Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tina Satchwell missing in Cork (or Ireland)

That's the thing Gadgetman. A doubt has been sown as to whether she is dead or in fact alive and in hiding. This doubt may have delayed any search, as people adopt a wait and see attitude.

I think as this stage people should assume the worst and search accordingly. The idea she is in hiding has at this stage very little credibility I'm afraid. No-one would be happier if she turned up alive but at this stage its unlikely. But because of the doubt, its possible a widescale search has been delayed.

Have you been out searching yourself then have you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Have you been out searching yourself then have you.

Unfortunately I'm a long way from the area. If it was closer to home possibly but as part of a co-ordinated search. There are people far more professional at it than me.

Jesus it's great to hear there's anyone better at anything than you are. It's not something one would have picked up in the previous fifty pages of this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭mick_ser

Was reading about this over the weekend...Don't know what to make of it and I live quite close to the place was actually there last weekend for the festival... Very sad either way

Jesus it's great to hear there's anyone better at anything than you are. It's not something one would have picked up in the previous fifty pages of this thread.

We pay professionals including gardai to carry out searches like this. Its a simple concept. Its not my job to organise searches. It is theirs. Its called division of labour. And from what I am seeing they've been pretty hopeless organising anything in the way of a search. Which is why this case will likely never be solved. Its valid to ask questions of our police force, as it is of all institutions of the state.

(I've only posted on about 25 pages of this thread by the way :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Fantomas9mm

Body found in planned search in Dublin

Not sure if this is connected or not.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2017/0717/890944-coolmine-woods-blanchardstown/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,578 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Indo reporting woman's body found in Dublin on a planned search.

Can't link it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,892 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Indo reporting woman's body found in Dublin on a planned search.

Can't link it.

Its not related to this one though. Its a person from Blanch that was missing

Oh. Thanks. Her poor family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,369 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Were there any local searches carried out? Waste ground, woodlands. farmland outhouses, rivers, coastline etc.
    Doesn't look like it unless someone can suggest otherwise. Did the gardai even ask local farmers to examine their land?
    We pay professionals including gardai to carry out searches like this. Its a simple concept. Its not my job to organise searches. It is theirs. Its called division of labour. And from what I am seeing they've been pretty hopeless organising anything in the way of a search. Which is why this case will likely never be solved. Its valid to ask questions of our police force, as it is of all institutions of the state.

(I've only posted on about 25 pages of this thread by the way :D )
    25 pages of Bull posting with ZERO evidence except a wild walter mitty thought process.

Unless you have insider knowledge of the garda operation headed by two senior inspectors, maybe you should stop the surmising and sensationalist tabloidesque speculation.

To think that gardai will make public the inner operations of any investigation is just beyond belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,465 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Body found in planned search in Dublin

Not sure if this is connected or not.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2017/0717/890944-coolmine-woods-blanchardstown/

Probably not related to this case, but look at the time-frame (one month) and the fact that this poor unfortunate was found during a "Planned search"
    It is believed gardaí had been searching for 29-year-old Linda Christian, who had been reported missing last month, when they made the discovery.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭tara73

I don't go in line with the harshness and strictness of shurimgreats posts but I agree in so far as it should be legitimite to question the guards (or any state institutions) work. It's almost like breaking a taboo when questioning their work. Don't like that.
    Taboos are never good and they show something needs to be hidden, to cover up something..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,858 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

tara73 wrote: »
    I don't go in line with the harshness and strictness of shurimgreats posts but I agree in so far as it should be legitimite to question the guards (or any state institutions) work. It's almost like breaking a taboo when questioning their work. Don't like that.
    Taboos are never good and they show something needs to be hidden, to cover up something..

He/She has being told certain things such as the appeal on crimecall and them checking CCTV/etc but he won't accept it and keep asking about the same question!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭chickendinner

Hopefully with the good weather a lot of people will be out and about searching unbeknownst to themselves.

Pure speculation but 4 days and a profession of driving throughout country whilst living in close proximity to sea could make this an impossible case. The Graham Dwyer case was excellently handled by Detectives using mainly circumstantially evidence gathered through technology, whilst this case might undoubtedly have some of this, it will be near impossible to get a conviction without something solid.

I have no idea what happened to Tina.
    There was a case in the UK a nurse went missing and the police knew it was foul play.They never arrested the suspect but they kept it in the news. They followed the suspect and knew he was visiting a certain aware a lot and he eventually lead them to the grave.
    The police could have taken the suspect into custody months before they did but that would have achieved nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭fepper

Hopefully with the good weather a lot of people will be out and about searching unbeknownst to themselves.

