Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most backward county in Ireland

• 08-07-2017 10:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭

I'm from Donegal and used to think that we were fairly backwards having only really spent time in Belfast, Derry and Dublin, outside of my own county.

Having lived in Roscommon for the past month, near the border with Mayo, I now vote for Roscommon and Mayo. Those counties are stuck in a time warp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Gmaximum

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    I'm from Donegal and used to think that we were fairly backwards having only really spent time in Belfast, Derry and Dublin, outside of my own county.

Having lived in Roscommon for the past month, near the border with Mayo, I now vote for Roscommon and Mayo. Those counties are stuck in a time warp.

Kroc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,675 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

If the Healy Rae's are anything to go by, and the amount of people for vote for them, I know where I'd vote for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Leitrim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Dublin

Yeahhhhhhh mother fookers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Leitrim.

It always was Leitrim, it always is Leitrim and it's always gonna be Leitrim.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭Synthol

Noveight wrote: »
    Leitrim.

You forgot one important thing.
    Leitrim does not exist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭2forjoy

Offaly is pretty backward imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Not sure about counties but navaN has to be the most backward town...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Leitrim at least has Carrick on Shannon, which is quite a nice town. Roscommon and Mayo have some extremely bleak towns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Leitrim would get my vote from personal experience

NIMAN wrote: »
    If the Healy Rae's are anything to go by, and the amount of people for vote for them, I know where I'd vote for.

Here in Kerry, we make zero apologies for having public reps who represent the public. I don't vote for them, but you want anything done here, you want your social welfare issue sorted, you want the revenue to sort your rebate, you want that passport back in a week, they get it done. That's not backwards at all, and if you think it is, you simply don't understand politics in Ireland. They didn't make the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭twinklerunner

Here in Kerry, we make zero apologies for having public reps who represent the public. I don't vote for them, but you want anything done here, you want your social welfare issue sorted, you want the revenue to sort your rebate, you want that passport back in a week, they get it done. That's not backwards at all, and if you think it is, you simply don't understand politics in Ireland. They didn't make the system.

Strange how the rest of us can do that stuff ourselves. Very straight forward, no need for any politician's help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,581 ✭✭✭Shpudnik

Where's the Backwards Man from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,557 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I think you'll find that politicians did indeed make the system... That's their job like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,574 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Tipperary.
    I'm from Tipperary.

We're as backwards as backwards mans underpants on day three of backwards/forwards/backwards rotation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

What do you mean by county being backwards?
    Any examples?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

34th Amendment. QED.

q0ttNTp.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Leitrim.

Fact.
    True story. The one and only time I was ever threatened with 'Deliverance' style male rape was during the one time I ventured into Leitrim. Seriously, some of those old timey hotels there need to go keycard and not keys that open pretty much every door on that floor.

Strange how the rest of us can do that stuff ourselves. Very straight forward, no need for any politician's help

Oh yeah, everyone else in the country gets their full social welfare and tax issues sorted on time all the time. Seriously now, have you ever looked for arrears from the Dept of Social Protection? Tell us all, how long did it take?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Mayo, having lived there for a while. I'm amazed they know how to procreate.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Yep and like most people if they sort an issue for you, then they get the vote IMO, despite the tears in their eyes we should only vote people in based on national issues types, which while a nice idea, is only pissing your vote into the wind compared to how most of teh rest would vote

They also think its grand to drink and drive.....says a lot about them imho.

And that God is in charge of the weather.

And that Noah's Ark actually existed.

I rest my case.

They also think its grand to drink and drive.....says a lot about them imho.

And that God is in charge of the weather.

And that Noah's Ark actually existed.

I rest my case.

Well that just makes me glad there are 12 people on a jury and not just one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

ED E wrote: »
    34th Amendment. QED.

q0ttNTp.png

Looks like Carlow-Kilkenny (take your pick).

conorhal wrote: »
    Well that just makes me glad there are 12 people on a jury and not just one.

If its 12 Kerry folk though......you're fecked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

You mean like how the Dubs voted for BBBertie :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Leitrim.

Leitrim is so cool!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Politicians elected to the national parliament have no business sorting out passports and social welfare payments. And that goes for any of them, not just the Healy-Raes. Although Danny is backwards enough to drag the whole county into the 19th century with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Mayo, having lived there for a while. I'm amazed they know how to procreate.

Now that Enda Kenny is no longer Taoiseach we can go back to rubbishing counties in the west of Ireland.

