Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭posturingpat

ShaneU wrote: »
    Danny Rose is the best left back in the league by a mile, people have short memories.

Eh...what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

redzerdrog wrote: »
    Jesus you are some plonker

You alright?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

You alright?

Am grand

Am grand

All is well so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

All is well so.

You're still a plonker with your pathetic posts about 'in there'. Schoolyard stuff

I must be hanging around soccer forums to much so! Starting to rub off.

Has Pogba played more Champions League knockout games and won more league titles than the entire Liverpool team combined? Just looking for some ammunition for some of the shíte some of them are talking today.

Liam O wrote: »
    Has Pogba played more Champions League knockout games and won more league titles than the entire Liverpool team combined? Just looking for some ammunition for some of the shíte some of them are talking today.

I don't think even they believe the ****e there talking about him.

Anyway you don't need to fight back when there firing blanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,487 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

paulbok wrote: »
    Did he do enough to trigger any clauses?

Yep

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Liam O wrote: »

I wouldn't care if I were you. Just check their previous posts on Pogba and it's a complete 180 degree change in opinion one we signed him. There are 1 or 2 very good posters there, apart from that all just post rubbish all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Some amount of tension in this thread. Dont know what it is but its like its ready to go off at any minute.

bangkok wrote: »
    Some amount of tension in this thread. Dont know what it is but its like its ready to go off at any minute.

Silly season tends to do that! I would say it's more than this thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    I wouldn't care if I were you. Just check their previous posts on Pogba and it's a complete 180 degree change in opinion one we signed him. There are 1 or 2 very good posters there, apart from that all just post rubbish all the time.

Don't read the thread then. It's not mandatory!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Pheonix10 wrote: »
    Don't read the thread then. It's not mandatory!

Which thread? Summer transfers thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Lack of competitive games mang.

Rod Munch wrote: »
    Lack of competitive games mang.

What did ya call me?! I'll kill ya :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

What did ya call me?! I'll kill ya :)

Agh bangkok, don't be like that
    C'mere and i'll give ye a cuddle and a kiss
    agh bloody glaswegian one... ye absolute muppet ;)

Yea lot of tension on thread alright but a signing would help ease the tension for most people but you'll still have one or two who'll continue to whinge no matter what..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,902 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

KH6ZY60.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭ericzeking

brinty wrote: »
    a signing would help ease the tension for most people but you'll still have one or two who'll continue to whinge no matter what..

True that about signings, there are people who I am convinced have their real interest in transfers as opposed to actual soccer.

The players we have are always 'squad players' and we always need to make 2 or 3 more signings in their eyes, an AM, a DM, a LB, a RW, WTF FFS :pac:...it all sounds very Championship managery doesn't it?

More and more and more players, it's relentless.

If we didn't sign one more player I would expect JM to challenge for the title. He's supposed to be one of the best managers around and he has a fantastic array of talent at his disposal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

The start of the season isn't too far away now. Back to glorious football.

FZRfxY.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

ericzeking wrote: »
    True that about signings, there are people who I am convinced have their real interest in transfers as opposed to actual soccer.

The players we have are always 'squad players' and we always need to make 2 or 3 more signings in their eyes, an AM, a DM, a LB, a RW, WTF FFS :pac:...it all sounds very Championship managery doesn't it?

More and more and more players, it's relentless.

If we didn't sign one more player I would expect JM to challenge for the title. He's supposed to be one of the best managers around and he has a fantastic array of talent at his disposal.

Well to be fair Jose keeps drumming on about needing more signings, obviously it influences quite a lot of the fans as he's our manager.

Personally think we should definitely be challenging even if we don't sign anyone else. But then again I thought this last year too.

If ya chat ****
    Then ya get banged
    Simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,841 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Adamocovic wrote: »
    Well to be fair Jose keeps drumming on about needing more signings, obviously it influences quite a lot of the fans as he's our manager.

Personally think we should definitely be challenging even if we don't sign anyone else. But then again I thought this last year too.

I think we should be challenging but I don't think we actually will be challenging. Needs more DM.

We finished 6th last season and I don't think the problems we had last season have been address - so I don't expect the significant change in our fortunes. I would expect us to do a bit better, as I would expect better from Rashford and Pogba, for example, but we are a couple of players short of the significant improvement required, imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

We finished 6th last season and I don't think the problems we had last season have been address - so I don't expect the significant change in our fortunes. I would expect us to do a bit better, as I would expect better from Rashford and Pogba, for example, but we are a couple of players short of the significant improvement required, imo.

We gave up the league with 5/6 games left to concentrate on the Europa league and qualifying through that route??

As we finished the season how many players have we lost from that team
    0 players
    Zlatan was injured and Rashford replaced him
    Rooney was a bit part player getting minutes here and there but not a major contributor.

Who have we added
    Lindeloff - who should be a first choice central defender
    Lukaku - a first choice striker

We're still trying to address the DM spot and an attacking player.

