Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fight Time From 4am-McGregor vs Mayweather**MOD Warning in 1st Post**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Conor via KO-TKO
    hbhook wrote: »
    What's Mc like with cuts? Was reading Virgil Hunter's thoughts the other day. He reckons cuts may be a problem. In the same thread someone said team McG turned down a great cut man called Jacob 'Stitch' Duran as he priced himself out apparently...

Dana White (President of UFC) hates Stitch Duran. He fired him. That's probably more the reason if Stitch doesn't get the job. I was hoping Stitch would get the job as he's the best.

As for Conor, he doesn't open easily but there's 2 areas to look out for:

Right eyebrow: The cut Chad Mendes inflicted with the slicing elbow. It did re-open in the Aldo fight but he got it re-stitched and it didn't open in either Diaz fight or the Alvarez fight.

Nose: Like most fighters he has had it broken and re-set in training but the bridge of his nose tends to mark up. He bruised it last week in sparring and he opened up a small cut on it in 2015 when the velcro strap of the glove landed on it. I believe Tom Egan caused that but open to correction.

I think the first thing we will see open is the bridge of his nose because Floyd is very accurate with his jab and Conor has a big nose to hit.

So I'd expect to see blood by round 3 or 4. Won't trouble him unless Floyd succeeds in breaking the nose to disrupt his breathing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Conor via KO-TKO
    Flawless boxing fundamentals.

https://twitter.com/TheNotoriousMMA/status/890399938143633408

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Floyd via DQ
    I will bet you 500 euro that Conor has at least 4 more fights in the UFC and/or is still fighting (in any combat sport) in the year 2020.

If you're so certain, take the bet. We both have 3 years to save up the money to pay the loser.

Of course he'll have a couple more fights in the UFC... and/or possibly one or two more in boxing. He is clearly trying to stockpile enough money to comfortably retire, as an extremely wealthy individual - smart dude! Good luck to him...

I said, he will hang up the gloves some time in the near future... I never put a number on how many fights he will have, because who could reliably predict such a thing?

Your bravado bets are not fooling anyone... the fact is, Conor has hinted many times (or even outright suggested) that he intends to have a relatively short prize fighting career!

From your comments, you seem to think that prize fighting and martial arts are one and the same thing... they are not!! Conor has witnessed a fighter die in front of him inside a cage... do you honestly think he is foolish enough to stick around in that world for too long??

This whole Mayweather fight, is motivated by his desire to get rich quick, so that he doesn't have to fight deep into his 30's.

It's funny how you seem to believe almost anything that comes out of Conor's mouth... but when he says he intends to retire young, you choose not to believe that... :rolleyes:

Perhaps, as a fanboy, the idea of Conor retiring fills you with dread... what will you do with all you spare time when he's gone?? You'll have to find a new person to idolize... Or you might have to contemplate the stark reality of not living vicariously through a celebrity you don't even know... and actually go out, and live your own life... and chase down your own dreams!! :p
    You wouldn't accuse Ward of not taking the fight seriously based on his sparring partner.

Ward is a world class fighter... but he's also a world class BS artist too.

It's common knowledge, that he is very good friends with both Diaz brothers. So he is obviously not going to trash their boxing skills. Most people don't do that to their friends...

I would imagine he is just using the Diaz brothers as a type of punching bag, that moves a bit more than his traditional heavy bag... (but not a great deal more) :pac::pac:
    If you swim the butterfly and are trying out the breaststroke, it probably makes sense not to compete against Adam Peaty from day 1 in practice.

What?? lol

He needs top quality sparring partners, if he wants any hope of winning this fight... simple as that.

Stop trying over complicate simple things!!

kippy wrote: »
    I think people over estimate how difficult it is to 'learn' boxing. Its not exactly rocket science especially when the person learning it already knows the basics and is a physically fit person.

No... just... no :rolleyes:

Golf is an easy game too... just get the ball in the tiny hole, where the flag is, in less shots than your competitors. And yet, it is one of the most difficult and skilled games in the world. Most people spend their entire lives being frustratingly average at golf.

