The Weird, Wacky and Awesome World of the NFL - General Banter thread V2

Holy **** is everyone else getting on the **** Dallas train I'm so excited

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭TOss Sweep

Oh many Jerry Jones should stop talking: I found this funny as he handles things completely different to the way Kraft handles them. For one Kraft lets Bill make all his own decisions and does not interfere with the football side of things.

Speaking on a conference call Sunday, owner and general manager Jerry Jones said he looks to the Patriots for overcoming such a situation as an example of not letting off-field stuff impact what takes place on the field. He also referred to them as "role models."

"I feel this team, I look at the great job that [coach] Bill Belichick and that bunch up there, the reigning Super Bowl champions, does up there," Jones said. "I really look at them as role models. They deal with suspensions. They started the year with a big suspension last year and they deal with suspensions.

"And so you get the feeling that with this team that it can handle these adversities because as sure as I am sitting here we're going to have some that we don't even mention here today. And I don't know how many of them there are, but before we get this, the old verbiage, wagon train out there we're going to have to burn some wagons and float the Mississippi with some of the others."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,285 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Holy **** is everyone else getting on the **** Dallas train I'm so excited
    Well I'm not a fan of Dallas by any means but this type of hypocrisy is fairly par for the course across the whole league unfortunately. Dallas just happen to have been more egregious about it this time (and with Greg Hardy before). But they're not doing anything particularly unusual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Well I'm not a fan of Dallas by any means but this type of hypocrisy is fairly par for the course across the whole league unfortunately. Dallas just happen to have been more egregious about it this time (and with Greg Hardy before). But they're not doing anything particularly unusual.

I think better players getting more leeway is just life and par for the course for the NFL but I think the Cowboys take it to a whole other level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,285 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Hazys wrote: »

I think better players getting more leeway is just life and par for the course for the NFL
    Maybe, but I wish they'd spare us the lectures on morals and ethics, it gets a bit tiresome when they also have squads full of rapists and armed robbers whose stats happen to be a bit more robust. But they just can't help patting themselves on the back, gods of clemency and judgement, one and all. Maybe the Cowboys are a bit more egregious, but the principle is the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Everyone hates us again it's a sign people are worried about that you're talking about us soooooooooo much

Zeke
    1 the abuse incident happened in college and reports are conflicting and nothing has happened been confirmed
    2 the bar incident was proven to be false
    3 a second bar incident recently reported was again inconclusive.. he was in the bar where a fight happened but he wasn't involved

Lucky was released fur not just the alleged shop lifting but for several incidents in the last 12 months including breaches of teams rules.

But let's not allow logic or unsubstantiated stories get in the way of a good kick out at the Dallas cowboys..

And as for the holy than thou stuff - the same happens at every club it's just that Dallas is a big story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

brinty wrote:
    Everyone hates us again

Ah bless, you think they ever stopped? :)

brinty wrote: »
    Everyone hates us again it's a sign people are worried about that you're talking about us soooooooooo much

Zeke
    1 the abuse incident happened in college and reports are conflicting and nothing has happened been confirmed
    3 a second bar incident recently reported was again inconclusive.. he was in the bar where a fight happened but he wasn't involved

Lucky was released fur not just the alleged shop lifting but for several incidents in the last 12 months including breaches of teams rules.

But let's not allow logic or unsubstantiated stories get in the way of a good kick out at the Dallas cowboys..

And as for the holy than thou stuff - the same happens at every club it's just that Dallas is a big story

Not worried I hated ye when ye where **** in fairness

Zeke

The bar fight incident the one where the guy was lying on the gorund in blood many witnesses said it was Elliott that hit the guy. Has that been proven it wasn't him that did it since?

Also the St Patricks day parade where he was caught on video pulling a womans top down was that proven to be false also?

Also didn't Thiffany Thompson accuse him of beating her up? Elliott claims she got into a bar fight and that is how her injuries happen but she claims it was him. The invesitigation has gone nowhere and is all a bit fishy so hard to know who is telling the truth.

