and acceptance of priestly celibacy under Catholic doctrine.

So it is he who has "squared the circle"

A deep thread. I hope I can add to it, or at least offer something of quality enough to justify my presence on it.

I guess it depends what you mean by "better" and what aspect of her faith in the face of death you find yourself envying.

You describe two opposing points on a continuum in a tone that suggests you think them to be mutually exclusive. As if your logic, which sounds like it has left you somewhere on the deist side of not being a theist but not an atheist, can not afford you the comforts in the face of death that this girls faith grants her.

I believe it entirely possible to come to terms with the human condition, up to and including the realities of death, that can leave one entirely at peace with it in a way that would compete with your friends. Maybe not quite to the point of actively looking forward to it, but certainly to the point of facing death with every ounce of dignity, calmness, and zen acceptance to rival her own.

You speak of the "obvious" answer to which you would prefer. For some the answer is not as obvious as you might expect. To cite your exact wording I would PREFER to face death as an "oblivion where I will never meet a loved one again" than " A certainty that I will meet my deceased family and friends again" which I suspect is the opposite of the answer you were calling "obvious"?
    Actually, what I said was: When I am in her position, as I probably will be some day, would I prefer to have her mindset or mine? A certainty that I will meet my deceased family and friends again or probable oblivion where I will never meet a loved one again? The answer is rather obvious.
    This woman has a great gift, she has won the lotto.

Quite a different meaning.

EirWatchr wrote: »
    You can't discard what was never there - he had made no vow.

No, it was the rule quoted by Hinault: "Church doctrine is that the sacrament of Holy Orders requires a member of the clergy to be celibate and chaste" which was discarded

Ah, apologies - misunderstood your statement to mean that their household had discarded the celibacy rule.

If some priests are married then that rule has been bent, hasn't it?

You see, its all very wooly. I'm sure some argument will be dragged up to justify some men being allowed to be married, while others are forbidden. This is the type of thing that encouraged me to look at the church and realise that its all man made masquerading as a divinely inspired. Its not! Its inspired by men suiting their own needs. This rule will change in time along with others, to suit their needs.

I explained the circumstances and the criteria which applied under the Ordinariate issued by Pope Benedict. The papacy contains that authority to make such a provision. As explained it was a gesture to the Anglican clergy who wanted to continue to serve in a ministry. It was for their benefit. The ordinariate is finite and time dependent.

Yes, but it shows that rules / doctrine can be disregarded when it suits them. So if this rule was in someway "Divinely" inspired, which it wasnt, it couldn't have been overturned so easily.

The rule wasn't disregarded.

Catholic priests formed in Catholic seminaries are not permitted to marry. That rule has not changed.

Another separate rule was issued to permit already formed Anglican clergy to join the Catholic Church priesthood. That rule is finite and time dependent. It is a rule to address a specific set of circumstances in the Anglican communion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,550 ✭✭✭antiskeptic

Let's cut to the chase here: what is the role of a priest? To bear witness to God's message and to try to ensure the eternal well being of souls. That is the role of every Catholic priest. The objective is to save souls.

In the sense of God executing his plans through the vessel of mankind. There are many, many examples throughout scripture. But God is no dependent on man for men's salvation. Do you suppose that if the RC churches activities are curtailed by, say, a communist dictatorship, that men are going to perish because there were fewer priests for God to work through.

Hardly the case: your salvation a matter of the luck of the geopolitical draw?
    The precedent of the Apostles sets the example which the Church is commanded to follow. "I will make you fishers of men". That is Jesus, God Incarnate, His instruction to the men He personally appointed. That apostolic succession with it's conditions of leaving everything to follow Him, is applied.

I don't see how being made fishers of men is interpreted to preclude the fisherman being married. There's nothing in those words to suggest that - whatever about the merits of a logical argument in that direction (for which, logical arguments to the contrary exist)
    No one else can understand or feel the grief of the parent who has lost a child. Professional say tell us that grief and loss is extremely personal and individual to every single person. That's what the experts say.

The experts will also see the value of empathy. Empathy is something that is enhanced by own insight. Although I cannot understand the loss of a parent losing a child, I have greater insight than any person who is childless. And so, can empathize more appropriately.

Another person who has lost a child might know how another bereaved parent may feel, but no parent who has not lost a child can understand or feel the loss of a parent who has lost a child. So the childless priest cannot feel the loss of the bereaved parent, but neither can the parent who has not lost a child too.

See above. Only a person who has had a child can conceive, in an experiential way, something of the loss of such a great, and very specific love. Ditto for people who have lost a spouse. You simply can't extrapolate from a comparative vacuum.

Interesting that you highlighting situations concerning feelings however. In laws and anger, worries about finances, sex. Emotional situations fueled by feelings, anger, revenge, envy.