Boxing is a bit like golf... it's simple in theory, but very difficult and complex in other ways. But unlike golf, the consequences of being rubbish at boxing, are quite a bit more serious!! ;)
    He should just focus on endurance and stamina training. Boxing training is useless because we all know he can't actually box against Floyd Mayweather, Even if he spent every waking moment sparing, It's still just a drop in the ocean compared to a man who has been doing this all his life.

UFC training won't help him against Floyd either. If anything it makes him more likely to lift a knee or foot instinctively and get himself disqualified.

You make an excellent point... although it is possible to build up your stamina, while also working on your boxing fundamentals too!

For his sake, I hope most of his boxing work (ie sparring etc) is very much focussed on his fight gameplan... because, like you said, working on improving his general boxing skills is a bit pointless at this late stage!

Fitness and fight strategy should be dominating his prep at this stage... if he is showing off for the cameras, or trying to impress sparring partners... he is wasting valuable time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Draw
    pac_man wrote: »
    Can we keep the mma pound for pound discussion in the mma forum. Some people on this forum won't have a clue what you's are talking about and it holds little to no relevance on this thread.
    Apologies, there's a thread in each forum and I thought I was in the other one.

@ThinkProgress
    I'll copy my reply over to the the other thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Conor on points
    kippy wrote: »
    I think people over estimate how difficult it is to 'learn' boxing. Its not exactly rocket science especially when the person learning it already knows the basics and is a physically fit person.

Boxing has many different levels . Nobody is disputing someone who knows the basics and is physically fit can 'learn' boxing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

Floyd via DQ

You are both delusional if you don't think Conor believes he will win this fight.

Conor 100% believes he will win this fight and your obsession with putting this fight down is laughable. For lads who think it's a farce you sure like to talk about the fight.

You know about as much as we do in regards to Conor's thoughts on the fight. There is no delusional here, there are just differing opinions. You think he has a genuine chance of winning, I think he has almost no chance.

Perhaps though you might take a step back, take off your Conor shades and look at the overall picture. Its a boxing match under boxing rules, McGregor is fighting a very talented boxer with a proven track record and McGregor is yet to show that he is even a slightly talented boxer with no track record in boxing. Do you see any potential problems with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Bradley is not even at national amateur level
    Johnson is 22-21-3 as a pro.

Hardly top level sparring partners tbf....

Well Johnson was Manny's main sparring partner for the Floyd fight, he's an extremely experienced journey-man, and the perfect sparring partner.

Conor on points
    Conor thinking he can win is irrelevant anyway.

He wont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,503 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Floyd via KO-TKO
    You don't learn boxing, at least not completely. It's probably the most unique sport on earth in terms of variables and permutations and unknowns...You are a boxer, and you develop and hone your skills as best you can, always knowing that no matter how much you train and practice it can all end in a split second.

I am talking about the best boxers here....

Conor only has the split second hope because of the very reason that he is NOT a boxer, and 10-12 weeks "learning" won't change that at all, just like 10-12 years may not have changed it.

Floyd via DQ
    walshb wrote: »
    You don't learn boxing, at least not completely. It's probably the most unique sport on earth in terms of variables and permutations and unknowns...You are a boxer, and you develop and hone your skills as best you can, always knowing that no matter how much you train and practice it can all end in a split second.

I am talking about the best boxers here....

Conor only has the split second hope because of the very reason that he is NOT a boxer, and 10-12 weeks "learning" won't change that at all, just like 10-12 years may not have changed it.

Look at fighters like Ali, Roy Jones Jnr and Prince Naseem... three fighters who had very unconventional styles, but they had natural ability to hit and not get hit. Floyd is the same, only he is less of an entertainer/risk taker.

You cannot teach those instincts... you either have them or you don't. You can obviously develop them to a certain degree. But, like you say, boxers are boxers... they have an instinct for when to move, and excellent timing. And their reflexes are so sharp, that they can react really quickly!

Deep down, I think Conor knows he's in over his head here... he knows that his striking/boxing is very good in the MMA world, but this is a much different level.

