Biggest impulse buy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

A Makita Router. It was reduced from €450 to €300 and was too good a deal to pass up. I then went and bought a kit with about 20 router bits in it for about €60.

That was roughly 10 years ago.

I have never used it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭fussyonion

An 8pack of Bundys when really I only needed 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Went into expert electrical one evening after all day drinking and bought a huge rangemaster, it had a teppanyaki griddle and I didn't know what it was but it sounded cool, so I said sold!
    Then I went into Aldi and there was a teppanyaki grill on sale for 15.99 and me after paying over 2grand. But sure **** it nobody died

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭eeguy

Relocated to Spain on a whim.
    Left the job, left the girlfriend and went.

Had about 3 weeks of great craic drinking with students then 3 weeks of boredom when I couldn't get a job. Apparently going to a country in the depths of recession without a word of the language was not a good idea.

Came home after six weeks 3 grand poorer and had to start the job and girlfriend hunt again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Autosport wrote: »
    I'll try to refrain from waving it in future :D

I'll leave Mickey Mouse alone so :D

Your car is worth way more than your wit.

Autosport wrote: »
    2017 Mercedes Benz AMG Sport a/t :)

JohnCleary wrote: »
    Bought one about 5 years ago.

Impressive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

JohnCleary wrote: »
    Bought one about 5 years ago. Love it to bits and have no intention on changing it :D
    Impressive!

NmVLgvf

I tend to buy loads of little impulse things than big ones :(
    I got an FM transmitter recently. It is AWESOME
    Only a tenner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Went with my then boss to Belfast once to help him buy a computer for his boys, went on the beer, as we often did at the time. Woke up the next day to the boss banging at the door, how much was that deposit? he asks. What deposit? says I?
    For them three houses in Andytown says he. I checks my pocket, credit card receipt for eight grand in them, sound says he, I'll have it for you in the evening. No recollection of it at all.

Fcuker made a fortune on them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

You bought Ray D'Arcey?

He was done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,730 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

This very minute I'm thinking of impulse buying a kayak for about 500 quids but I'm worried I'll buy the wrong one so it's already becoming less impulsive.

do it, do it, DO IT, DO IT!!!!

kayaking is some laugh, but do buy the right one, probably should have put more taught into my kayak purchase, has its limits or maybe the limits are my skills, but its some laugh.

not much of an impulse buyer as im not much of an impulsive person, but im sure i have done in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Buying tickets to Toronto drunk for the following morning to see the ex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭LittleMuppet

A log cabin but sure at least I've a woman cave and himself has an extra jacks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

bluewolf wrote: »
    I tend to buy loads of little impulse things than big ones :(
    I got an FM transmitter recently. It is AWESOME
    Only a tenner

How many watts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Bought a plane a earlier this month. Picking it up next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

zuutroy wrote: »

Which one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I occasionally randomly buy flights to places I want to go to... I wake up one morning thinking out of the blue "Whats Lisbon (for example) like?", by lunchtime I've a flight booked, annual leave and accommodation sorted! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Spent $300 on a full length, oversized, completely sequinned pink and white kimono that weighs about a stone. Looks like a bathrobe, have never worn it out the front door.

Got a few nice instagram pics out of it though......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Which one?

1979 Mooney M20J...not a private jet unfortunately, but not bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,589 ✭✭✭Masala

On way out the door to spend €200 on a pair of Sunglasses!!! A pair of Raybans!

Ordered them with assistant a few weeks ago and forgot all about them!! Got call they arrived yesterday and now available fir collection!! Has a €50 voucher and thought I could throw a tenner etc on it for a good pair...got a shock at the prices when I tried them on!! Got carried away and said...feck it you only have one pair of eyes and this is an investment!!!! Well that's what I told myself!!

Now to find the money!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Think we have found the winner of this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Which one?

Stanley No.5?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

I'm not sure whether I should be feeling poor or sensible from reading this thread! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Bought a Trek bicycle for €800 a few years ago. Worth every cent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Masala wrote: »
    On way out the door to spend €200 on a pair of Sunglasses!!! A pair of Raybans!

Ordered them with assistant a few weeks ago and forgot all about them!! Got call they arrived yesterday and now available fir collection!! Has a €50 voucher and thought I could throw a tenner etc on it for a good pair...got a shock at the prices when I tried them on!! Got carried away and said...feck it you only have one pair of eyes and this is an investment!!!! Well that's what I told myself!!

I'm not into designer goods like...at all, but sunglasses are the one thing I will spend money on as I have very photo sensitive eyes, used to work outdoors all day and my Mum developed cataracts when she was older, so an investment is exactly how I think of my Raybans. Bought a new pair this year, polarised, and love 'em. So comfortable to wear and easy on the eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

1979 Mooney M20J...not a private jet unfortunately, but not bad!

Bet i wasn't the only one that Google that, as yours got the leather seats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Probably shoes for around €400 (in the sale!). I don't really impulse buy though. I tend to be really cautious.

I've spent way more on that on items that I know other people think I'm mad to spend that much money on, but a lot of thought and research went into them.

My main impulse buys are things like coffees and nice food, but still quite rare!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

ScumLord wrote: »
    I impulse bought a trip to Amsterdam once, I was really drunk and woke up in the morning to find the ticket in my email. Still went.

I wish my drunk self was as good to me as your drunk self is to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Impressive!

Must have been after buying a Delorean the previous week.