Pure speculation but 4 days and a profession of driving throughout country whilst living in close proximity to sea could make this an impossible case. The Graham Dwyer case was excellently handled by Detectives using mainly circumstantially evidence gathered through technology, whilst this case might undoubtedly have some of this, it will be near impossible to get a conviction without something solid.

The phone was critical in that case but everyone knows now that it can pinpoint you to the nearest mast at some stage of her "holiday" ,so it cant be coincidental that she left the phone given its powerful tracking information( if ever she needed her phone it was on this occasion as she was away from home),she could be in Donegal or in the lakes of Killarney with the opportunity that his driving job carried him to a lot of destinations in this country,he said in one of interviews that he was up in Sligo on deliveries and telling the man of the house his story,this was very well planned out with The chances of never seeing her again very probable

He/She has being told certain things such as the appeal on crimecall and them checking CCTV/etc but he won't accept it and keep asking about the same question!

Your post is wrong on a number of points. Unsurprising really as its par for the course on this thread.

Ceilingfly attacks anyone who engages in mild speculation yet goes off on extreme tangents himself about how the body could have been washed out to sea. Hypocritical.

If someone like me addresses direct interviews with the husband, they are asked not to believe what is in the media. The media are just reporting the man's words, not inventing them. Yet we get a foaming at the mouth reaction from ceilingfly if anyone attempts to deal with what the husband says

Such posters are immature at best, of the tin foil hat brigade at worst. I try to ignore them.

As regards the gardai, any evidence yet of a planned widescale search of the surrounding areas? This is a legitimate question. I don't expect an answer on here though, just more of the usual childish attacking the poster rather than dealing with legitimate questions.

I have no idea what happened to Tina.
    There was a case in the UK a nurse went missing and the police knew it was foul play.They never arrested the suspect but they kept it in the news. They followed the suspect and knew he was visiting a certain aware a lot and he eventually lead them to the grave.
    The police could have taken the suspect into custody months before they did but that would have achieved nothing!

All these cases you refer to are in the UK. There are dozens of similar cases in Ireland where no body has been found and no suspect arrested or charged. Time to ask legitimate questions. Why have the cops success in the UK with missing persons but not in Ireland? Again a legitimate question, but again I expect the usual reaction from the usual posters, some guff about operation issues, unwilling to share information and the like which appears to be code for "we haven't a clue".

Your post is wrong on a number of points. Unsurprising really as its par for the course on this thread.

Explain how?
    A reconstruction aired on Crimecall.
    Did you see it? Please not it's not online. Only part of the video is on youtube
    Her last movements were meant to have being in her house on the morning.
    The Gardai said they viewed CCTV in Youghal and at checked at ports and airports and have no sightings of her.
    The husband said the Gardai asked him when she was reported missing had he anything to do with his wife's disappearance and he replied No.

All these cases you refer to are in the UK. There are dozens of similar cases in Ireland where no body has been found and no suspect arrested or charged. Time to ask legitimate questions. Why have the cops success in the UK with missing persons but not in Ireland? Again a legitimate question, but again I expect the usual reaction from the usual posters, some guff about operation issues, unwilling to share information and the like which appears to be code for "we haven't a clue".

Their are lots of missing persons cases in the UK that cops don't solve but they don't feature heavily on the news.
    I follow missing persons big time. I find them really interesting.
    Do you follow missing person cases in the Uk or just the one's with links to Ireland?

Your

As regards the gardai, any evidence yet of a planned widescale search of the surrounding areas? This is a legitimate question. I don't expect an answer on here though, just more of the usual childish attacking the poster rather than dealing with legitimate questions.
    maybe the thinking behind not having a wide scale search on surrounding areas is based on what their thinking on her disappearance and they could be following a different line of investigation not necessarily the reported missing persons case,ie they have been cases where someone with dementia/Alzheimer's go missing from home/nursing home and for sure surrounding areas will be searched as the circumstances are more certain

Look, this is my last post on this as its becoming a bit circular and I feel I am banging my head against a brick wall with some posters.

The gardai need to try everything to come to a resolution on this. So far to my eyes, they have been lax and slow. Speed of investigation is usually critical in either finding someone or else preserving or capturing evidence that will be potentially used in a court case.

