Potatoes, poppies, taters,

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,870 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Spuds?
    Tatties?
    Pots?

Who the hell wrote this poll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭THall04

I call them spuds........but about 10 years ago I was staying in a hotel in Whitley Bay (just outside Newcastle ,England) when 2 fellas from Clare came into the bar..............

Lads from Clare: Hey boss any Taytos?

Night Porter:Taters???.....I'am pullin' pints....no fu*kin Taters here!

Lads from Clare: No we want a bag a' Tayto's ...like what ye have behind de bar (the lads are looking at a box of Walkers crisps...)

Night Porter :THIS IS NOT A FU*K-ING GREEN-GROCERS....WE HAVE NO FU*KING TATERs!!

Lads from Clare: But all we want is a bag of Tay..
    Night Porter: We 'ave no fu*kin carrots.....parsnups....turnups...cabbage...and NO-FU*KING TATERS!!...now fu*k off...ye barred!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Spuds, potatoes, or poppies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The OP has to be American. "Taters" in the poll, but no "spuds"?

Spuds or potatoes. I've never heard of "poppies" except of the flowering variety.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Starchy famine balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Epic poll fail without spuds !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭MazG

Spuds or potatoes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

I demand spuds in the voting options!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Other
    Someone mentioned poppies to me tonight...never heard that before so Google'd it....and guess what showed up?!?? :)
    But seriously...wtf is a poppies...where did it originate from does anyone know?

Zombie thread must stay alive so I can get answers!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Poppies
    Potatoes, occasionally spuds. Never heard them called poppies. I though taters was an American term - never heard it used here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Other
    Mod-locked to annoy erik. I'll except bribes to reopen it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

In rural east Clare I did hear some people calling them poppies when talking to their kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭xabi

Purdies, pretties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Other
    Screenshot_4.png

Here's a screenshot of the poll results. I'm going to reset it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,282 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Poppies
    I'd be between potatoes and spuds. If I'm eating new potatoes I'd generally say potatoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Other
    *Shpuds. Mashed with lashings of butter and salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Other
    Trippy musical introduction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

Poppies
    Your favourite DJ has returned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

My father in law says "tates". I remember the first time i heard him saying it, i was thinking "wtf is he talking about!" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,926 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Poppies
    Also state if you have heard of them referred to as Poppies, just to prove she is uncultured! :D
    I've heard "poppy" for an indefinite quantity when talking to children, but not poppies as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,728 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Spuds or potatoes here, but my grandmother use to always call them pops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Poppies
    THall04 wrote: »
    I call them spuds........but about 10 years ago I was staying in a hotel in Whitley Bay (just outside Newcastle ,England) when 2 fellas from Clare came into the bar..............

Lads from Clare: Hey boss any Taytos?

Night Porter:Taters???.....I'am pullin' pints....no fu*kin Taters here!

Lads from Clare: No we want a bag a' Tayto's ...like what ye have behind de bar (the lads are looking at a box of Walkers crisps...)

Night Porter :THIS IS NOT A FU*K-ING GREEN-GROCERS....WE HAVE NO FU*KING TATERs!!

Lads from Clare: But all we want is a bag of Tay..
    Night Porter: We 'ave no fu*kin carrots.....parsnups....turnups...cabbage...and NO-FU*KING TATERS!!...now fu*k off...ye barred!

Very good :)

Reminds me of when my mother 1st visited London many moons/decades ago, went into a grocery shop and asked for a white pan!

What's that Luv? "Can I have a white pan please"?
    Sorry luv but this is a grocery shop, we don't sell pans ...
    "No, I mean a white sliced pan"
    Honestly lady we don't sell pans white or or otherwise, no pots either ....
    The hardware shop is next door!

She looked around and saw the confused & glaring stares she was getting from the scarf wearing ladies in the queue, so she left the shop, embarrassed, feeling like a fool, and kicking herself that she hadn't just asked for a loaf of white bread :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Keisha07

Other
    Spuds, but my grandad used call them poppies when I was a child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

White gold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Other
    Anyone know why they were called poppies? ...were people high or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

I wonder if ''poppies'' is a Cork/Munster thing? My ex boyfriend and his family called them poppies, not sure if I've heard anyone else say it though. Sometimes I call them poppies out of habit since I heard it so much when I was going out with him.

Usually just call them potatoes though. A neighbour of mine asked me if I wanted to come over for spuds when I was a child and I had no idea what she was talking about, I was at least seven or eight, she must have thought I was a right weirdo. I don't know how some Irish colloquialisms seem to completely pass me by. You'd think I didn't grow up here. Maybe too much American TV (sorry, telly :P)