Most backward county in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭marcus001

Oh yeah, everyone else in the country gets their full social welfare and tax issues sorted on time all the time. Seriously now, have you ever looked for arrears from the Dept of Social Protection? Tell us all, how long did it take?

Mate of mine just got it back within a week or two as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Here in Kerry, we make zero apologies for having public reps who represent the public. I don't vote for them, but you want anything done here, you want your social welfare issue sorted, you want the revenue to sort your rebate, you want that passport back in a week, they get it done. That's not backwards at all, and if you think it is, you simply don't understand politics in Ireland. They didn't make the system.
    Its not like we have a civil service to do all that stuff ffs

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Possibly.

I presume you've never been broke, waiting for a decision from the Dept of Social Protection, particularly say an appeal against a non payment. It's very simple around here. You can wait the months and months it normally takes. Or you can get on to the Healy Raes and have it addressed in a few days. I know of people in desperate situations that they've sorted.

Do you actually think that's unhealthier than, say, SF's links to Garda killers and child abusers, FF and FG's relationship with bankers or Denis O'Brien?

The system is broken in the first place.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

But you have Tory Island. The most backwards place in Ireland. Are you saying it's an anomaly?
    Tory is like it's own little country, even has a King. In what way did you find it conservative. It certainly isn't sexually conservative.

diomed wrote: »
    Sligo, meaning "abounding in shells" or "shelly place" gets my vote.
    Sligo has Sligo town, which is a fairly nice town, aesthetically speaking anyway. I've always found the people to be extremely polite too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,520 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Tory is like it's own little country, even has a King. In what way did you find it conservative. It certainly isn't sexually conservative.

Since when does backward only mean conservative?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Here in Kerry, we make zero apologies for having public reps who represent the public. I don't vote for them, but you want anything done here, you want your social welfare issue sorted, you want the revenue to sort your rebate, you want that passport back in a week, they get it done. That's not backwards at all, and if you think it is, you simply don't understand politics in Ireland. They didn't make the system.

you want your passport back in a week? Why go to the Healy-Raes.......

......just do it yourself.......had mine within the week using this service......

https://www.dfa.ie/passportonline/

NIMAN wrote: »
    They also think its grand to drink and drive.....says a lot about them imho.

And that God is in charge of the weather.

And that Noah's Ark actually existed.

I rest my case.

.....and don't forget that eagles steal babies according to Danny ;)

Just like it seems like it's stuck in a time warp. The towns look very run down with shops and pubs badly in need of a lick of paint. Doesn't look like there's been any inward investment for at least ten years. It really looks economically depressed. I thought that Donegal was bad, the forgotten county and all that, but down here really needs help.

i also thought that Donegal was bad for public transport, but at least we have lots of private bus companies that take over the role of Bus Eireann. No such service is in place in the area of Roscommon that I'm living in. People seem nice, but they seem fairly blunt compared to other areas I've been in.

Also in Donegal we've a traditional music scene (Clannad, Enya, Moya Brennan) in addition to that God awful country and trad ****e like Daniel O'Donnell and Nathan Carter. Down here country music is big, which rightly or wrongly, I've always considered old fashioned. Not many nightclubs for the younger people to go to either.

CiniO "What do you mean by county being backwards?
    Any examples?"
    Just like it seems like it's stuck in a time warp. The towns look very run down with shops and pubs badly in need of a lick of paint. Doesn't look like there's been any inward investment for at least ten years. It really looks economically depressed. I thought that Donegal was bad, the forgotten county and all that, but down here really needs help.

i also thought that Donegal was bad for public transport, but at least we have lots of private bus companies that take over the role of Bus Eireann. No such service is in place in the area of Roscommon that I'm living in. People seem nice, but they seem fairly blunt compared to other areas I've been in.

Also in Donegal we've a traditional music scene (Clannad, Enya, Moya Brennan) in addition to that God awful country and trad ****e like Daniel O'Donnell and Nathan Carter. Down here country music is big, which rightly or wrongly, I've always considered old fashioned. Not many nightclubs for the younger people to go to either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

I presume that the "Tory is conservative" is a play on words.