There is no reason with the right approach and significant resources they cannot crack this. These resources include sniffer dogs, cadaver dogs, widescale searches of land and coastal areas, asking farmers to search their properties thoroughly. A cadaver dog should be able to tell if something is amiss in a house or the boot of a car. If the dog turns nothing up, great, move on to the next step.

Most of all communication with the public is key and also letting them know if progress is made. This helps people including the public focus attention where it needs to be. It doesn't have to be specific information, just general information, eg a sighting of the person in a particular town, or a witness to suspicious activity somewhere. It may also put pressure on a perpetrator to own up to their crime if a crime has indeed taken place, if they know the net is tightening.

I hope this woman is found alive, but for me its unlikely. I hope the gardai carry out a proper investigation and get enough evidence to secure a conviction if something criminal happened. Either way I hope they find her.

And that's me done with this thread.

Look, this is my last post on this as its becoming a bit circular and I feel I am banging my head against a brick wall with some posters.

The gardai need to try everything to come to a resolution on this. So far to my eyes, they have been lax and slow. Speed of investigation is usually critical in either finding someone or else preserving or capturing evidence that will be potentially used in a court case.

There is no reason with the right approach and significant resources they cannot crack this. These resources include sniffer dogs, cadaver dogs, widescale searches of land and coastal areas, asking farmers to search their properties thoroughly. A cadaver dog should be able to tell if something is amiss in a house or the boot of a car. If the dog turns nothing up, great, move on to the next step.

Most of all communication with the public is key and also letting them know if progress is made. This helps people including the public focus attention where it needs to be. It doesn't have to be specific information, just general information, eg a sighting of the person in a particular town, or a witness to suspicious activity somewhere. It may also put pressure on a perpetrator to own up to their crime if a crime has indeed taken place.

I hope this woman is found alive, but for me its unlikely. I hope the gardai carry out a proper investigation and get enough evidence to secure a conviction if something criminal happened. Either way I hope they find her.

They could know what happened or at least have an idea and are diligently working in the background building a case for the DPP.

Not disagreeing with you. Just saying. :)

Most of all communication with the public is key and also letting them know if progress is made. This helps people including the public focus attention where it needs to be. It doesn't have to be specific information, just general information, eg a sighting of the person in a particular town, or a witness to suspicious activity somewhere. It may also put pressure on a perpetrator to own up to their crime if a crime has indeed taken place.

If Leo varadkar went missing under those circumstances,he'd get all that attention

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,369 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Just in case you didn't read this before

Over FIFTEEN THOUSAND people go missing in the UK EVERY YEAR without any contact being made.

In Ireland its less than 300.

So taking that UK has 14 times population of Ireland, their record in comparison to Ireland's is utterly appalling.

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Just in case you didn't read this before

Over FIFTEEN THOUSAND people go missing in the UK EVERY YEAR without any contact being made.

In Ireland its less than 300.

So taking that UK has 14 times population of Ireland, their record in comparison to Ireland's is utterly appalling.

Some people wear rose tinted glasses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 422 ✭✭qhe0i9zvfgdou8

CeilingFly wrote:
    I would agree with you that it is likely that she is not alive but the most plausible reason is suicide in the sea based on weather and tidal conditions from the 20th - 24th March pushing the body well out of reach of being found.

If he had nothing to do with her disappearance he wouldn't have had had to come up with the ridiculous suitcase and 26k story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

But what if the cases were found before her? Would it, could it, give the Guards some sense of the direction she went in, if she did in fact go somewhere as opposed to being brought somewhere?

What cases exactly? The imaginary ones.

The only person fabricating anything about cases is the husband.

For all anyone knows, they're just a figment of his imagination. Props in the story.
    No one took an inventory of the house before she disappeared, therefore they are irrelevant to the discussion. A distraction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,465 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

dense wrote: »
    What cases exactly? The imaginary ones.

The only person fabricating anything about cases is the husband.

For all anyone knows, they're just a figment of his imagination. Props in the story.
    No one took an inventory of the house before she disappeared, therefore they are irrelevant to the discussion. A distraction.

As much as I or anyone else here can't be sure those cases existed, you can't be sure they did not.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

As much as I or anyone else here can't be sure those cases existed, you can't be sure they did not.

Well there's no evidence that they ever existed.
    We are being asked by him to believe they did.
    Sure, of course they might have, but to actually believe that, we must trust the person telling us.
    Should we trust him? Why? Can you vouch for him?

Why would anyone believe something coming from some random person they don't know?

That's not to say I think he did anything, just making a point about not accepting anything that can't be verified.