Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OnePlus 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Very happy so far ! Few differences to get used to be very happy

Anyone using it on 3 network getting the unable to set up messages ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭pandabat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭Phonehead

pandabat wrote: »

Looks to me like they were pretty eager to give oneplus 5 the vote anywhere it performed ok. The colour accuracy the 1+ trails HTC and LG, I'd give the win to HTC, no way it's a 3 way tie.

The culmination test is a strange one, if you ask me the 1+ is just dark and blurry.

Portrait, they all have clear deficiencies, ya I'd probably give it to the 1+ but boy has it done a really poor job with the eyes.

I dunno about that. It only wins 2.5 of the tests and does also get criticism, e.g. "OnePlus’s processing makes things look terribly muddy in some places". I think that everyone's going to see something different in the images based on the fact that people will have different requirements and preferences in imaging. I think what is important is that it doesn't embarrass itself and gives a balanced performance against the competition. It's not the best out there but it's by no means a bad camera.

Agree it's not a terrible camera but they have it HTC 4 wins 1+ 3 and the Sammy and LG 1 each. Personally I think there's no way it deserves it's shared win so that's 2 and then on the Culmination it's not as good as the HTC. That's why I'm saying they were looking to score the 1+ in places where it wasn't awful and was close to the HTC.

Oh HTC wins overall, I would say. I suppose it's all compromises in some way. I was recently comparing the S7 camera to the OP5 and find that, while the S7 caught more detail further away, it tended to blow out some detail closer up that the OP5. Clouds in skies tended to have better contrast on the OP5 also. It'll depend what someone is looking for or how they define a "win" in various categories so it's very subject to subjectivities :)

Those of us stuck with an awful iPhone camera will happily take any of those tested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Uncle Mclovin

Is there anyway to quickly move to the top of a page?

On iPhone you just tapped the top right of the screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Is there anyway to quickly move to the top of a page?

On iPhone you just tapped the top right of the screen.

It's one feature I still miss from my iPhone 4, years on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭budgemook

budgemook wrote: »
    Just ordered this one - https://www.casefanatic.com/oneplus/case-oneplus-5-electroplated-transparent-clear-silicone-tpu-cover/

Works out cheaper with postage and was recommended on one of the YouTube reviews.
    Benzino wrote: »
    Thinking about getting that one myself, can you let me your thoughts on it when you get it?

This arrived on Friday so took about 2 weeks. The packaging is ridiculous. There's a cardboard sleeve, a plastic case, a fabric bag and then the case! Awful waste.

The case itself is good. Fits well, volume and power buttons work okay, feels fine in the hand and doesn't add too much bulk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭Benzino

This arrived on Friday so took about 2 weeks. The packaging is ridiculous. There's a cardboard sleeve, a plastic case, a fabric bag and then the case! Awful waste.

The case itself is good. Fits well, volume and power buttons work okay, feels fine in the hand and doesn't add too much bulk.

Ah good to hear, you never know what you are going to get with these types of cases. Think I will pick one up myself. Cheers!

Actually one criticism is that it's tricky to get at the alert slider with one hand so if you like to move that in your pocket or something like that then you might find it tricky to continue to do so.

I've the bumper case from One Plus and it's the exact same, you have to basically use your nail to move it.

I don't remember it being as annoying on my OnePlus X though. TBH after a couple of hours of using this one I can say I preferred the OnePlus X case. I might just need some time to get used to it though.

I can't compare as I'm coming from the One Plus one, but I do find it a bit annoying myself. Although I don't use the regularly slider enough for it to be a deal breaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Got my Orzly leather case and clear gel bumper from Amazon today.
    Pretty happy with both of them now.
    The bumper is minimalist, adds no noticeable bulk.
    The case is grand and tight and handy for watching vids in landscape mode :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,512 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

I am seriously impressed with the battery life on the OP5.

I'm currently at 4% remaining after taking the phone off charge 15 hours ago (I did pop it on charge for 5 minutes on my drive home from work). Total screen on time of 7 hours 49 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭Irish Gunner

Ok have the phone a while now, coming from a OP1, and impressed with the battery lasts a full day and then some.
    However the adds are beginning to annoy me and looking at Rooting it. Saw the users guide over on XDA and also some ROM's. However some of these roms don't have root when there are updates. Also not sure if OTA updates can be done when rooted? Was looking at the resurrection remix as used this on OP1 but this is not rooted with updates
    So anyone rooted and use a Custom ROM or is it wait a while for more to come along

What ads are you referring to as a matter of interest? Not sure I've noticed any outside of those in free ad-sponsored apps but maybe the ROMS you're talkign about block those? I dunno? Never did any custom ROM flashing

pandabat wrote: »
    What ads are you referring to as a matter of interest? Not sure I've noticed any outside of those in free ad-sponsored apps but maybe the ROMS you're talkign about block those? I dunno? Never did any custom ROM flashing
    I use AdAway etc and its the adds on websites that it removes that take longer to load. Also gives me the option of installing Titanium so I can remove some unwanted apps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭coldfire1x

Try adgurd. You can get a free one year license.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057764291

Also try using Brave browser. It blocks all the ads. Opera does some ad blocking as well.

coldfire1x wrote: »
    Try adgurd. You can get a free one year license.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057764291

Also try using Brave browser. It blocks all the ads. Opera does some ad blocking as well.
    Using Brave at the moment and also using Dolphin. Also want to get rid of some of those Google preinstalled apps I don't use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

I remember a user was asking about a transparent dock before.
    This new launcher called LawnChair (:D) has that option, if you still need it.

The link is in the description of the video, it's not the one on the play store, that looks like an old project that someone has abandoned!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Soccarboy11

marcbrophy wrote: »
    Got my Orzly leather case and clear gel bumper from Amazon today.
    Pretty happy with both of them now.
    The bumper is minimalist, adds no noticeable bulk.
    The case is grand and tight and handy for watching vids in landscape mode :)

Using the orzly leather cover too. Working great for my needs! Love the stand part aswell! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

marcbrophy wrote: »
    I remember a user was asking about a transparent dock before.
    This new launcher called LawnChair (:D) has that option, if you still need it.

The link is in the description of the video, it's not the one on the play store, that looks like an old project that someone has abandoned!!

Love it. Had been using another pixel launcher I got from Xda but this is much better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

Love it. Had been using another pixel launcher I got from Xda but this is much better

Just got it up and running and it's very nice.

I'm missing the options for the groups that nova has though. Swipe up to launch first app mainly.

Unless I'm missing something and it is there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

corwill wrote: »

The same is happening to some people's samsungs and asus zenphones too.

One more reason to wish Google Dialer was available in the Play store and omni-compatible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭sublime1

Hi lads

sorry if this has been asked before, but I tried searching, and don't really fancy wading through 60 pages.

Where have ye been ordering your phones from? Are there any Irish based companies selling them (VAT registered preferably), or even just EU?

thanks