Model catches guy making cruel jokes about her weight during flight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    She was probably spilling over into his seat, he got pissed off.

When she spoke to him, she made it clear that she did not spill over in any way into his seat and he did not disagree, in fact I think she said he hogged the armrest with his elbows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Omackeral wrote: »
    I'm sure you're like a Greek god/goddess. I mean you can comment all you want and criticise but all that sh1te about fabric for the couch and armchairs is OTT.

Yeah, might be better suited for the bathroom curtains

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Hammer89 wrote: »
    I think what she did was pretty courageous. It's easy to be cynical and say she only did it for fame, but it's speculative. Fact is, she confronted an arsehole and made him look like the small man he is.

She'd no business looking at his phone to begin with.

Her looks are irelevant (some very unnecessary comments here aswel)

....I sure as fcuk don't want to know what peoples i sit beside think of me and wouldn't go hawking at their phone to read private msgs

Short answer, it's none of her business what he texts about her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,720 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

anewme wrote: »
    Who do you mean by 'people'.? It's no ones business how many cakes she eats. Certainly not a strangers.

He was a passive aggressive bully. He must have left his phone in view if her if she was able to see it. People who bitch about other people rarely come to any good. She was very articulate in the way she confronted him.

He was trying to belittle her and it backfired on him.

Well it's certainly his business if she's spilling over the armrest into his space, which she most likely was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭daheff

I think what she did was pretty courageous. It's easy to be cynical and say she only did it for fame, but it's speculative. Fact is, she confronted an arsehole and made him look like the small man he is.

Yes she made him look like a small man.... You know why? Cos she's HUGE!

Plus sized model is code for obese.

If she'd minded her own damn business and not been nosy to look at his private phone she wouldn't have had reason to be outraged & upset.

I reckon he's got an invasion of privacy lawsuit to issue against her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

She'd no business looking at his phone to begin with.

If someone made it clear that they were unhappy being sat next to you, would you not be the slightest bit curious to know if they were then texting about you? I would. If she had reason to believe the texts were about her, which they were, then it is her business isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭daheff

If someone made it clear that they were unhappy being sat next to you, would you not be the slightest bit curious to know if they were then texting about you? I would. If she had reason to believe the texts were about her then it is her business isn't it.

Curiosity and invasion of privacy are two different things. She had no right to read what he put into a private message on his phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

I'm going to play devil's advocate here.

This Nathalie wan is a narcissistic twat who needs to get on the salads. I demand that the world find me attractive, think that I'm a model and bend to my will because I special snowflake and I beautiful and I deserve a six foot five billionaire because I perfect. But when some drunken asshole on a plane bursts her bubble, you either double down further into your little pond or you listen to what reality is telling you.

That plane journey could be the greatest day of Miss Nathalie's life.

Or it could be just another excuse to crack open the Ben and Jerries.

latest?cb=20140806104306

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,286 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I know people who are over weight and their comfortable and happy with their weight. They know is might no be ideal but it doesn't really bother them. The people I know who would have reacted similar to this woman are generally unhappy with their weight in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Well the guy certainly is a dick but who knows to what extent a dick he is. It looks like he was having a 'private chat' rather than posting comments on social media. I would be very concerned if what one can say in a private message no matter what the content could be subjected to interrogation and possible action by the law.

Although yes she handled him very well that doesn't mean she has some right to look at anyone's smartphone. Also if she is part of this 'fat is beautiful and OK' movement in the states I wouldn't feel too much sympathy for her. Totally against any kind of body-shaming, it's vile and hurtful, but I'm totally against this idea that one can be obese and fit/healthy/beautiful at the same time. It's ridiculous.

In fairness, I'm overweight at about 17-18st most of the time. I'm big (albeit not as big as her). However I'm also physically fit-ish.

I have the ability to run a 10k, and to lift my bodyweight in a squat/deadlift. However, I wouldn't imagine she could do any kind of running, based entirely on the shape of her body. Also, considering the enormous calorie intake that would be required to maintain her size, I genuinely don't think she would be overly healthy in the grand scheme of things (you either have to eat a lot of healthy foods to get to that size, or not as many unhealthy, calorie-laden foods).

That said, on one hand, I would never comment on someone's weight as I find that generally people are aware they're overweight and don't need to be told. I have had negative comments for no apparent reason. I do think 'body shaming' is a thing, although I do hate the term 'body shaming' in the first place. Anything 'shaming' is usually said by a moron.

On the other hand, however, she is making a concerted effort to put herself out there as being a good shape and size, and because of that, although I don't endorse any cruelty, I do think it's fair to make a comment about her weight, as she is clearly inviting it on herself. Any model will have to learn to live with that. That's the job.

I don't have any issue with bigger people. You can be 50 stone for all i care. I do, however, have an issue, even as a fat bastard myself, with someone of that size being promoted as healthy and acceptable. I would even guess that she is too big to do basic day-to-day things, like picking things up from the ground, running up a flight of stairs or comfortably driving a car (although I could well be wrong, of course.. she does claim that she works out 5 times a week..?).

