Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-e34tds-estate-tax-amp-nct/15984793

ZjIwMTdmODhmOTY2YTExY2VkMmM4YTc4ZTQ3M2YzZDku9MnlUcWISM1nVxiHvWsVaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b183Njg3OTc3Nnx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Obviously a well cared for car and has good test and tax etc but nearly €4k? I dunno, might be wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,726 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Obviously a well cared for car and has good test and tax etc but nearly €4k? I dunno, might be wrong

He must be an insurance broker too if he's offering this.
    Full comp insurance on it for 215 euro .[/QUOTE

Also how has he got insurance till 08/18?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

ZjIwMTdmODhmOTY2YTExY2VkMmM4YTc4ZTQ3M2YzZDku9MnlUcWISM1nVxiHvWsVaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b183Njg3OTc3Nnx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

It has rust around the windscreen too and what looks to be a very tired interior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭georgefalls

NCT tester said it was a good car. That puts several grand on the price, IMHO :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Potential repost but I can't see this shifting for 3500.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/toyota-tercel/15962704

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Potential repost but I can't see this shifting for 3500.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/toyota-tercel/15962704

A horrible looking yoke in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,609 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Not sure if this was posted already but Noel needs to be woken from his coma if he thinks this is valued anywhere near 12k. More like one zero too many in that asking price:

ZjE1OTMxM2IxNGUyMGI3ODllYTRkNTc4MDAzNGQ3ZWPEKxV0o6SkItqXvtCdtfX8aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b183Mzc2Mjk0NXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/car/15499068

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Wow, those are my favourite ads as he is a genuine, genuine, certified dreamer. It looks like a nice example but yeah, at least 4x too expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

27000km... sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,609 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Maybe a 0 from the mileage found it's way onto the asking price. :D Easily happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Muppet Man wrote: »
    You would want seriously deep pockets and a lifetime of passion to make this investment:
    https://www.redlinespecialistcars.co.uk/used-cars/ford-escort-2-0-3dr-knaresborough-201706246740915/

How would you even value something like that...

Stunning high end cars on that website

When they went that far they should have added the fiver to make it even money.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,327 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Sam Kade wrote: »
    When they went that far they should have added the fiver to make it even money.
    Daftly overpriced. Though their stock is. Aimed more at the "investment" market I suspect.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Wow, those are my favourite ads as he is a genuine, genuine, certified dreamer. It looks like a nice example but yeah, at least 4x too expensive.

Am I the only one who enjoys trolling fellas like that after a few pints on a Sunday afternoon! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭coolisin

"I'm not pushed to sell"
    Then F**k off advertising it then.

Hate that, it automatically closes the ad for me if I'm looking at something to buy.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Not sure if this was posted already but Noel needs to be woken from his coma if he thinks this is valued anywhere near 12k. More like one zero too many in that asking price:

ZjE1OTMxM2IxNGUyMGI3ODllYTRkNTc4MDAzNGQ3ZWPEKxV0o6SkItqXvtCdtfX8aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b183Mzc2Mjk0NXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/car/15499068
    Shame its so overpriced, it's actually a nice car but only worth about 4k or thereabouts.

bear1 wrote: »
    27000km... sure.

Low milers do exist :)

coolisin wrote: »
    "I'm not pushed to sell"
    Then F**k off advertising it then.

Hate that, it automatically closes the ad for me if I'm looking at something to buy.

I looked to gold a few years ago that a lad wasn't pushed to sell. Told him I was interested and the price was right for both of us. Got up early one Saturday morning and drove from Limerick to Killarney and the Kant didn't bother to turn up nor answer his phone. I was like a demon, if it's not for sale why advertise and waste people's time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

I looked to gold a few years ago that a lad wasn't pushed to sell. Told him I was interested and the price was right for both of us. Got up early one Saturday morning and drove from Limerick to Killarney and the Kant didn't bother to turn up nor answer his phone. I was like a demon, if it's not for sale why advertise and waste people's time?

I had a fecker do that to me before. Drove to Belfast and the prick stopped answering his phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Happened to me too. From the east coast to Galway, the gentleman then didn't bother answering his phone. I gave the benefit of the doubt, then gave up when daylight gave in.

He was very much verbally abused periodically after that and was ousted as a twat on here too . All those years ago...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,618 ✭✭✭grogi

Happened to me too. From the east coast to Galway, the gentleman then didn't bother answering his phone. I gave the benefit of the doubt, then gave up when daylight gave in.

He was very much verbally abused periodically after that and was ousted as a twat on here too . All those years ago...

People will keep driving half the country to look at cars... Insanity...

grogi wrote: »

If I find a car with the right spec I want that's in the backarse of nowhere about 300 miles away, that's reasonably priced and have only been burned once or twice over the years what's the problem?

It's certainly not affecting anyone else except me...?

grogi wrote: »

It's a psychological thing. People like to travel to get their car as the neighbours wont know their business.

''Tis like anecdote a person in the trade for decades told me about selling cars to old farmers. Tell him to take it home for the weekend knowing that they will load the wife and kids into the new car to mass to show off. Come Monday morning they feel they can't return it as all the neighbours have seen them driving the new car and will have to buy it. Genius sales technique!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

It's a psychological thing. People like to travel to get their car as the neighbours wont know their business.

''Tis like anecdote a person in the trade for decades told me about selling cars to old farmers. Tell him to take it home for the weekend knowing that they will load the wife and kids into the new car to mass to show off. Come Monday morning they feel they can't return it as all the neighbours have seen them driving the new car and will have to buy it. Genius sales technique!

If you are looking for a well-specced car outside of the VW/Ford/Toyota range, buying privately, and you don't live in Dublin, you pretty much have to travel in Ireland to find one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭coolisin

Gravelly wrote: »
    If you are looking for a well-specced car outside of the VW/Ford/Toyota range, buying privately, and you don't live in Dublin, you pretty much have to travel in Ireland to find one.

^^^this right here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭georgefalls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Wonder what kind of collector would be interested in a basic spec 2001 Alfa with over 100k miles on the clock? A scrap collector perhaps.

Gravelly wrote: »
    Wonder what kind of collector would be interested in a basic spec 2001 Alfa with over 100k miles on the clock? A scrap collector perhaps.

Last one I sent to the scrapyard I got about €20 quid for. Was a V6 and all :)
    A rare car in this condition, when did you last see one like this?

With rubber mats, the fake carbon trim, cloth seats and not even the 2nd generation 156 introduced in late 2001? I see one everyday, I have a sportwagon outside my house with the original mats (woot!) and an engine that resembles golf balls in a biscuit tin

"Nice simple spec with no air-con to worry about"

lol

"Nice simple spec with no air-con to worry about"

lol

Talk about accentuating the positives - he should have added "over 100k miles, so it's well run in at this stage" and "It's a 16 year old Alfa, so even if it's stolen, they probably won't get far"