Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biggest impulse buy?

• 25-07-2017 2:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,293 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

What is the biggest (most expensive) Item you have impulse-bought & were you sorry?

This very minute I'm thinking of impulse buying a kayak for about 500 quids but I'm worried I'll buy the wrong one so it's already becoming less impulsive.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

3l bottle of Country Spring Red Lemonade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Discounted Cadbury's Creme Egg while buying fuel at a Topaz recently. You can't help but be extravagant when they put them right under your nose at the till like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Kirk Hammett replica guitar for €950

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

A round the world trip for approx. 10G's. Worth every cent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

My OH's friend bought a load of musical instruments and things like that online in one go and barely used any of them. Then my oh bought this big fcuk off size amplifier from him for about 500 that he never used and it ended up stuck in my mother's house for about 3 years. Then my oh sold it to another friend of his for about a 100 :/:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

A yamaha keyboard.
    For some reason I reckoned I would be the next Ray Manzarek. I am not. I managed to learn one song before giving up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

I've definitely impulse bought a decent sized house deposit over the past 10 years. Bikes, kayaks and boats. Not to mention the holidays.

Fcuk it. Life is for living I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

I've definitely impulse bought a decent sized house deposit over the past 10 years. Bikes, kayaks and boats. Not to mention the holidays.

Fcuk it. Life is for living I say.

It seems that your username is aspirational then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

dub_skav wrote: »
    It seems that your username is aspirational then

Well observed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I impulse bought a trip to Amsterdam once, I was really drunk and woke up in the morning to find the ticket in my email. Still went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

A 250 euro Hugo Boss watch I bought just because the shop assistant was a twat and didn't think I'd get anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I went to the Ploughing Championships in Tullamore in late 2016. They had car stands. I had no intention of trading-in my car but the following week I bought a six month old Toyota Avensis. I now regret it. Three times it has conked out and would only start after 15/20 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

A lap dance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

biko wrote: »
    A 250 euro Hugo Boss watch I bought just because the shop assistant was a twat and didn't think I'd get anything.
    You showed him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

A small chimp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Pelvis

You sure showed that guy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

A bit like that shopping scene in Pretty Woman? :p:D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

A Tag watch. Haven't worn it in years. And tbh, I have no idea where it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Boat. I bought a boat. A big fcuking expensive boat. And i'm not talking about a dinghy.... 40ft, 600 hp (2 x 300HP). My gaff was cheaper ffs :eek:

(Best decision I ever made)

67e.jpg

On a lighter note, bought return business class to SE Asia for this year's annual 1-month holiday. Was actually good value, but if I was sober, don't think i'd have gone business again (been throwing money on those seats for the past 4 years)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

OSI wrote: »
    A 2016 Golf GTI. Not a bit sorry:D

A brand new, regular, low spec Golf in 2012. Was terribly sorry after a while. Underpowered, terrible seats, hardly any toys. Never again I said.

Thinking of getting a brand new GTI right now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

myshirt wrote: »
    A small chimp

This needs more information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

myshirt wrote: »
    A small chimp

You bought Ray D'Arcey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

2017 Mercedes Benz AMG Sport a/t :) I haven't stopped smiling since :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Autosport wrote: »

Bought one about 5 years ago. Love it to bits and have no intention on changing it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭hellyeah

Apartment in 2009 with paper thin walls, then sold it 2014 before the feeling to kill my neighbours got to strong..:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

It was back in the day, but I bought a 32" flat screen TV for............ £2,800

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭js35

Nice. Wear well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Such a mickey waving thread :D

An S-class Merc during the recession. 6L V8 engine, memory seats, class yoke. €85k new, I got it for €3k, and spent about half that figure again taxing it. Loved it, but the fuel consumption broke my heart and wallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Such a mickey waving thread :D

An S-class Merc during the recession. 6L V8 engine, memory seats, class yoke. €85k new, I got it for €3k, and spent about half that figure again taxing it. Loved it, but the fuel consumption broke my heart and wallet.

I'll try to refrain from waving it in future :D

I'll leave Mickey Mouse alone so :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭LushiousLips

A €700 Waterford Crystal vase thing. Pre kids days when I seemed to have more money than sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

A Makita Router. It was reduced from €450 to €300 and was too good a deal to pass up. I then went and bought a kit with about 20 router bits in it for about €60.

That was roughly 10 years ago.

I have never used it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

An 8pack of Bundys when really I only needed 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Went into expert electrical one evening after all day drinking and bought a huge rangemaster, it had a teppanyaki griddle and I didn't know what it was but it sounded cool, so I said sold!
    Then I went into Aldi and there was a teppanyaki grill on sale for 15.99 and me after paying over 2grand. But sure **** it nobody died

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Relocated to Spain on a whim.
    Left the job, left the girlfriend and went.

Had about 3 weeks of great craic drinking with students then 3 weeks of boredom when I couldn't get a job. Apparently going to a country in the depths of recession without a word of the language was not a good idea.

Came home after six weeks 3 grand poorer and had to start the job and girlfriend hunt again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I'll try to refrain from waving it in future :D

I'll leave Mickey Mouse alone so :D

Your car is worth way more than your wit.

2017 Mercedes Benz AMG Sport a/t :)

JohnCleary wrote: »
    Bought one about 5 years ago.

Impressive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

JohnCleary wrote: »
    Bought one about 5 years ago. Love it to bits and have no intention on changing it :D
    Impressive!

NmVLgvf

I tend to buy loads of little impulse things than big ones :(
    I got an FM transmitter recently. It is AWESOME
    Only a tenner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Went with my then boss to Belfast once to help him buy a computer for his boys, went on the beer, as we often did at the time. Woke up the next day to the boss banging at the door, how much was that deposit? he asks. What deposit? says I?
    For them three houses in Andytown says he. I checks my pocket, credit card receipt for eight grand in them, sound says he, I'll have it for you in the evening. No recollection of it at all.

Fcuker made a fortune on them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

You bought Ray D'Arcey?

He was done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,443 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

This very minute I'm thinking of impulse buying a kayak for about 500 quids but I'm worried I'll buy the wrong one so it's already becoming less impulsive.

do it, do it, DO IT, DO IT!!!!

kayaking is some laugh, but do buy the right one, probably should have put more taught into my kayak purchase, has its limits or maybe the limits are my skills, but its some laugh.

not much of an impulse buyer as im not much of an impulsive person, but im sure i have done in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Buying tickets to Toronto drunk for the following morning to see the ex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭LittleMuppet

A log cabin but sure at least I've a woman cave and himself has an extra jacks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,293 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

bluewolf wrote: »
    I tend to buy loads of little impulse things than big ones :(
    I got an FM transmitter recently. It is AWESOME
    Only a tenner

How many watts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Bought a plane a earlier this month. Picking it up next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,293 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

zuutroy wrote: »
    Bought a plane a earlier this month. Picking it up next week.

Which one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I occasionally randomly buy flights to places I want to go to... I wake up one morning thinking out of the blue "Whats Lisbon (for example) like?", by lunchtime I've a flight booked, annual leave and accommodation sorted! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Spent $300 on a full length, oversized, completely sequinned pink and white kimono that weighs about a stone. Looks like a bathrobe, have never worn it out the front door.

Got a few nice instagram pics out of it though......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Which one?

1979 Mooney M20J...not a private jet unfortunately, but not bad!