Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

Well, Ali and Foreman became best friends..... so why not.

Forget about that farce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Kinda the outcome most would prefer to see from any fight really, at the end of the day its sport not two lads on the street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭irishguy1983

How are we likely to be able to watch it on Ireland? Sky Box Office? 50 Euros I'd say??!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

24.95 Max imo, not getting 50e at 5 in the morning here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,764 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

So is there no presser in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,729 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Gamebred wrote: »
    If Gervonta Davis and one or 2 other legit match ups are on the ppv I'll probably buy it depending on streams that night and how bad they are.

I'll watch the way I've watched all my sport, including PPVs for the last two years. Crystal clear, reliable, HD streams for a moderate sum, less than the equivalent of one month's subscription to Sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Muahahaha wrote: »
    So is there no presser in Dublin?

No, no home cities. Floyd had it in contract I believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,981 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

No, no home cities. Floyd had it in contract I believe

Shoulda done one in Cork then, All the bags of sandwiches, Flasks and Anoraks would have scared the shite out of old malteser head

24.95 Max imo, not getting 50e at 5 in the morning here.

I'm willing to pay but only if they fix exact time for 10:00 Vegas time which is 6 here....One thing about boxing fights/MMA fights is not having an exact time and kind of just getting up early and waiting with eyes half open....Having a fixed time of 10:00 Vegas time would be grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭xtal191

They dont have to sell the fight here so there's no need to have a press conference in Dublin,.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Lads no talk or mention of streams - save yourself a ban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Walshb, get some fresh air mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Floyd Sr. with one of the best un-ironic quotes I've seen:

"I've got 2 presents (left and right hand) for Conor McGregory myself and he won't be able to spell afterwards".

McGregory :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭fitzparker

I'm willing to pay but only if they fix exact time for 10:00 Vegas time which is 6 here....One thing about boxing fights/MMA fights is not having an exact time and kind of just getting up early and waiting with eyes half open....Having a fixed time of 10:00 Vegas time would be grand!

As far as im aware their is a fixed time for boxing, defo one for Pac man V mayweather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭fitzparker

If Gervonta Davis and one or 2 other legit match ups are on the ppv I'll probably buy it depending on streams that night and how bad they are.

id say at least one of Davis or Jack is defo on the undercard, surprised if not both.

fitzparker wrote: »
    As far as im aware their is a fixed time for boxing, defo one for Pac man V mayweather.

Really??? Ummmm...I always find it a bit challenging with the times...Would be great if they could fix it for 6:00 AM Irish time - not too bad like :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Really??? Ummmm...I always find it a bit challenging with the times...Would be great if they could fix it for 6:00 AM Irish time - not too bad like :)

There's a ppv window that they have to fill. If they go under it's fine, they lose nothing. If they go over there is massive financial penalties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I'll watch the way I've watched all my sport, including PPVs for the last two years. Crystal clear, reliable, HD streams for a moderate sum, less than the equivalent of one month's subscription to Sky.
    I'll watch the way I watch all my big fights too. No kodi, subscriptions or PPV needed. Nothing dodgy in the slightest, and zero cost.
    I'll be in the local watching it on the big screen. :D

Mellor wrote: »
    I'll watch the way I watch all my big fights too. No kodi, subscriptions or PPV needed. Nothing dodgy in the slightest, and zero cost.
    I'll be in the local watching it on the big screen. :D

Never tried watching a fight like that i think i'd hate it . Sitting room , beer and pringles for me .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,503 ✭✭✭✭walshb

mma clinching is more technical and physical. he wont have to worry about getting kneed in the face, slashed by elbows, or taken down to the canvas

Im not gonna say Conor has a better clinch game but you are very quick to dismiss him

I am not dismissing him. I am dismissing that guy's matter of fact claim that the non pro boxer will be the better clincher than the career veteran boxer in the clinch in a boxing ring. Just so obvious to me that a matter of fact claim like that is BS.

Never tried watching a fight like that i think i'd hate it . Sitting room , beer and pringles for me .
    You've never watched a fight/sports in a pub? You're missing out imo. The crowd adds an element that you don't get at home imo.
    Luckily my local has beer and pringles too. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,306 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

You've never watched a fight/sports in a pub? You're missing out imo. The crowd adds an element that you don't get at home imo.

If I was in your timezone, I would hands down be in the pub to watch this too! Actually, what time is 10pm PST where you are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,503 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I'd be the complete opposite. All that shouting and waving and hollering can take away a lot of the event for true fans....

I love to watch a good fight and digest it and hear it and feel it. You don't get that with a mob!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

walshb wrote: »
    . All that shouting and waving and hollering can take away a lot of the event for true fans....

Ah here. This true fans crap is total bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭xtal191

walshb wrote: »
    [
    I'd be the complete opposite. All that shouting and waving and hollering can take away a lot of the event for true fans....
    !
    That's possibly the most condescending nonsense you've posted to date. Which is saying something. By your ridiculous logic, people who go to ANY boxing/UFC/football matches/etc in person aren't "true fans". :rolleyes:

There are advantages to watching at home in silence. But for me, being there live in person, or watching in a venue with athmosphere trumps that. You can always rewatch to dissect the details, but you can't ever re-create the athmosphere.

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    If I was in your timezone, I would hands down be in the pub to watch this too! Actually, what time is 10pm PST where you are?
    3pm on Sunday at this time of year.
    At this point, fights just Sunday sport for me instead of soccer/GAA/Rugby.

Depends what sporting event im watching . GAA or football match yeah the pub is great for me a few pints and the atmosphere . For fights i feel like i am missing a lot of what is landing etc.

Although the plus side would be i cant hear the commentary as they can influence how i see the fight .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

It's that " No true Scotsman" crap that really irks me about a lot of fans of boxing.

I'll be the first one to say I'm a casual MMA fan. And less than casual boxing fan. But it's really off putting the way boxing fans bang on about their favoured discipline, treating it as though it's some high brow sport of kings.

At the end of the day, it's 2 lads knocking the bolix of each other. And that's what I want to watch.

It's that " No true Scotsman" crap that really irks me about a lot of fans of boxing.

I'll be the first one to say I'm a casual MMA fan. And less than casual boxing fan. But it's really off putting the way boxing fans bang on about their favoured discipline, treating it as though it's some high brow sport of kings.

At the end of the day, it's 2 lads knocking the bolix of each other. And that's what I want to watch.

Doubt anyone really thinks that