Model catches guy making cruel jokes about her weight during flight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Burial. wrote: »
    I had an eating disorder when I was younger. Hated food and would starve myself if I ever binged. I wasn't anorexic but I was a stick.

So does she evidently, just the complete opposite to what you struggled with. That's what a lot of people don't understand and that's where the vitriol stems from.

We hug the severely underweight and hang the severely overweight, even when it's clear that both have major problems relating to how they view themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,207 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

VonLuck wrote: »
    An inspiration for what exactly?

Heart disease

seriously, how is she a model in any way shape or form? plus size is not supersize.
    It's either a set-up publicity stunt or an opportunity seized upon by her just to create one. She probably gets that reaction a lot because she is abnormally obese and is on the lookout for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 ThePantyChrist

Ah lads, would ye not let her have the 15 minutes of fame? She'll be dead soon.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

"I work out five times a week". Eh... at what? "My body is none of your business". Yep, that's fairly accurate. So long as she wasn't impinging on his space(which apparently she wasn't). "I'm healthy"? Get up the yard love, you're talking nonsense.

Was yer man being a dick? Hell yes he was, but she's not "plus sized", she's astronomically, farcically fat and that should not be "celebrated". Certainly not because fashion marketeers have spotted a huge(no pun) segment of the market that is as fat as her and will ring the greasy till even more because they've transmogrified "fat" into "plus sized real women". And she's enabling and making money from that? G'way and sh1te.

Empathised with, yes. Helped, yes. Not publicly derided, most certainly, but not celebrated as somehow the new normal and that it is OK to be this metabolically screwed up. We certainly wouldn't celebrate anorexics, well outside of some Parisian catwalks, which is equally bloody horrific.

Real People. Earlier.

299f51d.jpg

808d2760f00938af36464a1c673f8368.jpg

NOT.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Americans isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,084 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

I wouldnt give a toss if she kept to herself. Eat your way to a heart attack, be my guest, you're doing humanity a service.

And because she's American, that's true - the government there doesn't pay for her healthcare.

But in civilised countries with socialised medicine, I do care about obesity. And alcoholism, and smoking - and all behaviours which push up the cost of healthcare, because the taxpayer is paying for their consequences.

Now I wouldn't call this out to someone's face, especially not in public. But I can damn well text what I want to whoever I want - and as a society we should be making this kind of anti-social behaviour unacceptable.

(And I'm saying that at someone who is obese: the funny bit is that most people will try to tell me that I'm not - that's how screwed our perception of healthy body-weight is already.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Hammer89 wrote: »
    So does she evidently, just the complete opposite to what you struggled with. That's what a lot of people don't understand and that's where the vitriol stems from.

We hug the severely underweight and hang the severely overweight, even when it's clear that both have major problems relating to how they view themselves.

Na anorexic people have never been given this treatment. Remember the days when Nicole Richie was like a skeleton? She was shamed non stop. I've never seen people celebrate anorexia like these body acceptance cults celebrate obesity.

As I said, I'm all for helping people get better in whatever it is, but when you draw the line and start to push your bad health habits onto others then that's where I have to draw my line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Omackeral wrote: »
    I'm sure you're like a Greek god/goddess. I mean you can comment all you want and criticise but all that sh1te about fabric for the couch and armchairs is OTT.

Maybe he's not but there's a fairly solid range between looking like a GreeK God and looking like Mount f**king Olympus that doesn't disbar you from observing that someone needs to put the ****ing fork down

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Bambi wrote: »
    Maybe he's not but there's a fairly solid range between looking like a GreeK God and looking like Mount f**king Olympus that doesn't disbar you from observing that someone needs to put the ****ing fork down
    Quoted for truth.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

I think what she did was pretty courageous. It's easy to be cynical and say she only did it for fame, but it's speculative. Fact is, she confronted an arsehole and made him look like the small man he is.

No she was acting the cunt. She mentions being a "model" and having a lot of followers on social media. She then uses this as leverage to humiliate a man who was not trying to humiliate her.

Fair enough, he might have been texting not so nice things about her but that was a private conversation and he didn't appear to have purposely tried to intimidate or upset her. He apparently didn't even mean for her to see it and he didn't appear to know her - was just making light of the fact (no pun intended) that a humongous elephant of a bint had been plonked beside him on the airplane seat. So now we're not even allowed to have negative thoughts about people or situations?

She used her position to bully and harass him.

