Do relationships with big age gaps last?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Omackeral wrote: »
    Can't get over how cool Pbears OH is. Swims in the ocean, goes to hackathons cos she's a nerdy gamergirl and plays live music at the coffee shop. So cool!

She has an OH rich enough to pay a nanny, so she's able to do all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

And at no point, when she was confessing her love for you, did you think she had dollar signs in her eyes? Honestly and truthfully?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,366 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

did you first meet her in a professional capacity?

And at no point, when she was confessing her love for you, did you think she had dollar signs in her eyes? Honestly and truthfully?

More importantly, at what point does a middle aged man decide it's ok to allow himself to be 'talked into' a relationship with a vulnerable teenager? Because apparently she chased him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Every relationship is different and big age gaps may work for some and not for others. From the posts on this thread, it's clear that many people disapprove of age gaps, either from past bad experiences, media manipulation or general societal mores/attitudes.

I think the reason why men are nearly always the older partner in relationships is simply that they mature later than women. Some men can take a long time to really "grow up" and it seems to be a phenomenon particularly in Catholic countries where family is very important.

most relationships. And many Irish men seemed to take longer than men of other nationalities to mature and settle down.

I've never heard evidence of this. I believe it comes down to individual differences not gender.

I think it's a popular myth perpuated by the fact that girls hit puberty a bit earlier than boys (for all I know that gap may have narrowed).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Dial Hard wrote: »
    Gone native then. Actually that's being hard on most Americans, it's only a subset of them.
    And in this narrative all because of being with you.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

did you first meet her in a professional capacity?
    So? I'd say a few of my relationships came out of with meeting them in a "professional capacity".

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,924 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Candie wrote: »
    More importantly, at what point does a middle aged man decide it's ok to allow himself to be 'talked into' a relationship with a vulnerable teenager? Because apparently she chased him.

While he was babysitting her child, lest we forget. With his girlfriend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

I'm 29 and one of the posters who would have concerns about such an age gap. Am I safe though because I'm technically in my 20s or is my opinion bitter and resentful because I'm on the cusp of being an old crone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Can you dial it back a bit, stop attacking fellow posters please.

That wasnt attacking him. Im just saying the story dosent add up. Im allowed to say i dont think its real.

No investment bank hires a plucky 18 year old with no education because a senior said so. Imagine the culture that would fester from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

This thread :D
    I'm 28- soon to be 29, and my boyfriend is 35. He's my best friend's older brother and we have been together over 8 years. Working fine so far!
    He slags me about being young and I slag him about being nearly 40- it's all about balance :pac:

No investment bank hires a plucky 18 year old with no education because a senior said so. Imagine the culture that would fester from that.
    Small investment outfits could well do so. I knew a lad who got into one in the UK when he was 18/19, with no qualifications save for the fact his uncle was one of the partners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

My take on it is that if one of my mates was in Permabear's situation, I'd roast him for it and probably never let him live it down. However if it was as obvious that the two really did love and care for each other, it'd really only be some playful jesting rather than disapproval.

I've a mate in his early twenties going out with a woman in her early thirties. At first I was shocked, I though "fair play" to be honest at the idea of him getting his bit off an attractive older woman. However as it went on it became much more obvious how much the two actually cared for each other that "fair play" turned into a fair play for following through with what makes you happy. There's no power imbalance in his relationship as if anything he's the more mature one. Too many people spend too much caring about what others think and not enough time doing what makes them truly happy.
    B0jangles wrote: »
    One does not have to be either bitter or resentful to be dubious about a situation where a girl not yet out of her teens already has three children and is living with a man more than twice her age. A man who has demostrated in this very thread that appears to have some issues with 'older' women (ie women 3-13 years younger than himself!), and difficulty with understanding that people can quite validly disagree with him and not be misinformed or wrong.

As one of those toxic 30-something women, I genuinely hope that your relationship is a happy one for all of you, but quite frankly I would be worried that your partner may find it difficult to develop as an independent adult while in a relationship with so many imbalances tilted against her.

I see where you're coming from regarding power imbalances here and there were serious power imbalances there when the two began dating. In that situation he had two choices: follow through with it or leave it be and move on to someone else. He chose to follow through and while many may not agree with it, in my opinion he has ultimately chosen the right way of going about it if that's the path you're going down.

Instead of getting his kicks out of the power imbalances he's doing everything he can to not only normalise her and help her recover from past traumas, but also propel her to be everything she's capable of being and taking happiness from that. If he was a man in his forties who gets his kicks out of shagging teens I'd imagine a therapist is the LAST person you'd want them seeing, for fear of spoiling what you have going. He's helped her get her GED, college education, a great job as well as counselling to help her recover from past traumas in order for her to truly be comfortable and happy in herself.

Obviously a major concern people have is that she may miss out a huge part of growing up. In reality though how much less likely is it that she will miss out on it now that she's in a relationship with three kids as opposed to a few years ago when she was a single mother with one child, going to clinics for financial advice as she couldn't afford to pay her bills or have the knowledge to properly manage her finances?

