Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

I have just come up with a genius game plan for Conor to KO Floyd.

Don't aim for his head. Aim to the side Floyd normally slips to in defending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Andre Ward with some interesting comments...

"Don't get it twisted Floyd will win this fight but I can see a scenario where it's close on the scorecards in the 6th due to Conor's awkward movement and that'll represent a big success (for Conor)".

He's a big MMA fan as well and a very good boxer so that's an interesting opinion.

I think Mayweather wins the fight easy in around 6 -9 rounds but would agree with Ward the fight could be close at around 6. McGregor will rush him and try to apply pressure from the start, Mayweather will probably be very cautious in the opening rounds to avoid big shots so I could see McGregor win a couple of early rounds on workrate.

I see it being very similar to the Hatton v Mayweather fight with early success before the quality boxing takes over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,498 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Ward talking complete bollix! Forgetting to say if Floyd allows it be close.

walshb wrote: »

Sigh.

GerryDerpy wrote: »
    Sigh.

Would you prefer I agree with Ward, that the no hoper non pro boxer pushes Mayweather close the first 6 rds?

Btw, what would close be? 3/3, maybe 6-0 of competitve rds?

Likely Conor falls over from exhaustion if there is any semblance of intensity or work in the first 4-5 rds..even if Floyd isn't tagging him all that much, if there is real activity and working then expect a very jaded Conor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Would you prefer I agree with Ward, that the no hoper non pro boxer pushes Mayweather close the first 6 rds?

I'd personally like you to open your mind to the possibility that Conor could do well due to his own skills and a good gameplan.

You seem intent on covering every base:

1. Conor sucks at boxing (none of us actually know for sure either way).
    2. Floyd will destroy him and/or embarrass him.
    3. Oh if Conor performs well it's because Floyd let him.
    4. If Conor somehow wins it was all a big fix.
    5. I can't give you a single good reason for Floyd to allow it to be close or for either man to 'fix' the fight but I'll keep saying it anyway.

Just stick to 1 & 2 :)

I'd be mortified if any MMA Forum regular was making pre-emptive excuses in case Conor lost in the Octagon to Floyd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

I'd personally like you to open your mind to the possibility that Conor could do well due to his own skills and a good gameplan.

You seem intent on covering every base:

1. Conor sucks at boxing (none of us actually know for sure either way).
    2. Floyd will destroy him and/or embarrass him.
    3. Oh if Conor performs well it's because Floyd let him.
    4. If Conor somehow wins it was all a big fix.
    5. I can't give you a single good reason for Floyd to allow it to be close or for either man to 'fix' the fight but I'll keep saying it anyway.

Just stick to 1 & 2 :)

I'd be mortified if any MMA Forum regular was making pre-emptive excuses in case Conor lost in the Octagon to Floyd.

Tbh wonder I'm 90% sure walshb gave up on any sort of intelligent discussion here a while ago, seems a lot to me like hes just spouting the same nonsense to get a rise out of people, bit sad imo but if thats how you get your kicks whatever, his nonsense should just be ignored at this stage

It's convenient for walshb to cover all bases because then you can never say he was wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Btw, what would close be? 3/3, maybe 6-0 of competitve rds?

Likely Conor falls over from exhaustion if there is any semblance of intensity or work in the first 4-5 rds..even if Floyd isn't tagging him all that much, if there is real activity and working then expect a very jaded Conor.

you've obviously never experienced 1 round of 5mins of mma sparring/fighting, try 5x5 and then talk about intensity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

As soon as people start trotting out lines like "X won't happen, BUT if it does, it'll only be because Y or Z...", you know you're dealing with fallacies on a grand scale. Totally blows any credibility in the argument. Maintains the credibility of a weather forecast which says "It definitely won't rain tomorrow. But if it does, it's because..."

Wonder, never said Conor sucks at boxing. That would be a bit unfair, and silly, as he is not a boxer to begin with.

you've obviously never experienced 1 round of 5mins of mma sparring/fighting, try 5x5 and then talk about intensity

That has 0 to do with my point...

This is an event scheduled under boxing rules.

That has 0 to do with my point...

This is an event scheduled under boxing rules.
    you dont seem to be well equipped at using logic

Wonder, never said Conor sucks at boxing. That would be a bit unfair, and silly, as he is not a boxer to begin with.

you called him a "no hoper", thats pretty the least amount of respect you can give a fighter

Pro boxer no hoper in this match...

Hardly telling porkies or doing him a disservice..

If this was in the Octagon under MMA rules Floyd would be the no hoper..

Following?

you dont seem to be well equipped at using logic

Nothing to do with logic. All to do with common sense and sticking to the script.

A script lost on you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

[

Following?
    Of course, but not because he'd fall over from exhaustion with any semblance of work. It's because he's never grappled or dealt with kickboxing/muay thai .

Following?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭qwabercd

Hardly telling porkies or doing him a disservice..

Following?

On all the forums I read on here, I've never come across a more argumentive and condescending poster. 30k posts, why do you bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

All to do with common sense and sticking to the script.

You know nothing about common sense, chief.

Sure you're on the other thread saying Floyd could win the fight with one hand ffs.

Mellor wrote: »
    Of course, but not because he'd fall over from exhaustion with any semblance of work. It's because he's never grappled or dealt with kickboxing/muay thai .

Following?

What is work?

I shouldn't have to be explaining this to you.

Floyd is fit as a fiddle for boxing and its game.

If he got in an Octagon he would not have the same cardio engine and capability of a competing MMA fighter.

He would gas a lot quicker from work and exertion on MMA disciplines.

Same with Conor in boxing. He is fit, but not to a level that is for the work involved in boxing at an intense level.