We need elected ombudsmen to replace what the dail politicians are doing. And then elect the dail with a list system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

I'd probably go Roscommon too, but that's mostly because they get all the slagging since that was the lone constituency that voted No in the Marriage Equality referendum. That was a good day though, it was a pretty awesome affirmation that traditional, rural, Catholic Ireland could break with Church tradition so completely over homosexuality (and despite some of the awful bull**** that was being propagated about surrogacy) as the counties (nearly!) all turned green.

I was struck a couple of years ago by being in Wexford town and having the bizarre sense that I could be in an Irish town at any point in the past thirty years though. There is/was something very..time-warpish about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Leitrim, has to be Leitrim.

Cavan is a close second.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,778 ✭✭✭goz83

Ah yes, Leitrim. The county where the council create, rather than fix pot holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Daisy78

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Tony Gregory demands 500 corpo jobs for his constituents and he is declared a saint

A rural TD fights for their area and is dismissed as a parish pump gombeen

Neither are right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Tony Gregory demands 500 corpo jobs for his constituents and he is declared a saint

Yep.It's amazing that Tony Gregory got away without any criticism for simply being an urban based parish pump politician.It does tell you a lot about the media in this country though.

Daisy78 wrote: »
    Neither are right.

Correct.But Tony Gregory was regarded as some sort of crusading hero of a politician

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,226 ✭✭✭gifted

Tipperary...without a shadow of a doubt

Going out with a girl for a couple of years....mother controlled everything....no electric shower in bathroom....range left go out at 2.30 every day and a fire lit in the living room, range heated the whole house, fire heated one room, ham and spuds and soda bread every day...when she left the house she used take the house phone handle with her so her two kids couldn't use it...strange thing is that all her neighbours were the exact same...creepy as he'll it was

Correct.But Tony Gregory was regarded as some sort of crusading hero of a politician

It's the likes of Brid Smith that keeps the idea alive with her posters as being the Gregory candidate.

Funny that you mention Tipp because my father said it was a horse and cart doing deliveries in Tipp in the 1960s when he was heading over to London to work.

I think those areas retained their rural, old Ireland, nature, longer than Donegal because they have good farming land whereas Donegal is fairly poor for farming until you hit the east of the county and in the east it's the protestant community that own all the good farming land, so the youth had to emigrate to cities in the UK as they couldn't etch out a living off the land. That's why cities like Glasgow have very strong links with Dun na nGall.

gifted wrote: »
    ..strange thing is that all her neighbours were the exact same...creepy as he'll it was

Blood relations?

gifted wrote: »
    Tipperary...without a shadow of a doubt

Going out with a girl for a couple of years....mother controlled everything....no electric shower in bathroom....range left go out at 2.30 every day and a fire lit in the living room, range heated the whole house, fire heated one room, ham and spuds and soda bread every day...when she left the house she used take the house phone handle with her so her two kids couldn't use it...strange thing is that all her neighbours were the exact same...creepy as he'll it was

You did go out with her. Sounds more farmerish than county related.

Funny that you mention Tipp because my father said it was a horse and cart doing deliveries in Tipp in the 1960s when he was heading over to London to work.

Surely that was common in ireland as a whole. Even Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Nagnata

Roscommon without doubt but you can include east Mayo too. Notable mentions to Offaly, Longford, and Tipp.

When did Gregory demand this?

There's a world of difference between a local politician who uses their power to improve the basic living conditions of their constituents by getting the government to demolish Victorian tenements and replace them with houses where families have their own bathrooms......and gombeen TDs who agitate for unnecessary by-passes, redundant Teagasc offices and decentralisation that makes services less efficient and more expensive etc to be built.......

"welcome to Parlon country" ;)

Jawgap wrote: »
    When did Gregory demand this?

