Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone else think U2 are shíte

• 21-07-2017 11:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭

All this business about U2 annoys me, personally I think they're shíte, but if people want to go and see them off you go, just leave us non-believers alone yiz useless pricks

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

And some idiot in today's paper willing to pay €11,000 fine a pair of tickets to see them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Are they harassing you or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You've got to get yourself together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

No, nobody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,737 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

They don't really do it for me, but a lot of people really dig them, so best of luck to the lot of them.

They're miles better than, say, anyone else who's played Croker or The Aviva this year.

And while he may be a bit preachy, Bono's work for the third world is exceptional.

All in all, one of BB King's better backing bands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Masala wrote: »
    And some idiot in today's paper willing to pay €11,000 fine a pair of tickets to see them

No, some idiot put them up for sale for that price. They're not going to fcuking sell them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

anna080 wrote: »
    Are they harassing you or something?

Nah, but 2 mates are fanatics and paying 400 yoyo's for tickets, feckin madness

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭don corleone

OP I think your just looking for a reaction with this one, so far you still havent found what your looki......

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,210 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Another one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

They should have stopped after Actung Babby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

Joshua Tree is a great album. I'd love to go but not a crazy fan enough to have been keeping track of when tickets were going on sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

All a bit of an (electrical) storm in a teacup.

OP I think your just looking for a reaction with this one, so far you still havent found what your looki......

Yeah, OP, say what you want. The gig's gonna happen with or without....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

I've always thought they were alright. Quite like this one :) ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

TIL people still find puns amusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭RicketyCricket

Haven't liked anything by them since Pop.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

It's amazing what people will start a thread about these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

wylo wrote: »
    Joshua Tree is a great album. I'd love to go but not a crazy fan enough to have been keeping track of when tickets were going on sale.

Think there are some on ticketbastard now if you're quick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

When did u2 become compulsory? I didn't get the memo. I deal with the bands I don't like by the time-honoured, tried and tested method of, well, just not listening to them.

Off the top of my head I can think of at leat five or six bands I'm not into that I'm just not listening to now as I type this.

Yakult wrote: »
    It's amazing what people will start a thread about these days.

Sorry didn't mean to wake you

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Don't talk to me about u2!

Am sitting here in a panic the last few hours.

I got tickets and went to print them tonight, only to discover that I selected mail delivery. Booked on my sister's card and called her to be told she didn't receive any tickets.

I called out her address and I got the wrong poxy number of her house. So she calls to the neighbours on the road who received the tickets in January but didn't recognise the name and so sent the tickets back to ticketmaster.

Customer service closed so will have to try in the morning to sort the situation. Gutted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Remember seeing the edge wear his hat to a funeral. What a glorious man

uch wrote: »
    All this business about U2 annoys me, personally I think they're shíte, but if people want to go and see them off you go, just leave us non-believers alone yiz useless pricks

So you didn't get a ticket hun, no?

Awe:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Relikk

Lorelli! wrote: »
    I've always thought they were alright. Quite like this one :) ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Great to see half the ticket sales going towards reducing third world debt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Nah, but 2 mates are fanatics and paying 400 yoyo's for tickets, feckin madness

Sure that's for them to feel stupid over. Why are you getting in a tizzy over it

Not one mention of the t*x yet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

So you didn't get a ticket hun, no?

Awe:(

Did you not see the bit where I said I think they're ****e Hun

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

endacl wrote: »
    When did u2 become compulsory? I didn't get the memo. I deal with the bands I don't like by the time-honoured, tried and tested method of, well, just not listening to them.

Off the top of my head I can think of at leat five or six bands I'm not into that I'm just not listening to now as I type this.

Jaysus you're a mad bastard altogether. I mean I'm only not listening to two or three bands I'm not into. The other several hundred are playing simultaneously on my laptop as I'm typing this.

Did you not see the bit where I said I think they're ****e Hun

Yes, I saw that- hence my post, Hun.;)

Oh your a dark one so, xxx

21/25

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 28 Comte de Mirabeau

U2 haven't been any good for years. They are living off a very out of date reputation - Though in later years their acoustic only stuff was nearly half decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭zzfh

****e in a bucket.

Oh your a dark one so, xxx

"You're" a dark one too ;) *titter*

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I normally wouldn't listen to them much but all the whinging here tonight inspired me to stick them on the youtubes and im having a great evening, they have a lot of class songs, Hold me thrill me kiss me kill is probably my favourite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

zzfh wrote: »
    ****e in a bucket.

That's fighting talk

I normally wouldn't listen to them much but all the whinging here tonight inspired me to stick them on the youtubes and im having a great evening, they have a lot of class songs, Hold me thrill me kiss me kill is probably my favourite

Ha, think I'll do the same.

Might start with Angel of Harlem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Yes no yes...the bits in the middle were great but you would have to be a fan to love the earlier stuff. Some great songs mind!! The new stuff is frankly just sh*te

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

Bono is a self righteous ahole. Music is crap. and they are old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭discobeaker

They should have stopped after Actung Babby

I think Pop and Zooropa are great albums aswell. Of course,Not a patch on Achtung Baby, but still fantastic albums nonetheless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Did they right that one 'and i stiiiilll havent found what i'm looking for' by U2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I've flicked on the Joshua Tree tonight for a spin the craic. It's on a record, for those who don't know these were vinyl circle things that you put on a thing called a record player. They were popular before things called compact discs. All of this of course happened years before Spotify - it wasn't around since 1987.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

zzfh wrote: »
    ****e in a bucket.

Which of their albums was that song on?

Passengers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Autochange wrote: »
    Bono is a self righteous ahole. Music is crap. and they are old.

Discuss.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

Discuss.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Discus_throw

Tosser =Bono=Tosser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I thought the consensus was that U2 are ****e?

Personally, I really like them up to and including Pop. Everything after that was so universally dreadful that I wonder if the whole band contracted brain slugs or similar.

Discuss.

I think he/she is saying that Bono is a millonaire who, instead of sitting in his swimming pool drinking cocktails tries to help people who have no food or education in impovorished counties around the world.

Something like that. Sings aswell.