The Tipperary GAA (Club and Intercounty) Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭dobbs2210

if barrett says he is really really sorry can he come back then?
    Maybe he could go on tipp fm and beg for your forgiveness.

barrett was kicked off the panel for a serious incident, but no where as serious as glesson who was found guilty of a heinous crime, stealing a large sum of money from an elderly man, and is given a suspended 3 1/2 year sentence and he can consider himself very lucky not to be in jail.
    Barrett and Glesson had "form" in 2016 too, should we ask both to give their medals back?
    Get real.

You fail to identify that in Gleeson's case that was a matter in his private work life. That had nothing to do with his sporting position within Tipperary hurling. That was a criminal matter that was dealt with through the courts.

Glesson has paid the price so I've no more to say on the matters of his (or any other players) personal or work life. None of my business.

The matter of Barrett was a direct breach of internal discipline within the Tipp camp.

Two very very very distinctly different matters me thinks.

I never mentioned 2016 or medals so haven't a clue what you're spouting about medals and form for.

Have huge admiration for Mick Ryan and Dec Fanning for nailing this bull**** to bed.

You act the p***k drinking when you shouldn't be or when you've already been warned before you must be punished. When you do not not meet the standards as set out by management, out you go, good luck.

Same drink culture issue occurred earlier tjis year in Limerick and the player at issue was sent away but then eventually John Kiely went back begging and he ejded up bringing him back.....awful management...awful message.

Good strong message sent by Mick Ryan out loud and clear.

Well done to Tipperary today. Great win with plenty to improve upon which is a very solid position to be in approaching the semi-final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 996 ✭✭✭1eg0a3xv7b82of

dobbs2210 wrote: »
    You fail to identify that in Gleeson's case that was a matter in his private work life. That had nothing to do with his sporting position within Tipperary hurling. That was a criminal matter that was dealt with through the courts.

Glesson has paid the price so I've no more to say on the matters of his (or any other players) personal or work life. None of my business.

The matter of Barrett was a direct breach of internal discipline within the Tipp camp.

Two very very very distinctly different matters me thinks.

I never mentioned 2016 or medals so haven't a clue what you're spouting about medals and form for.

Have huge admiration for Mick Ryan and Dec Fanning for nailing this bull**** to bed.

You act the p***k drinking when you shouldn't be or when you've already been warned before you must be punished. When you do not not meet the standards as set out by management, out you go, good luck.

Same drink culture issue occurred earlier tjis year in Limerick and the player at issue was sent away but then eventually John Kiely went back begging and he ejded up bringing him back.....awful management...awful message.

Good strong message sent by Mick Ryan out loud and clear.

Well done to Tipperary today. Great win with plenty to improve upon which is a very solid position to be in approaching the semi-final.

what is an acceptable period of penance for barrett, 3 1/2 years suspended maybe? :D
    Barrett has been punished enough, he deserves if fit and only after apologising to you personally to be back on the bench at the very least least.

Tight win today. Our backs were at sea on a worrying amount of occasions. Barry is suffering having to go corner back and to be fair to Mick with Barretts omission and Mouse suffering another injury his hand was forced to a certain degree... That full back line needs to be sorted and fast because either Cork or Galway will go to town on us on that performance. The wides Clare drove today will haunt them.

That said though, we are in the All Ireland series now. 70 mins away from an All Ireland final. Yes we will need to improve but the managements delight on the final whistle was interesting. Perhaps the real hurling for us starts here? Dont mind me im just scrambling for a crumb of optimism here :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,051 ✭✭✭digzy

Tight win today. Our backs were at sea on a worrying amount of occasions. Barry is suffering having to go corner back and to be fair to Mick with Barretts omission and Mouse suffering another injury his hand was forced to a certain degree... That full back line needs to be sorted and fast because either Cork or Galway will go to town on us on that performance. The wides Clare drove today will haunt them.

That said though, we are in the All Ireland series now. 70 mins away from an All Ireland final. Yes we will need to improve but the managements delight on the final whistle was interesting. Perhaps the real hurling for us starts here? Dont mind me im just scrambling for a crumb of optimism here :P

Any comments on your auld mate tos hamill?