In that famous documentary a few years back, when he first entered the UFC, didn't he ask his parents "why didn't you get me into boxing earlier?"... I remember that quote... so even back then, he knew that he was behind the curve in terms of becoming an elite boxer! (or just lacked the talent to become great at it)

(perhaps that's why he turned his focus more towards MMA?? He knew he could be great in MMA... but perhaps wasn't so confident about becoming a great boxer!?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Maravilla33

Floyd via DQ
    Love how the guys who think McGregor has a chance are fully hedging their bets and are all like 'no I think Mayweather will 99% win' but... Then get their knickers in a twist with the people who give McGregor no chance.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Love how the guys who think McGregor has a chance are fully hedging their bets and are all like 'no I think Mayweather will 99% win' but... Then get their knickers in a twist with the people who give McGregor no chance.

That is the thread in a nutshell. When logic and solid argument is presented as to why the novice pro has next to no chance against the career great those who so want Conor to win can't seem to handle it, and turn it into back and forth petty squabbling over the most insignificant things....the latest being Paulie maybe having some bruises on his face after sparring!:rolleyes:

Chill folks. We're giving you the once in a lifetime KO chance. Be happy with that.

Conor on points

Its a cult - thou shalt not say Conors name in vein

Floyd via DQ
    Its a cult - thou shalt not say Conors name in vein

Look deep down I think I hope he wins. I'm a bit torn on this one. On the one hand I would like to see Mayweather put on a master class, dominate and stop him just to say back in your box/Octagon. But then despite being a big boxing fan and a more of a casual MMA one I can't help but root for him. It would be so big, would break the internet etc but can you imagine he sparked him? It's the who I want to win is the confusing part of this fight for me. The actual outcome is far more clear cut and Conor has next to no hope.

Floyd via KO-TKO
    I am more leaning now with wanting Floyd to put on a clear cut domination job....

The "fluke" KO option would be just wow/hilarious/ridiculous. That's all.

Would have zero impact on the sport of boxing when looked at in depth.

Call it my rooting for the sport I love over a sport I watch more casually.

For me it's more boxing vs. MMA than man vs. man....These two men are not near equal here. It is not a sporting contest.

Be similar to a middle distance runner challenging Bolt over 100. I would like to think that the sprinter shuts the middle distance runner up and tells him to cop the fook on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

Floyd via DQ

For me it's more boxing vs. MMA than man vs. man....These two men are not near equal here. It is not a sporting contest.

its that comment that drives the mcGregor fans nuts though, they think that he is equal to Floyd and that it will be a sporting contest.

I think the reality of this being a boxing match is just glossed over MMA fans want to believe that McGregor can win so hence the hysteria. And Floyd and McGregor want everyone to believe that too so that they both get sickeningly rich.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Floyd via DQ
    I am more leaning now with wanting Floyd to put on a clear cut domination job....

The "fluke" KO option would be just wow/hilarious/ridiculous. That's all.

Would have zero impact on the sport of boxing when looked at in depth.

Call it my rooting for the sport I love over a sport I watch more casually.

Be similar to a middle distance runner challenging Bolt over 100. I would like to think that the sprinter shuts the middle distance runner up and tells him to cop the fook on.

Maybe the middle distance runner is explosive over 100m and we haven't seen it yet. :cool: He could shock every one :P:P

Floyd via DQ
    Maybe the middle distance runner is explosive over 100m and we haven't seen it yet. :cool: He could shock every one :P:P

Have you not seen how quick he is out of the blocks vs all them other middle distance runners?

Floyd via DQ
    Obviously, I want the Irishman to win. I can't back against my own, no matter how irritating some MMA fans are becoming around this event.

But I am in no way taking this seriously as a "fight"... it's a product of the times we live in... x-factor meets sport!! :P

All the McGregor fanboys, want to believe this is the fight of the decade. They want to believe it's a defining moment in sport, and culture. But it's not...

If McGregor can't win (and I am 99.999999% sure he cannot win), then the best scenario in my mind... is for this fight to be a complete anti-climax... a total snoozefest... where Floyd just runs around the ring, and Conor chases him around until he gasses out. And everyone boos and whistles at how rubbish it is as a sporting spectacle!