Did Enda Kenny who is from Castlebar Mayo not advocate a 'yes' vote in the gay marriage referendum? Does that sound backward to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

ED E wrote: »
    34th Amendment. QED.

Anybody whose politics differ from mine is backward. Where did people get this backward notion that they have a choice when they vote? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Ah de oul parish pump, all that's wrong with politics in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Pinch Flat wrote: »

The amount of times a TD takes a call from a constituent, the TD will make sure the correct process has been followed by the person and will tell them they will get right on it and will talk to minister etc and put a push on it.
    They do absolutely nothing and then when the issue is naturally resolved, the TD "did it" and sure isn't he great.

I used to think that, then I learned the value of a politician that listens to the public rather then lectures them. Democracy, the demos decides and the polis listens. I'd happily break out the guillotine for half the twots that supposedly 'represent' us in the Dail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

conorhal wrote: »
    I used to think that, then I learned the value of a politician that listens to the public rather then lectures them. Democracy, the demos decides and the polis listens. I'd happily break out the guillotine for half the twots that supposedly 'represent' us in the Dail.

Only half??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

Leitrim at least has Carrick on Shannon, which is quite a nice town. Roscommon and Mayo have some extremely bleak towns.

To be fair half of Carrick on Shannon is in roscommon, and half of Athlone as well...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Fermanagh has a Belleek town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Leitrim.

Banjo music to be heard in the woods?

Possibly.

I presume you've never been broke, waiting for a decision from the Dept of Social Protection, particularly say an appeal against a non payment. It's very simple around here. You can wait the months and months it normally takes. Or you can get on to the Healy Raes and have it addressed in a few days. I know of people in desperate situations that they've sorted.

Do you actually think that's unhealthier than, say, SF's links to Garda killers and child abusers, FF and FG's relationship with bankers or Denis O'Brien?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Sligo, meaning "abounding in shells" or "shelly place" gets my vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Tony Gregory demands 500 corpo jobs for his constituents and he is declared a saint

A rural TD fights for their area and is dismissed as a parish pump gombeen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

You mean represent the publicians and not public, don't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Yep and like most people if they sort an issue for you, then they get the vote IMO, despite the tears in their eyes we should only vote people in based on national issues types, which while a nice idea, is only pissing your vote into the wind compared to how most of teh rest would vote

Aren't the Healey-Raes just doing the job of the locally elected county councillors?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Possibly.

I presume you've never been broke, waiting for a decision from the Dept of Social Protection, particularly say an appeal against a non payment. It's very simple around here. You can wait the months and months it normally takes. Or you can get on to the Healy Raes and have it addressed in a few days. I know of people in desperate situations that they've sorted.

So they push the folk who don't run to them for help further down the waiting list?

Why don't they sort the system if it's that bad, rather than make it worse by bumping individuals up the ladder?

So they push the folk who don't run to them for help further down the waiting list?

Why don't they sort the system if it's that bad, rather than make it worse by bumping individuals up the ladder?

Oh I agree the public sector is not fit for purpose and so many should be flung out on their ears and replaced by those who might actually do the work, but not sure such a fundamental problem is gonna be sorted by the HRs. A person who is desperately waiting on their social welfare cheque wants the money, the root and branch reform of the system is secondary to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Oh I agree the public sector is not fit for purpose and so many should be flung out on their ears and replaced by those who might actually do the work, but not sure such a fundamental problem is gonna be sorted by the HRs. A person who is desperately waiting on their social welfare cheque wants the money, the root and branch reform of the system is secondary to them.

Secondary to them, of course, and if I knew I could get something sorted faster by going to them sure why wouldn't I? But what's being ignored is the fact that for every one person helped in this way, another individual suffers on longer and so this kind of "help" is making the entire system worse when those elected to government are meant to make it better. Meant to.

The HRs will never be elected to govern. Realistically, that's still the preserve of 2 parties. They will always be elected to represent their constituents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭poppers

I doubt there is a single politician in the dail that is not elected on local issues.
    If the healy raes done a deal like shane ross and ended up getting a garda station opened up in kerry ahead of every where else there would be uproar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

poppers wrote: »
    I doubt there is a single politician in the dail that is not elected on local issues.
    If the healy raes done a deal like shane ross and ended up getting a garda station opened up in kerry ahead of every where else there would be uproar.

You must have missed the news about the Minister for Transport and Sport not doing anything for transport as he was too obsessed with his local issue. I don't think people have been going easy on him for his allegiance to a small village rather than the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

definitely sligo or waterford

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Roscommon for me