Thought he's the makings of a decent player but you could tell there was no chemistry between 1-4.

Obviously mgmt were worried about his pace to move an all star fb to cb in order to accommodate him.

All the same are we looking at the line of Barrett-Barry- Cahill with rose tinted glasses? We shipped some serious scores but it's the profligacy of the fwds that saves their bacon.

what is an acceptable period of penance for barrett, 3 1/2 years suspended maybe? :D
    Barrett has been punished enough, he deserves if fit and only after apologising to you personally to be back on the bench at the very least least.

Tbf I think you're being a bit facetious there. You have to back mgmt on this one. Imagine what it'd do to the morale of the squad and the disciplinary standard of future squads that mgmt might be over if he's parachuted in despite the other corner backs busting their holes for the last month.

digzy wrote: »
    Any comments on your auld mate tos hamill?

Thought he's the makings of a decent player but you could tell there was no chemistry between 1-4.

Obviously mgmt were worried about his pace to move an all star fb to cb in order to accommodate him.

All the same are we looking at the line of Barrett-Barry- Cahill with rose tinted glasses? We shipped some serious scores but it's the profligacy of the fwds that saves their bacon.

Ah poor aul Tos, there was one point where Aaron Cunningham outmuscled him and nearly scored a goal not that Mooney covered himself in glory either. Against Dublin a couple of weeks ago Ryan o'dwyer took him on twice and beat him for pace hands down. A player in the autumn of his intercounty career with a bad Dublin team. Many more poor performances today not to single him out alone but that lad will be roasted if we play Galway or Cork. If there is not better options in Tipperary for the backs then we have nowhere near the panel we think we do. The chap is 2017's Tomas Costello

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

That Noel McGrath point from the corner when he shortened the grip with three Claremen around him and put it over the bar is one of the most classiest scores I've ever seen in hurling.

I actually thought Bubbles was quite good today. Got into several good scoring positions, offered excellent support play. 4 from play in fairness

Maybe I was a bit harsh on him. It's just we know the talent of the guy. He just looks a bit low on confidence despite those scores. He could have had double

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭dobbs2210

Ok Mr. Barrett, well Mick Ryan decides the punishment not you or I.
    Personally delighted to finally see a manager attempt to deal with and stamp out all this ****e that has crippled and held back Tipperary so many times over so many years.

Anyway Mr. Barrett I'm sure if you speak nicely to Mick Ryan he will reinstate Cathal.....🀣😂🀣😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,901 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

That Noel McGrath point from the corner when he shortened the grip with three Claremen around him and put it over the bar is one of the most classiest scores I've ever seen in hurling.

what impressed me about tipp today was when clare would be on top for long periods of the game without really landing a blow tipp would answer with a score , most of which was 100% direct ,only 2 to 3 players touching the ball in a 70 or 80 yard move , it happened several times , john mcgrath is the best finisher in the country hands down too at the moment

best of luck for the rest of the year too lads , fair enough there is questions to be answered at the back but ye must have scored 20 points from play today , its a long time ( if ever) since i seen that in a competitive gaa match , serious positive to be taken from today

I do think Cathal will be back at some stage. Dont forget his omission coincided with his injury. Floyd though, should never have gave that interview or should have been a bit more coy then he was. The 'bold step' remark was ridiculous and totally unnecessary. Barrett is an amateur athlete at the end of the day. Yes he broke disciplinary rules and i think it was probably a bit more serious then just having a few pints. But leave it at that and just state the facts to the media.

He'll do his term and Mick will make him sweat on it but my guessing is we will see him sooner or later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭Xenophile

There will be four great teams in the draw on Monday morning. It is not intelligent to get caught up with personalities or negativity.

Let's hurl with the best team we can put out on the field, as that's what the other three teams are going to do! And the best of luck to them.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

Xenophile wrote: »
    There will be four great teams in the draw on Monday morning. It is not intelligent to get caught up with personalities or negativity.

Let's hurl with the best team we can put out on the field, as that's what the other three teams are going to do! And the best of luck to them.

There is no draw if Wexford win tomorrow. In that case we play Galway. If Waterford win we play either Cork or Galway. Ill keep the faith for now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,549 ✭✭✭evolving tipperary

That was such a strange game. The best team won, yet Clare would've hammered us but for the wides.