Maybe Reason rather than Feelings are what is required to address problems?

Those feelings are part of the human condition. They aren't dealt with only by reason. Empathy, whilst a reasonable thing to do, isn't a case of issuing reason to someone. Sometimes people want to get stuff off their chests (women especially) and it's not appropriate to given reasoned respones to everything

Ever read Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus?

God is no dependent on man for men's salvation.

I didn't suggest otherwise.

No soul can save itself, by itself.

Every soul requires as best they can to conform to God's commandments. It is an article of faith that one cannot conform to God's commandments without God's help.

But to be clear, for a soul to be saved that soul must ask for God's help to be saved.

I don't see how being made fishers of men is interpreted to preclude the fisherman being married. There's nothing in those words to suggest that - whatever about the merits of a logical argument in that direction (for which, logical arguments to the contrary exist)

OK.

I accept that the statement to be fishers of men by itself, doesn't preclude those men from marrying. However Scripture is clear that the men who Jesus personally called left everything to be "fishers of men".

How do you interpret "leaving everything" or "left everything behind"?
    The writers of the gospel make it clear that this men left everything in their life, to become apostles of Jesus.

The writers did not say that the Apostles - if any of them were married men - brought their wives or children with them during their 3 year ministry with Jesus Christ.

I think it is reasonable to conclude that leaving everything, means what it says.
    The experts will also see the value of empathy. Empathy is something that is enhanced by own insight. Although I cannot understand the loss of a parent losing a child, I have greater insight than any person who is childless. And so, can empathize more appropriately.

See above. Only a person who has had a child can conceive, in an experiential way, something of the loss of such a great, and very specific love. Ditto for people who have lost a spouse. You simply can't extrapolate from a comparative vacuum.

People are generally empathetic.

I don't necessarily agree that only a parent can be empathetic to another parent who has lost a child. I don't even agree with the view that only a parent who has lost a child can be capable of being empathetic to the bereavement of another parent who has lost a child.

A person who is not a parent could well feel more empathetic than a person who has a child.
    Those feelings are part of the human condition. They aren't dealt with only by reason. Empathy, whilst a reasonable thing to do, isn't a case of issuing reason to someone. Sometimes people want to get stuff off their chests (women especially) and it's not appropriate to given reasoned respones to everything

Ever read Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus?

I hear what you are saying. I understand people wanting to "get something off their chest", to rant to release frustration, anger. It is a human reaction to feel annoyed or frustrated or jealous or worried, at times. I can empathise with those who have these feelings because we have these feelings, including members of the clergy.

However, what is the best way to address anger? Suppose someone is angry and comes to you for a chat/counselling. What is the most appropriate way to address their anger? Being angry in response to their anger would not be appropriate.

Addressing emotion with emotion? Addressing emotion with reason?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,253 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

The writers did not say that the Apostles - if any of them were married men - brought their wives or children with them during their 3 year ministry with Jesus Christ.

I think it is reasonable to conclude that leaving everything, means what it says.

?

He ignores the following.
    1. Jesus went the the house of Peter in Capernaum and heals his mother in law

2.1 Corinthians 9:5

Paul says...."Do we have no right to take along a believing wife, as do also the other apostles, the brothers of the Lord, and Cephas?"

Points to several apostles having wifes whom they brought with them as they travelled and ministered.

But lets not let the bible get in the way of RCC decrees!

Edit..hinault won't see the above :)

I didn't suggest otherwise.

No soul can save itself, by itself.

Every soul requires as best they can to conform to God's commandments. It is an article of faith that one cannot conform to God's commandments without God's help.

But to be clear, for a soul to be saved that soul must ask for God's help to be saved.

OK.

I accept that the statement to be fishers of men by itself, doesn't preclude those men from marrying. However Scripture is clear that the men who Jesus personally called left everything to be "fishers of men".

How do you interpret "leaving everything" or "left everything behind"?
    The writers of the gospel make it clear that this men left everything in their life, to become apostles of Jesus.

People are generally empathetic.

I don't necessarily agree that only a parent can be empathetic to another parent who has lost a child. I don't even agree with the view that only a parent who has lost a child can be capable of being empathetic to the bereavement of another parent who has lost a child.

A person who is not a parent could well feel more empathetic than a person who has a child.

I hear what you are saying. I understand people wanting to "get something off their chest", to rant to release frustration, anger. It is a human reaction to feel annoyed or frustrated or jealous or worried, at times. I can empathise with those who have these feelings because we have these feelings, including members of the clergy.

However, what is the best way to address anger? Suppose someone is angry and comes to you for a chat/counselling. What is the most appropriate way to address their anger? Being angry in response to their anger would not be appropriate.

Addressing emotion with emotion? Addressing emotion with reason?

I'll get back to this again. What do you make of this?

