Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone else think U2 are shíte

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

blueser wrote: »
    Since when has Ed Sheeran been Irish? Born in Halifax to (according to Wiki) London born parents (paternal grandparents were Irish).
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ed_Sheeran#Early_life
    At best he's one quarter Irish.

He's Irish enough for Irish people to hate him with an intense passion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

123shooter wrote: »
    I would never take their ability to have made cash away from them and would heap praise on them for that. The tax thing isn't their fault, they are taking advantage of what they are allowed to do and simply no more.

That's fair enough but what gets up people's noses is Bono and his moralising. When our economy collapsed in 2008 and people started suffering here, the last thing they needed was Bono's pontificating. We could've done with some of U2's taxes coming into our coffers. He can't have it both ways.

I think Bill was showing you 'how' they sound like that live. It is all in an electronic box not from them.

It's all electronic. It's electrified music. All of it.

You really have no one today to compare them with to say they are good live, but go back 31 years and compare say Queen live without all the electro stuff U2 are using to U2 live today and what would be the result?

Ok so they are the best live today then?

Why is there such an obsession on boards with other peoples likes and dislikes.

Just get on with your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,269 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

cruais wrote: »
    Don't talk to me about u2!

Am sitting here in a panic the last few hours.

I got tickets and went to print them tonight, only to discover that I selected mail delivery. Booked on my sister's card and called her to be told she didn't receive any tickets.

I called out her address and I got the wrong poxy number of her house. So she calls to the neighbours on the road who received the tickets in January but didn't recognise the name and so sent the tickets back to ticketmaster.

Customer service closed so will have to try in the morning to sort the situation. Gutted.

Did you get sorted?
    Hope so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,898 ✭✭✭dasdog

Never paid much attention until and after Achtung Baby but I've seen them three times getting tickets on the day of the gig with nothing better to do. Zoo Station blasting out in the RDS was a bit special in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,906 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I was a big fan in the day, and remember getting the Joshua Tree on the first day it was released - not at midnight, mind you. Every time I hear the intro to Streets Have No Name, I get a spine-tingling flashback to being at the rear of the pit in the RDS around 92 for one of their gigs. I saw them first in the Phoenix Park, then the Croker gigs in the 80s, then the RDS - great shows and special moments when there wasn't a huge amount of good news for young people in Ireland.

Looking back, they were better imitators than innovators. In their early stuff, you can hear clearly where they were ripping off Joy Division or the Bunnymen or others of that era.

Fair play to them for their achievements - musical and commercial. They were the one Irish band of that era who really hit the big time, and they worked hard for it. The tax thing does piss me off, given yer man's lecturing about 3rd world problems. Maybe if they payed the normal rates of tax then Governments would be able to do something more for the 3rd world?

I got a freebie to their last tour in the Point, and it was a great show, very visual, though the new material doesn't do it for me. I really wouldn't bother doing a big Croker gig again after the last Springsteen one. The sound quality is pretty sh1te - they're just not built for music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I fcuking love this song and about 10 others from U2. That's about it. Wouldn't travel to Dublin from Cork to see them though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Vinculus

Like them or loathe them, Dublin would be a very different place now if they never existed.

No one has questioned your ability to have likes or dislikes. The questions were are U2 cr*p?

Of course they are crap compared to Beethoven. However any judgement of them as a rock band has to be subjective.

I will but I have an opinion just like you and just like you I can come to boards and discuss it whether you disagree or not.:)

Why though? The world is full of stuff people like you don't like. Just live your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭123shooter

Of course they are crap compared to Beethoven. However any judgement of them as a rock band has to be subjective.

Why though? The world is full of stuff people like you don't like. Just live your life.

Because the title of the thread was.........'Does anyone else think U2 are shíte'........not.........'Does anyone else think U2 are a great rock band'.

So possibly I am in the right thread.

Although it is boring and your right I have better things to do then comment on sh*te celebs with limited musical ability............Toodlepip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

I saw them in the 80's and they were brilliant, then in the late 90's and they were great and then a few years ago and i was bored.

The natural "lifecycle" of a successful band is for the creativity to ebb and to end up playing your hits from the past and thats whats happening. Fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

I was never a big fan particularly disliked their 90s stuff. They have about 5 or 6 songs that I'd listen to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

I couldnt give a flying hairy rats ass either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

These 4 Dublin lads have rocked probably 2/3rds of the worlds cities over 5 different continents over a 40 year period, filling thousands of stadiums with an average of 50,000 + along the way....an extremely rare achievement...

They are playing their hometown tonight in what can only be a very special night for them and their families....

