If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Not The Annoyingly Trivial Things-Bitches be cray cray week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I forgot to turn off my phone last night and was woken at 5am by two multimedia messages being delivered that were sent to me days ago. Couldn't get back to sleep for a couple of hours when it was almost time to get up. Like a dog with tiredness all day :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

The heating being on full whack in work for last few months, everyone giving out about it too, we're told it's for the night shift, they say they're walking around in their jocks at night because of it, there are no windows to open, all fixed windows and glass atrium, only one person can control the magic switch, so presumably likes the heat, (on the temp gauge it hits 26* :confused:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

in one whatsapp group with some friends.
    we are all 35 - 45 years old.

there is one guy , well educated , good job - quite senior in fact ,aged 40
    shares links to every ( I mean every - it's daily ) drug bust on the media with some inane comment like "somebody is ratting LOL"

he is like a teenage stoner.

TA I know , group serves a purpose for easy communication so I don't want to leave it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Lack of signposts when you're out in the middle of the sticks is a nightmare but when there's a big sign for somewhere but zilch at the following few crossroads it's so frustrating.I've been trying to find a GAA grounds for the last half hour after following the sign in the village but then guessing incorrectly after that,narrow windy roads where the locals hog the road on the wrong side and tractors making me reverse( and sweat buckets) and then when I eventually find it I'm charged to go in ...I'm now sitting in the car ,it's lashing and my wine and couch are calling me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

People who use their kids as an excuse for everything.
    Example: a road safety ad. "Prepare before bringing your children on a journey, if you need to tend to your child pull over where it's safe to do so".

"Yeah just try doing that when you have three children, that's alright with one. I have three who fight and argue all the time in the car".
    Put manners on your kids instead of assuming the rules don't apply to you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I'm still alive, not that anyone cares :rolleyes:

Kersplat 1 Salmonella 0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,581 ✭✭✭Shpudnik

KERSPLAT! wrote: »

Kersplat 1 Salmonella 0

For now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Minnie Snuggles

I normally do my shopping in the evenings, when my eldest child is at her chosen activity, this gives me 1 and a half hours to do my shopping, I normally have my younger child with me. When people compliment him on his manners and behaviour, I always thought they were being kind, if not a little OTT, but after today I understand. My husband is on holidays so I did my shopping earlier in the day on my own.

I think supermarkets should put up huge signs "This is a supermarket not a playground", while doing my shopping today two groups of children were running around, one group was playing tag and the other group were playing hide and seek all of the children ranged in ages from 5 upwards. One of the children playing tag fell and hurt herself when she starting wailing her younger sister started wailing in sympathy.

Then there was the mother with her two "darlings" the older one pushing the trolley and drove it into her sister who started bawling, going around the shop walking 3 abreast expecting everyone to make way for them, when people moved aside for them there was not even an acknowledgement, let alone a word of thanks.

Then in another supermarket there was another group of children playing game of tag, and a child who brought his football with him and was kicking it around the supermarket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

KERSPLAT! wrote: »

Kersplat 1 Salmonella 0

That's EXACTLY what happens when you get Salmonella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Bitches Be Trypsin

I work with kids and all of them have been screaming all day and it's pissing me off :(

Also, another chest infection and I lost air for over a minute today and almost went into cardiac distress. Ffs :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I normally do my shopping in the evenings, when my eldest child is at her chosen activity, this gives me 1 and a half hours to do my shopping, I normally have my younger child with me. When people compliment him on his manners and behaviour, I always thought they were being kind, if not a little OTT, but after today I understand. My husband is on holidays so I did my shopping earlier in the day on my own.

I think supermarkets should put up huge signs "This is a supermarket not a playground", while doing my shopping today two groups of children were running around, one group was playing tag and the other group were playing hide and seek all of the children ranged in ages from 5 upwards. One of the children playing tag fell and hurt herself when she starting wailing her younger sister started wailing in sympathy.

Then there was the mother with her two "darlings" the older one pushing the trolley and drove it into her sister who started bawling, going around the shop walking 3 abreast expecting everyone to make way for them, when people moved aside for them there was not even an acknowledgement, let alone a word of thanks.

Then in another supermarket there was another group of children playing game of tag, and a child who brought his football with him and was kicking it around the supermarket
    Meh I've a no nonsense approach to free range kids in supermarkets. I'll stop my trolley twice if they run in front of me, but the third strike and they're out. I don't stop. They want to run in front of me with a trolley? It wouldn't cost me a thought to keep pushing it. I did it once a few years ago and the child looked so shocked he opened his mouth to cry and no sound came out he just scrunched up his face.

TA can't have wine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

This f*ckin ad about the last day of Máire's mortgage.

Any chance of a breakdown of exactly how much the house cost vs how much Máire actually paid to AIB over those years? Just to illustrate to cynical people like me how kind and helpful you were to this woman who wanted to put a roof over her kids heads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

I work with kids and all of them have been screaming all day and it's pissing me off :(

Also, another chest infection and I lost air for over a minute today and almost went into cardiac distress. Ffs :(

Hope you're ok! Sounds horrible and scary. If you haven't already then I'd get checked out if you're getting recurring chest infections. Look after yourself.

The whole frighten the life out of neurotics/anxious people in order to get them to buy all sorts of useless sh"to be safe". That latest Domestos ad is telling us once again how many germs there are and their new Domestos will kill more germs than ever before - well, Mr Domestos was telling precisely that to us back in 1987 (how could we ever forget the "Big Bad Dom" soundtrack)

Windows and doors. Same sh 6/7/8/9/10/11/12/13/14/16 (yes, 16!) whatever locks on a fúcking window and door - they'd like us all to feel like Jodie Foster in that film. I'm not expecting ten men to use chainsaws to smash into my house any day soon so I'd rather not spend thousands more getting 8 million superfluous locks "just to be safe".