Where else have we not improved? Or do we need to improve in your opinion?

GK De Gea and Romero both tied down and Joel
    RB Val and Darmian - could be better
    CB We've plenty five players here
    LB Darmian, Blind and Shaw - depth a plenty
    DM Carrick (Herrera if we need) - yes we need something here
    MF Pogba, Herrera, Fellaini - maybe need a body here but not essential
    AM Mata, Lingard, Martial, Mkhitaryan, Young - Another body would be good but i'm ok if we don't get one
    ST Lukaku and Rashford

That allows for the TFM, Axel, Andreas, McTominay etc to get time where needed. If we get in the two signings as Jose wants that'll give him 24 players plus young lads..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

id agree i think we will be better get top 4 but i think we are still a few short of a title challenge

sky88 wrote: »
    id agree i think we will be better get top 4 but i think we are still a few short of a title challenge

When you look at man citys attacking options and then ours, we are def short for a title challenge, then again it doesnt always work out that way. A bit of momentum and luck go a long way in football

brinty wrote: »
    We gave up the league with 5/6 games left to concentrate on the Europa league and qualifying through that route??

As we finished the season how many players have we lost from that team
    0 players
    Zlatan was injured and Rashford replaced him
    Rooney was a bit part player getting minutes here and there but not a major contributor.

Who have we added
    Lindeloff - who should be a first choice central defender
    Lukaku - a first choice striker

We're still trying to address the DM spot and an attacking player.

Where else have we not improved? Or do we need to improve in your opinion?

GK De Gea and Romero both tied down and Joel
    RB Val and Darmian - could be better
    CB We've plenty five players here
    LB Darmian, Blind and Shaw - depth a plenty
    DM Carrick (Herrera if we need) - yes we need something here
    MF Pogba, Herrera, Fellaini - maybe need a body here but not essential
    AM Mata, Lingard, Martial, Mkhitaryan, Young - Another body would be good but i'm ok if we don't get one
    ST Lukaku and Rashford

That allows for the TFM, Axel, Andreas, McTominay etc to get time where needed. If we get in the two signings as Jose wants that'll give him 24 players plus young lads..

We gave up on the league when we had lost any real chance of making the top 4. So the difference, as Jose seemed to see it, was between finishing 5th and 6th.

You talk about those last few games and how many players we have lost.... but it was a season of averageness that had us in that position in the first place. You should also be taking into account, imo, the stretched squad we had last season through Jose not using players, and then selling them without replacements. We went into the season with Memphis, Schneiderlin and Rooney as part of the first team squad so you would have to think any squad planning for the season had them in mind. We have lost those three (and Schweinsteiger who wasn't used/part of the squad so meh) as well as Zlatan.

GK - no issues.
    LB - Darmian, Rojo and Blind are all poor options there for differing, various, reasons imo. Shaw might become our option there but big question marks over him. However, if we plan on playing Shaw there as his last season/chance to impress then we can't make a signing there imo. Shaw and the others as backups has to be considered enough.
    RB - Happy enough with Valencia but again the backup options are poor. Don't like TFM there, Darmian a poor outlet.
    DM - We need a top class signing there.
    MF - Agree with you there.
    AM - a load of AM options but no actual wingers. We need an actual winger added to the squad to provide balance and options for differing styles and formations.
    ST - I'm ok with the striker options. The worry here though is that Zlatan did very well for us in terms of goals last season - I think Lukaku will replace that, but beyond that I am not sure if Lukaku significantly improves our situation over most of last season. Maybe his more mobile style will also feed into improvements in other attacking players due to a change in style.

We absolutely need a top class DM, to provide a bit more freedom to Herrera and Pogba. I think we need a pacey winger too, to help the attack which can become far too central and congested. We need a player that can beat a full back and stretch the opposition.

There is certainly room in the players we had last season to improve in terms of goals/assists. Martial, Rashford, Pogba, Herrera, Mkhitaryan should all be doing better (they all may not). But I think we are a couple of signings off having the balance needed to push for a title. A DM is a must, and a wide threat - though I am not convinced by Perisic.

I just think implying we only finished so far off the pace last season because we concentrated on the EL for the last few games is disingenuous and fails to recognise that 32 or so PL games over not being good enough had us in that position in the first place.

If Zlatan was not injured, would people have been happy to go into this season without making any signings? Cause I don't think we are a million miles away from that as it is (Despite spending over 100million)

I think renato sanchez will be a united player in the next few weeks. Might be a last minute loan deal but i think it will happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Mitch statistaccly on Last season lukaku is better then zlatan. I know we all loved having him but he missed some God awful amount of chances too and thats where I think lukaku will improve the team he has a better conversion rate then zlatan.

I'm expecting lukaku to be well over 20 goals in league alone and another 10 in various cups l don't mean that in an entitles way I'm basing it on him Bean clinical and an excellent finisher and hoping he don't need time to settle.