Bono busks on Grafton Street most years...has always been a proud Dub/Irishman....

And yet our own complain about whatever bull**** enters our head first...tax...Bono's opinions...whatever....whenever they are mentioned...

Cities much bigger than Dublin haven't produced anything remotely as successful....

If I have any problem with U2 it is that we haven't produced more like them!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

These 4 Dublin lads have rocked probably 2/3rds of the worlds cities over 5 different continents over a 40 year period, filling thousands of stadiums with an average of 50,000 + along the way....an extremely rare achievement...

They are playing their hometown tonight in what can only be a very special night for them and their families....

Bono busks on Grafton Street most years...has always been a proud Dub/Irishman....

And yet our own complain about whatever bull**** enters our head first...tax...Bono's opinions...whatever....whenever they are mentioned...

Cities much bigger than Dublin haven't produced anything remotely as successful....

If I have any problem with U2 it is that we haven't produced more like them!!!

They are still crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,000 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Vinculus wrote: »
    Like them or loathe them, Dublin would be a very different place now if they never existed.

Go on, caller.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

How?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,872 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Have always liked I will Follow and New Years Day (Studio version) and their first live album Live under a Blood Red Sky was a cracker, wouldn't have been interested in their later stuff that much although I thought the Fly was a great track. I'll give you this they were definitely the second greatest act on the 1985 Live Aid day, Queen has the crown for that but U2 came a close second that day.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Dublin would be a very different place now if they never existed.
    Croke Park would probably be empty tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,000 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

mzungu wrote: »
    Croke Park would probably be empty tonight!

Croke Park would never have been redeveloped!

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Not a fan of them and that's why I'm not at the concert tonight

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Phil Lynott and Thin Lizzy were better......Just saying......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

I preferred Bono when he was evil.

I don't like U2.

But many years ago, I loved them.

Along with Simple Minds and to a lesser extent Big Country, they were kinda the music of my early teenage years...like so many other kids in Ireland in the 80s. Prefer the Simple Minds, but kinda stopped the fixation circa 1990/91 with the explosion of dance and house music. But used to love the way they reinvented themselves with every album from The Unforforgettable Fire up to Achtung Baby. After that it got a bit meh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Esel wrote: »
    Croke Park would never have been redeveloped!

The plan for the re-developement of Croke Park originated from the 1983 all ireland football final where there were too many people on the hill and there was the genuine possibility a crush could have occured .Liam Mulvehill recognised the danger of the outdated ground and put the wheels in motion to re-develope the stadium.

Croke Parks re-developement had nothing whatsoever to do with U2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,452 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I don't like U2.

But many years ago, I loved them.

Along with Simple Minds and to a lesser extent Big Country, they were kinda the music of my early teenage years...like so many other kids in Ireland in the 80s. Prefer the Simple Minds, but kinda stopped the fixation circa 1990/91 with the explosion of dance and house music. But used to love the way they reinvented themselves with every album from The Unforforgettable Fire up to Achtung Baby. After that it got a bit meh.

Speaking of 'our vintage'....

I remember Dublin in the 80s. Dublin in the 80s was kinda crap. Aspirations to greatness wasn't our thing. I was never a U2 fan, but I do remember the first night of their 1987 gig in Croker. I was a 13 year old. I wasn't at it. I was camping with the scouts up at Larch Hill. Two of the older lads had tickets. We had to cover for them while they snuck off to get a lift into town from a mate who'd 'borrowed' his aul' fellas car. They arrived back about 2am with tales to tell. They'd been to a concert. In Croke Park. What? Music in Croker? Yeah. Bleedin' deadly. And the band are from Dublin!

That kinda blew me away. I mean, 'famous' bands were from America, right? Was MTUsa lying to us every Saturday morning? So, while still not really a fan, and in the full awareness that most people reading this won't remember a time before we didn't really do or aspire to do much here... I appreciate the audacity of U2, and that they do what they do better than most that do what they do, and have continued to do it at the highest level for four decades now. They're not to my taste, but I'm kinda proud that they came from here.

Let the begrudgery commence. Bono blah blah anybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,452 ✭✭✭✭endacl

blinding wrote: »
    Subjectively speaking, personally I prefer listening to Phil Lynott and Thin Lizzy were better.....Just saying......
    And your point is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

So you whingers didn't get tickets right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

It's a shocking indictment of modern music that of the acts that played Croker this year, U feckin 2 are the closest thing to rock n roll party hellraisers.

(Apart from Noel, to be fair).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,269 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

What a night

What a show