We collapsed there late in the second half when we couldn't catch a cold, yet showed great character to surge back ahead again.

There's a palpable feeling of panic when the ball falls around our fb line. Moving Barry was a disaster, haven't seen much of donagh maher but looked avg enough and hamill was an accident waiting to happen. His mobility is awful yet he's not dominating in the air. Tbf they haven't had time to gel as a unit. M Cahill must be injured or suffering a serious loss of form to not get a look in today.

Kennedy blew hot and cold, that Clare sub destroyed him far too often though before mgmt made the change.

Our midfield is incredibly inconsistent. Breen is a real puzzle. He was belting over the points against a better cork team but was pretty anonymous today.

Bonner was very industrious but his 'hurling' was very much off today. Passed misplaced, dispossessed numerous times etc..

Bubbles is a shadow of the class act he used to be. Noel was top class today. A real 'brain'. Always took the right option today.

Yet for all my moaning we're where we need to be. If we click we'd beat anyone, but that's a major 'if'.

The fb line needs serious surgery. That last goal being typical of the muddling that went on all day.
    I agree with a lot of what you point, it's on the money.
    I can't agree with the bubbles point. I thought he was very good. But, I think he is missing the killer instinct from last year. That turn and go that got the all important goals from last year's final. He hasn't looked like Mr Goals. But, I think it is obvious he has been asked to play differently - more of a worker and creator to release seamie and john.  I'm not sure how I feel about it...
    He is still contributing massively - but, for me, Bubbles is goals. And, that's what he should be asked to do. For instance, if B Maher can stroke over frees from a distance, what the **** is Bubbles doing taking them?  He is a fox in the box. He should be on the end of anything falling short. I remember seeing him getting an around-the-box hat trick against Cork at minor level. That's his wheel house, like that wonderful angled goal against Galway in the semi last year...

what impressed me about tipp today was when clare would be on top for long periods of the game without really landing a blow tipp would answer with a score , most of which was 100% direct ,only 2 to 3 players touching the ball in a 70 or 80 yard move , it happened several times , john mcgrath is the best finisher in the country hands down too at the moment

best of luck for  the rest of the year too lads , fair enough there is questions to be answered at the back but ye must have scored 20 points from play today , its a long time ( if ever) since i seen that in a competitive gaa match , serious positive to be taken from today
    Jon McGrath is definitely the best point taker in the country at the moment.

Positives?
    Limping into a semi final without hitting form. Nows the time to hit form. That will be the difficulty for Cork and Galway - sustaining the form they've had for such a long time. 

Half-back line slowly beginning to hit form - likewise the half-forward line. Full-forward line edging towards lethal... - these are all heading towards the top form at the right time...
    I was getting excited in the second half - we were showing Clare the wings and making them miss. We were beginning to look solid - we had structure. We need more of this. Then it all went pear-shaped - for no reason confidence nosedived and nerves jangled.

That amazing move that Seamie blasted over - a move from the backs with great passing - if that finished in a goal I think it could have lit our season up and made us boil. Hopefully, we can finish a move like that in the semi-final and go full beast mode. 

Negatives:

Full-back line selection - we ended up with four inexperienced players from 1-4... - do management honestly expect these guys to have the cauldron experience to get us out the right side against the best forwards in the business? What's going on? Management has already sent the right message regarding Barrett. Knuckles rapped - bring him back in. If he is ill-disciplined again within a year or two - then sideline him for a year. 
    To be fair to Hamill or Donagh or Sean O'Brien or whoever it is - if you are bringing in someone with little experience - you need them beside experienced people. That's a no brainer - you can't just drown them all in together at the deep end. That's not fair on any of them. 
    And, there's no better way to wreck a player's confidence than playing him out of position. I feel sorry for Barry. 
    The midfield does not look like a partnership. I'm still not convinced Breen is a midfielder - his positioning and reading of the game is off - doesn't get enough possessions. B Maher looks a long way from his best... hopefully Brendan's form can arrive soon it needs too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Marv8

if barrett says he is really really sorry can he come back then?
    Maybe he could go on tipp fm and beg for your forgiveness.

barrett was kicked off the panel for a serious incident, but no where as serious as glesson who was found guilty of a heinous crime, stealing a large sum of money from an elderly man, and is given a suspended 3 1/2 year sentence and he can consider himself very lucky not to be in jail.
    Barrett and Glesson had "form" in 2016 too, should we ask both to give their medals back?
    Get real.

