The General Chat Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Tinypic.

As before chatting about cherries, the ones from Tesco were not nice. Lidl have a scoop and weigh thing for theirs but they are much more expensive. Worth it though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

tampopo wrote: »
    Just got notification I can't use Photobucket to post to third party websites. What other photo hosting services to people here use, recommend?

These days I'm using postimages.org, it's more reliable than tinypic.org which never seems to work properly for me on the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Tinypic.

As before chatting about cherries, the ones from Tesco were not nice. Lidl have a scoop and weigh thing for theirs but they are much more expensive. Worth it though.

Just make sure to wash them before consuming, I've seen kids dirty hands in there having a good rummage :eek:

vicwatson wrote: »
    Just make sure to wash them before consuming, I've seen kids dirty hands in there having a good rummage :eek:

AHHHH no :(

I saw a packet of tarts open in the shop that someone had taken one out and eaten it and then left the rest of the packet there. Some people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

AHHHH no :(

I saw a packet of tarts open in the shop that someone had taken one out and eaten it and then left the rest of the packet there. Some people!

Also seen it happening with the open nuts, hence I buy bags :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Miaireland

vicwatson wrote:
    Just make sure to wash them before consuming, I've seen kids dirty hands in there having a good rummage

This is why I avoid the bakery in my local lidl. Not just kids though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭tickingclock

Just made some butternut squash and coconut soup for my sister who's complaining of the cold in July!! My hand blender is about to give up. I normally buy one in Argos and buy the most powerful wattage one for about thirty or forty quid. I've just realised I've gone through a few of them in recent years.
    Can anyone recommend a basic soup blender that's hand held? I've a separate blender for other things so just need this for soup. Thanks.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,396 ✭✭✭✭beertons

What do you call the wrap type thing you get in an authentic kebab restaurant, that you would wrap your food around the meat/chicken and salad? I'm too lazy to make it, I'd just hopefully like to buy it somewhere. It's kind of a big round skinny bread.

beertons wrote: »
    What do you call the wrap type thing you get in an authentic kebab restaurant, that you would wrap your food around the meat/chicken and salad? I'm too lazy to make it, I'd just hopefully like to buy it somewhere. It's kind of a big round skinny bread.

They usually use pitta or a naan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,360 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

I think it's called a dürüm https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/D%C3%BCr%C3%BCm

Class. Now to see who sells it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Loire

Can anyone recommend a basic soup blender that's hand held? I've a separate blender for other things so just need this for soup. Thanks.

I bought mine in Tesco. ABout 15 quid I think, does the job grand.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

Loire wrote: »

I'm not usually a jealous person, but when I see photos of the English Market..... :(

Yeah, it's a great spot in fairness. Wasn't there something like it to be built in Dublin? In the fruit markets in Smithfield or somewhere?

Unfortunately not - they just talked about it. We live in hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I still dream about the fish counter there.

kylith wrote: »
    I still dream about the fish counter there.

The smaller one opposite the bigger one has moved to the other end opposite the bigger one and is now much bigger and almost as big as the bigger one. Confused? :o:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

What do you call the wrap type thing you get in an authentic kebab restaurant, that you would wrap your food around the meat/chicken and salad? I'm too lazy to make it, I'd just hopefully like to buy it somewhere.
    People were using particular flatbreads, but I think they were no longer on sale, at least in some supermarket. Some here mentioned "mediterranian wraps"

http://www.theboozeyswine.com/2015/12/mediterranean-wrap-with-out-of-date.html

Most naans in supermarkets would be too thick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭tickingclock

Even the smaller farmers markets in Cork are exceptional. The English market is a spot that those of us who don't live in Cork can only dream of!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,360 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Class. Now to see who sells it

They were on special in Aldi or Lidl a few weeks ago - in boxes as part of a kit. I bought a couple and they're sitting in the cupboard waiting to be made.

They're a cross between a naan bread and pizza base from memory.

The smaller one opposite the bigger one has moved to the other end opposite the bigger one and is now much bigger and almost as big as the bigger one. Confused? :o:D

I just keep seeing the word 'bigger' and now I'm jealous (and slightly aroused).

Gotta get some scallops.

kylith wrote: »
    I just keep seeing the word 'bigger' and now I'm jealous (and slightly aroused).

Gotta get some scallops.

LOL :D

Speaking of scallops..reminds me one time (think I told this story here before)....I was shopping for some scallops in SuperQuinn for Valentine's a number of year ago (when it wasn't owned by Musgrave). Anyway as it was a starter and they are expensive I only asked for 4 of them. I had planned to splitting them in any case. The lady put them into a bag, weighed them and when she saw the price, she let's out in her lovely Dublin accent..."Ah Jaysus, they're fierce deer" and proceeds to scoop a load more into the bag for me :D Such a plentiful supply of scallops on Valentine's night went down very well :pac:

I recall someone posting that they used to get them in Dunnes but that they were discontinued. I use Lebanese wraps which are perfect - the makers, Safa Foods, have a Facebook page so maybe they'll be able to tell you if somewhere near you sells them

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=103106814&postcount=123

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Eurospar local to me sell Lebanese wraps. Thinner than a naan but thicker and airer than a normal wrap. I don't know if all eurospars carry the sane ranges though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,345 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Safa Foods

They were the ones Aldi used to have. 'Twas a sad day when they were discontinued.

Damn it, just home fro. Aldi. Feck it, I may go out again for a nose.

Was planning on cassoulet tonight, but have gotten word that there are pork chops at home and my belly is telling me that they really need some garlicy mushrooms, mash, and a Dijon-cider sauce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭arian

Just as an aside, this Gary Rhodes' recipe is a good quick-ish version of cassoulet.

Tomahawk steaks in Aldi next Thursday.

I can live with the crappy normal wraps now. All eyes on on those steaks!