There are an absolute shoad of businesses whose entire business model depends on creating fear. And they really are preying on people with anxiety disorders and other similar mental illnesses. They just mention fear/violence/attacks/crime in their spiel and anxious people feel they must buy it to be safe. Targetting people with mental illnesses - classy!

Oh yeah, and not forgetting child safety locks - just in case! - but do the bastards ever tell you what to do when, say, the child locks herself in the toilet and you have to go and rescue her by getting a tall ladder somewhere and climb up to be met with "child safety locks" and you have to tell the crying child inside that you can't get them out because the locks can't be removed by adults and then they roar the bejaysas out of the neighbourhood as they see you descend the ladder and leave them on their own? Of course not! (Thank God for a McGyver neighbour arriving on the scene and other neighbours gathering outside the window to sing to/encourage her as McGyver rescued her but that's for the tttmyh thread when I've recovered!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

Over the past few months someone has been illegal dumping their bags of rubbish in front of my house on the small green area my neighbour has had bags towed into her yard before and way worse stuff than just rubbish bags and last night I was out fixing my own bin by jumping into it and jumping up and down on the rubbish to get a few more bags in.

So I saw a woman walking up the road in her PJs from the terrace next to my house with a black bag, and I was just watching her see what she is going to do with it. She saw me and just dropped it in front of my neighbour's house on their green !!!!!. Then she just walked back up to her house !!!. I didn't say anything as you know try to not fight with your neighbours, but I have clearly found out who is doing it now and going to making a huge issue with the city council over it as I am sick of cleaning up the bin bags once they get broken open, and I should not have to do that at all pay for a bin like AHHHH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Getting caught looking your worst and having to chat.

Slightly hungover, I threw a jacket over my pyjama top, flung on some trackie bottoms and runners, didn't even run a comb through my hair, and walked over to the shop for milk this morning.

Of course I had to bump into three people I knew and they wanted the chats. I felt so self-conscious but like what were they doing in the shop at 7.30am?
    Only I have a valid reason; the milk was off and I was hungover and badly in need of tea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Standing at a packed gig in a tiny venue. Woman in front can't help herself, needs to flick her hair every five seconds into my face. And the lemmings with there fúcking phones filming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Sugarlumps wrote: »
    Standing at a packed gig in a tiny venue. Woman in front can't help herself, needs to flick her hair every five seconds into my face. And the lemmings with there fúcking phones filming.

I was at a gig a few months ago and I found it so sad that the majority of people were filming instead of living in the moment.
    You've paid enough to be there; why not put your phone away and actually enjoy the show?

TA'd that I'd bloody love some chocolate now but this is a healthy feckin house at the moment so all we have are protein balls...meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Rogueish

Banks!! Dealing with them is a headache. I understand that they have security protocols in place for a reason but when you are trying to get simple things done like cancel a card and find out has it been used since (on your own account) you'd swear you were trying to defraud the central bank of millions.

In another branch I've been trying to get through to someone regarding a time critical issue. It seems like they are on annual leave, nobody can tell me if they are on annual leave. They were supposed to call me two weeks ago regarding an inquiry with someone in a different area and higher up the food chain. I'm still waiting despite a number of phone calls and an email.

Give me strength!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Bitches Be Trypsin

Feeling so much better today, however I'm as TAd as ever because I'm annoyed at myself for eating a whole "sharing" chocolate bar.. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Is it possible to pick up a single paper clip without another 3 or 4 hanging on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Watching a film last nite where one woman says "she's disappeared "
    The guy responds "Disappeared, whaddya mean disappeared, nobody just disappears!"

Well they do actually, all the time.

Serves me right for watching ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,569 ✭✭✭Bredabe

In response to lots of children arriving hungry or hopped up on additives, my god son's daycare ran an evening session to help parents/guardians make smarter choices for their kids breakfasts. Aware that lots of ppl are on or follow various diets, they also thaugh ppl how to make porridge in the microwave.

TA the mum who said that this took too long, even tho it was proven that this method takes less time than it takes the kettle to boil. Continued to send her kids there hungry (as she cant seem to calculate how much vegan yogurt to buy). These parents are well off and well educated. :mad::(

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭nearzero

A girl with a very similar name to mine joined our office a few weeks back and since then, everyone keeps calling me her name... and then they get touchy when I correct them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

The ad on the telly for Boots with the song "I wish it could be Christmas every day" except the swapped the word Christmas for Summer. Highly irritating but also makes me wish it was Christmas. I love Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

I thanked a post on another thread and it's showing 2 thanks from me ...paranoid now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Justin Bieber has been banned from China due to his previous bad behaviour.
    But they let me in.
    TA that Justin Bieber is a bigger bad ass than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭saralou2011

Just been to a performance at my daughters summer camp, and more than trivially annoyed at ar$ehole parents who can't sit still for an hour. jumping up out of their seats every few minutes.
    Also when your precious little darling, has done her bit, stfu and have a bit of respect for the kiddies up on stage, and the others watching the performance and don't have a loud conversation with your friends.

The camp leaders, even had to shhh people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,004 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

All the fecking crumbs surrounding the toaster, the little drawer on the underneath just isn't doing it's job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

The Taste of Success!
    Roz Purcell AND Daithi O'Shea on the same program!
    Both taking through their holes.
    WTF were RTE thinking. A load of aul ****!