But either way his name is popping up way too much in relation to issues like this and he really needs to do a better job staying the hell a way from things that could get him into trouble. other than the video from Paddys day there is no evidence of him in the bar fight or hitting Ms Thompson but all we can do is say innocent until proven guilty at this point for these alleged incidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Lionbacker

I see Jason Garrett has decided to take a page from Bill Belichick's "We're onto Cincinnati" & Marshawn Lynch's "Im just here so I won't be fined" in yesterdays press conference on the Lucky Whitehead incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

Lionbacker wrote: »
    I see Jason Garrett has decided to take a page from Bill Belichick's "We're onto Cincinnati" & Marshawn Lynch's "Im just here so I won't be fined" in yesterdays press conference on the Lucky Whitehead incident.
    Bill does it without the "I know I'm repeating myself" smile, or the glasses to hide behind, or getting bored from saying it over and over.... :P

Lionbacker wrote: »

Fair play to Coach Garrett

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭BaronVon

Speaking of the Cowboys and indiscipline.....

1501078662-Screen_Shot_2017-07-26_at_8_09_03_AM.jpg

And a breakdown of the players.....

1501078021-Screen_Shot_2017-07-26_at_9_06_05_AM.jpg

http://dailysnark.com/chart-shows-nfl-teams-with-most-games-sat-by-suspended-players-cowboys-lead-by-giant-margin-2/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

You'd really have to worry about American Football being a mainstream sport in the next 30 or 40 years, surely parents in America are eventually going to just stop their children from playing the sport and it will gradually lose it's hold on the people because of this.

Mad thing is a lot of parents don't care. They know the risks and are still happy to let their kids do it. All of the high schools in my general area that I know of have done seminars for parents on the dangers and it has lost some kids but the majority remain.

I also partake in coach forums and events here and many coaches that I have spoken with feel they will find better technology for the helmet to at least minimize the impact but at some point it will boil down to asking parents to sign waivers for minors and make adults sign waivers knowing the risks long term.

There is too much of a pull when it comes to the atmosphere in the sport to deter a lot of people. Friday night lights, the big crowds on college campuses to potential Million Dollar contracts in the pros is enough to keep the bite for the sport very much alive.

Until something deters the majority it wont die in any of our lifetimes.

Football is like a cockroach you can try stand on it, or try kill it or drop a nuclear bomb on it and it still will get up and march on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

TOss Sweep wrote: »
    Mad thing is a lot of parents don't care. They know the risks and are still happy to let their kids do it. All of the high schools in my general area that I know of have done seminars for parents on the dangers and it has lost some kids but the majority remain.

I also partake in coach forums and events here and many coaches that I have spoken with feel they will find better technology for the helmet to at least minimize the impact but at some point it will boil down to asking parents to sign waivers for minors and make adults sign waivers knowing the risks long term.

There is too much of a pull when it comes to the atmosphere in the sport to deter a lot of people. Friday night lights, the big crowds on college campuses to potential Million Dollar contracts in the pros is enough to keep the bite for the sport very much alive.

Football is like a cockroach you can try stand on it, or try kill it or drop a nuclear bomb on it and it still will get up and march on.

I can definitely see the pull of it.

I only started watching a 5 or 6 years ago and I can't wait for the NFL and College season to be back.I guess that's the problem as long as people like myself are willing to keep watching then everything stays the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

According to 'Mike & Mike' today, participation in youth football is apparently up the past couple of years after a few years of decline.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,828 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Flacco going to miss 4-6 weeks

Cardale Jones [the former Ohio State Buckeye, who filled in for JT Barrett (who himself filled in for Braxton Miller) and led them to the first BCS college playoff championship in 2014] has been traded by the Bills for a conditional seventh round to the Chargers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

they close no problem, spoken as a person who has two nipple bars in each one ripped out at the same time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

TOss Sweep wrote: »

I think you are wrong on this to be honest. Alot of parents are opting to not allow their kids play in high school. The drop off has been slow and steady. Basketball, Baseball and soccer have seen the pick ups already.