Btw, the no hoper comment-post was not relating to the post about gassing.

The gassing post was a separate post.

Sure you're on the other thread saying Floyd could win the fight with one hand ffs.

He would, you know. Floyd with just the left hand would break Conor down.

It's very much common sense.

I am beginning to think that some here have never seen Floyd box.

Just his left hand..Conor still finds it next to impossible to break Floyd's defence, and Floyd still finds ways to land and score scoring shots. Would go on a bit longer, but a clear win.

Again, just common sense, chief.

Oh, and I notice you had nothing to argue against on the boxing thread, but a tired and stale disapproval..

It's fine Walshb if you think Conor has no hope of doing well or that Floyd could win with one hand. That's a very common opinion even from MMA fans. The issue people have is you keep adding caveats to that view - such as "If Conor does well it is because Floyd allowed him to" or "the con is on if Conor wins".

Even those caveats are not stupid in themselves if you explained to people what Floyd/Conor have to gain in rigging a fight to make it competitive or allowing Conor to win? Put it another way - Conor spent $300,000 on the Diaz 2 camp, which involved bringing in Conor Wallace, Owen Murphy and flying Artem, Charlie, Queally and others to Vegas and also paying for other sparring partners to come in.

By the looks of his camp for Floyd he'll be spending anywhere from $500,000 to $750,000. He has already flown in Dashon Johnson from America and Louis Adolphe from the UK. He has flown in his nutritionist George Lockhart. He has brought in Tiernan Bradley. They will all be getting paid and put up in hotels. He's got (apparently) up to 6 boxers coming in for the American leg of his camp, including Paulie M, and (probably) a large SBG entourage going. I'm sure all that costs money too.

If Conor's intention was to face Floyd in a "glorified spar" or a "con" or "a rigged fight", why would he spend so much money paying sparring partners a salary, making guys like Paulie sign NDA's, paying for their flights, hotels, food, board?

If you're making $100 million from an exhibition, why waste over half a million training for it? Remember, all it would take is one man to slip in training and break their leg and that $100 million goes away for now.

So it's clear that Conor is taking this very seriously and from the footage released so far, it appears Floyd is taking this very seriously.

If we start from there, with both men taking this seriously, then there are no caveats. If Floyd goes in there and embarrasses Conor, fair play to Floyd and fair play to you for predicting it. If Conor goes in and wins 4 or 5 rounds or KO's Floyd stiff, then fair play to him for proving the doubters wrong.

Just move past this "it's a rigged/sham fight" talking point, it makes you look silly.

Wonder, we may disagree a fair bit, bit at least you can digest and interpret what I am saying.

Fair enough. I'll move away-off from the whole "could it be staged"angle.

Wonder, we may disagree a fair bit, bit at least you can digest and interpret what I am saying.

Fair enough. I'll move away-off from the whole "could it be staged"angle.

Thanks.

Would you also agree if Floyd chooses to fight toe-to-toe if would give Conor a better chance than if he sticks and moves?

Floyd has some chin but when he stands in the pocket winging shots, he is very easily hit. You'd be surprised how many times he gets hit clean with a left hand in this compilation.

Thanks.

Would you also agree if Floyd chooses to fight toe-to-toe if would give Conor a better chance than if he sticks and moves?

Floyd has some chin but when he stands in the pocket winging shots, he is very easily hit. You'd be surprised how many times he gets hit clean with a left hand in this compilation.

Toe to toe in the pocket, yes, a better chance I reckon.

In the pocket and toe to toe and Conor firing punches there is the punchers chance.

Toe to toe in the pocket, yes, a better chance I reckon.

In the pocket and toe to toe and Conor firing punches there is the punchers chance.

I think most would agree that Floyd has far superior speed and hand speed than Conor so to try have success against him, Conor will probably need to draw him into a firefight or make it ugly like Horn did overnight.

I think visually the fight will look like Cotto v Pacquiao and by that I mean the size differential. Cotto was able to get up early on the scorecards in the first 2 rounds with his jab, before the speed difference began to show.

Conor doesn't have an effective jab, even in MMA. That's going to be a big problem for him to overcome now that he can't time his punches off kicks.

I'm interested to see what gameplan they come up with. I find it hard to believe he can improve the jab much in the space of 4 or 5 months, so they must be working on something else.

The Steve Collins strategy in Eubank 1 (or 2) might be the way to go. Close the distance fast from the opening bell and see if he can get the fight to the ropes. If the fight stays in the middle of the ring, you'd have to assume Floyd would sit behind the jab and piece Conor up.

Conor's best chance to win is to swarm and kind of bull rush and rough it up.

Best chance to avoid getting beaten up is to stand off, be negative and awkward.

Either way he loses, but for Conor this is all about damage limitation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

What is work?

I shouldn't have to be explaining this to you.

Floyd is fit as a fiddle for boxing and its game.

If he got in an Octagon he would not have the same cardio engine and capability of a competing MMA fighter.

He would gas a lot quicker from work and exertion on MMA disciplines.

Same with Conor in boxing. He is fit, but not to a level that is for the work involved in boxing at an intense level.
    Conor loses, in most people's estimation, because he gets punched in the head, repeatedly. Not from exhaustion. Floyd's technique will be more efficient and his gas tank will be better, sure, but it's not the reason he wins. He wins in the above scenario because is simply better.

Floyd would gas quicker in MMA than boxing because he'd be really inefficient at those movements, not because he's lacking "MMA cardio" (which doesn't exist). Floyd losing in MMA has nothing to do with his gas tank. Grappling is exhausting, but he wouldnt survive long enough on the ground to get exhausted.

In short, if Floyd wins in rd 1, as many have predicted he should. Cardio won't be a factor.