Paul says...."Do we have no right to take along a believing wife, as do also the other apostles, the brothers of the Lord, and Cephas?"

Yes, Peter had a mother in law. Therefore it is reasonable to say that Peter must have been married.

At what point was Peter married?

Maybe Peter was a widower by the time he first me Jesus Christ. This is possible.

Maybe Peter was still married when he was called by Jesus to serve.
    Maybe he left with his wife's consent to follow Jesus.

Why don't the Gospel writers refer to Peter's wife by name, if she was alive, or even if she was asked to work in the ministry by Jesus?
    No gospel identifies Peter's wife by name.

There is no reference to Peter's wife in the gospels. So we simply don't know what Peter's marital status was at the time of his ministry.

The gospel states that the men appointed personally by Jesus left everything to be "fishers of men". They left everything, to lead another life, a calling, a vocation.

In respect of St.Paul to the Corinthians 1 verse 5
    Have we not power to bring about a woman, a sister, as well as the rest of the apostles, and the brethren of the Lord, and Cephas?

I'll give you Father Haydock's 1859 commentary for verse 5.
    It appears certain, from the testimony of the fathers, that St. Paul was not in the state of wedlock. St. Jerome informs us that the apostle is here speaking of such holy women who, according to the Jewish custom, supplied their teachers with the necessaries of life, as we see was done to Christ himself.

It is evident from ancient records that this was a very prevalent custom in Judea, and therefore a cause of no scandal; but to the Gentiles this custom was unknown, and therefore lest it might prove a cause of scandal to any, St. Paul did not allow any woman to follow him as a companion.

Tertullian denies, with St. Augustine and St. Jerome, that St. Paul is here speaking of his wife. (Estius; Calmet) --- A woman, a sister.[2] Some erroneous translators have corrupted this text, by rendering it, a sister, a wife; whereas it is certain, St. Paul had no wife, (chap. vii. ver. 7. 8.) and that he only speaks of such devout women, as according to the custom of the Jewish nation, waited upon the preachers of the gospel, and supplied them with necessaries. (Challoner) --- And to what end could he talk of burthening the Corinthians with providing for his wife, when he himself clearly affirmeth that he was single? (Chap. vii. v. 7. and 8.) This all the Greek fathers affirm, with St. Augustine, do op. Monach. chap. iv.; St. Jerome, adv. Jovin. chap. xiv. &c. &c. [Also see annotations on ver. 25, below]

http://haydock1859.tripod.com/id170.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Poor form from you. If hinault has a user blocked, it would appear he doesn't want to interact with him/her. You don't have to agree with any users decision but at least inform them that you are acting as a mouthpiece for someone who they don't want to communicate with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,253 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Btw.. In the Greek, the words used for sister( biological or ecclesiastical) and wife are very different leaving no doubt that Paul is referring to sisters and wives.

Edited in case it breached the charter

Poor form from you. If hinault has a user blocked, it would appear he doesn't want to interact with him/her. You don't have to agree with any users decision but at least inform them that you are acting as a mouthpiece for someone who they don't want to communicate with.

Who is AS aping here?

With that particular question, regarding peter having a wife, he is acting as tatranskass mouthpiece. That same user is trying to goad a reaction out of me too, i think...like a little child looking for attention.

Report the posts.

Another poster has kindly PM'd me the detail.

I've contacted the moderators therefore.

Report the posts.

Another poster has kindly PM'd me the detail.

I've contacted the moderators therefore.

He has edited his post for a second time already.

Make that thre at last count.

Up to four.

Edited for a fifth time. And trying to cover his backside...

He has edited his post for a second time already.

Make that thre at last count.

AS playing the stooge so. I've reported the post.

Let's see what our esteemed moderators do. It's not like they're not aware of this.

AS playing the stooge so. I've reported the post.

Let's see what our esteemed moderators do. It's not like they're not aware of this.

Context is key in determining if personal attacks have been made or if the charter has been broken but given the free pass certain users are privileged to, i won't hold my breath.

double post

Btw.. In the Greek, the words used for sister( biological or ecclesiastical) and wife are very different leaving no doubt that Paul is referring to sisters and wives.

Edited in case it breached the charter

Lol! Where is your courage? Everyone else who posts here do so with enough conviction to not alter their posts 5 times after posting (most would have the cop on to edit before posting) but again, lol😅

I'm in discussion with hinault about a topic. It doesn't matter which part of the interweb I happen to locate hurdles for his position. I'm not a mouthpiece for anyone if merely citing scripture.

I've no problem with you engaging with me.

But you've been caught copying and pasting.

I certainly had no knowledge of your copying and pasting from you, or the basis for your question to me - and I replied to you in good faith.

If I'd known you were copying and pasting from that discredited source, I wouldn't have replied.

You're his stooge.