Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread Part 2 **MOD NOTE POST 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭noserider

Winter is coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,090 ✭✭✭kksaints

1-5 from one half is an awful return. Forwards just haven't clicked at all yet this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

The worst half of hurling I've ever seen from Kilkenny, Waterford will beat us by double figures .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,579 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Our only, only chance is if we run at the Waterford defence and go for goals. But our players don't have the touch or off-the-ball running game to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Markx

kksaints wrote: »
    1-5 from one half is an awful return. Forwards just haven't clicked at all yet this season.

Event more sobering that it's just 0-2 from play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,064 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

kksaints wrote: »

And the 1 was a penalty :(

For the first 8 minutes of the second half we started playing well with some good passing and shot selection. Since then we've reverted to type with long aimless balls down the field.

Just over 10 minutes left. The lads are playing for pride now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,870 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Ya never have Kilkenny beaten until the final whistle!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,531 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

great comeback lads , expect ye to push on now , would be some win considering how bad things have been going up to the last 10 minutes of the game

I actually cannot believe we have brought this to extra time. Waterford completely bottled it. They shat their pants.

Anybody's game now. I just hope we use the ball cleverly in ET. No stupid shots... Try and pick out a player with a pass.

Lester has made a new difference in the second half. He has some good movement and running, looks for a pass, tries to use the ball instead of aimlessly hitting (except one particular long range shot but that's all)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Waterford to win!

Can never question the spirit of this team even when they're not playing well but Waterford should never have let an eight point lead slip.

Padraig Walsh has had nightmare of a match so I'm worried about him in ET

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,786 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Young Leahy looks a very good player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 KKalltheway

Bye, bye, Cats !!!!
    Good post

Disappointing end to a disappointing season. Can only pull it out of the fire so often. Changes needed for next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Dionysis

Walsh should not have been full back he just doesn't know how to play there, Hoden should have been, roll on next year, this team need a rest, they just had no hunger left in them. Fair play to Buckley he carried that team. Deegan is not intercounty standard, end of. Forwards showed no bottle and were bullied all day by Waterford off the ball. Can't see that Waterford side winning an all Ireland, a very poor KK team nearly beat them.

Well done to the players for not giving up. That's priceless. I myself had given up for sure, as evident by my earlier posts.

We could have won it, but really we were beaten out of the gate tonight. Really, really poor for the majority of the match.

I just don't understand how our touch is so poor.

Lester was very good when he came on. Justification that he should have started. Our best player.

Pity Lester didn't start. Richie Leahy a fine hurler, the timing was right to bring him on. Will only add to his confidence. Would of loved to see Fogarty in midfield, thought he really pushed up the field into a more natural position once second goal was conceded.
    Well done to WD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,786 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Commiserations to all the Cats here. It just felt like that movie A bridge too far!

A lot of players touch seemed off today for some reason but they showed great spirit and heart to keep going and force extra time. It says a lot about Kilkenny that right up until the end I still wondered could they pull it out again.

As I said earlier, Leahy looks a good player and with a few more young players added next year Kilkenny will be right back in the thick of things again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭usualstripes

Well done to the players for not giving up. That's priceless. I myself had given up for sure, as evident by my earlier posts.

We could have won it, but really we were beaten out of the gate tonight. Really, really poor for the majority of the match.

I just don't understand how are touch is so poor.

Lester was very good when he came on. Justification that he should have started. Our best player.

Lads. We were beaten by a faster, better team this evening. We now have to support our minors and u21s. It's hard to take but we have to regroup and drive on. The likes of leahy, Billy ryan, john walsh, donnelly, James maher and sean morrissey must step up. We won't lose anyone from the panel but we will drive on. Make no mistake about it. Michael Fennelly found it tough this evening as he hadn't the training done. Tiocfaidh ar la aris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭topper_harley2

Dionysis wrote: »
    they just had no hunger left in them.
    Think thats a little unfair after they battled back from 8 behind in under 15 minutes from the end.
    They were by far 2nd best all night and it still took 90 minutes to beat them. I don't think you can question their hunger. If anything, their hunger has seen them overachieve in the last 3 years with dwindling talent (relative to previous KK teams).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭JaffaP

Nothing too surprising tonight, Kilkenny have been poor all year. The 'comeback' was nothing more than a rather atrocious Waterford choke.

Why start Jonjo Farrell? Why bring Robert Lennon back in? Why take Colin Fennelly out of the full forward line?

Cody's time has come to an end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Well done to the pkayers tonite never never giving up is brillant to watch.padraig walsh at full cost 2 goals and some other strange positioning of players.we have over reacted to last years all ireland defeat.pick our best players in their best positions and go from there.will get behind minors 21s and camogie now and drive on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭mullinr2

Major changes needed for next year. All through out the league and championship, our touch pace and fitness has been off. Players playing out of position. No link up play from forwards. Blame has to lie with management. Cody has been the best thing for kk hurling but he can't be immune from criticism. He lost the plot this yr.
    Following players have to be in team next year
    Leahy, Billy Ryan, Donnelly, Cleer, Scanlon.
    Following players will have to be shifted off the panel - JJ Farrel, Chris Bolger, Mark Begin. Following players need to find their form again - R. Hogan, P. Murphy, P Walsh, Walter, C. Fennelly.
    Players need to played in their natural positions P Walsh needs to go back to half back line.
    Is Cody the man to bring kk back? I'm not sure he is

Yeah agree, players back in their natural position. Supplement that with a one or two from U 21's. Plenty to be optimistic about.
    Is Cody the man to bring back kk?

If not, who is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭redlead

Dionysis wrote: »
    they just had no hunger left in them.

I couldn't disagree more. There was certainly an element of Waterford choking but the fight in Kilkenny to come back was unbelievable. Kilkenny never ever give up; you were like dying rats trapped in a corner tonight and I mean that as a compliment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Fair play to KK to drag themselves back and force extra time, aren't beaten until the final whistle and that game could be used as a model for other team on how belief can be so important. From a neutral perspective, Kilkenny's first touch was as poor as I've seen in a long time from any KK team. Dropped balls which put them under pressure. Fennelly's drifted in and out of the game - TJ Reid was expected to do the work of three men. That young fella Leahy will be around for a while - championship debut and scored, showed well.

There were collective failures and lack of cohesion - two incidents in the game for me were things that were unKilkenny like. Think it was the second half, one of the Waterford subs up against two KK men on the far sideline, and the two KK boys get in each others way, one pulled on the other and the end result was a Waterford line ball. The second one was the Shanahan goal, 3 backs v two forwards, and all the KK players go for the one ball - lack of communication totally. And surprisingly, no cynical play there - the KK #5 could have lept on Shanahan and taken him down outside the 21.

On SS3, it was mentioned that one of the Fennelly's who had been substituted came down to speak to Cody, both looked back at the bench and Hogan was brought back on. That has never been Cody's style - and as easy as it is to say it, I do think his time is up. The poor first touch, backs who definitely looked out of position and out of sorts and that comes down to the management