If someone made it clear that they were unhappy being sat next to you, would you not be the slightest bit curious to know if they were then texting about you? I would. If she had reason to believe the texts were about her, which they were, then it is her business isn't it.

No it isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

fullstop wrote: »
    Well it's certainly his business if she's spilling over the armrest into his space, which she most likely was.

If you listen to the exchange said when she spoke to him she told him he was the one hogging the armrest and she did not infringe in his personal space at all.

She made that very clear and he did not disagree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

If someone made it clear that they were unhappy being sat next to you, would you not be the slightest bit curious to know if they were then texting about you? I would. If she had reason to believe the texts were about her then it is her business isn't it.

I would
    But Ivery enough cop on not to be going reading someone else's messages

When did reading other people's private nessages/conversations become a socially acceptable thing?

*this shouldn't be taken as agreeing with your man/some very weak attempts at humour on this thread either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

The comments here are unbelievable. Obviously posters here haven't been on the receiving end of nasty remarks ever.

anewme wrote: »
    If you listen to the exchange said when she spoke to him she told him he was the one hogging the armrest and she did not infringe in his personal space at all.

She made that very clear and he did not disagree.

Unless they are special seats, and if so I stand corrected but given her size I think it's physically impossible for her not to be spilling over into his space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭VonLuck

The comments here are unbelievable. Obviously posters here haven't been on the receiving end of nasty remarks ever.

The point is that she wasn't on the receiving end! She was intruding on someones private conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

I think most posters here have a thick skin and don't get worried about what other people think of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,286 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

jamesbere wrote: »
    I think most posters here have a thick skin and don't get worried about what other people think of them

I don't get into a flap about when people make comments.
    I'm a short man. If somebody makes a comment about my height it's the truth!

I wouldnt give a toss if she kept to herself. Eat your way to a heart attack, be my guest, you're doing humanity a service. But when you endorse such a horrible lifestyle and make it seem okay then I've a massive issue with it. Obesity is a staggering problem in first world countries and clowns like this are only making it worse.

I had an eating disorder when I was younger. Hated food and would starve myself if I ever binged. I wasn't anorexic but I was a stick. I thankfully got over it. I got some nasty comments but looking back it's probably what. I needed. I was living an awful life. You don't see people coming out and celebrating anorexic people and encouraging them to live like that. Why are fat people been given a pass and allowed to say obesity is beautiful and normal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭sword1

It's a publicity stunt and may be staged, he was turning away from her so she couldn't see what he was texting but she was able to take photos of what he was texting without him noticing, had she a dashcam on her forehead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

I'm going to play devil's advocate here.

This Nathalie wan is a narcissistic twat who needs to get on the salads. I demand that the world find me attractive, think that I'm a model and bend to my will because I special snowflake and I beautiful and I deserve a six foot five billionaire because I perfect. But when some drunken asshole on a plane bursts her bubble, you either double down further into your little pond or you listen to what reality is telling you.

That plane journey could be the greatest day of Miss Nathalie's life.

Or it could be just another excuse to crack open the Ben and Jerries.

latest?cb=20140806104306

Um....think you forgot the devil's advocate bit there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,207 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

While highlighting the big woman she is

She's an inspiration I think

Um....think you forgot the devil's advocate bit there.

lawred2 wrote: »
    While highlighting the big woman she is

She's an inspiration I think

An inspiration for what exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭messy tessy

Burial. wrote: »
    Eat your way to a heart attack, be my guest, you're doing humanity a service.

Why are fat people been given a pass and allowed to say obesity is beautiful and normal?

I definitely don't think you are giving 'fat people' a pass here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,207 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

AllForIt wrote: »
    Well the guy certainly is a dick but who knows to what extent a dick he is. It looks like he was having a 'private chat' rather than posting comments on social media. I would be very concerned if what one can say in a private message no matter what the content could be subjected to interrogation and possible action by the law.

Although yes she handled him very well that doesn't mean she has some right to look at anyone's smartphone. Also if she is part of this 'fat is beautiful and OK' movement in the states I wouldn't feel too much sympathy for her. Totally against any kind of body-shaming, it's vile and hurtful, but I'm totally against this idea that one can be obese and fit/healthy/beautiful at the same time. It's ridiculous.

How did she handle him very well when the essence of this handling was based upon reading his personal conversations...

You even say it yourself.

:/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

I definitely don't think you are giving 'fat people' a pass here.

Damn right I'm not giving them a pass. Same way I don't give crack addicts a pass. Do the right thing, try your best to get help and get over it...Im all for getting on board. But as soon as you decide you want to brainwash people into thinking the way you live is healthy and beautiful then I've got a problem. I'm smart enough not to fall for the nonsense and I've the balls to call them out on their bullsh*t but others aren't clearly.