People have made the point that relationships can be tools for mutual benefit - the way I see it is that she gains far more out this than Permabear. In ten years time she'll likely be a successful businesswoman with good qualifications and a decade of experience in investment banking, only on the cusp of thirty, no college debt and in many ways be better equipped to deal with life than your average 30 year old due to years of therapy to deal with her issues. If they break up in the near future? She's still sorted as she can rely on him to finance nanny's etc. to continue her education and qualify etc.

If she does reflect on life in the future, I'm sure like anyone who became a young parent, when weighing up the options she'll still be happy with her decision to make a success of herself to provide the best possible life for her children. By the time the youngest are 18 she'll still only be 38. Money buys freedom after all, by 35/36 her children will be old enough to leave on their own for a week or a weekend on an on going basis and she'll be able to do what many parents do when their kids hit mid to late teens.

People have already mention Emmanuel Macron - he's the freaking president of a France and he's married to his former schoolteacher, a woman 25 years his senior who was most definitely in a position of authority over him when their relationship began.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Falthyron

Wibbs wrote: »
    Small investment outfits could well do so. I knew a lad who got into one in the UK when he was 18/19, with no qualifications save for the fact his uncle was one of the partners.

Was it Northern Rock? :D

What is older though my second husband is 8 years older that me but I would not consider that older in the sense its is begin talked about on this thread. My first husband was considerably older that me.

I met him when I was 19 no one commented much on the age gap a the time. When I was young there was a lot more privacy and less poking about on the whys and wherefores of relationships people just got on with life. Whether that is a good or bad thing I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

The worries about someone not travelling, having a carefree youth of no commitments, likelihood of splitting etc could apply to any relationship with young adults involved really. Even if they're the same age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,068 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Its amazing how yet another thread has become railroaded into the life story of one person..

Jeez, reign it in fella ! You do not need to tell your whole life continually, because you will be judged, mostly without justification , unless you like all the hubub that goes with it.
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Shelga

Permabear, I've read most of the thread and didn't feel it my place to comment on your relationship even after your many, many very open posts about it.

However your comment about the bitterness and misogyny of women in their 30s who assume your gf is a golddigger is way out of line. Misogyny, really? Meaning a hatred of women? :rolleyes:

I believe the poster in question stated that a woman who has two unplanned pregnancies within 3 years is either looking for a way up the financial ladder, or a bit lacking in common sense. I'd tend to agree. Sounds like it's the latter in your case.

The relationship with an older guy doesn't bother me at all, but I can't say I don't feel sad for a 19 year old with 3 kids, or could pretend it's a desirable situation, regardless of how much money you have or the differing social norms in North Carolina.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Whispered wrote: »
    The worries about someone not travelling, having a carefree youth of no commitments, likelihood of splitting etc could apply to any relationship with young adults involved really. Even if they're the same age.

A good bit off topic here, but lets face it, when people say "travelling" they mean drinking buckets on beaches in Thailand and puking into long drops. Or hitting the hotspots on the gringo trail etc. It is a bit like a (much) more scenic version of an average booze up in Temple Bar stretched out over a year or two. It broadens about as much horizons as an episode of Eastenders.

I think its great that people travel, there are some wonderful sights out there that should be seen. But lets just do away with the romantic notion that it will change your life, or even that everybody should do it, because it is not the be all and end all and you sure can live a complete and full life without doing it.

mzungu wrote: »
    A good bit off topic here, but lets face it, when people say "travelling" they mean drinking buckets on beaches in Thailand and puking into long drops. Or hitting the hotspots on the gringo trail etc. It is a bit like a (much) more scenic version of an average booze up in Temple Bar stretched out over a year or two. It broadens about as much horizons as an episode of Eastenders.

I think its great that people travel, there are some wonderful sights out there that should be seen. But lets just do away with the romantic notion that it will change your life, or even that everybody should do it, because it is not the be all and end all and you sure can live a complete and full life without doing it.

You left out swimming in the ocean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

For what it's worth, when people speak of someone benefitting life-wise from a relationship, I don't really see the problem. Maybe PB's girl is somewhat. I remember a funny Larry David talk show interview where he's like "I don't care if women use me for my money, what the hell else have I got going for me?!" And that's not to liken PB's situation to that, but it's a good point that financial security and life benefits can add into how genuinely attractive you find someone. I'm a stubbornly independent person (I can't even stand if people do nice things that cost money for me because I hate feeling indebted if I can't guarantee I'll get them back in future), but I'd find a wealthy, well-connected woman attractive. Not because of immediate financial benefit, but because the qualities that made her such are things I'd genuinely like in a person. So someone can benefit from their relationship and still genuinely love someone, it's not mutually exclusive or always a case of one person getting used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,417 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Pretty good thread. The fact that it always seems to just about to break about into real acrimony, but stays, somehow, on the tracks makes for a gas read altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

mzungu wrote: »

Yeah that was kind of my point. That saying "oh but travelling!!!!" Isn't a valid reason for having any issue with an age gap relationship.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,426 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

I'm not sure if you have a working title for your soap opera yet but may I suggest "From swimming in debt to swimming in the sea"

Could you run that past us again Mozart Tempo?