The more these reports become main stream the bigger the problem for the NFL. Number 1 will be insurance, they wont be able to get any for players welfare and that in itself will be enough to dramatically change the face of the game. Money talks in the world of the NFL and as soon as insurance companies start backing out of covering the game then it's really only a matter of time.

They will make changes of course and your cockroach analogy is very accurate especially when describing the NFL and Mr Goodell. Hard to kill them! Personally love the game so not sure what to think on any of it really.

I think you are wrong on this to be honest. Alot of parents are opting to not allow their kids play in high school. The drop off has been slow and steady. Basketball, Baseball and soccer have seen the pick ups already.

The more these reports become main stream the bigger the problem for the NFL. Number 1 will be insurance, they wont be able to get any for players welfare and that in itself will be enough to dramatically change the face of the game. Money talks in the world of the NFL and as soon as insurance companies start backing out of covering the game then it's really only a matter of time.

They will make changes of course and your cockroach analogy is very accurate especially when describing the NFL and Mr Goodell. Hard to kill them! Personally love the game so not sure what to think on any of it really.

From my own personal experience as someone who has done, karate, rugby, soccer, kickboxing,boxing american football and mma I can honestly say as someone who had no chance of earning a living off any of the sports i did, I'd do them again in a heartbeat, even now knowing the damage I've proably done I'd still do them all over with all knowledge, for me they were a way to get out, make friends and stay fit, No point trying to live to 80 if you are fat and die of a hear attack at 50, Plus a lot of american athletes see the financial rewards such as college education or professional contracts, I imagine the sport will never die, much like boxing

But boxing is very much a fringe sport these days.Sure you get to the very top you can make big money but it doesn't seem to be anywhere close to as big in profile as it was years ago.I wonder willl American Football get to the stage where it doesn't have the prominence that it currently has.

I often wonder why sports like golf,tennis,basketball, baseball etc which are perfectly safe and have no long term effects from them don't actively point out the dangers of playing american football as a way of steering players and fans eventually towards their own sports.

There looks to be a similar crisis going to affect soccer in the future as there seems to be strong evidence that heading the ball is causing dementia in former players.Heading has been banned in underage soccer in america because of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,111 ✭✭✭Christy42

But boxing is very much a fringe sport these days.Sure you get to the very top you can make big money but it doesn't seem to be anywhere close to as big in profile as it was years ago.I wonder willl American Football get to the stage where it doesn't have the prominence that it currently has.

I often wonder why sports like golf,tennis,basketball, baseball etc which are perfectly safe and have no long term effects from them don't actively point out the dangers of playing american football as a way of steering players and fans eventually towards their own sports.

There looks to be a similar crisis going to affect soccer in the future as there seems to be strong evidence that heading the ball is causing dementia in former players.Heading has been banned in underage soccer in america because of this.

Always weird to see how resistent to damage the human body is in the short term in terms of recovery but fails long term. I mean it makes sense if you think about it but makes it difficult for athletes in the modern world to properly weigh up the damage being done to them.

I am unsure what to think of this. I did martial arts but not much in terms actual sparring (was terrible at that part anyway). I love American Football and Rugby but would definitely try and steer any potential future children away from them if I can (to safer sports). I mean if their heart was set then sure but if they are still deciding between tennis and rugby at a young age I will be making a bigger deal about the tennis! Still seems a little hypocritical that I would like watching them while doing this.

Is it really though, go to any decent town in ireland and you will find a combat sports gym tbh, hell kileknny has 3 i can name off the top of my head, donegal has quite a few, not exactly meccas for combat sports yet lots of gyms

Cause the contact in sports like Rugby and American Football are part of what makes it enjoyable. The hits, the pain, smashing someone in a tackle; they are enjoyable when you are into it. I was dragged along to a game of tag once, never again.

These are team games, with friends that you go into battle with. Wouldn't take back a minute of it.

Perhaps with older balls, but not the newer ones for the last number pf years (which are much lighter). The ball tends to be played on the ground a lot more now than it used to be. Plus, for the US, it's not heading the ball, it's potential clash of heads that they worry about).