Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Lions 2017 [MOD WARNING IN OP]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Slightly off topic... but lads... Quinnells daughter Samantha.... brightens up his little vignettes no end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Dog Botherer

Erik Shin wrote: »
    Slightly off topic... but lads... Quinnells daughter Samantha.... brightens up his little vignettes no end!

Steady on there, Erikshin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Apart from the Jack over Mako debate I'm still not sure AWJ is in the top 3 when it comes to the 2nd rows. It's harsh on Kruis and Hendy to miss out on the 23 altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,851 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Apart from the Jack over Mako debate I'm still not sure AWJ is in the top 3 when it comes to the 2nd rows. It's harsh on Kruis and Hendy to miss out on the 23 altogether.

I think no matter what combination he went for, it would've been harsh on whoever missed out. I can see the case for AWJ missing out but I thought he made a nuisance of himself, especially in the first half, last week. Really disappointed for Henderson tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

awec wrote: »
    I didn't even mention Schmidt or Ireland!

Who did you mean, then? Gatland has a proven track record of trusting young players, Jones brought a squad of adolescents on his last tour. So that pretty much leaves France, or Scotland and Italy (who nobody should waste any time forming an opinion about).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

AWJ was immense in the second test. He was never, ever, in a million years going to be dropped. Henderson had no more chance of being picked than I had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

swiwi_ wrote: »

Bloody typical Hansen. He only makes the right selection decisions when they're forced on him.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,565 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Bloody typical Hansen. He only makes the right selection decisions when they're forced on him.

injury is his best selector !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,830 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Who did you mean, then? Gatland has a proven track record of trusting young players, Jones brought a squad of adolescents on his last tour. So that pretty much leaves France, or Scotland and Italy (who nobody should waste any time forming an opinion about).
    And France have played young players without any issues. Antoine Dupont, Damian Penaud and Camille Chat were capped by or before the age of 20 in the last year. And there's a list as long as your arm of older players who got capped at a young age. Serin, Plisson, Fickou, Vakatawa, Trinh-Duc, Picamoles, Parra etc.

As for Italy and Scotland, well so long as you know which end of a rugby ball is which, you'll play. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

Does Jones really though. Its not exactly throwing them in at the deep end against Argentina. Maybe and this is just a maybe people arent always attacking Joe

As for Italy and Scotland, well so long as you know which end of a rugby ball is which, you'll play. :rolleyes:

The same Scotland that beat both Ireland and Wales. Do any of ye actually watch rugby the nonsense that comes out here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

irishman86 wrote: »
    The same Scotland that beat both Ireland and Wales. Do any of ye actually watch rugby the nonsense that comes out here

The ultimate pot kettle black post.

Anyway. Lions team. Selection as i expected. Despite the penalties given away last week i didnt think Mako would be dropped.

Think NZ by 8-12 depending on Barretts radar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

awec wrote: »
    I didn't even mention Schmidt or Ireland!

What was the purpose of the post so? Seemed a pretty clear swipe at someone or something. I can't figure out who/what if it wasn't the Irish set up.

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    The ultimate pot kettle black post.

Anyway. Lions team. Selection as i expected. Despite the penalties given away last week i didnt think Mako would be dropped.

Think NZ by 8-12 depending on Barretts radar.

Another nonsense comment which adds nothing to the conversation :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,252 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Chill out bro. It's a fair call. Scotland and Italy are hardly overflowing with world class talent. If a player is halfway decent there's a good chance he'll get a few caps.

sydthebeat wrote: »
    injury is his best selector !!!!

#hansenandjoeout

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    Chill out bro. It's a fair call. Scotland and Italy are hardly overflowing with world class talent. If a player is halfway decent there's a good chance he'll get a few caps.

I need to chill out but the posters presuming every post is against Joe, yeah sure :pac:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

#hansenandjoeout

How would everyone feel about swapping Schmidt and Hansen?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,408 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

How would everyone feel about swapping Schmidt and Hansen?

Sounds like it could make a decent reality TV show for once.

Anyone know why Tew was talking to the IT? Seems to me like the head of NZRU might simply be reminding Hansen in the week after a defeat that his position is not an eternal deal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

You've already ready been warned about this. Next infraction will result in a ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Anyone know why Tew was talking to the IT? Seems to me like the head of NZRU might simply be reminding Hansen in the week after a defeat that his position is not an eternal deal!

Surely there is no possibility of Hansen being pushed, or going before the next RWC. If one defeat warrants that sort of response, then who would want the job.

stephen_n wrote: »
    Surely there is no possibility of Hansen being pushed, or going before the next RWC. If one defeat warrants that sort of response, then who would want the job.

No no, I'm not suggesting for a second that he's being pushed, simply reminded that nothing in life lasts forever!

I thought Hansen has basically said he'll be stepping down after the next RWC. He'll be in the job as long as he wants it.

Ah, I didn't know that. In that case, I'm probably way off so.

Yeah here we are: http://www.the42.ie/steve-hansen-quit-2019-3409472-May2017/

I read it as the IT were looking to fill column inches and maybe stir some controversy. Hansen is finishing after RWC 2019 so they asked is Gatland a contender. Yew basically said no one has been ruled out.

The NZRU needs to stick to their guns and promote from within otherwise all the coaching talent will head overseas knowing they can come back and get the top job.

Also I don't want Gatland coaching the ABs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,851 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

I could've sworn yesterday I saw Gareth Davies named on the bench, but it looks like it's Webb, right??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

aloooof wrote: »
    I could've sworn yesterday I saw Gareth Davies named on the bench, but it looks like it's Webb, right??

Some sources had Davies on the bench. Think some were saying the Lions app.

But it does appear the correct sub 9 is Webb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

I read it as the IT were looking to fill column inches and maybe stir some controversy. Hansen is finishing after RWC 2019 so they asked is Gatland a contender. Yew basically said no one has been ruled out.

The NZRU needs to stick to their guns and promote from within otherwise all the coaching talent will head overseas knowing they can come back and get the top job.

Also I don't want Gatland coaching the ABs.

Whats your reasoning for not wanting Gatland?