Quoted for fantastic simile

That's fine and they should change their lifestyle but likening someone to furniture is a bit much is all I'm saying. No need to dehumanise people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

People are missing the point. He did not know that she was a spokesperson for big people when he was slagging her off.

As far as he was concerned, he was having a cheap laugh at someone further down the food chain than himself. That's sly bullying. It's not ok to do that.

anewme wrote: »
    People are missing the point. He did not know that she was a spokesperson for big people when he was slagging her off.

As far as he was concerned, he was having a cheap laugh at someone further down the food chain than himself. That's sly bullying. It's not ok to do that.

Ah now in fairness, I'd say she positions herself at the front of every food chain going by the looks of her

He wasn't bullying her. He was sending a private text to someone else. Nothing to do with her. If she'd have minded her own business instead of looking around to check whether that was a phone or a Mars Bar in your mans hand, she wouldn't have been upset

What makes her "spokesperson for big people"? Just the fact that she's a loud and overweight? Was there a competitive selection process for the position?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Why is this news worthy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I'm sure you're like a Greek god/goddess. I mean you can comment all you want and criticise but all that sh1te about fabric for the couch and armchairs is OTT.

I thought it was pretty funny. Would be better as curtains though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

How can it be bullying when he didn't interact with her at all or make any effort to communicate with her?

Na anorexic people have never been given this treatment. Remember the days when Nicole Richie was like a skeleton? She was shamed non stop. I've never seen people celebrate anorexia like these body acceptance cults celebrate obesity.

As I said, I'm all for helping people get better in whatever it is, but when you draw the line and start to push your bad health habits onto others then that's where I have to draw my line.

She's not influencing anybody mate. Nobody's going to consume 4,000 calories a day for the next five years in a bid to become like this lady, in the same way people copy David Beckham's haircuts. Obese will never be en vogue.

He wasn't bullying her. He was sending a private text to someone else. Nothing to do with her. If she'd have minded her own business...

See that's a great point.

...instead of looking around to check whether that was a phone or a Mars Bar in your mans hand, she wouldn't have been upset.

And then this needlessness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

What a fcuking whale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,720 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

anewme wrote: »

Oh give over. He was having a private conversation which was none of her business. He didn't say anything to her to make her feel bad about her weight or intimidate her. Go and sit beside an obese person on a flight and come back to us, it's not remotely comfortable.

Ah now in fairness, I'd say she positions herself at the front of every food chain going by the looks of her

He wasn't bullying her. He was sending a private text to someone else. Nothing to do with her. If she'd have minded her own business instead of looking around to check whether that was a phone or a Mars Bar in your mans hand, she wouldn't have been upset

She also said when she went to sit down that he started huffing and puffing and sighing and tutting and banging and clattering making it clear he did not want her beside him.

Passive aggressive behaviour.

He was trying to belittle a stranger to make himself feel good.

Not ok.

See that's a great point.

And then this needlessness.

Granted a little irreverent but then she's th e one publicising it and pushing it and posting photos of herself. So I reckon she's fair game and bringing it on herself.

She's the one apparently making a living out of her "looks". If you want to make a living out of something, then it's more business than personal to criticize

"Plus sized" me hole.

She's not influencing anybody mate. Nobody's going to consume 4,000 calories a day for the next five years in a bid to become like this lady, in the same way people copy David Beckham's haircuts. Obese will never be en vogue.

100k+ followers on Instagram. Part of "Eff Your Beauty Standards" which has over 350k followers on Instagram. She's definitely influencing some people.

The fact plus sized models is a thing shows this sort of thing is becoming the norm. It's mind boggling to me but that's sadly the way the world is going...and it'll be these same women who'll be complaining why they can't get a man and spew the feminism nonsense.

I bet that she is a woeful airplane armrest-hogger also. probably just to make a point and spill her fat into his seat.

What a fcuking whale

Apt username. :pac:

Would you have her PM you nudes?

fullstop wrote: »
    Oh give over. He was having a private conversation which was none of her business. He didn't say anything to her to make her feel bad about her weight or intimidate her. Go and sit beside an obese person on a flight and come back to us, it's not remotely comfortable.

Sorry but he made it clear he did not want her there from the get go.

Huffing and puffing and slamming his seat belt.

Shes clarified she did not affect his flight in any way (apart from him hogging the whole arm rest) so what's the problem?

Apt username.

The same could be said about you if we're honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

Apt username. :pac:

Would you have her PM you nudes?

I'd rather never be sent a nude ever again