That's the best scenario imo... and it might teach a few of the loonies, not to get so hyped up over such nonsense again in the future! :D

Floyd via KO-TKO

I was thinking that could be argued...

Make it over 150.....Just in case!:D

Floyd via DQ
    And then, hopefully Canelo vs GGG steps in to save the day a few weeks later with a great fight... and everyone gets a reminder of what a REAL sporting contest looks like...

I can dream, right? Real sports fans need some kind of hope to cling onto.... :pac:

Floyd via DQ
    And then, hopefully Canelo vs GGG steps in to save the day a few weeks later with a great fight... and everyone gets a reminder of what a REAL sporting contest looks like...

I can dream, right? Real sports fans need some kind of hope to cling onto.... :pac:

That should be an epic fight, its a shame it wont sell even a quarter of what this farce is going to do.

Floyd via DQ

True that. Even really looking forward to Jones vs Cormier this weekend. Any 2 guys from the same sport is good... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,045 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Floyd via DQ
    its that comment that drives the mcGregor fans nuts though, they think that he is equal to Floyd and that it will be a sporting contest.

Jesus - this place is quite the echo chamber!

I can't recall any MMS fan on here (and if there was anyone they were most certainly in the minority) who says that McGregor has anything more than a 1% chance. I said even less.

Ffs you said 5% which is higher than me!

For the record - McGregor has about a 1% chance in a boxing ring. It may go 3 rounds, 4 tops in my view.

Also for the record, McGregor has 100% in the octagon - over in 20 seconds.

I think the above are completely rational views.

And btw I don't think MMA is "better" than boxing. I enjoy a good match regardless of the sport - so I've no axe to grind.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

Floyd via KO-TKO
    everlast75 wrote: »

If you are giving Conor the KO chance then you give Floyd it too in the Octagon....

So, nothing can be 100 percent here in sports that can end in split seconds....

Conor has next to 0 a chance and Floyd has next to 0. You can argue who has more a chance....

Floyd via DQ
    If you are giving Conor the KO chance then you give Floyd it too in the Octagon....

So, nothing can be 100 percent here in sports that can end in split seconds....

Conor has next to 0 a chance and Floyd has next to 0. You can argue who has more a chance....

Yes you can!

Try blocking a spinning hook kick, or a takedown and tap. Sorry mate - you are absolutely wrong on this in my view. He won't do it with boxing

Floyd via KO-TKO
    Yes you can!

Try blocking a spinning hook kick, or a takedown and tap. Sorry mate - you are absolutely wrong on this in my view. He won't do it with boxing

Yet there are so many examples of KOs in MMA from punches quite early in the exchanges without much happening other than two men in close proximity to each other...

Floyd via DQ
    Jesus - this place is quite the echo chamber!

I can't recall any MMS fan on here (and if there was anyone they were most certainly in the minority) who says that McGregor has anything more than a 1% chance. I said even less.

Ffs you said 5% which is higher than me!

For the record - McGregor has about a 1% chance in a boxing ring. It may go 3 rounds, 4 tops in my view.

I think the above are completely rational views.

And btw I don't think MMA is "better" than boxing. I enjoy a good match regardless of the sport - so I've no axe to grind.

So you agree McGregor is not anywhere near Floyd's equal and this really wont be a sporting contest. Your giving him a 1% chance.

And yet you have contemporaries who are trying to say that McGregor 100% believes he will win. This is nothing more than a publicity stunt for the money. Floyd gets to 50-0 and he'll congratulate Conor on being a warrior and getting in the ring.

Floyd via DQ
    Yet there are so many examples of KOs in MMA from punches quite early in the exchanges without much happening other than two men in close proximity to each other...

Between two MMA fighters (which would be more than what we have here) I can think of McGregor doing exactly that. Anyway- did you not read my post? I said it wouldn't be via boxing - he would take FM down immediately and I doubt out FM's ground game is up to it

Floyd via KO-TKO
    BTW, this 20 seconds lark in the Octagon?

Anyone want to describe it? Assuming Floyd is at least allowed some prep and training for an MMA contest, how is it that Conor ends this in 20 seconds?

Floyd does have feet and can actually move a bit.......That's one thing to consider.