There's a world of difference between a local politician who uses their power to improve the basic living conditions of their constituents by getting the government to demolish Victorian tenements and replace them with houses where families have their own bathrooms......and gombeen TDs who agitate for unnecessary by-passes, redundant Teagasc offices and decentralisation that makes services less efficient and more expensive etc to be built.......

"welcome to Parlon country" ;)

From Wikipedia

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tony_Gregory
    On his election in February 1982 he immediately achieved national prominence through the famous "Gregory Deal", which he negotiated with Fianna Fáil leader Charles Haughey. In return for supporting Haughey as Taoiseach, Gregory was guaranteed a massive cash injection for his inner-city Dublin constituency, an area beset by poverty and neglect.[3]

The deal was witnessed by ITGWU leader Michael Mullen and all details were made public.[12] The written agreement included commitments to nationalise a 27-acre (110,000 m2) site in Dublin Port and Clondalkin Paper Mills. A total of £4 million was to be allocated to employ 500 extra people in the inner city, while 3,746 jobs were to be created over three years. State funding would be provided to build 440 new houses in the constituency and another 1,600 in the rest of Dublin. The whole deal was worth an estimated £100 million at the time, in comparison to the £850,000 deal offered by Garret FitzGerald of Fine Gael.[13] Although Gregory was reviled in certain quarters for effectively holding a government to ransom, his uncompromising commitment to the poor was widely admired. Fianna Fáil lost power at the November 1982 general election, and a lot of the promises made in the Gregory Deal were not implemented by the incoming Fine Gael-Labour Party coalition.[12][14][15]

It's no better or worse than some politicians in rural areas looking for stuff for their own constituency.

From Wikipedia

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tony_Gregory

It's no better or worse than some politicians in rural areas looking for stuff for their own constituency.

Sorry, but where there does it say he demanded "500 corpo jobs" as was asserted above?

I grew up in the area and as part of the deal a number of IDA enterprise centres were built on the back of it......but these were used to house small businesses and provide jobs through that mechanism.......could these be the jobs being referred to?

Also, as part of the deal didn't he also demand a tax be applied to derelict sites and a levy be imposed on office developments - both to encourage housing to be built in the city centre? In other words he tried to foster settlements rather than the one-off ribbon development so beloved of gombeen country politicians who then wonder why it costs so much to bring services to the communities they're supposed to serve?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

On personal experience, nice and all as it was, Castlepollard in Westmeath gets my vote.

On the day I was in the pub there, the tv viewing ratio was off whereby you couldn't see the ticker with the sports news at the bottom of the screen.

There was a fella locally known to be good at these things and he was going to fix it at some stage. Some other people had a go at the remote but ultimately they were afraid to do anything in case they'd fcuk it up altogether.

I insisted it was just a button on the remote you pressed to change it if you knew where it was but these matters were just too big to be chanced at. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Possibly.

I presume you've never been broke, waiting for a decision from the Dept of Social Protection, particularly say an appeal against a non payment. It's very simple around here. You can wait the months and months it normally takes. Or you can get on to the Healy Raes and have it addressed in a few days. I know of people in desperate situations that they've sorted.

Do you actually think that's unhealthier than, say, SF's links to Garda killers and child abusers, FF and FG's relationship with bankers or Denis O'Brien?

You think this is a good thing, politicians meddling in bureaucracy? I think it's a form of Government corruption tbh. Don't be trumpeting Kerry politicians for breaking the rules. Apply for your passport in a timely manner, or fill in your forms for social welfare correctly, and everything will be dealt with accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭somefeen

Am I wrong to be so suspicious of the Healy-Raes sorting things for their constituents like, passport applications, social welfare refunds etc?

It sounds almost like, you HAVE to get your TD involved in order to get that stuff sorted in reasonable time.
    Maybe I'm just so used to tales of corruption that my mind has been warped somewhat, but it almost looks like the system is deliberately slow so the TD can gain votes by 'sorting it out' for people.