The players obviously agreed to a code of conduct and not drinking was part of it. The reason being is that it effects your performance. Darren Gleesons personal issue wouldn't have been in the code of conduct that they agreed on. Also if you want to talk about nearly ending up in jail, assault is a serious crime too.

I want to see Barrett lining out for Tipp, we badly need him but I totally understand managements decisions not to if they don't.

Re Barrett

There seems to me a misperception that he was booted out over going on the lash. That's plain wrong

The reality was that an assault took place. No point saying any more than that

Re Barrett

There seems to me a misperception that he was booted out over going on the lash. That's plain wrong

The reality was that an assault took place. No point saying any more than that
    There as to be hard facts to it, as otherwise, it's just harmful talk. How serious an assault? Physical? Charges pending?

I think the semi would be a great match to catch Galway in - they wouldn't have hurled for five weeks. 
    That said the best chance to reach the final is against Cork, in my opinion. Can't see them beating us three times in one season. Our forwards are moving a lot better now. But, our fullback line form is worse. 
    It will be a hell of a lot harder to beat Galway in the final...

If only we could draw Waterford! DeBurca will be a loss for them

There as to be hard facts to it, as otherwise, it's just harmful talk. How serious an assault? Physical? Charges pending?

Tbf, even if I was there I couldn't provide 'hard facts'

A person was assaulted. you can join the dots re whodunnit.

That's fair enough. I'm just wondering how serious of an assault it was? Was it a hospital job? Was there an arrest? Is it going to court? 
    And, let's be fair here, I'm not condoning assault, but there are assaults and then there are serious assaults? I wonder what a statistic on young men in their early twenties in Ireland getting into at least one fight after a few jars is? I'd reckon it's pretty high...

Are we talking common assault here or did someone end up in the hospital?

I think Galway would beat them even with TdB. Cork might get caught cold with the break but by jesus are they a fit team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Can see both sides of the Barrett argument. It's an internal issue and whatever mgment and panel decide to do is all that matters. If it comes down to a question of need, then he simply has to come back, if initially just on the bench. Hamill isn't good enough, tough job being asked of him but he's not up to it now or probably ever.

I think Galway would beat them even with TdB. Cork might get caught cold with the break but by jesus are they a fit team.
    I think every team would fancy themselves against Waterford due to their tactics. 

Cork are fit - but have been holding form a while now... it's one thing coming up trumps in Munster - it's another in the cauldron of Croker. We've yet to see if the cork young guns can deal with the pressure of that environment. I'd be confident we could turn Cork over. Particularly, if we can get back to basics in the backline - Barry at full back or not in the team at all. And, Donagh and Cahill in the corners. I think Kennedy deserves a chance to build on yesterday

Can see both sides of the Barrett argument. It's an internal issue and whatever mgment and panel decide to do is all that matters. If it comes down to a question of need, then he simply has to come back, if initially just on the bench. Hamill isn't good enough, tough job being asked of him but he's not up to it now or probably ever.
    I think Hamill is doing fine - has come on a lot this year. I think he would do even better if he had an inform Barrett and Cahill beside him. But, that's not happening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

With the greatest of respect to you, if you are going to write something which reflects badly on someone's reputation then the least you might do is substantiate it. If you cannot or will not do that then why comment at all? If the guy has been dropped for a breach of discipline and the team management deems that level of detail sufficient for the public domain everything else beyond that is gossip. And potentially defamatory gossip at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

That said the best chance to reach the final is against Cork, in my opinion. Can't see them beating us three times in one season....

Hard to imagine Cork beating Tipp three times in a season from a standing start but now that they have done it twice it doesn't seem so unlikely. Could you see Cork beating Tipp three times - probably not? Could you see them beating Tipp once - of course........and the latter is all they would be required to do now that the other games are history.